GDFL 2009 Season - Part 2

As for the reports, how about the fact the ambulance took over 40 minutes to show up then stood at the back of the van talking amongst one another before showing the slightest amount of urgency to the man who needed them the most. They have a lot to answer for.

don't know how accurate that description is. I was there on Saturday night and I don't think anyone realised the enormity of what had happened until about 5/10 minutes after the incident. You don't expect someone to die from one punch, i didn't actually see the alleged punch or altercation but there were a few people outside with him for a good 5 minutes or so (from my recollection, i'd had a few beers).. I'm guessing like anyone else would in that situation they just thought he was knocked out? i'm tipping they soon realised it was much worse and rang through.. As I was leaving a lady rushed inside (to which I presume call an ambulance?) and i reckon i'd only walked a bit over a block away from Richmond Crescent in towards town when i saw 2 ambulances come flying past. That's when I began to fear the worst.. found out later that night what had happened and came straight home absolutely gutted..

So to bigrayhall, tish, gdfl4eva and hbkaus. your the most insensitive and disrespectful people that i know right now. Makes me sick that you can judge a club or a president in the way you have. Your the sort of people who would get some sort of morbid thrill out of being able to say 'oh i knew that guy, or i saw him the other day!!' Hope it makes you feel good.

Mate you need to calm down and go back and read what i said. My only problem was with the quotes from the club president where he said that the boys were still having a "quiet celebration of their achievements". My point was that he probably couldve worded it a little better so that the disrespectful allegations wouldnt surface as much as they have. Not anywhere in my post did i actually bag the players for having a drink. Read this post calmly and rationally and decide whether you still think i am being "insensitive and disrespectful".

Ditto for me ... I don't want to get into a bunfight because we are losing perspective on the real victims of this tragedy (yes right ... it is not about us - The BIG egos on the Big footy blog) but I never said the players shouldn't gather for a drink. It is the only thing they could have done. No club or its players should have to go through something like what they had just experienced. If you read my comments properly you'll find I said the club handled it poorly because the majority of people felt it insensitive and poor timing to have a drink at the clubrooms (the scene of the incident) on Sunday and I'll stand by that. Common sense should have prevailed, seeing the players meeting, out of the public eye, at someone's house to have a drink and console each other while also reflecting on what happened. Clearly, they were on a hiding to nothing by meeting at the rooms. Finito ...

Disagree. The club was the best place to put on a brave face and a united front. It was also the pre-arranged meeting place for the sunday before the tradegy occurred with many players unaware of the incident until they arrived at the clubrooms. Maybe they could have gone to someones home, but it was decided that rather than yahoo all over town in pubs on the sunday the clubrooms were the best place for a lock-in and a PRIVATE drink to reflect on the years achievements and to come to grips as a CLUB with the tragedy. However, it wasnt to be and we have been acosted left right and centre.

I understand hbkaus that you didnt bag the players/club but if you knew our president you would know that he is just as devasted than the true victims and their families. I know you were just stating that what he said came across as bad but really without reading in to it too much, you knew exactly what he meant.

I do understand what he meant, and i understand that it was a very rare, delicate situation that he wouldnt have faced before and nobody wishes it on anyone. All i am saying that his way of explaining it may not have helped the situation.
Anyway, thats all I am gonna say as its not important what i think - sincerest condolences to the family and everybody involved.

but if you knew our president you would know that he is just as devasted than the true victims and their families. I know you were just stating that what he said came across as bad but really without reading in to it too much, you knew exactly what he meant.

Totally agree.. Nobody with a shred of local footy knowledge or credibility would have a personal crack at Daffer Thompson. One of the most geniunely friendly people I have met in local football, not about recieving praise or the fan fare.. just puts his heart and soul into the club every weekend, making sure it runs as smoothly and as successfully as possible.. He'd be absolutely gutted by what's happened..

and to those who said he could have handled the press better.. i'd like to see any other president of a local footy club do any better.. you don't sign up expecting to deal with anything anywhere near as catastrophic as this, heck even a full-time paid AFL president would have struggled in those circumstances.

enough of the attacks on the character of the East Geelong Footy club because they are way off the mark.

I think it's time we move on from this whole topic in all honesty, all our jibba jabba isn't going to be doing anyone anygood..

Saturday's game, what'd we make of it?

1 Red Card, 2 Yellow Cards, A Streaker, A Melee and some pretty good footy in patches as well.

Prymke was sensational, probably didn't have more than 10/15 touches but some of those marks he took were absolutely pivotal, likewise Closter.

Thought the Coy boys did plenty of damage also.

Fursland was IMO BPH's best, followed by Robbie May, Shaun Lewis and Venner.

Oh and this is taking nothing away from the BPH footy club, because they were easily the 2nd best side in the league this year after East.. but I can't help but feel Thomson would have given a better show on Grand Final day.

anyone agree/disagree?

2 say alcohol doesnt cause fights, yes i agree i doesnt cause the fight but it makes fights happen cause most of the time wen ya not drinkin a fight will be just verbal but wen ya drinkin most of the time verbal fights turn into physical fights. alcohol is a huge problem that need 2 be fixed fast b4 more people get killed

I don't think he was saying it doesn't cause fights, we all know it does. He was saying it's no excuse and I agree.

Back onto the footy, the season's done, who have we been impressed with, disappointed with, and who do we expect big things from in the future.

The game has been forgotten amongst the mayhem that occurred in the after-match events. It seems a bit hollow discussing the performances of players during the game when the actual game has been washed away by the incident. It is the performances of players after the game that need to be dissected and analysed...

I'm tipping Inverleigh to make the 5 next year.

but. I've heard rumours (nothing more than rumours) that East Geelong is talking to Jace Kelly

If the Eagle's snag Kelly (which I doubt they will) lock them in now for Back2Back.

Any word on any actual signings yet?.. i've heard Winch have been speaking to a few people already (and possibly even signed then)

East Geelong
Bell Post Hill
Inverleigh
Thomson
Bannockburn

North Geelong
Winchelsea
Werribee
Corio
Belmont
Anakie
Geelong West

My early prediction for next years ladder. (obviously subject to change with players coming/going)

Totally agree.. Nobody with a shred of local footy knowledge or credibility would have a personal crack at Daffer Thompson. One of the most geniunely friendly people I have met in local football, not about recieving praise or the fan fare.. just puts his heart and soul into the club every weekend, making sure it runs as smoothly and as successfully as possible.. He'd be absolutely gutted by what's happened..

and to those who said he could have handled the press better.. i'd like to see any other president of a local footy club do any better.. you don't sign up expecting to deal with anything anywhere near as catastrophic as this, heck even a full-time paid AFL president would have struggled in those circumstances.

enough of the attacks on the character of the East Geelong Footy club because they are way off the mark.

I think it's time we move on from this whole topic in all honesty, all our jibba jabba isn't going to be doing anyone anygood..

Saturday's game, what'd we make of it?

1 Red Card, 2 Yellow Cards, A Streaker, A Melee and some pretty good footy in patches as well.

Prymke was sensational, probably didn't have more than 10/15 touches but some of those marks he took were absolutely pivotal, likewise Closter.

Thought the Coy boys did plenty of damage also.

Fursland was IMO BPH's best, followed by Robbie May, Shaun Lewis and Venner.

Oh and this is taking nothing away from the BPH footy club, because they were easily the 2nd best side in the league this year after East.. but I can't help but feel Thomson would have given a better show on Grand Final day.

anyone agree/disagree?

i reckon the turning point was sean o'learys efforts in the second quarter absolutelty awesome

I'm tipping Inverleigh to make the 5 next year.

but. I've heard rumours (nothing more than rumours) that East Geelong is talking to Jace Kelly

If the Eagle's snag Kelly (which I doubt they will) lock them in now for Back2Back.

Any word on any actual signings yet?.. i've heard Winch have been speaking to a few people already (and possibly even signed then)

East Geelong
Bell Post Hill
Inverleigh
Thomson
Bannockburn

North Geelong
Winchelsea
Werribee
Corio
Belmont
Anakie
Geelong West

My early prediction for next years ladder. (obviously subject to change with players coming/going)

im pretty sure he is no chance of goin 2 east, my mail is that while stone is coaching inverleigh kelly will be there

i reckon the turning point was sean o'learys efforts in the second quarter absolutelty awesome

yeah you're not wrong, he was sensational.. i gave him votes from memory

im pretty sure he is no chance of goin 2 east, my mail is that while stone is coaching inverleigh kelly will be there

yeah, not suprising. Jace has never hinted to me that he wants to leave.. I honestly don't know why anyone would leave Inverleigh to be honest.. Great group out there at the moment and I reckon they'll be a terrific side next season.

yeah you're not wrong, he was sensational.. i gave him votes from memory

yeah, not suprising. Jace has never hinted to me that he wants to leave.. I honestly don't know why anyone would leave Inverleigh to be honest.. Great group out there at the moment and I reckon they'll be a terrific side next season.

could be a few comin bak from previous years 2, ;)

I heard the only one not to sign on again out at Inva was the Big O...With everyone else pretty much committing to next year.

Big O still unsure if he can play on prob body's gone! Dont think he could train or anythin throughout last year??

You are just a f*&king idiot. What do you want to have happen? All stay at home and feel like shit or get together & support each other through this? You forget that about 200 people watched a man die in front of their eyes Saturday night. The reason why we stayed at the club Sunday is because we didn't want to go anywhere else & have f*&kwits like you slagging the club & the players needed to rally around not only each other but the East Geelong Football Club, which is a fantastic football club.
People's lives have been ruined through this & countless others affected. Just ill-informed fools like you read a paper & come on here stir shit. Get a life you f*&king loser.
And may I also point out that it is an ALLEGATION!

I apologise for my comments about the club. After a couple of days to think about it and to get my head around what happened i realise that i was out of line.
Nathan's death has affected me as i played quite a bit of cricket with him and at the time i was so pissed off with what happened (and still am) that i wasn't thinking about what i was writing.

Werribee Centrals and Thomson the 2 standout teams of the decade.

premeirships

Werribee Centrals - 3 (2000, 2001 and 2004)
Thomson - 3 (2005, 2006 and 2008)
Bannockburn - 1 (2002)
Nth Geelong - 1 (2003)
Belmont - 1 (2007)
East Geelong - (2009)

Expect Werribee Centrals to dominate again very shortly.

I apologise for my comments about the club. After a couple of days to think about it and to get my head around what happened i realise that i was out of line.
Nathan's death has affected me as i played quite a bit of cricket with him and at the time i was so pissed off with what happened (and still am) that i wasn't thinking about what i was writing.

Takes a lot of courage to write that mate and it's well appreciated. The same goes for me and i apologise for such aggressive comments. At the end of the day this is something that no-one can prepare for. Sometimes the most important thing is how we present ourselves after something like this.

We should now all see the bigger picture and try to stop this sort of thing from happening anywhere.. let alone our own backyard.

Werribee Centrals and Thomson the 2 standout teams of the decade.

premeirships

Werribee Centrals - 3 (2000, 2001 and 2004)
Thomson - 3 (2005, 2006 and 2008)
Bannockburn - 1 (2002)
Nth Geelong - 1 (2003)
Belmont - 1 (2007)
East Geelong - (2009)

Expect Werribee Centrals to dominate again very shortly.

I find it staggering that apart from perhaps North Geelong '03 and Belmont '07 it seems as though 'the big 4' of thomson, bannock, east and bph and former powerhouse centrals (on their way back though) are the only teams in the past 10 years to have any chance of winning the flag.

For the league to really build upon the last few years of improved standards, teams such as Blue West, Anakie, Winch and even Corio need to start improving with the times.

FOr teams such as anakie and winch, when does it get to a stage (with the way country footy is going) where it will just be impossible for them to compete? They might recruit a few for 2 years then they all disappear again. They need some retention strategies and they need to take a massive leaf out of a club like inverleighs book that would have similar problems but have focused on their junior program which is starting to reap some major benefits.. Now they just need to keep them at the club!!

I find it staggering that apart from perhaps North Geelong '03 and Belmont '07 it seems as though 'the big 4' of thomson, bannock, east and bph and former powerhouse centrals (on their way back though) are the only teams in the past 10 years to have any chance of winning the flag.

For the league to really build upon the last few years of improved standards, teams such as Blue West, Anakie, Winch and even Corio need to start improving with the times.

FOr teams such as anakie and winch, when does it get to a stage (with the way country footy is going) where it will just be impossible for them to compete? They might recruit a few for 2 years then they all disappear again. They need some retention strategies and they need to take a massive leaf out of a club like inverleighs book that would have similar problems but have focused on their junior program which is starting to reap some major benefits.. Now they just need to keep them at the club!!
In saying that tho.. how many finals series have corio competed in... i no of at least 4... maybe even more.. so to say that they need to improve is pretty hard because theyve definatly been up there just not good enuff come september

tend to agree.

hate to use the "c" word, but Corio should have done alot better in finals than they have been.

They still had close to arguably the best list in the league this season yet failed to even make finals.

It was a weekend of magnificent highs and devastating lows.

The events of Saturday night will be remembered by all who were at the
clubrooms, and everyone connected with the club, for a very long time and have put the business of football in its true perspective.

For those interested in assisting the Alsop family donations can be
made to the Nathan Alsop Family Appeal at any Westpac bank.

tend to agree.

hate to use the "c" word, but Corio should have done alot better in finals than they have been.

They still had close to arguably the best list in the league this season yet failed to even make finals.

Are you serious? The reason they didn't make finals is because the list might be talented, but blokes were unavailable every second week. It's little wonder they missed out