Fremantle robbed

Re: WTF! Freo Game! Umpires played on!

tigerdan said:
The rules are that the central umpire must signal the end of the game. Always been that way - no loophole.

Yes but surely he must hear the siren before he can signal the end of the game?

None of the umpires heard the siren, so the game should still be going.

TheMase said:
I agree that Fremantle were robbed, but unfortunately the rules state that the siren does not decide the end of game. It is the umpire acknowledging the siren which is the end of game (the siren is just the indicator to the umpire). Because the umpire did not call TIME OFF (or end of game) then the AFL may see the result on a technicality and read out the laws.

Since the result ended in a draw, I think the AFL will be reluctant to change the result.

Read below ...:

10.4.1: End of Quarter

The Timekeepers shall sound the siren to signal the end of a quarter until a field umpire acknowledges that the siren has been heard and brings an end to play.

10.4.2: Siren Heard by Field Umpire
Play in each quarter shall come to an end when any one of the field umpires hears the siren.

Unfortunately it is the AFL and the ground to blame for substandard conditions. Not the umpires.
Yes, OK, the umpire has to hear the siren to end the game right?

But the umpires missed the siren so why did they end the game after Baker's point WITHOUT hearing it? They should still be continuing the game until the siren is blown for a second time and the umpires hear it. As it stands, they never did.

Diego said:
Thats not the point, the point here is that umpires are getting away with way too much these days and think they are bigger than the game and players, when in reality they are just there to make it a fair contest.

They are not the AFL and the sooner the morons at afl realise this the better. They are scared that negative publicity will stop people wanting to be umpires? Then do something about fixing the umpires so then they can have a positive image morons. Do you think the way they are going with thing in regards to umpires makes people want to sign up. HARDLY!

As it stands the afl umpires are the clearly the most hated and unwanted filth in any code and the ones who stuff up every week but cannot be critisced at all.

I dont think thats the point either.

If they umpires heard the siren and didnt end the game, they are cheating bastards who should all be sacked. Assuming that isn't the case and they simply didn't hear the siren (and they all conferred with each other and agreed, so its either a massive conspiracy or they just didnt hear it), then the issue is the volume of the siren at the ground... and

I mean, none of the channel 9 commentators heard the siren, they all knew it was due because they had the benefit of a countdown clock. If the AFL insisted on countdown clocks at the game, everyone at the ground would have known time was up and we would have had no dispute at all - we would have seen time expire before that last bounce!. But the AFL and some old-fashioned clowns reckon that we are better not having a clock at our games - this anti-technology has now resulted in a loss of points in a real home & away game ....

Fix it ....

Cogz24 said:
Connolly was supurbly restrained he almost had the right to belt the living suitcase out of the 3 field umpires

I thought it was the most pathetic display I have ever seen in VFL/AFL football.

CC, take note of GT, keep your comments until the press conference:thumbsu:

Tip for the AFL, this is what happens when you play games in sub standard arenas. Now have the balls to reverse what is simply a stupid and wrong decision. Freo won the game, end of story. Obviously your brains trust didn't have enough brains to make sure the ground had proper equipment , step up and take some responsibility you suckhole money grabbers. Also,Tell your umpires that they need to realise the game is bigger than they are, when the whole group of em couldn't come to a sensible decision it just reenforces the reasons we basicaly can't stand the w.an.k.er.s.

AlwaysCarlton said:
Fremantle robbed? What about the :Ding punters , i had 2 large on freo to win (which they did). AFL better fix up this :Ding farce of a game. For the games sake lets hope australia does poorly in the world cup, the game is well and truly :D:D:D:Ded. also confirms what we all knew about cornflakes, pure scum.
This is going to be a huge repercussion from it.

bresker said:
Even if they didn't hear the siren at first, the dickwad operating it should have kept blowing it until someone heard it.
That's right.

The Laws of the Game require the timekeeper to keep blowing the siren until acknowledged by one of the field umpires.

the time the umpire marked the ball...

last year against the bombers matt carr gets sacked after kicking a piont and the umpire asks the player that sacked carr if he wants another shot or take the piont...

and now this ....

metallichris said:
And just you wait, anything Connolly says regarding the umpires, the AFL will fine him for.

And every other club in the league should pass around the hat and pay the fine for him. Anything Connolly has to say on the matter would be utterly justified.

chooker said:
Over 100 posts in 20 mins, is that some kind of record?

This will end up in court. Freo won the game, simple as that, i hope the AFL is pragmatic when ruling on this and common sense wins out.
i know you make a post, load the page back on (on cable mind u), and theres 3 more pages :p

Docker_Brat said:
oh.. look who comes out of the woodwork.
I post around these parts often enough. Mainly on fantasty cricket, but I am a lurker.

If it is found that one of the umpires DID call time and it was not acknowledged by controlling umpire on the field, the AFL 'may' be able to reverse the result as the kick would have been judged to have been kicked after the closure of play.

:mad: That was the saints worse game ever since 2003.

We still drew. Should've won how did bakes miss that?

As for the whole debarcle if freo cant win a game because of 8 seconds then they dont deserve 4 points.

Good tough footy from freo today didnt let us do anything. We took awhile to realise how to handle em and the missed shots on goal.

Go connolly!!! You fat champion you, like that bit of umpiring buddy??? :D

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

seriously though the doggies will smash us if we play like that. Then again we could just bribe the umpies again!! ;)

Docker_Brat said:
We know the rules, doesn't make the decision any less disgraceful.

Look mate it sucks - imagine if Baker had kicked a goal!! - I think the blame lies with the grounds staff for having a poor siren.

Robbed for sure.

This may force the leauge to change the rules about start and end of play (there has laready been the debate about the clock starting when the umpire blows his whistle, not when the first person touches the ball).

This kind of thing happens a bit in country footy - sirens being unplugged, car battery going flat, etc.

ben9909 said:
Yes I am. I can understand his situation, but his professionalism today was pathetic. He should be fined for walking onto the ground while play is still in progress.

I also think they should try and fine him, mostly because it makes them look more foolish, dictatorial and unaccountable.

Re: WTF! Freo Game! Umpires played on!

tigerdan said:
The rules are that the central umpire must signal the end of the game. Always been that way - no loophole.
so when did he signal the end of the game? the siren didn't go again. is the game still going?

Just quietly, if the siren never sounded and the game was never ended, then why couldn't we have kicked the ball in and tried to score another goal. I mean the game hadn't ended had it ??

.... and if the game still hasn't ended I think Chris should send someone out on the ground to sneak a goal and win the game for us!!

I agree with Hu$$ey. If the umpires never heard the siren then why aren't they still playing the game?

The rules assume that the siren actually sounds loud enough for everyone to hear it.

Common sense must prevail!!

TheMase said:
Unfortunately it is the AFL and the ground to blame for substandard conditions. Not the umpires.

Funny how to a man the Freo players heard the siren but the 3 Blind mice(now deaf as well) didn't hear it. Yes I agree the AFL should be ashamed of it self for substandard equipment but the umpires hold some responsibility here

Freo were robbed. That is all there is to it.

Fremantle should have won but the Victorian umpires helped St.Kilda salvage a draw.

Bad luck Freo, I really feel for ya. We all know you're better than St.Kilda no matter what happens.

Fremantle robbed