GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

Davenport must be doing something right, cos they beat redan today. Not a bad start to a new club, by getting a win against the premiers from the Ballarat Football League last season.

Was having a beer with Pete last nite and he was saying that there looking pretty good with a few more recruits to come in.. Also yesterday Grovedale had a good win against Ballarat league side East Point with Buck Donohue booting a lazy 7.4, wasnt at the game but apprently they looked very sharp and fit and played a completely diferent game to last years.

what were the scores in the st albans/ redan game? did jarrod edwards play for redan?

Didnt go into detail about the match so im no sure who played or who didnt and he didnt mention the score either.

Only games ive heard of were grovey beat east point, bell park beat hoppers crossing and modda beat westbourne grammar.

Sorry but your inability to understand the point being made makes you look like the fool.

Let me put it simply for you then.

In the scheme of sports in Australia a local football league i.e the GFL isn't all that.

Great Victorian local league, but let's not paint it as anything more than that by saying you have to be a star AFL footballer to get a game, especially in the lower table teams.

There's no sycophants at my club, I bet there's more than a few at yours.

if your gonna get on here and rant about how you played vic and s**t, you wouldnt be scared to drop a name so everyone could say. who the f**k is he? GFL is the best country league in Australia, its basically one of the 3rd best leagues in Australia. You have no clue mate.

How are West shaping up this year? Any recruits besides the couple from Ocean Grove?

Not as bad as people think and I'm a realist. Obviously lost the Carsons which will be a blow but to pick up Doug Scott as playing coach has been a bonus. He has been outstanding around the club and there are regularly 50 on the track. From what I have seen, there are the Ocean Grove boys Rock and Riccardo, 3 or 4 on the VFL list with the Warrnambool and Sydney kids the standouts I think, a new big ruckman I believe from SANFL who will give Michael Stewart a chop out. Stewart was one of the real positives last year and he should be able to have a good rest down forward. From all reports, there will be about 12 new faces in the Round 1 side. No big predictions here but I would say a definite improved performance on last season and slowly making their way back up the ladder.

Have a look at the dribble this fool has posted on here great victorian league before that its no big deal any mug can get a game. Then pops up and makes examples of another posters english. From now on how about you the ex GFL superstar and now our great Australian rep in the very well followed and paticipated sport you now play go and tell your missus your thoughts cause everyone on here thinks your a tool

Try and keep up with the goings on with local football halfwit :thumbsu:

The top half ot the GFL is strong.

The bottom half is struggling, otherwise why would the league even consider totally revamping football in the region by introducing promotion/relegation? :rolleyes:

if your gonna get on here and rant about how you played vic and s**t, you wouldnt be scared to drop a name so everyone could say. who the f**k is he? GFL is the best country league in Australia, its basically one of the 3rd best leagues in Australia. You have no clue mate.

3rd best league in Australia mate?? Im assuming you think AFL and VFL is better, so im also assuming you think GFL is better than SANFL and WAFL:confused:

Country footy goes in cycles and currently id say GFL is behind both the OMFL and GVFL. Not to mention the Eastern footy league in Melbourne which is probably the best local league around plus the Essendon district and 'A' grade ammo's.

Im thinking your just a typical born and bred Geelong person who thinks GFL is the bee's knee's and who has never ventured outside the city boundaries and watched another local competition:thumbsu:

3rd best league in Australia mate?? Im assuming you think AFL and VFL is better, so im also assuming you think GFL is better than SANFL and WAFL:confused:

Country footy goes in cycles and currently id say GFL is behind both the OMFL and GVFL. Not to mention the Eastern footy league in Melbourne which is probably the best local league around plus the Essendon district and 'A' grade ammo's.

Im thinking your just a typical born and bred Geelong person who thinks GFL is the bee's knee's and who has never ventured outside the city boundaries and watched another local competition:thumbsu:

Reckon the TAS, ACT and QLD leagues would be stronger too ;)

But in fairness to him, he's talking with his Joeys hat on.

If you supported one of the 3-4 clubs in the GFL who can constantly spend big $ on players or had excellent junior feeder resources I guess you'd feel the GFL was super strong.

Wearing the hat of a North Shore or West Saints type fan you'd probably have views a bit more grounded.

Newtown vs Ammos praccy match this sunday I believe.

Would be a good game to watch to see how close a team like Ammos is to a decent GFL team in regards to the future of possible relegation/promotion.

Newtown are mid-table at best but I think they should shade Ammos.

These are the best leagues in Victoria outside the AFL & VFL:

-VAFA A Grade
-Eastern FL
-OMFL
-GFL
-Essendon FL
-GVFL
-WGLFL

etc, etc.

Clearly the three best sides in Victoria outside AFL/VFL in my opinion are Old Xaverians, Vermont & South Barwon.

Try and keep up with the goings on with local football halfwit :thumbsu:

The top half ot the GFL is strong.

The bottom half is struggling, otherwise why would the league even consider totally revamping football in the region by introducing promotion/relegation? :rolleyes:

Funny cause i follow the GFL and geelong footy very close and you are correct the top half of GFL is strong and the bottom half are a bit off them but the thing is you ex GFL now Aussie Gaelic legend tough sport at local level in australia:thumbsu:. Is the bottom half are still better than any other teams in geelong and go on bring up ammos they may beat one or two sides but they would get flogged by even the middle range newtown and leopold sides. The reason the promotion/relegation system is being looked at is to give the chance for these clubs to improve and the chance to move up the ranks but they would take years to get up to the South Barwons of the comp. Call me a halfwit but your a dead set F wit:D:D

Newtown vs Ammos praccy match this sunday I believe.

Would be a good game to watch to see how close a team like Ammos is to a decent GFL team in regards to the future of possible relegation/promotion.

where abouts is the newtown/ammo's game and what time is kick off?

Funny cause i follow the GFL and geelong footy very close and you are correct the top half of GFL is strong and the bottom half are a bit off them but the thing is you ex GFL now Aussie Gaelic legend tough sport at local level in australia:thumbsu:. Is the bottom half are still better than any other teams in geelong and go on bring up ammos they may beat one or two sides but they would get flogged by even the middle range newtown and leopold sides. The reason the promotion/relegation system is being looked at is to give the chance for these clubs to improve and the chance to move up the ranks but they would take years to get up to the South Barwons of the comp. Call me a halfwit but your a dead set F
wit:D:D

It's a given that you're thick as two bricks.

But really, the use of "your" and "you're" isn't that hard to comprehend is it?

Call me a halfwit but your a dead set F wit:D:D

It's a given that you're thick as two bricks.

But really, the use of "your" and "you're" isn't that hard to comprehend is it?

Instead of swinging handbags at each other, how about we discuss the GFL in a mature and respectful way instead of playing keyboard warriors?

Anybody know who/if Lara have played any praccy matches yet?

Clearly the three best sides in Victoria outside AFL/VFL in my opinion are Old Xaverians, Vermont & South Barwon.[/quote]

Can throw Hiedleberg from the Northern footy league and Albury tigers from the OMFL in there aswell.

By saying VFL that includes SANFL WAFL etc.
And GFL has been voted the best country footy league in australia as it has the most players going forward to playing in VFL from time to time.

Clearly the three best sides in Victoria outside AFL/VFL in my opinion are Old Xaverians, Vermont & South Barwon.

Can throw Hiedleberg from the Northern footy league and Albury tigers from the OMFL in there aswell.

Saw Albury play last year and would think they'd have most of the GFL sides covered with ease.

St.Marys defeated West Preston Lakeside (Vic Metro - Northern Football League) by around 80points.

West Preston finished just outside the finals last year in the Northern League. The Northern league would be probably be the 3rd to 4th best league in Meblourne behind, VAFA A Grade, Eastern Football League and maybe Essendon District League. Make of that what you will fellas. The GFL is a very good league, definitely one of the top 5 in the state. but the number 1 teams in most leagues will always be high quality teams.

Davenport must be doing something right, cos they beat redan today. Not a bad start to a new club, by getting a win against the premiers from the Ballarat Football League last season.

Don't get too excited, they beat Redan this last year as well. Both clubs had less than full squads. St Albans won all 3 practise matches last year and only 3 more for the season. Massive turn over of players, coaches and support staff, which is probaly why the new football director forgot to order umpires and club umpires were used. Much to the disappointment of the new coach who I'm am told spent more time discussing decisions with the umpires than playing the game. Did not look good from the sidelines.:thumbsdown: