GDFL 2009 Season

i hear they have signed former modda and then forrest player richard mcadam. they have lost starcevic. he is of 2 newtown. and they lost a good kid lachie hill he is of 2 the gfl.:thumbsu: they r also in talks 2 get paul and scott rossiter back from north shore;)

Richie is a deffinate at the hawks nest next as is hill and a number of new faces including The coahes cousin from lara and Leopolds CHF to sign soon.. Starce and Muir wil be big losses how ever!! Money on Lachie Hill to go close to Whittley Medal.

where is muir off 2. i heard he was trying out 4 the vfl and if he didnt get on a list he would be playing at inverleigh. good 2 hear trotter is goin around as a hawk again, the club needs 2 reward his loyalty by at least making finals this year

Re: Geelong and District Football League 2

We added 10 and a seriously good and well respected coach. Hitman, you are kidding yourself if you think Winch will be that big of a threat this year. Belmont have had 30 - 40 most nights aswell. Quantity counts for little especially at this time of the year. Wait till round 1 and see how many are still around. I hate to say it but my top 5 will consist of Thomson, BPH, Corio, East and either Nth, Inverleigh or Belmont, with my old club the Panthers my early tip to win their 1st ever senior flag(as long as Nathan Lewis keeps his head. I've said it before and I'll say it again, they can't win it if he's not playing). Finishing 4 or 5 in the GDFL is like finishing 5-8 in the AFL, you are only there to stretch the finals for a bit longer to give the GDFL exec a couple of more weeks on the free squirt.
To finish with Hitman, if the comp isn't that good,I look forward to seeing you collecting the Whitley Medal this year as the new league B + F. I've been playing in the comp for 20 years(senior) and it's become an extremely good standard of football. Quality players from other leagues are now not just using it as a retirement fund, they are actually coming over while they still have a lot to offer. Maybe you should take yourself and your club back to the CDFL if you want a very ordinary comp :thumbsdown:

Spider, I have played in the CDFL and the GDFL and they are both of a very similar standard. They are not the best competitions going around, but there are some very good players in the league.

The year Belmont won the flag, they did have a really good coach and I think thats what got them over the line. To say to Winch that they should take their club back to the CDFL... as much as I am a bit of a Belmont man, i feel is a bit harsh as I think Belmont have been in a similar situation before and even needed assistance from the league to keep going. I think Winch can turn it around as well, as did Belmont. It will be a tough job, good luck to the NEW coach.

As for the HITMAN winning the league B+F, i really dont think so. Is just a good, hard senior player... and i don't think he does himself any favours with the umpires.

Hi all,
Just a quick note to let people know that the Lions will recommence training on Monday the 12th January 5.30pm onwards at the Lions Den, this includes Senior, Res, U18 and U16 players.
Training will be Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
If you would more info please call on 0409707571 or email gwybar@bigpond.net.au

where is muir off 2. i heard he was trying out 4 the vfl and if he didnt get on a list he would be playing at inverleigh. good 2 hear trotter is goin around as a hawk again, the club needs 2 reward his loyalty by at least making finals this year

Word goin around he's signed with vfl team williamstown but will hopefully play up to 3 games for inverliegh during the vfl byes..

Spider, I have played in the CDFL and the GDFL and they are both of a very similar standard. They are not the best competitions going around, but there are some very good players in the league.

The year Belmont won the flag, they did have a really good coach and I think thats what got them over the line. To say to Winch that they should take their club back to the CDFL... as much as I am a bit of a Belmont man, i feel is a bit harsh as I think Belmont have been in a similar situation before and even needed assistance from the league to keep going. I think Winch can turn it around as well, as did Belmont. It will be a tough job, good luck to the NEW coach.

As for the HITMAN winning the league B+F, i really dont think so. Is just a good, hard senior player... and i don't think he does himself any favours with the umpires.

Badman, you should read the post properly before you post a reply. I have also played in both comps and the GDFL is by far a more competetive and even comp. As for Winch going back to the CDFL, that was a crack at what was said about the standard of footy in the GDFL, NOT what I believe they should do. I have reread the post several times and I'm not entirely sure how you even got that from what I wrote.
For the 3000th time yes we did get assistance from the league and I have no idea how the hell that even relates to anything going on a Winch. As far as I am aware they are one of the more financial clubs in the league so any comparison to the Belmont situation is completely idiotic. If you are a Belmont man as you say, you would obviously have my mobile number so try ringing it to clarify what I've posted before jumping on what I say

Word goin around he's signed with vfl team williamstown but will hopefully play up to 3 games for inverliegh during the vfl byes..
inverleigh may struggle this year in my oppinion, they have lost starcevic to newtown, crerar to a shoulder injury, prendergast moving away, aaron stewart back to lake bolac, muir to williamstown and with muir leaving that means hickleton isnt a certainty to stay, hill may look gfl and they have only signed one player, although they may be talking to players, this year could be the same as old for the hawks.

dont pretend u know wot ya talkin bout u got no idea mate, ill put my life on hicko staying, inver i know 4 sure hav signed some good players, only handfull of people know who has been signed up and im not 1 of those but i know they hav signed more than 1 player. starcevic is a big lose but he missed alot of games last year as did prendergast and crerar, im sure there will be alot of there young players taking a few more steps forward this season, with some more good young players on the way through. inver could be a very strong team 4 the next 5 years or more. i know most people on hear cant wait 4 inver 2 fail and fall back down the ladder but unless they fold i cant c that happening. im sick of people getting on hear talking about teams they know nothing about people forget that the season is still 4 months away there will be alot signings going on from now till the start of the season in all clubs, recruiting isnt all done by christmas. alot of people hate inver cause they beat alot of sides they would in other years hav lost 2 and some people cant handle being beaten by a small country town, well i say get used 2 it cause inver r going 2 be fitter, stronger and quicker this year and they arent going 2 lie down easily. i just turned 42 years old and i will c the hawks win a flag b4 im 45 im pretty sure.:):):):):):)

they won't win one before youre 54. small country town syndrome. win a couple games last year early, then went to shit in the 2nd half.
"only a handful of ppl know who we picked up" - sounds like youve got less of an idea than the bloke your accusing of knowing nothing ("dont pretend u know wot ya talkin bout u got no idea mate".)
embarassing, then again u could be a hickleton which would explain alot :O

To finish with Hitman, if the comp isn't that good,I look forward to seeing you collecting the Whitley Medal this year as the new league B + F. I've been playing in the comp for 20 years(senior) and it's become an extremely good standard of football. Quality players from other leagues are now not just using it as a retirement fund, they are actually coming over while they still have a lot to offer. Maybe you should take yourself and your club back to the CDFL if you want a very ordinary comp :thumbsdown:

Firstly, I didn't read that hitman said he was a gun on any threads here. So your comment on winning the medal is way off.
Secondly, if you've been playing in this comp. (seniors) for 20 years where did you squeeze in time to play cdfl? We surely are talking about comparing apples to apples and not leagues with a generation in between.
Thirdly, all hitman was stating was if you add a good half dozen footballers to any team in the gdfl then it can make a huge difference. Which I totally agree with.
It is the 3rd tiered comp. in the region isn't it? Or is it on par with the bfl? Come on champ, every comp. in the country has good footballers, it's the last 10-15 for each team that makes all the difference, but I'm sure you knew that.......:D

Anyway, keep up the threads hitman, I love that shite!!

on the climb I say:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Firstly, I didn't read that hitman said he was a gun on any threads here. So your comment on winning the medal is way off.
Secondly, if you've been playing in this comp. (seniors) for 20 years where did you squeeze in time to play cdfl? We surely are talking about comparing apples to apples and not leagues with a generation in between.
Thirdly, all hitman was stating was if you add a good half dozen footballers to any team in the gdfl then it can make a huge difference. Which I totally agree with.
It is the 3rd tiered comp. in the region isn't it? Or is it on par with the bfl? Come on champ, every comp. in the country has good footballers, it's the last 10-15 for each team that makes all the difference, but I'm sure you knew that.......:D

Anyway, keep up the threads hitman, I love that shite!!

on the climb I say:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Sth Colac in 2000. Should have put open age footy, not specifically senior. Started as a 16 year old.
I reckon there is a case to say it is as good as the BFL by the fact they constantly refuse to play the GDFL in an interleague match.
As for adding 6 players to a side, youve gotta have the other 15 to start with. 6 players will make you competetive, but won't make you world beaters.
Hope you blokes do alright this year. More than happy to be proved wrong, but as I said in a previous post,hard to see anybody breaking into the top 4 ahead of Thomson, BPH, Corio and East

Sth Colac in 2000. Should have put open age footy, not specifically senior. Started as a 16 year old.
I reckon there is a case to say it is as good as the BFL by the fact they constantly refuse to play the GDFL in an interleague match.
As for adding 6 players to a side, youve gotta have the other 15 to start with. 6 players will make you competetive, but won't make you world beaters.
Hope you blokes do alright this year. More than happy to be proved wrong, but as I said in a previous post,hard to see anybody breaking into the top 4 ahead of Thomson, BPH, Corio and East

No idea Spider 36 - Belmont Lions top 3!
Why dont you come to training and see the list:)

Word is that Winch may be recruiting couple players from Melb??
Anyone shed any light on this...And if so where they from and are they any good??

In fairness Spider since 2000 the CDFL would not have improved as much as the GDFL. In 2000 it would have been fair to say they are on a par, but in the last 3-4 years the GDFL has greatly improved as a competition. Whereas the CDFL probably has not advanced as far.

As for the age old question is the GDFL better than the BFL well i think the gap has closed a lot, the BFL would still be ahead IMO but not by as much as it was. Would be a great game between the 2. It should happen.

Why did people bother talking about Winch in here? there no good and aren't going to be any good this year, next year or the year after that and beyond:eek:

The G&DFL is simple the top 5 will be the same as ever Thomson, Corio, Bannockburn, Bell Post Hill and East Geelong with Werribee sniffing around, the rest of the sides aren't any good and never have been (besides the one flag Belmont got which they never should of).

Have a cry much? People can talk about whatever they want.

We added 10 and a seriously good and well respected coach. Hitman, you are kidding yourself if you think Winch will be that big of a threat this year. Belmont have had 30 - 40 most nights aswell. Quantity counts for little especially at this time of the year. Wait till round 1 and see how many are still around. I hate to say it but my top 5 will consist of Thomson, BPH, Corio, East and either Nth, Inverleigh or Belmont, with my old club the Panthers my early tip to win their 1st ever senior flag(as long as Nathan Lewis keeps his head. I've said it before and I'll say it again, they can't win it if he's not playing). Finishing 4 or 5 in the GDFL is like finishing 5-8 in the AFL, you are only there to stretch the finals for a bit longer to give the GDFL exec a couple of more weeks on the free squirt.

I think my comment really hit the spot spider. I just want to let you know that my comments previously about Belmont were not to discredit their premiership win, but merely to say that things can change within years as Belmont finished close to the bottom in 2006 and went on to win the premiership in 2007.

The league isn’t that good Spider. It is well below GFL and is considered below BFL. So it is probably considered to be one of the bottom tier leagues in country Victoria-but definitely not the worse.

The Hitman won’t win the league B+F and I don’t know why that was even brought up-silly comment if you ask me. Have you won a league B+F?? As for taking Winch back to the CDFL another ridiculous comment. Winch have been a very competitive side since coming into the GDFL, and only probably had 2 bad years since entering the league, one being last year.

Winch are on the Climb in 09 Spider. All the best for the season and I always look forward to the Winch V Belmont clash.

I think my comment really hit the spot spider. I just want to let you know that my comments previously about Belmont were not to discredit their premiership win, but merely to say that things can change within years as Belmont finished close to the bottom in 2006 and went on to win the premiership in 2007.

The league isn’t that good Spider. It is well below GFL and is considered below BFL. So it is probably considered to be one of the bottom tier leagues in country Victoria-but definitely not the worse.

The Hitman won’t win the league B+F and I don’t know why that was even brought up-silly comment if you ask me. Have you won a league B+F?? As for taking Winch back to the CDFL another ridiculous comment. Winch have been a very competitive side since coming into the GDFL, and only probably had 2 bad years since entering the league, one being last year.

Winch are on the Climb in 09 Spider. All the best for the season and I always look forward to the Winch V Belmont clash.

Come on kiddies... If you can't play nice you'll all get sent to your rooms till the 1st week in April.. ;)

Why did people bother talking about Winch in here? there no good and aren't going to be any good this year, next year or the year after that and beyond:eek:

The G&DFL is simple the top 5 will be the same as ever Thomson, Corio, Bannockburn, Bell Post Hill and East Geelong with Werribee sniffing around, the rest of the sides aren't any good and never have been (besides the one flag Belmont got which they never should of).

Want a tissue mate...Start up your own thread and dont bother readin this one then ya sook! G&DFL is not simple mate i think you may be...

People can talk about want ever they want thats wat this things about!