Roast Full house clean required

We really going to go back to eating our own again?

We have been really competitive for most of the year against the top 8 teams with one key position forward who is 34.

You can't be a dynasty team or looking to clean out house for a top 3 pick. Sometimes you just have to accept, we are a Medicare team this year. Not far off playing finals, but not good enough in the end.

I have no idea if Mini should be coach,but saying he is crap because we lost one game by 60 points against a top 5 side is just emotional stupidity.

Let's celebrate some champion players when they play their last games in Melbourne against North, enjoy the win and send them off in style. Hope Jack kicks 8 plus. Let's get 60,000 k there and make it feel like we are rewinding the clock one last time.

Next year we refresh and try again. Still have players like Balta, Grimes, Vlaustin, Bolton, Baker, Toranto, Martin, Lynch, hopper, Nank

Hopefully some of the younger guys who have had a year or two in the VFL progress up.

Hopefully Sampson comes out next year beefed up after spending 5 months hitting that gym.

We also have the Lynch and Martin contracts ending next year, that's a lot of cap space.

As for hardwick, he gave everything he could and delivered. Good luck to him at gold coast. Did his actions off field have any bearings on the team ? I have no idea.

The only regret I have is not getting Van Rooyan when he slipped and we had 5 top 30 picks. But time will tell on that one.

Upwards and onwards, go Tigers.

For anyone who is in fits about giving up draft picks for TT and Hopper .. without those two players take me through our midfield rotation from 2025 onwards……

Poor comment. That’s 2 seasons of drafting and other recruiting, and player development.

You never know what a player is going to become until they get the opportunity. I’m annoyed we’re not still playing Short on the ball. Far better defensively and quicker than Hopper and Taranto, and can kick.

We have been really competitive for most of the year against the top 8 teams with one key position forward who is 34.

You can't be a dynasty team or looking to clean out house for a top 3 pick. Sometimes you just have to accept, we are a Medicare team this year. Not far off playing finals, but not good enough in the end.

I have no idea if Mini should be coach,but saying he is crap because we lost one game by 60 points against a top 5 side is just emotional stupidity.

Let's celebrate some champion players when they play their last games in Melbourne against North, enjoy the win and send them off in style. Hope Jack kicks 8 plus. Let's get 60,000 k there and make it feel like we are rewinding the clock one last time.

Next year we refresh and try again. Still have players like Balta, Grimes, Vlaustin, Bolton, Baker, Toranto, Martin, Lynch, hopper, Nank

Hopefully some of the younger guys who have had a year or two in the VFL progress up.

Hopefully Sampson comes out next year beefed up after spending 5 months hitting that gym.

We also have the Lynch and Martin contracts ending next year, that's a lot of cap space.

As for hardwick, he gave everything he could and delivered. Good luck to him at gold coast. Did his actions off field have any bearings on the team ? I have no idea.

The only regret I have is not getting Van Rooyan when he slipped and we had 5 top 30 picks. But time will tell on that one.

Talking back of house not so much front house. Coaches, recruiters, fitness staff etc. we’re bare of talent and need a refresh.

Poor comment. That’s 2 seasons of drafting and other recruiting, and player development.

You never know what a player is going to become until they get the opportunity. I’m annoyed we’re not still playing Short on the ball. Far better defensively and quicker than Hopper and Taranto, and can kick.
Yeh just look at North. You cull all the experience and don't bring anyone in and look at all those stars sprouting from nowhere........oh what it's a void.

Taranto has been literally brownlow contender good. He has been absolutely worth it. Hopper has not as of yet, but still may by the end of his contract.

Can’t wait until we recruit the next Cam Howat or David Gourdis… shouldn’t be too far away!!

Time to admit it, Dimma ******* some ** in Gold Coast lockdown was also the ultimate ***** of the club. Lucky we got that circus flag but really we’ve been ****ed ever since.

All the good coaches left the club while we have been left with the s**t.

Recruiters are rubbish, fitness staff are rubbish and coaches. Time to clean our everyone and start fresh. Otherwise we are ****ed just like Hawthorn.
its too late bruz

Eating our own? what the f are you on about?

How has anyone "ate their own"?

The performance & effort was shit, people are disappointed at it

Players were managed/rested without explanation

Lots of people have decided they don't want Mini as coach.

That is not "eating your own", its called having " independent thought" & "opinions"

Yeh just look at North. You cull all the experience and don't bring anyone in and look at all those stars sprouting from nowhere........oh what it's a void.

Taranto has been literally brownlow contender good. He has been absolutely worth it. Hopper has not as of yet, but still may by the end of his contract.

Maybe just don’t comment.

Taranto has not had a Brownlow level season. He’s had a good season but **** me he’s nowhere near the bloke leading the Bulldogs tonight.

I’m less against the Taranto recruitment but we haven’t improved. We have not once this year looked as good as we did last year, not once.

I never said anything about culling senior players. I’m all for keeping senior stars to help develop the next generation.

Norf? Got plenty of stars but also still have older players, bit like Carlton though their list drops off very quickly… but not sure what they have to do with what I’m talking about as I haven’t said anything about culling senior players.

TT is 25yo. Would we trade 12 and 19 for him again? A resounding yes. He has been superb and has another 5-7 quality years left.

So that leaves Hopper. We swapped pick 31 (a late 30’s pick with academy kids etc..) for a lager pick, so both lottery picks really.

So it’s really our first pick for Hopper that is the issue. We probably wouldn’t do that again right now, but Hopper is going to be a very good player for us if he can get a good run with injury, but time will tell. I wasn’t thrilled with Prestia’s first half of 2017 either, but that turned out ok.

If you think a single first round pick is the answer to any list build issues we may confront that’s pretty naive. North have more first and second round picks than any other team and are still crud, so why anyone thinks a single first rounder instead of Hopper was some sort of silver bullet is beyond me.

And sure, some might argue we shouldn’t have even done the TT deal. But as I said, with no TT, no Hopper, no Cotch and maybe no Prestia or Martin from 2025, I’m glad we didn’t take the mindset of being uncompetitive as our midfield would be diabolical.

Do you think Bolton, Balta, Rioli, Baker, Short etc… hang around if they see 5-years of complete ineptitude coming our way?

It might turn out that way anyway, but a few draft picks with only one of them top-10 solves nothing.

Explain that to Geelong/Collingwood/Sydney.. yes not as many flags but rarely bottom out. Our club is huge but all of a sudden we look like we’re back to 1990-2010 times. I’ve been through the pain and it looks exactly that way now, may as well recruit a couple more guns like Kane Johnson.
umps are those clubs biggest asset

Taranto is decent not a star. Don’t get confused he gets a lot of ball but does little with it. He ain’t not Bontempelli
Finally. he is getting found out.

This is going to sound nuts but......
We Need to trade Taranto or we are doomed, with Hopper as a 2 for 1 deal. Get one great ball user for both of them.
Cumberland who I initially had huge hopes for - probably be gone or one more year to prove he can still play.

In the too-slow basket. there are many.....

Playing below form.
Prestia
Graham
Pickett
Cotchin
Grimes
Vlaus
Rioli jnr

Pass marks
Ross
Jack R (just)
Short

Stand outs....
Baker.
Rioli.
Balta.
Martin.
Young-considering he has only played a few games.

Missed many but I'm done.
I am tired and emotionally spent.

Can’t wait until we recruit the next Cam Howat or David Gourdis… shouldn’t be too far away!!
Yeh let's not trust the people that created a dynasty team on the back of following a long term plan by not overreacting to short term results!

Instead let's go back to overreacting and restarting at every obstacle based on unreasonable expectations of constant success! That sure worked well for us for 30 years. Definitely a better time than our 3 flags, wasn't it?

Taranto is decent not a star. Don’t get confused he gets a lot of ball but does little with it. He ain’t not Bontempelli
I think youre getting confused between a star and a superstar. Taranto is picking up 30 touch/4 goal games. He is absolutely a star.

Bont is a level above which only a few players sit.

TT is 25yo. Would we trade 12 and 19 for him again? A resounding yes. He has been superb and has another 5-7 quality years left.

So that leaves Hopper. We swapped pick 31 (a late 30’s pick with academy kids etc..) for a lager pick, so both lottery picks really.

So it’s really our first pick for Hopper that is the issue. We probably wouldn’t do that again right now, but Hopper is going to be a very good player for us if he can get a good run with injury, but time will tell. I wasn’t thrilled with Prestia’s first half of 2017 either, but that turned out ok.

If you think a single first round pick is the answer to any list build issues we may confront that’s pretty naive. North have more first and second round picks than any other team and are still crud, so why anyone thinks a single first rounder instead of Hopper was some sort of silver bullet is beyond me.

And sure, some might argue we shouldn’t have even done the TT deal. But as I said, with no TT, no Hopper, no Cotch and maybe no Prestia or Martin from 2025, I’m glad we didn’t take the mindset of being uncompetitive as our midfield would be diabolical.

Do you think Bolton, Balta, Rioli, Baker, Short etc… hang around if they see 5-years of complete ineptitude coming our way?

It might turn out that way anyway, but a few draft picks with only one of them top-10 solves nothing.

Less issue with TT due to both age and ability. The point is you can’t crystal ball we don’t have midfield in 2025 because we don’t recruit TT and Hopper.

The picks to acquire those players are 4 decent picks + another second we still have. Then there was always the possibility we went for a different player like a Tanner Bruhn, or someone like that in upcoming off seasons.

A few things that are worth considering is Ross is playing wing but really isn’t a winger. He’s a genuine mid at VFL level and if his form is anything to go by he might be able to make it there at AFL level. Sonsie has barely played but last year the signs were there. Bolton/Short who knows but playing less midfield time due to Taranto/Hopper. Even MRJ could become a midfielder.

The point is we have settled on two guys for big $$$. One hasn’t performed, one has but still we haven’t improved.

Eating our own? what the f are you on about?

How has anyone "ate their own"?

The performance & effort was s**t, people are disappointed at it

Players were managed/rested without explanation

Lots of people have decided they don't want Mini as coach.

That is not "eating your own", its called having " independent thought" & "opinions"
Did you miss the original post? This was far more than just about this performance

We are. Just got rid of our coach, Riewoldt and Cotchin this year.

People are overreacting, if lynch was fit we’d be pushing for top 4.

Grimes, Dusty, Cotch out today. Plus Hopper and Rioli came off. Not sure what people were expecting to happen when we are playing the dogs in hot form on their home deck which happens to be our worst ground.

Imo next year we need to look at Grimes and Pickett leaving.

Finally. he is getting found out.

This is going to sound nuts but......
We Need to trade Taranto or we are doomed, with Hopper as a 2 for 1 deal. Get one great ball user for both of them.
Cumberland who I initially had huge hopes for - probably be gone or one more year to prove he can still play.

In the too-slow basket. there are many.....

Playing below form.
Prestia
Graham
Pickett
Cotchin
Grimes
Vlaus
Rioli jnr

Pass marks
Ross
Jack R (just)
Short

Stand outs....
Baker.
Rioli.
Balta.
Martin.
Young-considering he has only played a few games.

Missed many but I'm done.
I am tired and emotionally spent.

Or we keep Taranto and Hopper in the engine room and upgrade our other “role” players to be quicker. Might sound stupid but we need another 3 good smalls for the mosquito fleet again with 2nd-4th round picks.

Also a decent 2nd KPF. Something like a McStay or Miochek.

Slow players like Graham are starting to look tradeable to me.

We are. Just got rid of our coach, Riewoldt and Cotchin this year.

People are overreacting, if lynch was fit we’d be pushing for top 4.

Grimes, Dusty, Cotch out today. Plus Hopper and Rioli came off. Not sure what people were expecting to happen when we are playing the dogs in hot form on their home deck which happens to be our worst ground.

Imo next year we need to look at Grimes and Pickett leaving.
Sorry mate your in fairyland.
Even with Lynch that's wishful.
I'll give you Dusty the rest should retire.

s**t melt by Captain Hindsight. This is the absolutely toxic mindset than you can't 'waste year's you've either got to be contender or rebuilding. Facts are you spend lots of time between this too.

You're literally starting the counter from our last flag as 'wasted'. So you think we should have won a a flag and culled the list in the office season? Just like when they left the field with the cup tell them they're gone.

Such a nonsense hindsight response. Facts are we have a dynasty team. This is a once of a lifetime team. You do everything you can take every chance you can. You don't give up and restart with a team like that.

You're also in another false mindset about rebuilds. Rebuilds fails ALL THE TIME. We full the list and bottom out and we could be there for another few decades, there's no certainty we bounce back yet in your mind it's that easy.

Honestly sad how absolutely spoiled and entitled some supporters are. Oh no weve gone 3 years without winning a flag! We only made finals 1 year ago !?!.

Do you not remember the 12 years break of just MAKING finals? Do you not remember how much of an effort and accomplishment it was to make finals at all? And then to win a single one? It took 16 years.....and you are here have a breakdown when we spend a few years as a middle of the road team. Entitled. Spoiled. Childish. Grow up and appreciate what this team has accomplished
People like him watch Footy Classified and believe every word.

They freak out about draft picks and rebuilds because of hot takes by Kane Cornes.

Say that now but wait 30 years and see how you feel
He won't feel a thing he will be 100 feet under just in case the cemetery floods, the Aussies will finally say YES, and there won't be any grounds due to some bombing going around :'(
We need a reshuffle as it was the end of 16 to get things rolling again surely we can't succumb to that 37 years of bad management but then again Gale will be in Tassie and the last survivor of our current dynasty will be gone.

The problem is that we don't have the talent though. There are a lot of holes in our list now as our flag stars all retire one by one.
Yep, keep telling people that for ages prior to our downfall starting 3 years ago. Just 2 years ago apparently we had the best draft picks of any club's and what have we got to show for it so fair? We can't pick a genuine draft pick maybe Gibby who knows? Our recruiters couldn't find a broom let alone talent accept of course ones already going around and some fair-aged players. Last night only Bauer looked any good and again was a mid-season pick.

Roast Full house clean required