GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

Tim I agree, just like old Digger off the Coodabeens, "you can't touch 'em" they share Kardinia Park with the umpires so what do you expect. Add a couple of former AFL players into the mix and the umps go to water. Like travelling down Little Bourke St, only one way

Vinny obviously you have been sucking on way too many long blacks........in Lygon St, Echuca & now apparently in Lt Bourke St. I've been on the real issue from the start & that is the AFL umpiring performances are way worse than any local umpires, particularly at Grovedale. When you take into account the level of coaching the AFL umpires get compared to say..... the GFL then the AFL's standard should be far better. & is it? No. It's the reverse. So lets put this into context & give the locals a break. They are in fact umpiring to a standard way ahead of the expectations & I'm sure Soss would agree on that point.

Right StevoSorrento, my mum always said that self praise is no recommendation. If you were to ask Jeff and Rowan at the AFL Umpires they would say that they are flying, doing a grand job. Ask the Geelong Umpires boss, the mystery man - whoever he is, how well are they going and they will say the say. Truth is StevoSorrento get out amongst the people, tell em not to hide behind their clipboards and we will tell how their going

That's it. I've had enough of you Vinny. I'm going over to the Colac league to try & find some sense there to chat with. It would help if you spoke english too........I'm not a translator

Stevo mate, your obviously only new to this caper but so far you havnt had one decent post on this thread.. Would it hurt you to perhaps post something worth reading and or regarding Geelong footy instead of just replying to posts with a quite frankly ordinary sense of humour???

Although your comment about Vinny having one to many longblacks down Lygon st was quite witty albeit a tad racist:thumbsu:

Hopefully your next few posts will offer something more informative. Cheers mate

Michael.

I don't think Vinny would be offended about me referring to his mates drinking long blacks in Lygon St. If so Vinny I apologise. Might be into short blacks for all I care. That is my preference.

If you think my posts are ordinary then maybe you should come up with some knowledge yourself & then maybe......maybe someone will agree with you.

Let's do a deal. You start talking factual about Geelong footy & put something decent up & then I will.

PS your thumbs are pissing everybody off.

Steve.

Couple of things old mate...
1-Are you an umpire?
2-Do you follow Geelong football?
3-If yes, how long does it take to get here from Sorrento?
4-How much does it cost to come over on the ferry?
5-Who is Micheal?
6-I think I have a pretty good and vast knowledge of Geelong footy and its history.
7-I dont comment to get people to agree with me.. Although plenty do.

PS- Sorry about the thumbs..

Well said Tim, I bet he wouldn't even know Grovedale's colours without looking it up. Anyway would anyone from Sorrento know anything about footy, they would be more into Rugby Union with their private school boys and their leather patches on their jackets while driving the range rover.

By the way how was Colac getting beat, no Adams or Buchanan but that's about all. Question mark on Veale

Club umpires are great. If you don't mind getting your head ripped off, and no reward. Don't pay anything, yeh, that is really good umpiring. There are in fact some rules in Aussie rules. Nothing like getting smashed in a marking contest, by some old wash-up who should've retired years ago. Don't bother putting your head over the footy, you won't get a free anyway. But then again, sounds like Timmy F has put his head over the footy a few too many times.

How long have you been umpiring for Grassman ? Club Umps bring back some common sense to local footy. Why do we put up with these fancy pants umpires that think they are bigger than the game. The reserves didnt fall over when the umpires couldn't do it. We just get Bluey or Simmo to throw on a whistle and the job is done. No fancy crap, just common sense. Have you noticed they dont make up crap free kicks that no one else can see. Good luck umpiring next week Grassman

Is Vinny cat related to half-cat. Maybe a twin. That would make them about five-eighths cat.

Well said Tim, I bet he wouldn't even know Grovedale's colours without looking it up. Anyway would anyone from Sorrento know anything about footy, they would be more into Rugby Union with their private school boys and their leather patches on their jackets while driving the range rover.

By the way how was Colac getting beat, no Adams or Buchanan but that's about all. Question mark on Veale

It seems Stevo from Sorrento is level-headed and knows far more about Geelong footy than some blokes who live in Geelong, eh Timmy.

How did the umpires go in the 1st qtr this week? Was it their fault again?

Steve.

Couple of things old mate...
1-Are you an umpire?
2-Do you follow Geelong football?
3-If yes, how long does it take to get here from Sorrento?
4-How much does it cost to come over on the ferry?
5-Who is Micheal?
6-I think I have a pretty good and vast knowledge of Geelong footy and its history.
7-I dont comment to get people to agree with me.. Although plenty do.

PS- Sorry about the thumbs..

Steveycams,
How are the tiges going mate? Both the Richmond tiges and the grovey tiges have been developing their lists since 1981.

How can SOS1 say that he was at the game, I reckon he must have lefted at half time. Tim Finnigan why don't you start observing the GFL Umpires you sound like your on the right track. Not sure what planet SOS 1 is on, sounds like he could find something better to do on a Saturday afternoon as he seems to not know a hell of a lot about our great game

It seems Stevo from Sorrento is level-headed and knows far more about Geelong footy than some blokes who live in Geelong, eh Timmy.

How did the umpires go in the 1st qtr this week? Was it their fault again?

Another fail there Sos.. Your obvioulsy another from the brotherhood of maggots in orange as you've tried a humorus remark and its failed miserabley.

Not sure how you boys went in the 1st quarter coz as I mentioned on the previous page, I was in Echuca on a cricket trip.

Full credit tho for your little attempt at a laugh with the Richmond/Grovedale gag little man.. Not one Grovey supporter will tell you any different than wat any other person in Geelong would... We've been rebuilding since 1979 when the GFL commenced not 1981:eek:

Does it get confusing trying to remember multiple passwords for your multiple log in accounts???

Club umpires are great. If you don't mind getting your head ripped off, and no reward. Don't pay anything, yeh, that is really good umpiring. There are in fact some rules in Aussie rules. Nothing like getting smashed in a marking contest, by some old wash-up who should've retired years ago. Don't bother putting your head over the footy, you won't get a free anyway. But then again, sounds like Timmy F has put his head over the footy a few too many times.

So how many ambos are based at reserves footy making endless trips to the Geelong base, more trips are made when the fancy pants are running around worrying about how pretty they look running backwards

Lads, the umpiring discussion and associated banter is getting tired for everyone else not involved. Like it or not, they will be here forever and we couldn't play the game without them, so let's move on.

Timmy; Grovey V West this week. Thoughts?

No, just sick of your whingeing and whineing about the maggots all the time. They are just blokes enjoying their sport. Noone goes along each week and just bags the Grovey supporters for being blockheads, shortsighted and biased.

Can you not occasionally see things objectively. The umpys don't barrack for anyone - objective. They only react to what is presented before them.
We as supporters are subjective. So why bother. Is this not obvious.

The umpys get such a belting from you blokes with no right of reply, we are starting to feel sorry for them.

Another fail there Sos.. Your obvioulsy another from the brotherhood of maggots in orange as you've tried a humorus remark and its failed miserabley.

Not sure how you boys went in the 1st quarter coz as I mentioned on the previous page, I was in Echuca on a cricket trip.

Full credit tho for your little attempt at a laugh with the Richmond/Grovedale gag little man.. Not one Grovey supporter will tell you any different than wat any other person in Geelong would... We've been rebuilding since 1979 when the GFL commenced not 1981:eek:

Does it get confusing trying to remember multiple passwords for your multiple log in accounts???

With you browny. Lets move on. Starting to feel sorry for the umps.

Grovey will beat West. Better game plan. Must execute it though, and not lose touch in the 1st qtr like last week at Leopold. Not sure how good Leopold are just yet. They are quick, but have no gun forwards. We will find out in the next 4 weeks. They will get closer to the top sides this year, but not sure if they can knock them over.

Lads, the umpiring discussion and associated banter is getting tired for everyone else not involved. Like it or not, they will be here forever and we couldn't play the game without them, so let's move on.

Timmy Michael Finnigan Chinnagin Beginnagin

Apology accepted re the thumbs.........

I will respond to your IQ test in good time as it's quite challenging. The ferry question is a bit ambiguous though as it depends if I take the Lambo & I commend you on Pt 7.

Before I answer I want you to answer 1 question for me. Just 1.

In your own words what do you think the spirit of the game is?

Should be a pretty decent game between 2 evenly matched sides mate. Despite what the scoreboard suggests Grovey were pretty good against both Lara and St Marys. I didnt see the Leopold game but by all reports we were terrible and the final marching may have flattered Grovey.

I dont know to much about West but they seem to have been pretty competetive except for there match against Leopold.

West seem to have an advantage in the big man stocks and im not sure who's going to be able curb Saunders from having an influenece on this game. Baars has played him pretty well in recent years but in my opinion he's not quite at full fitness yet and may struggle to run with the big fella.

If West can give Saunders good delivery it may go along way towards West winning this one, but if Grovey come out and play like they did against St Marys for 2 and a half quarters then they should have a real shot at getting their 1st win on the board for the season.

Timmy Michael Finnigan Chinnagin Beginnagin

Apology accepted re the thumbs.........

I will respond to your IQ test in good time as it's quite challenging. The ferry question is a bit ambiguous though as it depends if I take the Lambo & I commend you on Pt 7.

Before I answer I want you to answer 1 question for me. Just 1.

In your own words what do you think the spirit of the game is?

Well obviously to play the game within the rules, respect the opposition and umpires blah blah blah.. Im not a player tho just a spectator and im surely not the 1st and definately wont be the last to question/abuse an umpire for a shocking decision.

I had an opinion on the Grovedale St Marys game regarding the umpiring that many agreed with. You didnt and thats your perogative.

You can tell me if your an umpire or who you support, or you dont have to either it doesnt really bother me.. But if you could explain to me who Micheal is id greatly appreciate it as I seem to have missed something?

Blah blah blah? The spirit of the game is blah blah blah? The spirit of the game is mainly (along with what you were sort of saying) to uphold the spirit of the laws & to always improve the game. The spirit of the laws is to always encourage the positives of the game - marking, goal scoring, fair bumps, tackling, running, chasing & the contested ball. Everyone involved in the game must embrace the spirit of the game to improve the game & this includes us spectators. I'm not an umpire but I do know that most of them are getting out there each week with 1 aim - to improve the game.

It is 1 thing to have an opinion on decisions but another to grossly disparage a patrcipant's motive which is childish

Hence the link

http://www.songsforteaching.com/folk/michaelfinneganml-lyrics.php

Stevo,

This becoming quite painful and mundane. Its become clear as day that your an umpire or are very close to someone who is an umpire.

If you are an umpire than I think its great that you've joined this forum and hopefully you can give some of us less informed people an insight into the mind of an umpire and some explanations into some of the decisions that leave many around Australia scratching there heads in disbelief.

If your a player or spectator can you honestly come on here all high and mighty and tell me you've never abused and umpire?? To quote a famous passage from the bible.. " Let he without sin cast the first stone "

Now could we please drop this subject and get back to talking about the upcoming round of local footy which looks to have some cracking games in store for us.

Couldnt agree more TimFin

As I said abusing umpires' decisions is fair game. I've done it with the best of them & none more so than the chair lift ride your boys got in the 2001 prelim by Darren Goldspink. But be prepared for some responses when you get it wrong like Goldspink did - horribly wrong.

Couldnt agree more TimFin

As I said abusing umpires' decisions is fair game. I've done it with the best of them & none more so than the chair lift ride your boys got in the 2001 prelim by Darren Goldspink. But be prepared for some responses when you get it wrong like Goldspink did - horribly wrong.

Haha just another Hawks man still not over 2001:D
So what game will you be attending this wknd Steveo? Best of luck to your boys sat nite, hopefully we'll see afew fireworks as per usual when we play each other!

Stevo,

This becoming quite painful and mundane. Its become clear as day that your an umpire or are very close to someone who is an umpire.

If you are an umpire than I think its great that you've joined this forum and hopefully you can give some of us less informed people an insight into the mind of an umpire and some explanations into some of the decisions that leave many around Australia scratching there heads in disbelief.

If your a player or spectator can you honestly come on here all high and mighty and tell me you've never abused and umpire?? To quote a famous passage from the bible.. " Let he without sin cast the first stone "

Now could we please drop this subject and get back to talking about the
upcoming round of local footy which looks to have some cracking games in store for us.

Very nice timmy where did you learn the bible wasnt at that school on wingarra drive by any chance