Footy players punch up bombshell

Any mofo who throws a pool ball deserves everything that comes his way, he was lucky he got off so lightly in my opinion.

Fully support Vossy in giving him a little clip, it was the least he could have done.

Lawrence: not so good​

What would you do in the same situation? Is it really what you think you'd do? My argument is nobody knows how they'd act in that situation.

From what I've read in this thread, my fellow supporters are saying there's a reason he did what he did, but it's not an excuse. I know that if a bloke threw something that could have potentially killed one of my mates I reckon I'd want to teach him a lesson, whether that be straight away, a minute later or an hour later.

What's more, alot of people on this thread are making up arguments or suppositions for their own benefit. The "facts" are not fully known. A bit early to cast judgement methinks.
Look, I might do the same thing, but upon reflection I would probably see it as a hotheaded and stupid thing to have done. The courts system is there to mete out justice, not the vigilante mates of victims.

Re: Voss' Coaching Stocks - Intact

Yeah, great post! Too bad he'll probably be more remembered as a pub thug, than a three time prmier, because of his stupidity. Voss, was seen by most as a great player and a true leader. Now we know he's just one of us!

Yeah I know thats how I'll remember him :rolleyes:.

This won't even be a blip in 2 years time. People really need more to worry about.

Nonsense. Tell me Einstein, what action could the clubs have taken here? Something based on reality would be nice.
In both cases Didak and Gehrig, they probably shouldnt take action until the whole police and legal process has finalised.

By your standards, an obvious criminal act of assault doesnt warrant any action by the club but in Didaks case where no criminal act has yet been determined, you want him suspended and want to call the club all sorts of names.

I'm not sure that you understand that a criminal act of assault is far worse than a non criminal act of stupidity. But not according to your convaluted set of standards.

But if we are going to apply your standards then in both cases, Didak should have got a few weeks just to make him see where he was heading in life. And Gehrig should get the same given he has a track record now of abuse towards women?

There is no way you can call for sanction against didak and not call for it against gehrig. Its that simple. The situations are different, but the outcomes are the same for both club and player.

Look, I might do the same thing, but upon reflection I would probably see it as a hotheaded and stupid thing to have done. The courts system is there to mete out justice, not the vigilante mates of victims.

I'm not sure too many have argued otherwise. If they're found guilty then they'll have to live with their actions. Anyone think they're proud of not having more self-control?

But, sometimes you have no choice but to fight, and although it's good that there are pacifists like yourself out there, but in a crisis and when your left with no other choices but to strike back, people like yourself are a liability, and that's when you need people with real backbone, who go on instinct, and are prepared to make quick decisions to protect the likes of yourself, because in this world, you need a balance of people like you (who are the voices of reason), and those who work best in a crisis, and are prepared to act fast.

If any of you don't know what I'm on about here, just listen to the d!cks pussies & a$$holes speech on "Team America, World Police", then it will all reveal itself.

Maybe if you're actually in a brawl.

Voss retaliated much later, after the initial confrontattion. He wasn't sticking up for or protecting anyone.

I really don't care and think everyone shuold just move on from what is a tiny incident, but I can at least admit it wasn't the smartest thing to do by Voss and he certainly wasn't 'sticking up for his mates' at the time he threw the punch.

Any mofo who throws a pool ball deserves everything that comes his way, he was lucky he got off so lightly in my opinion.

Fully support Vossy in giving him a little clip, it was the least he could have done.

Lawrence: not so good​

No, the guy who throws the pool ball deserves an assault charge but you can't take the law into your own hands, particularly if it's not immediate self defense. I can understand Lambert taking him on at that point because the guy attacked him.
Voss' act was revenge , not self defense and therefore is not justified. Maybe when you're acting tough talking to the boys but in reality he assaulted someone.

Hit a nerve with the no mates call I see. I suspect the inflated number of "mates" you claim gives you away as a sad lonely mummy's boy. I also suspect that a big bad footballer has belted you up after you mouthed off one too many times. I hear bignetballers.com need some more members. Interested?

A bit slow on the uptake there champ.

What would you do in the same situation? Is it really what you think you'd do? My argument is nobody knows how they'd act in that situation.
No, nobody can say exactly how they would act but that doesn't change the fact of how Voss acted & how he acted wasn't noble or brave. He acted the same as many violent people would by chosing to persue the guy & engage in more violence. I'm not trying to suggest Voss acted out of character only pointing out the hypocricy of some of your supporters trying to say he acted heroic.

From what I've read in this thread, my fellow supporters are saying there's a reason he did what he did, but it's not an excuse. I know that if a bloke threw something that could have potentially killed one of my mates I reckon I'd want to teach him a lesson, whether that be straight away, a minute later or an hour later.

Nobody is disputing the reasons for the actions only the justification. I would suggest that many of your supporters are using the incidents prior as an excuse for Voss to simply walk up & punch the bloke after he'd already been thrown out. Perhaps the guy who threw the ball felt he had a reason to do so but it doesn't justify his actions.

What's more, alot of people on this thread are making up arguments or suppositions for their own benefit. The "facts" are not fully known. A bit early to cast judgement methinks.
Nobody here knows all the facts of how it all started so I agree some are making suppositions but my judgement is based purely on the video footage showing a incident between Lambert, Mcrea, Gherig & the guy who threw the ball. Punches were thrown by both parties & rightly Gherig & what may be the bouncers dealt with the situation properly by breaking up the fight & removing the guy from the venue. I can understand Voss being upset about the incident but I believe when he decided to continue the violence by following the guy outside & punching him he became no better than any common thug. Thats OK that he's not perfect & as i have stated here previoulsy I'm not one of these people saying he won't coach now but I just can't stomach some of your supporters trying to say he acted out of self defence or in some civic minded manor. Voss is no better or worse than Lawrence in the whole incident (as it appears on video).

A bit slow on the uptake there champ.

Thanks Skip, I think he is missing the point as well don't you think. I have come across so many of his type it's not funny, and they always lose at the end of the day. I wouldn't expect him to realise what it is I'm on about and a few others on here as too dumb to get it.

It is funny though seeing the responses. :D

Hit a nerve with the no mates call I see. I suspect the inflated number of "mates" you claim gives you away as a sad lonely mummy's boy. I also suspect that a big bad footballer has belted you up after you mouthed off one too many times. I hear bignetballers.com need some more members. Interested?

No worries dumbass, don't get it do you? too busy down the pubs waiting to snipe some innocent bloke not looking and too pi55ed to actually fight back. Well mate days come for blokes like you. It always does. Skipper Kelly obviously gets it but we will keep it between us.

Been beat up have I, never. I have too many "mates" backing me up.

Isnt part of the issue here that: AFL footballers should know above and beyond anyone else that whatever they do in public will be heavily scrutinised? And to take this fight to the point where they took it can only expose them to the criticism they now are getting.

Bloke throws billiard ball, fine give him one to stop him doing it again. Sit on him if you have to, but to rip into him and anyone else after they have become disabled, is only inviting this sort of criticism.

And we all might say but 'that is in a perfect world'. But guess what? AFL players need to live in this world because the consequences for them and the club are far more severe than they are for you and me. Common sense you would think, would make AFL footballers know what they can and cant do in these situations. Disable the bloke fine , but dont near on kill them after you have done that. Its not like it was a raging street fight where there was any resistance and you had to punch your way out of it. Once hit, these clowns were sitting ducks for unneeded boots and fists.

You lousy one-eyed Brisbane supporter! Can't you see it was a cowardly unprovoked attack on a guy who wasn't even looking?! Why I ought to... hang on, is that 'West Coast' I see under your name? Oh.

lol. im one of the more neutral supporters on the board. not one of those that sticks his head in the sand. :D looked like an absolute warzone here last night.

The c*ckhead deserved it. If you are throwing billiard balls around you can expect to get hit.

Onya Vossy, did the right thing. Defend your mates champ.

Voss was not defending any one looking at that vision, and he is not a champ for punching the bloke who could have fallen over and hit his head on the concrete.

No one is defending the actions of the pool ball thrower, but what Michael Voss did was just as low. Like the pool ball could have killed, the punch Voss threw could have as well.

No, nobody can say exactly how they would act but that doesn't change the fact of how Voss acted & how he acted wasn't noble or brave. He acted the same as many violent people would by chosing to persue the guy & engage in more violence. I'm not trying to suggest Voss acted out of character only pointing out the hypocricy of some of your supporters trying to say he acted heroic.

Nobody is disputing the reasons for the actions only the justification. I would suggest that many of your supporters are using the incidents prior as an excuse for Voss to simply walk up & punch the bloke after he'd already been thrown out. Perhaps the guy who threw the ball felt he had a reason to do so but it doesn't justify his actions.

Nobody here knows all the facts of how it all started so I agree some are making suppositions but my judgement is based purely on the video footage showing a incident between Lambert, Mcrea, Gherig & the guy who threw the ball. Punches were thrown by both parties & rightly Gherig & what may be the bouncers dealt with the situation properly by breaking up the fight & removing the guy from the venue. I can understand Voss being upset about the incident but I believe when he decided to continue the violence by following the guy outside & punching him he became no better than any common thug. Thats OK that he's not perfect & as i have stated here previoulsy I'm not one of these people saying he won't coach now but I just can't stomach some of your supporters trying to say he acted out of self defence or in some civic minded manor. Voss is no better or worse than Lawrence in the whole incident (as it appears on video).

I think you're reading a lot into some of the comments from my fellow supporters. Perhaps some may have put their comments forward stronger than they may have intended in order to defend Voss against character assissination from a bitter minority and the houlier-than-thou. I'm not about to wade throu every page of this thread to see what's been said though. However, without casting aspersions those having a potshot tend to have a common denominator.

Many have said that they'd probably do the same if they were in the same circumstances. I reckon I would. Not necessarily to the letter of the law, but what I call natural justice.

I think you're reading a lot into some of the comments from my fellow supporters. Perhaps some may have put their comments forward stronger than they may have intended in order to defend Voss against absolute character assissination from a bitter minority and the houlier-than-thou. I'm not about to wade throu every page of this thread to see what's been said though. However, without casting aspersions those having a potshot tend to have a common denominator.

Many have said that they'd probably do the same if they were in the same circumstances. I reckon I would. Not necessarily to the letter of the law, but what I call natural justice.
But AFL footballers need to be smarter than that these days. You and I can go out and punch on until the sun comes up and we will not be scrutinised to this extent and we will not have the impacts on the football clubs.

If it was a full on street fight, with some return fire, go for it. but there wasnt too much going on here other than the first idiot with the billiard ball.

can someone please tell me what that bloke did that lawrence king hit????????

No, the guy who throws the pool ball deserves an assault charge but you can't take the law into your own hands, particularly if it's not immediate self defense. I can understand Lambert taking him on at that point because the guy attacked him.
Voss' act was revenge , not self defense and therefore is not justified. Maybe when you're acting tough talking to the boys but in reality he assaulted someone.

Disagree, and there are too many little nancy Gen-Y apologists like yourself in society these days.

All too clever when they dish up garbage, mouth off, take cheap shots and act tough in front of their mates. Yet, when the retaliation comes back their way they curl up like little girls and go running to the cops.

If there was a bit more tough love dished out to roid pumping, pink shirt wearing 20-25 year old homos, then there would be alot less guys throwing pool balls I'll wager.

The guy even had enough gall to hang out the front of the pub like nothing had even happened !!!.

No problem with Vossy's little love tap, the ****knuckle deserved it.

Lawrence's Hookseque punch on the other hand just wasn't cool.

Disagree, and there are too many little nancy Gen-Y apologists like yourself in society these days.

All too clever when they dish up garbage, mouth off, take cheap shots and act tough in front of their mates. Yet, when the retaliation comes back their way they curl up like little girls and go running to the cops.

If there was a bit more tough love dished out to roid pumping, pink shirt wearing 20-25 year old homos, then there would be alot less guys throwing pool balls I'll wager.

The guy even had enough gall to hang out the front of the pub like nothing had even happened !!!.

100% agree spot on well done :thumbsu:

Like someone said before on here God help us if there is a war because currently with all the Gen Y males around here our country will be in alot of trouble.

I will say this though the generation born between 1975 and 1989 are bloody disgraceful these days the others born after 1990 are still too young to comment about.

But AFL footballers need to be smarter than what some demonstrated here

Gehrig and lawrence could be described by some of what you said here also.

That billiard ball bloke was built like a jockey's whip. The closest he has been to a roid was standing in the same pub as that girl pushing nancy

gall or just plain stupid? there is a fine line between staunch and stupid

Inside the punch would have been justified. Outside, it looks like a cheap shot. And it dissolves in an instant the image we have of Voss, the leader who keeps his cool under pressure. Adrenelin is a wonderful thing and Voss clearly didnt have control of it. And it is this control that prospective clubs will want to see, not hot headed reactions.

Go to jail, do not pass go.

But AFL footballers need to be smarter than what some demonstrated here

Correct. Although if I guy threw a pool ball at myself or mates, I honestly can't say I wouldn't have reacted the same way.

Gehrig and lawrence could be described by some of what you said here also.

Lawrence yes. Without knowing what happened with the chick, I don't agree carte blanche that women can behave how they want without copping a bit back. Hitting: definitely not. Shoving: a fine line to tread.

That billiard ball bloke was built like a jockey's whip. The closest he has been to a roid was standing in the same pub as that girl pushing nancy

Acting like he was on roids is the same thing.

gall or just plain stupid? there is a fine line between staunch and stupid

Mate, if you were in a pub brawl you'd seriously hang around ?. Smacks of a bloke who can't believe he's just been taken to task over it and is clearly unused to anyone calling his bluff.

Inside the punch would have been justified. Outside, it looks like a cheap shot. And it dissolves in an instant the image we have of Voss, the leader who keeps his cool under pressure. Adrenelin is a wonderful thing and Voss clearly didnt have control of it. And it is this control that prospective clubs will want to see, not hot headed reactions.

Definite cheap shot. Call it even then.

Go to jail, do not pass go.

Correct.

Footy players punch up bombshell