GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

sorry hbk, the inference was that gfl doesnt need a level of fitness. so sorry that i added a word.

Yes but as he states, his inference was that it's local footy - not every player is going to be ripped AFL-style.

It is a sad state of affairs when the first thing we notice about footballers is physique and not ability, there are plenty of blokes getting around that are not ripped that can play top local footy.
Seen plenty of "built like Tarzan, play like Jane" types over the years.

Word from one of the Leopold Lions hierarchy is that Matt Miller from Williamstown has signed on for two years at the Lions. I can remember him playing for Joeys a few years ago and he had pace to burn. I can recall he was top 3 in a Mathieson one year.He would be only 21/22. Lions the sleepers.Time for them to produce I reckon!

Definetly returned, not sure about assistant coach but it wouldn't suprise me as he would of left Camperdown to come back into some sort of leadership role.

And on the bloke in the front paper, its gfl footy and im sure there are a few flubber guts running around at this time of year.

Spot on shad assistant coach at the tigers!!

Hey thanks Hosco...so Colbert Assistant coach at Grovey.
The bloke on the front of the paper looked way out of shape...he's a running player isn't he??

...and I agre HOtofthe press...Lions are the sleepers....during the season tho'...still hearing the players are quite on the same page as the coach

dont use your own M O, to make excuses for your mates. Aaron isnt it?

M O? Aaron? mate your all over the place im not mates with the bloke i hardly even know him, ive been watching Grovedale for 2 or 3 years and hardly seen him play and i have never spoke to him personally, only seen him play a couple of junior games so get your facts right.

M O = modus operandi. so you are putting your fitness standards as the mark for a gfl footballer?

Yes but as he states, his inference was that it's local footy - not every player is going to be ripped AFL-style.

ok, no worries, how about coming up with something, instead of picking up grammar errors, and spelling mistakes

I did just there didnt i? Or do i have to spell out that I agree with him?

Most decent GFL footy players...especially the 'running' types..would not be as flabby as paper guy.

...and yep the only ruckman I know that is changing clubs is McFarlane...for a great deal of cash...

..and of course Sth Barwon only pay sign ons...they only pay incentives otherwise...but they do pay their sign ons weekly during the season d'oh...

M O = modus operandi. so you are putting your fitness standards as the mark for a gfl footballer?

Definetly not! but I have seen worse. From what i saw last year when Leopold played Grovedale at Grovedale he was the same, if not worse but im saying at this time of the year, surely you can't read too much into what players are looking like? They have been training back for probably a week or 2 from a lengthy spell

and Vampire when you watched flabby paper boy play against Grovedale last year...looking in much the same shape...I'm interested...did he get a kick?

I dont really remember much but i think he had a shocker. He got pinned for holding the ball a couple of times and the whole terrace went nuts when he did that

So whats the chances of Davenport getting St Albans to be the big improvers? any new faces there?....or further departures?

Time will tell! Previous years show he has definitely got his work cut out.
Gray, Graham, McFarlane boys & Host to Torquay. Chubb returning to SA. Macfarlane to South. Beaton O/S. You would think they will need to recruit at least 10 half decent footballers, just to cover those boys.
No news on recruits as yet. Hearing WAFL & Werribee boys names a bit??