Friday Night, Carlton vs Geelong

Carlton's recent form has been far from impressive.
Could not beat Essendon who were 2 men down in the first quarter.
Barely got out of jail at the death with a last gasp goal against the Crows at home.
Struggled to beat St. Kilda who have only one win for the year.

Ergo, Geelong comfortably.

First of all Carlton are THIRD/FOURTH after 8 rounds. I rest my case.
Secondly Carlton have had the wood over Geelong of recent.

What makes it interesting is both teams are much improved.

The worst part of this game is 20,000 people who would have been able to go if it was at the MCG will not be able to go because it is at the dome. This is terrible scheduling by the AFL.

Both teams match up well on each other it will be a cracking game but it is at the wrong ground.

I wonder if both sides will have the yips as Geelong had it bad against Collingwood and Carlton have had it for a while.

Who ever kicks straighter will win. That and the bye effect will have an impact on Carlton but to what extent remains a mystery.

Judd has to play like he did in round 5 last year....probably will

Kruezer also played well in that game last year..hard to read last years result as form line..

Watch for Chapman to explode.

Will be a good game though i reckon.. Geelong by 10-15 points.

How will the Blues use gibbs? As a negative / damaging role on a cat star like Stevie J...or just play him in the mid field and let him run around..

Should be a great game, looking forward to it. On the other hand i am not looking forward to this game been at Etihad. What a stupid decision buy the AFL. Geelong and Carlton were always going to be a top 8 side in 2011. No reason why it shouldn't of been at the MCG. Expect the top level to be chockers half hour before bounce time and the usual announcement of "please occupy all seats, move down the row".

Carlton have been pretty consistent this year, even against the top sides. They have a good record against the Cats, in a game where Ablett usually dominates, but he ain't there this time.

Geelong on the other hand have only blown away the bottom sides, and against the top sides have had relatively close games through out.

That suggests to me that it should be a close game.

Carlton forwards pressure a lot and Geelong defenders don't like that. Geelong's weakness is their forward line and even though Carlton of recent are getting a bad wrap for their defenders they shouldn't have much problem there.

The midfield is obviously is the key. Can Carlton cover all of Geelong's midfield matchups? Probably not and that's why Geelong just over the line for me.

You said it yourself, you've been playing terrible football. It might have got you home against those teams below you on the ladder, but it won't be good enough against the best. Carlton are not at same level as Geelong and Collingwood, and are only third because there are a lot of ordinary teams this year.[/quote]
youre right about that,and you should know!

Carlton have beaten no-one of note yet. Will come crashing back to earth.

Lol. We've had a harder fixture than a lot of the teams currently in the 8.

Quietly confident we can match it with the Cats. We've had a bit of wood over them since 2009. We seem to match their style quite well.

Another good test for us coming up.

Geelong should win. A far better team. Don't know why other teams struggle against the Blues. Hawthorn never has any problems with them.

Lol. We've had a harder fixture than a lot of the teams currently in the 8.

Quietly confident we can match it with the Cats. We've had a bit of wood over them since 2009. We seem to match their style quite well.

Another good test for us coming up.

While there's no doubting that, our style has changed a bit since. Could go either way IMO.

..earlier in the season our 'reality check' came against the pies and we lost.. ..but for falling asleep for most of the 2nd Q we matched it with the pies, and a good team like the pies will punish you for a brief lapse and it was kinda goal for goal after that and we matched up well in KPI's for the match.. ..IF we can play like that vs the cats we're a chance.. ..but it will take 4Q's of finals like intensity to match 'em..

Stopping Taylor/Scarlett being loose in defence is the key. Lonergan could take Waite. Taylor/Scarlett will play on.............? They will do their own thing. Henderson's form probably doesn't warrant him coming in; he did quite well on Scarlett last year. Would consider bringing Hampson in...Warnock looks tired, Ottens will wear him down during the game.

Dont know why a Carlton supporter would create this thread but its here anyway so we'll bite

Dont like that its at docklands, our footy there this year has been terrible. Im not taking too much from the losing after the bye thoery either. Hopefully our speedsters will enjoy the extra few days and we can be switched on for 4 qtrs etc etc etc....

Geelong are favourites obviously, although I expect a decent showing from us

Might be a tad bias but I see a Carlton win coming up on Friday Night. The Cats put alot of preparation and planning into the Collingwood game and I believe that could create a let down for them against the Blues. Carlton also have a good record against them and with there leg speed could create a problem for Geelong.

Thoughts and predictions?
I see Carlton as a chance but not for the reason you say, rather that they are an in form team on the up.
Geelong have been playing these sorts of games and winning them consistently for the last 4 years.
Geelong by 20 points for mine.

the thought of mcleans opponent running away from hi is frightening,we are a quick side with yarran garlett etc ,mclean would have to be the slowest in the afl,he even looks slow at vfl level

We are definately a good chance to win. Will have too much speed and will match them for class. Not sure where they can outgun us, I believe we will have their measure as we did on the previous occasion irrespective of the location. lol at "we are only 3rd because there are no other decent teams".:eek:

The last time these two sides met it was at Etihad in Round 21 last year, and Geelong won. I don't know why but seemingly everyone has forgotten that game.

Carlton are a big chance, no doubt at all. But Geelong have been able to get over Carlton recently also.

most of our bad games in recent times have been at etihad it doesnt suit our running game ,the sooner we get outter there and onto the g the better.id be super confident at the g but at es im not very confident at all.last year we exploited their lack of leg speed at the g and then at es later in the season it all unravelled

Last time:

Geelong 18.13 (121) def. Carlton 12.7 (79)
Judd 20 touches
Adding to that the bye factor, and i think Geelong will win quite comfortably, although i hope for another close one...[/quote]

Think about us old farts with sensitive hearts with these close games

Last time:

Geelong 18.13 (121) def. Carlton 12.7 (79)
Judd 20 touches
Adding to that the bye factor, and i think Geelong will win quite comfortably, although i hope for another close one...

This..what do they mean have the wood over us since 2009? Carlton beat us early last year and the time before that is when we where resting players in 2009 after the Saints then Brisbane gabba match? I'm I missing something??:confused:

^^ that was Edihad too... should still be a good match though....

Friday Night, Carlton vs Geelong