Current Four police officers killed after pulling over a Porsche 911 on Melbourne freeway

Not sure why people are assuming he isn’t compelled to provide assistance. His car was damaged in a crash, in that situation, regardless of whether you are at fault or not, you are legally required as driver of the vehicle to remain at the site of the accident.

The law says you are required to call the police and remain at any accident scene where someone is injured.

Any accident not involving injury still requires all parties to exchange details. If there's no injuries no police call required.

Legally he should have remained there until police/emergency services arrived. And on a human level you need to look after someone who is dying ffs.

The law says you are required to call the police and remain at any accident scene where someone is injured.

Any accident not involving injury still requires all parties to exchange details. If there's no injuries no police call required.

Legally he should have remained there until police/emergency services arrived. And on a human level you need to look after someone who is dying ffs.
Yes, exactly. Also I’m not sure why people are asserting his actions won’t be assessed at the top end of his charges. This is the kind of thing a magistrate refers to as depraved and indifferent.

Not sure why people are assuming he isn’t compelled to provide assistance. His car was damaged in a crash, in that situation, regardless of whether you are at fault or not, you are legally required as driver of the vehicle to remain at the site of the accident.

yeah but he wasnt in his car - if he was he was very lucky

if you are working in the office and park outside and someone drivies into you whats your obligation? (for example)

1587694324711.png

clearly hes a dog but im just trying to think from a legal perspective

A. There is no general duty to rescue so there is no duty to stop and render assistance just because you see or come across an accident but any driver that is involved in an accident must stop and render assistance – Road Transport Act 2013 (NSW)

cant find the Victorian one

Yes, exactly. Also I’m not sure why people are asserting his actions won’t be assessed at the top end of his charges. This is the kind of thing a magistrate refers to as depraved and indifferent.

doesn't one need to actually break a law?

is there a depraved and indifferent law?

please excuse my ignorance

This is a stupid comment. You have never been in a situation like that obviously. Not going into it but I’ve been involved in a similar thing and it is not instinct to do that....

Why obviously? Anyway we will see what he ends facing in court, being an A Hole is not a criminal offence

Unfortunately it’s not Hollywood, people’s wet dreams of vengeance won’t happen. He’ll be under the custody of police whose job it’ll be to ensure he’s not harmed. If there’s any threat of violence in prison (which I doubt, prisoners as a rule aren’t fussed about police) he’ll be put under protection.

Somebody will probably spit on his breakfast or something (hopefully COVID infected) but that’ll be about the size of it.
Carl Williams says hi (the ghost of) 👻

Unfortunately it’s not Hollywood, people’s wet dreams of vengeance won’t happen. He’ll be under the custody of police whose job it’ll be to ensure he’s not harmed. If there’s any threat of violence in prison (which I doubt, prisoners as a rule aren’t fussed about police) he’ll be put under protection.

Somebody will probably spit on his breakfast or something (hopefully COVID infected) but that’ll be about the size of it.

You think cops will be in any hurry to protect him inside?

I think it's odd to think that there isn't people on the inside who just want to beat up on weaker inmates. Many people are in gaol because they are simple minded bullies. I'd be certain there are many who will want to prey on a "notorious" weaker inmate. Add in wanting to curry favour with some guards, or perhaps some hardened crook who is offended that he filmed a dying female in such a manner, or other types who can't stand white collar bigmouths - the list is endless. Herne Hill Hammer be best to comment on this. Just a matter of whether they get the opportunity.

That's gutwrenching and it hurts that her family won't be spared it. Imagine if it was one of yours? It would be unbearable.

Families are very diverse. Bound to a few in the tree who will not take kindly to this not just her police family. The only silver lining apart from that is this scum is friendless and is going to be living a life not worth living.
He’ll work out where the door is.

How do you rationalise this statement?

A driver allegedly high on meth doing 40k over the speed limit and you think it is revenue raising?

WTF is wrong with you?

in this day and age, if you have his rego..

why not just go to his house during his sushi dinner - instead of spending an hour on the side of a road with vehicles doing 100k? in the very close vicinity, car shakenly close

if seems safer to take his car, arrest him, whatever there instead of the eastern freeway?

This guy is going to go down as one of the state's most infamous crooks ever I reckon.

The stupid thing is if he was also killed in the crash, then just like a gangland figure friends and family would have quoting how he was a loveable larrikin and would be sadly missed, when we all know he is a filthy piece of sh!t.

in this day and age, if you have his rego..

why not just go to his house during his sushi dinner - instead of spending an hour on the side of a road with vehicles doing 100k? in the very close vicinity, car shakenly close

if seems safer to take his car, arrest him, whatever there instead of the eastern freeway?

And when he kills a driver/pedestrian 5 minutes later as he gets onto Hoddle Street?

He has money so he will get a decent lawyer, I think he will still get the benefit of I am in shock etc. He probably gets done for speeding, drugs and whatever the bail was will be considered.
Surprised they haven’t also got him on indecent exposure, urinating in a public place, and I’m sure there would be a COVID breach somewhere in there.

I'm not in Victoria, I wouldn't hear those people anyway. WA has a similar law but when it was brought in it was made very clear by the Police Commissioner that you are not expected to slam on your brakes, but to slow down as safely as possible to the reduced speed limit. I suspect if actually caused accidents it would have emerged prior to this.

I want to know where was this idiot when the truck came plowing down in the emergency lane? Obviously not in his Porsche (unfortunately). Why did the cops all get hit and not him? Not much space in the emergency lane to not get hit.

Current Four police officers killed after pulling over a Porsche 911 on Melbourne freeway