Fremantle Intra-Club Match > Sat 13th Feb

A few observations:

Ballantyne and Kiefer Yu (Claremont ring-in) slamming into each other at a million miles an hour - the sound reverberated around the flank and to their credit both players bounced back into the contest.

Murphy dropping a chest mark in the square.

Morabito making an exciting run giving off 3 handpasses and receiving them back or recovering the ball to then deliver into the forward 50.

Morabito's kicking style - it's like a trigger, little to no follow through, the foot finishes behind his body yet the ball has traveled a good 50m. Clearly considerable strength in the thighs and hammy, evokes memories of Carey's action.

Hinkley taking a clever mark at CHF in front of Sandi then kicking out on the full to the right - which is where the brisk breeze was coming in from! His kicking action is not good Chris - it seems as though his shoulders slide down to the right, and he gives the ball too much air for mine.

Young ring-in by the name of Kane Mitchell, Tommy Alvin look-alike, but bigger torso, very confident attacking the ball and good disposal by foot and hand.

Barlow played a part of the second half as a mid-fielder, did some nice things. Not so sure about him as a defender, or as a defensive winger, he really does seem to telegraph his intentions a long time ahead of receiving the ball.

Fyfe, then McPhee, taking impressive marks at the 19m & 20m marks Q1.

A lot of experimentation took place, Hase switched to roving to Sandi's rhs at the stoppages after having first set his position to the LHS.

Mundy playing as the sweeper at the centre bounce (i.e. defensive side) when Sandi was resting and Kep rucking.

Kep did not have a good first qtr.

Good game by McPhee, will clearly play either midfield or streaming off the back of the centre square. Also came quickly off the wing to get the first receive, then used the ball well when he got it.

Team B spent a lot of time flooding the backline in the first half with no forwards whatsoever at some stages. Game opened up nicely in the second half.

Had the pleasure to sit next to Michael Houghton, Joel's big brother. Top bloke, is slowly converting from Slime to Dockers. Kept teasing his brother by calling out "Sticks" due to his lack of weight. I pointed out that he probably wasn't much heavier but he corrected me, he's 96kg! So if the genetics plays our way then Houghton could fill out to be our next big KP!

Finally, being surrounded by some familiar faces - Malaxos and Woey, Cookie stopped by too, and a fella who looked suspiciously like Mark McGough (them google eyes are quite unique imo).

All asked me the same question - what did "<8% or GTFO" on my lapel badge mean?

088873-stephen-hill.jpg

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/st...s-intraclub-game/story-e6frg1wu-1225830089220

Another picture Found.

Clarke - did some good things, particularly in the second half. Quite nimble when the ball is at ground level.

Schammer - I actually thought he looked best 22 tonight.

DeBoer - for me, the best of the rookies.

Crowley - going on tonight's performance, get money on him for the Sandover because he'll play a lot of WAFL games. Played horribly, particularly when under pressure.

McPhee - played an aggressive game and took a very strong mark early on.

Fyfe - impressive. For his light frame, he asserted himself well. Pre-season reports about his marking ability seemed vindicated.

Hinkley - I thought he was hard at it, particularly in the second half. Certainly had better skills than Crowley.

Mayne - looked very sharp but I thought he dropped a fair few marks.

Morabito - exciting. If a piece of linking play in the second half is anything to go by, he fill suit the AFL level from round one.

The hairy midget from Claremont (Kane Mitchell) was easily the pick of the WAFL players, I reckon.

Don't know if I can add any more than has already been said, but I'll give my 2c worth anyway...:)

And I did miss 2 white goals and 1 purple goal...:)o damn kids....this is why they never come when the real footy's on.)

1. Ballantyne: tenacious, fast, worked hard. B+
2. Morabito: Looked good when near it, but was not near it a lot. He still kicked 2 goals though, and shanked another that would have been a cracker. B-
3. Schammer: his usual hardworking self. Prob BOG for the purples. B
4. Hasleby: Typical usual good effort. 1 goal. Signed my Nephews' hats after the game. A Fremantle Football Club Legend IMHO. A :thumbsu:
5. Ibbotson: saw him often, but not a lot of disposals. C
6. Broughton: late withdrawal??? Didn't see him.
9. McPhee: Amongst the best on ground IMHO. Hard at it, good skills in close, took a good grab too. A nice interplay with Mora in the 4th but hit the post - would have been great if he slotted it. 1 goal. Surpassed my expectations. A
11. Headland: Near it often, but fumbled a lot. D for disappointing.
13. Fyfe: Impressive. Knows how to play. Skinny, but looks the goods. 1 goal. B-
14. Groves: Usual, good honest effort from the great man. B
15. Crowley: got a lot of it, butchered a lot of it. I love Creepy, but if he could improve his disposal he'd be elite. Still one of the best for the purples, though. B
16: Mundy: one of the best for the A (white) team. 3 goals. A
17: Houghton: Saw a bit of him, and looks much shorter than I was expecting for a KPP - maybe because he's so skinny. 1 goal. C
18: I thought McPharlin wasn't playing, but I swear I saw him line up in the first half for the A team. Can someone please back me up here???
19: Hinkley: got the first clearance of the match as I was making my way into the ground. Ran around a lot, but nothing inspiring. C
20. Taz. Easily one of the BOGs. A
21: Barlow: Looked the goods IMHO. Could slot in straight away. Poised. B
23: Chopper: Presented well, but dropped a couple of marks he should have taken. He an DJ spoiled each other in a marking contest. 1 goal. B
24: Roberton: glides over the field and doesn't at all look out of his depth. B
26: Keps: saw him out there a far bit, but rarely with the ball in his hands... C
27: Bollenhagen: ok I guess, but nothing special. Had an exciting shot on goal on the run in the last quarter, but it hit the behind post on the full. C
28: Murph: average. Some of my friends got him and Chopper mixed up - which was understandable as they have the same haircut, are roughly the same size, plus their numbers are 23 and 28... Maybe I got them mixed up too, because I had Murph as scoreless (though I did miss 2 A-team goals) C
30: Clarke: good effort against Sandi. Was also crunched by the big man late in the game too and came off worse for wear...B
31: Sandi: Usual top effort from Sandi. Presented well in the middle too, but was often neither seen nor used... :mad: He's still dropping marks inside the forward 50 that IMHO he should be taking. Also signed my nephews' hats after the game. All round top bloke.:thumbsu: A-
32: Hill: I didn't know about the leg injury until reading this thread.:( I had just assumed (hoped) that the club were easing him in and resting him for the 2nd half.
33: BBBBBucovaz. Was really looking forward to seeing this bloke, but he didn't get a lot of it. Dropped a simple mark in the 3rd that would have been a shot on goal and a great confidence booster. But alas... C
36 Silvagni: Didn't get a lot of it, but when he did he looked poised and confident. Very promising prospect. B-
39 Sibosado: Not sure if he managed to get a kick. Looks out of his depth and lacking in confidence. D
40 DeBoer: Worked hard, skills aren't hot, but did get a bit of it. 1 goal. B-
41 Duffman: Has taken off where last year left off. B
43 Hayden: polished. B
44 Chrichton: Didn't see much of him at all, but I do recall one passage of play where he cleared the ball very well. I had to consult the team sheet to see who it was! C
46 Pearce. OK, nothing special C
47 JVB: A less polished version of Deboer or Duffield. Had a set shot on goal which he put OOTF. C

So all in all a scrappy, uninspiring game TBH. Just like last year... And the year before that....

Best for mine were McPhee, Tarrant, Mundy, Sandi, Hase, followed by Schammer, Ballantyne, Mayne, Barlow.

Can't wait for next week.

Houghton - Had one touch in the first half (goal)

Second half picked up around 10 more touches and finished off with another goal. Not bad for an 18yr old vs Mcpharlin, Tarrant, Grover and Silvagni.

Fyfe - Started with a huge bang, buckets was all over it.

Harvey's decision to make him change sides somewhat quietened his influence.

Crichton - Got plenty of the ball and seemed to attack it well.

Mora - Seems like the players look for him already (like Pav) when he gets more comfortable he will kick straighter.

Sibo - Sorry but played badly, only saw him to one effective tackle

Mcphee - Brilliant, had a point to prove.

My #1
Barlow - Had no idea about him and he was super impressive, finding space and really pumped himself up for the game.

6. Broughton: late withdrawal??? Didn't see him.

18: I thought McPharlin wasn't playing, but I swear I saw him line up in the first half for the A team. Can someone please back me up here???

Yep, Broughton was on the field at QT/3QT with Pav/Suban and the others in a purple polo. McPharlin must have been his replacement in the first half.

[YOUTUBE]_2S2t6rpNNA[/YOUTUBE]

shitty quality, will try a better one later :\

also, not the whole match obviously, just three centerbounces that I decided to follow.

Team B

Byron Schammer - captained the B side. Was reasonably prolific. Surrounded by subpar teammates in comparison to the opposition, i thought he fought pretty well. Disposal was average, much the same as previous years.

Nathan Fyfe - beat Grover 1 on 1 in the air and looked the most dangerous forward for team B in the first 1/2. Was rewarded by switching to team A for the 2nd half and contributed a 2nd goal if im not mistaken. Lots of body development left, but will likely get a taste of AFL this season. Just seems to position his body cleverly and takes advantage of his sticky hands and big leap.

Ryan Crowley - niggled pretty hard and looks in top shape. Kicking is deplorable, most kicks were up and under. It'll be interesting whether he can retain his spot in the 22 all year. Obviously his skills aren't up to scratch but his tagging is elite. He's strong, fit and can take a decent grab so pushes forward with decent effect.

Joel Houghton - AKA the running machine. I thought he presented exceptionally well. Will be very effective on the big Subiaco ground in years to come.

Clayton Hinkley - busy around the stoppages. Displayed that exceptional pace on occasion. I thought his kicking was very good. Hit someone's chest inside 50 in the first half.

Dylan Roberton - AKA the wrecking ball. Very solid player for someone who was pick 49 in a shallow draft. Probably won't see a heap of senior footy this year. But as a tall/medium tall defender he seems a great prospect.

Justin Bollenhagen - elite top speed and pinpoint left foot. He's got a skillset which is suited to AFL football. Not yet ready, another solid selection late in a shallow draft. In saying that, he's a long way to go.

Zac Clarke - I thought he was BOG for the B team. Personally i think he's passed Kepler Bradley in the ruck. His skills were great. He uses his height to mark the ball at full stretch. Obviously not the physical equal of Sandilands but no-one is in the AFL. I think he is best 22 given that performance.

Ben Bocuvaz - i just didn't notice him. Tough with all the new faces out there.

Casey Sibosado - started forward and was starved of the ball by a midfield who couldn't get there hands on it. Moved to HFF then to defence in an improved performance.

Jesse Crichton - just didn't notice him

Clancee Pearce - resembles a power lifter. Is built like the proverbial brick shit house. Was in and out of the game and tried to out muscle McPhee and got caught holding the ball.

Jay Van Berlo - a pretty smooth mover but the quality of the opposition with little support proved too much.

Barlows running style is hilarious. He looks like a woman in heels running for a bus with their arms full of shopping bags.

Mick Waddles like a duck but got a fair bit of it. Definitely knows where to go. Will be better for the run as his fitness base doesn't seem to be there just yet.

Hence the school nickname, "Big Bird".

Cheers Rev.

That did look a bit scrappy in parts, hope it clicks next week. I wouldn't mind a nice run in the NAB cup - at least longer than a week anyway. Especially since it's one of my new wishes as a supporter that we never lose to that disgraceful, honourless excuse for a club ever again.

But midfielders Rhys Palmer and Ryan Crowley and tough defender Steven Dodd won't be considered for selection against Melbourne.
We already know about Rhys and Dodd, but the article doesn't say why Crowley won't be considered.

I may have an answer... Late in the game after being tackled, Crowley stayed down and then got up limping.

I shat myself. After all his ankle issues last year we don't need him re-injuring himself. However, he got up unaided (there's the correct use of that word, Jako:thumbsu:) and hopefully he's ok and this is just precautionary.

Heaps of kids throwing themselves in and attempting to impress the coaches, whilst forgetting the team rules during their first real adrenalin rush of AFL.

Older players realising that this is just a warm up and trying to avoid injury.

Everyone drilled to the same general game plan for months and then trying to defend/attack it.

WAFL players just trying for that rookie spot next year.

Crabs being...well..crabs.

What more could you expect??

shitty quality, will try a better one later :\

also, not the whole match obviously, just three centerbounces that I decided to follow.

cheers, Rev.

LOL at the clearly audible "FFS" when Barlow fumbles the handball receive in the first piece of play.

Fremantle Intra-Club Match > Sat 13th Feb