GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

Not sure mate, I havnt heard of Nick Spalding. Havnt heard of Larcombe returning but all I can divulge at the moment is that the player plays GFL for St.......:confused:. Sorry but I cant say more untill he actually signs.

Pretty sure there is a Nick Spolding at Newtown already, defender in the seniors and he us from up Ballarat way. I might be wrong though.

2 time North Ballarat premiership player Jacob Spalding has signed with Newtown. Very good get by the eagles. Also some very big announcements to come outta Grovey in the coming weeks including a prominent player from a rival GFL club coming to Burdoo... Watch this space.

When did this happen? Must have signed for a bit, considering he lives and works up in ballarat.

my information coming from grovey is michael schulze and matty bruhn to be announced as the coaches, benny raids and chris mackey as assistants...

Also a few of his mates from up Shepperton way have been linked with a move. There has been talk of his brother moving down for a couple of years now tho and its never happened so we'll wait and see.

In the addy today said that Grovedale will start there interview process this week to find the new coach. Im very excited about this as the club is now moving in the right direction and im sure they'll make the right decision unlike a few previous decisions! Did anybody mention Bluey McGrath:D

What else is going on around the league??? Seems like there is only Grovey or St Albans people on here now.

I agree. Anyone know anything about what is happening at Ammos?

Say it isnt so? Matty Bruhn coaching at Grovey?How do people keep getting coaching jobs when they have not delivered? How much does a coach get paid?

Mate I think you'll find turnitup was trying to get a bite out of me or vampire! Bru is not coaching Grovey, he has stood down from his assistants role at Newtown but will stay involved at the eagles in a smaller role.

Grovedale is a completely different club to what they were and will make the right decision with the coaching position. As for what coaches get paid, obviously it depends on how experienced he his, what his records like and how much the club is willing to spend.

Got told from a Newtown player. Would imagine there'd be some players that travel further to play GFL then Ballarat.
Nick and Jake are indeed brothersm Jake the elder. Nick is o/s at the moment not sure when he returns. Both Ocen Grove boys originally so not that much of a stretch for him to be coming back to Geelong, but he is one of the more experienced senior players at North Ballarat these days. Plays wing in the VFL but as a junior was a forward so could play a variety of roles.

Heard some whispers that the recruiting drive for St Albans will be focused purely at the WAFL.
The cheque book and promises of big coin is high on the list.
Anyone confirm this?

St albans having a real go at some players from swan districts in the wafl to go with Michael johnson who has already signed. ex Werribee players Wade twomey and brett Robinson to name a few. Serious coin being thrown around big big bucks

St Albans are a joke and an absolute laughing stock! They will never get anywhere because they are not developing young players, instead they are buying players who will most likely not be there 2 - 3 years down the track

well at least we can spend heaps of cash on players some clubs need to spend up big on there facillities which can only be described as a joke

Brummie, as someone who has an interest in St Albans I think your comments are a little inflammatory. Noone doubts the Saints ability to spend heaps of $ on players, sadly the problem therein lies that they often don't recruit the right sort of players to the club (see recent history Potter, Niklaus, Watts). You've opened both yourself and the club up to massive criticism here, something that St Albans get without needing any more.

I do however question why everyone is so concerned about so called 'big-money' being thrown around by St Albans. I would think 11 other sides are doing almost exactly the same thing this time of year and none of them get the airtime that St Albans get. South Barwon poached (and Newtown tried desperately to) McFarlane from St Albans for very good coin. Not a whisper. If it had happened the other way, there would be a veritable poo-storm on this forum.

All clubs spend money, some with more success than others. That's local footy.

Brummie, as someone who has an interest in St Albans I think your comments are a little inflammatory. Noone doubts the Saints ability to spend heaps of $ on players, sadly the problem therein lies that they often don't recruit the right sort of players to the club (see recent history Potter, Niklaus, Watts). You've opened both yourself and the club up to massive criticism here, something that St Albans get without needing any more.

I do however question why everyone is so concerned about so called 'big-money' being thrown around by St Albans. I would think 11 other sides are doing almost exactly the same thing this time of year and none of them get the airtime that St Albans get. South Barwon poached (and Newtown tried desperately to) McFarlane from St Albans for very good coin. Not a whisper. If it had happened the other way, there would be a veritable poo-storm on this forum.

All clubs spend money, some with more success than others. That's local footy.
agree with you about past recruiting very ordinary just gets frustrating hearing about dollars splashed around by st albans when all clubs splash at certain times

well at least we can spend heaps of cash on players some clubs need to spend up big on there facillities which can only be described as a joke

Maybe spend some dollars on your visitor's change rooms? Worst in the comp along with Lara's. About as big as a teenager's bedroom.