Geelong - Too old, too slow?

Opposition teams don't get big numbers to Geelong. Not many opposition fans live near Geelong, cos, well barely anyone at all lives near Geelong. It's a long drive. Compared to an easy train ride to Marvel

What a ridiculous comment.

I’ve lived in Melbourne my whole life and have missed maybe a handful of games in Geelong for the last 15-20 years.

Yes, they’re my team, but it’s really not a difficult trip whatsoever.

It’s literally quicker for me to get home from a game in Geelong via car than it is to get home from a game at the MCG via public transport.

There is no excuse for Melbourne based opposition fans to not travel to Geelong to see their team play.

What a ridiculous comment.

Ridiculous?

Try true.

For most Melbournians, Geelong is difficult to get to.

Public transport- 4-5 hour round trip.

Driving, more like 2 - 3 hours. But who wants to spend $50 on fuel?

Marvel and MCG much better for most, obviously.

This gives Geelong a natural crowd advantage over other Melbourne teams.

And likewise when hosting interstate teams, compared to Marvel/MCG tenants, Geelong has the advantage there too.

Plus it's a small, intimate venue. A 25,000 crowd in Geelong has a bigger impact on the contest than 25k at Marvel/MCG.

We've had a home ground in Geelong since inception.
Not our fault you all surrendered yours.

Whinging flogs in this comp.

So true. The GFC has had to build Kardinia Park essentially from the ground up and is still doing so to this day.

Every other Victorian club could've done the same. They all could've had this so called 'unfair' advantage and chose not to.

It's disappointing really. It would be great if we still had that sense of tribalism in the game with every ground having it's own unique feel. Certainly beats the soulless establishment that is Marvel Stadium.

Ridiculous?

Try true.

Driving, more like 2 - 3 hours. But who wants to spend $50 on fuel?

Marvel and MCG much better for most, obviously.

This gives Geelong a natural crowd advantage over other Melbourne teams.

And likewise when hosting interstate teams, compared to Marvel/MCG tenants, Geelong has the advantage there too.

Plus it's a small, intimate venue. A 25,000 crowd in Geelong has a bigger impact on the contest than 25k at Marvel/MCG.
But then wouldn't that mean for Geelong residents, Melbourne is equally hard to get to when Geelong plays at the G or Marvel? Thus giving the home teams the same advantage Geelong has in Geelong?

I heard it won’t be increased to 11.

10 most years (there’s few teams that would make it worth it, we’ve nearly always made more money with 24k home game at KP than the 55k at MCG) and 11 sometimes plus finals. That’s the funding deal plus share it with other sports and concerts etc. We’re just a tenant now, the most important but still just a tenant.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

They need to cut there losses and bottom out when Selwood and Hawkins go. GMHBA is becoming a hinderance to their rebuild. Keeps them in contention but doesn’t let them finish bottom 4 where the good picks are.

This is because they get to train on their home ground unlike MCG tenants. So they get a massive advantage as they know that ground inside and out. Imagine we played H&A and finals games at punt road. People would say that’s unfair as well.

How often does Richmond play at the G most seasons including games against other tenants?

They need to cut there losses and bottom out when Selwood and Hawkins go. GMHBA is becoming a hinderance to their rebuild. Keeps them in contention but doesn’t let them finish bottom 4 where the good picks are.

This is because they get to train on their home ground unlike MCG tenants. So they get a massive advantage as they know that ground inside and out. Imagine we played H&A and finals games at punt road. People would say that’s unfair as well.

How often do the MCG tenants play at the G on avg in a season? Whatever it is they have whatever advantage a home ground has but none of it is much help when you’re crap or the other team is better. Freo are better than us this year and won at Goomba against our home ground advantage.

Ridiculous?

Try true.

Driving, more like 2 - 3 hours. But who wants to spend $50 on

When is the last time you went to a game in Geelong?

I live 9km from Melbourne CBD. It takes me 70 minutes door to door to get from my house to GHMBA Stadium. There is ample free street parking within 2-3 blocks of the ground - something you don’t get at the G or Marvel.

Just last weekend I used a quarter tank of petrol (approx $15-20) on a round trip.

Yesterday I spent 90 minutes getting two different trains to the MCG, having to walk 15 minutes in the wet to the train station too.

Anyone who lives in Melbourne and thinks it’s hard to get the GHMBA Stadium should actually try it sometime.

Sorry what? So because we have jumped every hurdle put in front of us, won more away games than any other side, our reward should then be ‘shut up about home finals’ that every other team is allowed to have but we aren’t?

You’ve tried this moronic argument of how we make the top 4 because of our home ground - ignoring that every other team has, and plays better at, their own home ground, you’ve ignored that we win more away from home than anyone else, and to top it off you’re now moronic enough to interpret that it means we should host no finals as it ‘makes no difference’?

The West Coast side of 2006, they won everywhere. On that basis should they have been denied a home QF and PF?

We are saying the shape of your ground gives you an advantage, you are saying it doesn’t. Therefore according to you it should make no difference if you get a home final or not because the shape of any ground wouldn’t affect your performance. It also means you are just a shit team because you haven’t jumped over any finals hurdles in a decade.

How often does Richmond play at the G most seasons including games against other tenants?

I think it’s about 14 then you have to minus the ones against all the MCG tenants to determine how many pure home ground advantages we get. Richmond is a bad example to be honest since we won 2020 all away

We are saying the shape of your ground gives you an advantage, you are saying it doesn’t. Therefore according to you it should make no difference if you get a home final or not because the shape of any ground wouldn’t affect your performance. It also means you are just a shit team because you haven’t jumped over any finals hurdles in a decade.

If it gave us the advantage you think it does, we would be majorly disadvantaged when we play elsewhere. Numbers prove that we play elsewhere better than any other side. How thick do you have to be to not understand this

What’s funnier is that this is only a problem now that Geelong refuse to f*** off.

For 20 years when west coast were making virtually every finals series, playing on a ground of very similar dimensions, no one ever said a word about it

If it gave us the advantage you think it does, we would be majorly disadvantaged when we play elsewhere. Numbers prove that we play elsewhere better than any other side. How thick do you have to be to not understand this

What’s funnier is that this is only a problem now that Geelong refuse to f*** off.

For 20 years when west coast were making virtually every finals series, playing on a ground of very similar dimensions, no one ever said a word about it

Ok now we are getting somewhere. You do admit the shape size gives you an advantage. You just differ in the amount compared to the rest of us. Is it a coincidence that you have the best home ground win rate with the most unique ground shape?

Also I don’t know why you are quoting your away record, it has nothing to do with your home ground advantage. Good on you for being great away.

Also yes, interstate sides have the same advantage as you. WC is fine now cause the dimensions are purposefully the same as the MCG so they can play better in MCG finals. You should take a leaf out of their book.

Ok now we are getting somewhere. You do admit the shape size gives you an advantage. You just differ in the amount compared to the rest of us. Is it a coincidence that you have the best home ground win rate with the most unique ground shape?

Also I don’t know why you are quoting your away record, it has nothing to do with your home ground advantage. Good on you for being great away.

Also yes, interstate sides have the same advantage as you. WC is fine now cause the dimensions are purposefully the same as the MCG so they can play better in MCG finals. You should take a leaf out of their book.

Where did I admit that? It gives us nothing of the sort. Playing in front of a home ground in a familiar environment gives us an advantage.

You cannot argue against cold hard numbers no matter how much your brain tells you you can.

Why should we take a leaf out of their book? We have won 31 of 48 matches at the MCG in home and away footy since our last flag.

For context, Richmond, who have won three flags during this time and are based there, have won 35 of their last 48 matches there.

Yeah but it’s ground dimensions and not shit football that have cost us finals there.

Does your intellect know that it’s 4 digits long and is keeping Australia’s average IQ as high as it is?

The shape of our ground hasn’t changed for 80 years. In that time we’ve won finals, lost finals, missed finals, finished last, sacked coaches, hired coaches.

Essentially we’ve experienced the whole myriad of football outcomes but some guy on the interwebz thinks it’s an advantage now somehow :$

Where did I admit that? It gives us nothing of the sort. Playing in front of a home ground in a familiar environment gives us an advantage.

You cannot argue against cold hard numbers no matter how much your brain tells you you can.

Why should we take a leaf out of their book? We have won 31 of 48 matches at the MCG in home and away footy since our last flag.

For context, Richmond, who have won three flags during this time and are based there, have won 35 of their last 48 matches there.

Yeah but it’s ground dimensions and not shit football that have cost us finals there.

Does your intellect know that it’s 4 digits long and is keeping Australia’s average IQ as high as it is?

You said you’d play shit elsewhere due to the size of the ground. Guess what you do in finals, which is actually part of the season yeah. You can’t just isolate H&A performances.

It’s simple. H&A with GMHBA = top 4 quality team. Finals without GMHBA = 5-8 quality team. I’d even allow a few hiccups here and there but it has been a PATTERN for 10 years. Why are you so bad? I don’t think you have answered that question.

The shape of our ground hasn’t changed for 80 years. In that time we’ve won finals, lost finals, missed finals, finished last, sacked coaches, hired coaches.

Essentially we’ve experienced the whole myriad of football outcomes but some guy on the interwebz thinks it’s an advantage now somehow :$

Bro everybody except the cats supporters do. People just assume the loss going to GMHBA doesn’t matter how good they are.

You said you’d play shit elsewhere due to the size of the ground. Guess what you do in finals, which is actually part of the season yeah. You can’t just isolate H&A performances.

It’s simple. H&A with GMHBA = top 4 quality team. Finals without GMHBA = 5-8 quality team. I’d even allow a few hiccups here and there but it has been a PATTERN for 10 years. Why are you so bad? I don’t think you have answered that question.

I said that if our record was DUE TO THE SIZE OF OUR HOME
GROUND, that dependence on our
Home ground would manifest itself in a bad record AWAY from that ground.

Instead we are the #1 ranked away team since 2012 started.

Where do we need to be ranked to debunk your theory? Super-first? Mega-first?

Why are we so bad?
Sorry to burst your misconception of how wins and losses work mate, but every year there is two - at least - top four teams who don’t make the grand final.

In any given year it would be hard to outright label those sides as ‘so bad.’ It just so happens that we have been one of those sides in more years than other teams

Your stupid supposition is exactly that - stupid - because you hypothesise that ‘without GMHBA you aren’t a top four side.

So the other top four sides in any given season, are you saying that if they played all 22 games away, they WOULD be a top four team?

Why is it only Geelong that has to tick off all these non existent boxes?

Here’s a tip Einstein.

When you’re trying to formulate an argument or a view, have a look at numbers and facts, and formulate your opinion based on them.

Rather than formulating your opinion, and then just saying ‘it’s my opinion so it’s true even though facts say that it’s not.’

Bro everybody except the cats supporters do. People just assume the loss going to GMHBA doesn’t matter how good they are.
Then you’re all idiots.

I said that if our record was DUE TO THE SIZE OF OUR HOME
GROUND, that dependence on our
Home ground would manifest itself in a bad record AWAY from that ground.

Instead we are the #1 ranked away team since 2012 started.

Where do we need to be ranked to debunk your theory? Super-first? Mega-first?

Why are we so bad?
Sorry to burst your misconception of how wins and losses work mate, but every year there is two - at least - top four teams who don’t make the grand final.

In any given year it would be hard to outright label those sides as ‘so bad.’ It just so happens that we have been one of those sides in more years than other teams

Your stupid supposition is exactly that - stupid - because you hypothesise that ‘without GMHBA you aren’t a top four side.

So the other top four sides in any given season, are you saying that if they played all 22 games away, they WOULD be a top four team?

Why is it only Geelong that has to tick off all these non existent boxes?

Here’s a tip Einstein.

When you’re trying to formulate an argument or a view, have a look at numbers and facts, and formulate your opinion based on them.

Rather than formulating your opinion, and then just saying ‘it’s my opinion so it’s true even though facts say that it’s not.’

How the hell can you be the #1 away team and still not do well in finals. That’s weird af especially if ground dimensions have nothing to do with it. Cats players must be having a punt against themselves.

If your average win rate at KP was the same as the MCG tenants at the MCG you’d lose 2-3 more games in H&A. Simple.

How the hell can you be the #1 away team and still not do well in finals. That’s weird af especially if ground dimensions have nothing to do with it. Cats players must be having a punt against themselves.

If your average win rate at KP was the same as the MCG tenants at the MCG you’d lose 2-3 more games in H&A. Simple.
Strange use of the word simple. :tearsofjoy:

My god the cats just don’t go away do they? They like hogging the top 4 spot only to then waste it in finals. It’s not even top 4 anymore just top 3 cause of them.
well if you won more games you could knock us out of the Top 4 ....
Come back when you have.

GO Catters

Just last weekend I used a quarter tank of petrol (approx $15-20) on a round trip.

Most cars the 150-200 km round trip from Melbourne takes 20 litres or more, $40 plus

Yesterday I spent 90 minutes getting two different trains to the MCG
Then you must've faced cancellations and delays.

If you're 9km from Melbourne it should take approx 30 minutes from your local station to Jolimont or Richmond.

About 45 minutes door to door, depending how far you live from the train

The same reason Essendon could be the number 1 team full
Stop in 2001 and 1999 and not win the comp.
Same reason Collingwood went 22-0 against teams who’s names don’t end in ‘eelong’ in 2011.
Same reason Adelaide finished at or near the top in a string of seasons in the 2000s and didn’t so much as make a grand final.

We played poorly in important games and other teams didn’t.

How can it possibly be that difficult to grasp?

I didn’t say we were the #1 team I said we were the top ranked team for away - as such the ground issue is utterly irrelevant. If the dependence on our ground dimensions was so massive, we would have a worse record than AT LEAST ONE OTHER SIDE on the road: but we don’t.

Geelong - Too old, too slow?