Geelong's first final to be played at Simonds Stadium?

If your comments are in any way defamatory, poking a stick at a friend of the person probably isn't smart when litigation from forum boards isn't uncommon, and made easier in this case to identify culprits. Just saying.
All I said, was That their head honcho had been sooking like a little bitch about having to play at KP. Which he had. Don't like it? Ask him to stop sooking like a little bitch. So much for Ross's play anyone anywhere mantra. Honestly what a joke of a club. Steeped in tradition of failure and now hypocrisy.

This should be posted again because it makes Rob look completely stupid.

Dare I knock a Geelong supporter, but as soon as I read the post I thought immediately of the Geelong supporter who had the Geelong '08 Premiers tattoo done on his arm :oops:

Only thing I have against it is that it's a shit venue for the fans to watch football and has terrible, terrible facilities.

The team finished higher though and deserve a home final. Just wish we had the same option.

Play it at Etihad.

Geelong has the best overall winning percentage there.

Geelong has kicked the highest score there.

Geelong has the largest winning margin there.

Geelong has played in the highest attended AFL game there.

Since 2007 Geelong has played there 32 times and won 26 for an 81% winning record.

Geelong has played a Ross Lyon coached side 3 times at Etihad for 2 wins and a loss.

This isn't Geelong's idea, the AFL called them about it. MCC members will go to Richmond V Carlton ahead of Geelong V Fremantle so the logical conclusion is Geelong play at Simonds. It's an unusual set of circumstances and i think even Brian Cook understands that if Geelong play any of the big Victorian clubs they are happy to play at the MCG. The reality is if you take out the MCC members then crowd expectancy is approximately 30-34,000 and that fits Geelong perfectly.
Fremantle win they play at home in a Preliminary, if they lose they play at home in a semi final...what is the whinge here?

as long as it's a Perth team right?
By rights it should be at the G, assuming we beat Brissie we have earnt that right and that is definitely our preference.

But because you are such a shit-drawing team we have both been shunted. We should get to play at the ground we want to, not the ground you want to.

Since 2007 Geelong has played there 32 times and won 26 for an 81% winning record.

Since 2007 Geelong have played how many games at Kardinia Park, 50-60?

You've lost three of them. If the numbers say anything it's 'Play at KP! Play at KP!'

The only issue in this whole debate is that the AFL are apparently willing to change their 'All finals in Victoria will be played at MCG/Etihad' mantra because there is a chance Geelong will host Freo. The choice of venue should either be up to Geelong or it shouldn't be.

If they wouldn't play another Victorian team in a final at Simmonds Stadium, then they should not host an interstate team there.

Finishing Top 2 is already enough of an advantage.

- Playing in your home state (big advantage if interstate teams finish 3rd/4th)
- The ability to go straight into a Prelim
- 1 weeks rest if you win

History shows that since the AFL was introduced 17 premierships out of 23 have been won by a top 2 team. Why should Fremantle have the added task of having to beat Geelong at Simmonds (where they rarely lose), they finished 3rd, and deserve the playing field to be levelled slightly. If they lose, they have to travel back to WA for a home final, then back to Melbourne for a Prelim. It's a monumental task.

Add the fact the 15,000 fans will miss on seeing their team play live.

MCG or Etihad.

I think a professional league shouldn't just make things up as they go along. The AFL is run like the Australian Labor Party.

Like your confidence, but some of our teams like 07, 08, 11 would NOT have lost games against Adelaide, NM, Brisbane like we have this year.
We were a more potent team with a fit Ottens , surely, and pretty sure we are missing a true run-with player like Lingy.
But, we are pretty impressive; I will rest a little easier on Sat pm if we get over the Lions. It should be a certainty, but I rate Brisbane, and they have a bit to play for.
Reckon if we get 52 points up again, we won't be letting that lead dwindle away at home, but would be happier to celebrate AFTER it's happened- then we can talk about home finals.
We have four games. Those loses made us Hungary. 2009 we lost against western bulldogs and Carlton n the last 4 rounds of the year. Easily forgotten I guess. 2011. We lost 3 games and got very lucky early in the year to win many games within a goal..I'm telling this Cats team is epic. In the Finals we will be primed.

So the AFL are going to deny approximately 10k-20k of the footy world a chance to see 2 v 3 because the cats want to play at SS over Etihad if they can't get to play at the 'G'?

Very strange decision by the 'Vlad' if it does happen,but then again the guy is f@%ked in the head.

Only thing I have against it is that it's a shit venue for the fans to watch football and has terrible, terrible facilities.

The team finished higher though and deserve a home final. Just wish we had the same option.

Based on the many times you've been there I'm sure... :rolleyes:

If they wouldn't play another Victorian team in a final at Simmonds Stadium, then they should not host an interstate team there.

Finishing Top 2 is already enough of an advantage.

- Playing in your home state (big advantage if interstate teams finish 3rd/4th)
- The ability to go straight into a Prelim
- 1 weeks rest if you win

History shows that since the AFL was introduced 17 premierships out of 23 have been won by a top 2 team. Why should Fremantle have the added task of having to beat Geelong at Simmonds (where they rarely lose), they finished 3rd, and deserve the playing field to be levelled slightly. If they lose, they have to travel back to WA for a home final, then back to Melbourne for a Prelim. It's a monumental task.

Add the fact the 15,000 fans will miss on seeing their team play live.

MCG or Etihad.

Does the 2nd placed team deserve a home state final at the G, ahead of say, a 5th/6th placed team who is also getting a home state final?
Certainly . Problem solved.
Haw MCG final. Fri pm
Geelong MCG final Sat avo
Richmond MCG final ?
Collingwood Etihad final ?
We all agree, that is the fairest scenario.

This should be posted again because it makes Rob look completely stupid.

Why? I cancel it and use the credit for something else.

But that's a risk I was prepared to take. You probably have no idea, but as soon as it's confirmed that Freo are playing interstate, airlines bump up their fares by 300%. Sometimes you have to take the risk.

So the AFL are going to deny approximately 10k-20k of the footy world a chance to see 2 v 3 because the cats want to play at SS over Etihad if they can't get to play at the 'G'?

Very strange decision by the 'Vlad' if it does happen,but then again the guy is f@%ked in the head.

MOST Freo fans will stay in WA and watch TV, as they should, pragmatically. What's the big deal about 10k on seats, when our competition is based on TV rights?