GFL Geelong Football League - 2010

believe me or not i dont really care im just telling you what i know as opposed to what you are guessing.

bp would be in top 5 player payments in gfl but its not like they have cash to burn every year. remember there are a whole heap of club juniors playing so the club saves cash on them which allows them to spend at the top.

Yeah apparently Sheringham, Sheringham, Lowther, Kennedy, Cuthill, Batchelor, Bright, Couch, Talbot et al are playing at Bell Park for nothing because they like the facilities..particularly the ground

Sheringham, Sheringham, Bright all BP juniors
Talbot came to coach and was friend of Peter Burke (football committee)
Lowther knew Talbot and others at club who were also primary school teachers
Batchelor best mate of Tim Sherringham
Cuthill had numerous mates at club and wanted to play better standard then BFL
Kennedy, Couch wanted to play at successful club

So et al would be
Armstrong, Loftus, Stojanov, O'Connor, Hallam, Piggot, Nelis who have been there since juniors
Vail who showed up at the club as a basketballer unable to kick and was turned into a star by the club.

I think you'll find it is the club CULTURE that has the players coming to the place...

Nice try though...

So et al would be
Armstrong, Loftus, Stojanov, O'Connor, Hallam, Piggot, Nelis who have been there since juniors
Vail who showed up at the club as a basketballer unable to kick and was turned into a star by the club.

I think you'll find it is the club CULTURE that has the players coming to the place...

Nice try though...

Tend to agree with nearly everything you have said. West had the same sort of situation a few years back when Faulkner, Riccardi, Saunders and everyone came and those not in the know thought the club was just throwing money at blokes without having knowledge that most of the blokes had previously played together or were already mates. Good culture though at Bell Park and agree with what you have said. They would still be paying plenty out though, like most of the top clubs. The links between players just helps them recruiting-wise.

Anyone else have a feeling that if Leopold can get over South this weekend and Joeys are to lose to Bell Park that Joeys will struggle to win one of their last two with Colac back full strength they will be hard to beat at home!

Dont think the final 5 is finished yet and Lara are still no assured of a spot.

Current ladder
Lara- P-15 W11 l4 %104.60.. Pts44

St Joeys- P-15 W10 L5 %131.08 Pts40

Leopold- P-15 W9 L6 %140.73 Pts36

RUN HOME
Lara- Newtown(A) GWSP(A) St Joeys(H)

St Joeys- Bell Park(H) Colac(A) Lara(A)

Leopold- South Barwon(A) St Marys(H) Bell Park(H)

Lara only need 1 win outta the last 3 to make it, but wouldn't wanna leave it to round 18 to guarentee it. I cant see Joeys winning any of there last 3 and I have a feeling Leopold will cause an upset in 1 of there next 2 games.

So if my predictions prove to be correct, Lara will stay 4th, And Leopold will overtake Joeys in 5th.. Hopefully anyway:thumbsu:
You would think Lara would beat both Newtown and GWSP wouldnt you? Joeys should lose to BP going by BP's form.Then again stranger things have happened!

Anyone else have a feeling that if Leopold can get over South this weekend and Joeys are to lose to Bell Park that Joeys will struggle to win one of their last two with Colac back full strength they will be hard to beat at home!
I cant see Leopold winning any of the last three matches so the bastards(Joeys) might get in.

Hey young Pres..
This seems to be a very sensitive issue for you...yes i agree mates can help (mates)players get to clubs...but I don't imagine that mates get mates to play at clubs for nothing.....and I firmly beleive that players who have come up through the juniors should be paid in a fair way..and not disadvantaged because they are local....this doesn't mean you pay over the top..but it needs to be fair...or is your club happy to exploit your juniors??..

So et al would be

Nice try though...

I firmly beleive that players who have come up through the juniors should be paid in a fair way..and not disadvantaged because they are local....this doesn't mean you pay over the top..but it needs to be fair...or is your club happy to exploit your juniors??..

i dont think exploit is the right word. i think club juniors will always be paid less than recruits, especially those that have come from falcons or vfl. if they feel they are being exploited then they can just as easily leave and get cash in the bfl or gdfl.

I wish people would get over the fact that clubs pay money for players. Yes the successful ones generally spend a lot more than those that arent successful, it's just the way it is. People need to get over it. Some players get more than they should and some dont. Some clubs spend more than they should and other dont. Its the way it is. Who cares how much clubs pay. If players can get themselves some good coin good on them, if clubs are dumb enough to pay them more than they are worth so be it. But bloody hell get over it. There is big money in local football, some more than others.

Hey Chops...yes I agree with your sentiment about clubs paying etc...What annoys me though is the constant denial that the big paying clubs go on with....."No we only pay $60k"..I'm sick of hearing it...

I wish people would get over the fact that clubs pay money for players. Yes the successful ones generally spend a lot more than those that arent successful, it's just the way it is. People need to get over it. Some players get more than they should and some dont. Some clubs spend more than they should and other dont. Its the way it is. Who cares how much clubs pay. If players can get themselves some good coin good on them, if clubs are dumb enough to pay them more than they are worth so be it. But bloody hell get over it. There is big money in local football, some more than others.
I think the point is that clubs pay players to get something out of them. Like the AFL.they are not going to pay for rubbish. They need to get a return on their players and coaches.If not whats the point. Just give the money away!no need for a comp and no need for supporters and volunteers!

This ongoing debate will be rendered obsolete when the points-system cap comes in; if not next year, then the year after. How much sides' pay will be largely irrelevant and it will be all about promoting your juniors to get the discount possible on your points to play the big name recruits. People I have spoken to in other leagues where the system works are a big wrap for it. There will be no debate then about club's playing their junior graduates.

Great win by West today over North Shore. The Seagulls were very, very good early in front of their club champions gathered for premiership reunions and were 39 up in the latter stages of the second quarter. West then fought back after the long break and gradually wore down the home side who simply ran out of legs. Licuria didn't play but Riccardi and James Byrne did, oh...and Ron Watt. Byrne still a star and would dominate if he played a full season. West eventually winning by three goals. Rooster ruckman Andrew Walsh again clearly best on ground and despite his side's position on the ladder would definitely be one of the best big men in the comp at the moment. S Jack 4 goals. Jimmy Rock and CHF Sam Boyd also in the best. Hopefully good contest next week at West V Lara.

Bad luck to West tho mate as they stay 2nd bottom thanks to Grovey's brilliant win over St Mary's at West Kardinia!! Contary to popular belief, if the tiges deserve a wrap ill give em one... The boys were brilliant after 1/4 time tody and throughly deserverd the win.. Well done Grovedale Footy Club.

Awesome by the Tiges. Not much form amongst the top sides at present. Pretty much Bell Park, then everyone else. How many losses to Leopold by under 10pts?! Would have been great to be at West Kardinia today!

how about the newtown eagles, finally showing what they are capable of after beating 3 good sides in leopold, marys and lara. now grovie and colac to go and there is no reason why they cant win the last 5 out of 6.
not to mention their reserves who are going for a championship at this stage and their under 18's who are also in the finals. At this point in time things are looking good for the future of newtown.

how about the newtown eagles, finally showing what they are capable of after beating 3 good sides in leopold, marys and lara. now grovie and colac to go and there is no reason why they cant win the last 5 out of 6.
not to mention their reserves who are going for a championship at this stage and their under 18's who are also in the finals. At this point in time things are looking good for the future of newtown.

Have certainly turned it around. Prob the best side not in finals at this stage on form.

Just stumbled across this article and wondering what impact the BFL->GFL players have had. Hunt, Herbison, Jull, Bucovaz, Ricardo, Kennedy?

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=348280554404&topic=11802

The Ocean Grove boys have all been very solid at West and generally in the best players. Liam Rock has had a solid second season after being r/u b&f last year. Brother James second half of the season has been consistent and he has been in the best players the past two weeks. Corey Walter has been improving as the seaosn progresses and is immensely talented with very, very good foot skills and a reliable goal kicker. Ben Ricardo will feature very prominently in the club best and fairest and has probably been the pick of the three OG recruits this season.

This a bit left field but I reckn I mite have a few people agree with me...

Skilled Stadium is a very poor place to have local finals imo. Problem in Geelong is that there's not 1 local ground thats good for finals. West oval was ok back in the day, but there's a few problems with it like lack of parking space and the bike track.. St Albans is probably ok parking wise but if you let cars park around the ground then you dont have a good viewing for people that wish to stand and watch. Besides them two, there's not another ground capable of hosting GFL finals.

So... How about looking into building a ground at the showgrounds?? More than enough space to build the oval and other ammenties, and also heaps of space for parking. People mite say it doesnt make sense as there wont be anyone playing there during the year, but maybe Football Geelong could have a match of the round Sunday game there each week and make the ground a show piece? Could even have the Gca finals series there, 20/20 night games etc.

Pretty left field I know, but are other peoples thoughts?

Skilled Stadium is a very poor place to have local finals imo. Problem in Geelong is that there's not 1 local ground thats good for finals. West oval was ok back in the day, but there's a few problems with it like lack of parking space and the bike track.. St Albans is probably ok parking wise but if you let cars park around the ground then you dont have a good viewing for people that wish to stand and watch. Besides them two, there's not another ground capable of hosting GFL finals.

So... How about looking into building a ground at the showgrounds?? More than enough space to build the oval and other ammenties, and also heaps of space for parking. People mite say it doesnt make sense as there wont be anyone playing there during the year, but maybe Football Geelong could have a match of the round Sunday game there each week and make the ground a show piece? Could even have the Gca finals series there, 20/20 night games etc.

Bloody hell, i have thought exactly the same thing when i drove past there recently.

Isn't it a bit of a waste of space out there. What actually happens there apart from the Geelong Show once a year. Would be a great spot for a neutral venue, the ground is sort of there already. Could be used for interleague, Geelong Falcons and juniors.

I totally agree with a match there once a week, ie every team must play one home game there or something like that.

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

there is nothing wrong with skilled stadium, every side that makes finals is excited to get the chance to play there. the facilities are good and the ground is good. the only problem being there is no atmosphere as the crowd is only on one wing.

SHIThot round of footy. Joeys lost, leopold flogged Mary's so I think that may tip Joey's out of the five for now? Seeing as leopold lost so many by less than a goal is that good or bad for their percentage if they're level on points now? Anyway, if Leopold can manage to keep Joeys out then even if they achieve nothing in the finals, taking joeys spot is enough for all of us I'm betting. Well done and keep it up Lions.

And GWSP could have made it more interesting by beating Lara. Three goals up at 3/4 time, fluffed three chances to go four up at the start of the last before Lara hit back, turned it around and ran away with it. Absolutely no form from any team in the 5 except Bell Park. The St Marys' brains trust one would think would be legitimately concerned. Though perhaps not as concerned as those at Drew Reserve.

Yes cant understand St Marys.they have lost their last three games and to sides lower down the ladder. They are lucky to still remain in the top five.
Though perhaps not as concerned as those at Drew Reserve. Time to put the chequbook away?? Jokers!!