Franks for the memories. Things don't always go well with COLA

Yep, not worth anywhere near the $1 mill plus 4 or 5 year deal.
His best footy is behind him, dodgy knee, dodgy thumbs, can't kick, can't mark, inconsistent, off field trouble. Just too risky paying that much for 5 years, wouldn't surprise me to see his form drop further each year and more lost time to injury. I'd be offering $600K for 2-3 years.
Are you 6 years old?

His best footy is behind him, dodgy knee, dodgy thumbs, can't kick, can't mark, inconsistent, off field trouble. Just too risky paying that much for 5 years, wouldn't surprise me to see his form drop further each year and more lost time to injury. I'd be offering $600K for 2-3 years.
Not sure i agree with all that but I would still rather pick 1 if we had the choice.

Don't agree with everything here apart from he's played his best footy. We should be cashing in now before we have another Nick Holland situation.

Could buddy make megabucks in another sport ? Talking world wide here

If he could, from a Hawthorn perspective this would be better than only one scenario. That he stays at hawthorn on a reasonable contract,

The risks are too great with him staying on an unreasonable contract

Him leaving for another sport differs to hawthorn in one aspect only, the lousy pick 20 compensation pick.

This illustrates how deeply the league and their fledgling club is screwing us over.

Also if he went to another sport, hes still ours in that he hasnt moved to a rival club, we still hve. A sort of ownership morally. Like when rocca or ben graham went to the NFL

We would still have a mill or so to go poaching other players

Free agency stinks because the compensation is not right

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
there's nothing wrong with free agency and its poor or no compensation if it is properly implemented...if all clubs have the same salary cap level and all clubs have free agents there is nothing wrong with it....what we have here is 3 clubs with higher salary caps to everyone else and 2 of those 3 clubs have no free agents for another 7 years........THIS IS THE ISSUE AND IT IS A FRAUDULENT FARCE

Under the above cheating scenario, if any club loses a player under free agency to any of those 3 clubs and particularly the 2 with no free agents, than the compensation must be fair and proportionate to what that club has lost in order for this competition to have any integrity

What I'm saying is a superstar might as well leave the sport altogether tor the compensation the 'donor' club gets.

with increasing switching between codes it might as well happen in Buds case, then its the AFLs loss, but they were happy to take on a couple of NRL stars wrent they ?

I'd offer you a bag of peanuts to resign from BigFooty

But that may be too much for your standard of posting ...

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
there's nothing wrong with free agency and its poor or no compensation if it is properly implemented...if all clubs have the same salary cap level and all clubs have free agents there is nothing wrong with it....what we have here is 3 clubs with higher salary caps to everyone else and 2 of those 3 clubs have no free agents for another 7 years........THIS IS THE ISSUE AND IT IS A FRAUDULENT FARCE

Under the above cheating scenario, if any club loses a player under free agency to any of those 3 clubs and particularly the 2 with no free agents, than the compensation must be fair and proportionate to what that club has lost in order for this competition to have any integrity
Spot on - if its a level playing field and we lose a player tough luck.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-07-20/think-carefully-buddy-newbold

He urged the 26-year-old to consider free agency pioneer Brendon Goddard, asking how the former St Kilda star's legacy had been affected by a move to Essendon at the end of 2012.
"If you look at someone like Brendon Goddard, is he a St Kilda player or is he an Essendon player when he finishes his career?" Newbold said on Saturday.
"That's something he'll have to ask himself. But I think you can get a lot of benefit from being a one-club player.

"You can see people like Peter Hudson who played pretty much at one club and the benefit they get from sticking with one club."

"The ball's in his court," Newbold said.
"He wants to put it off until the end of the year. I've said if it was proving to be a distraction, we might need to be more proactive.
"But the fact is we are 13-2 and the group is really well connected and going well."

Newbold said Franklin's knee complaint, which has kept him out of action since round 15, was not a major one.
"My understanding is that he's had that for a while and it's manageable," Newbold said.

Comes across a little desperate to me....perhaps a conversation he could have had in private.

Firstly, I think he'll stay. But I really hope he doesn't stay for $1.2m p/a for 5 years.

I'd like us to offer Bud $850k p/a for 4 years - take it or leave it.

Probably an unpopular opinion but I just think the money can be better utilised covering weaknesses than it can securing strengths.

*Edit: Actually, make it $1m p/a... He's pretty handy.

Conspiracy time. Hawks feeding the dodgy knee story.

Gee, who would want to shell out 2mill a season for a bloke with a crook knee. ;)
Don't reckon the guy that owns the knee would have an issue with that? I'm not sure how closely you follow him but he's not adverse to commenting on twitter etc when he's got an opinion/thought/spare 3 seconds

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-07-22/buddy-injury-chronic

LANCE Franklin will have to manage his knee condition for the rest of his career, says leading sports medico Dr Peter Larkins.

The 26-year-old has missed two games with the knee issue that is causing soreness in his calf.

While Larkins expects the Hawthorn star to be available to train this week and face Essendon on Friday night, he believes the issue that stems from an injury sustained in the 2011 finals will haunt him for the rest of his playing days.

"I think it's an on-going management concern, whether he's at Hawthorn or GWS or playing in the bush," Larkins told AFL.com.au.

"It's a chronic low-grade knee condition – not a serious knee condition but it's a chronic condition.

"This is his third or fourth episode since 2011 of the same thing happening.

"They can't stop it; they have to deal with it and it will keep happening the rest of his career, I believe.

"It really just goes with the fact he's got some vulnerability in that knee from that 2011 incident."

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This is exactly right. If we lost buddy to Freo then little or no compensation is fine as we would be competing on an even footing but to lose him to GWS, Goldcoast or to a lesser extent Sydney requires additional compensation