No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 2

Adelaide by 22 and Richmond by 25 are my tips for this weekend.

Yeah - I'm thinking Crows and Tigers by 5ish goals. Could blow out in the last two. Would set up a ripper GF.

Wouldn't mind going to the Richmond game this Saturday - probably be the most one sided loudest crowd of all time. Will be madness.

This would be a good result.

Given that Essenscum* and Sydney are gone, I only want Geelong to lose now.

Same. Also not so keen on the Greater Silver Platter Giants making the grand final either. They're like the Swans but without the annoying as hell bandwagon fans. Richmond vs Adelaide means I can enjoy the grand final no matter who wins.

If it is a Richmond v Adelaide GF, it will be the first time since the Sydney v West Coast GFs where I won't be unhappy either way. The exact opposite of Collingwood v Geelong in 2011, where I wished both teams could somehow lose.

Same. Also not so keen on the Greater Silver Platter Giants making the grand final either. They're like the Swans but without the annoying as hell bandwagon fans. Richmond vs Adelaide means I can enjoy the grand final no matter who wins.
Agree. Don't care who wins if it's out of Richmond and Adelaide.

Whereas as last year, for me it wasn't so much about hoping Bulldogs to win, but more about Sydney losing. Couldn't have been happier.

Agree. Don't care who wins if it's out of Richmond and Adelaide.

Whereas as last year, for me it wasn't so much about hoping Bulldogs to win, but more about Sydney losing. Couldn't have been happier.
After the run from the umpires I switched somewhere during the 3rd quarter. I was so hoping for a swans loss at the beginning of the game, and realised by the end how thhe bulldogs had gotten there. Didn't want to see that sort of garbage rewarded.

Some nice soul uploaded the Clarko interview to YouTube:

Gee you guys are one tough crowd, Clarko spoke beautifully.
He rarely ums, he's very articulate and erudite.

He's very intelligent and diplomatic about every topic, and he did discuss a lot of things.

And while you're watching that video, keep an eye on Caro's face: she had a "I'm going to gut this guy with a knife" look. Clarko would be pleased to get out alive!

If Caro gets a sniff of something she chases it down and keeps pushing until she's either proven right or wrong. It's what made her good during the Essendon saga, and on other topics that most in the media don't have the guts to chase.

That means she is going to do it to us as well, it doesn't mean she is right but her shining her light on back room politics and asking questions isn't a bad thing. She may have been right about some or all of what she wrote at the time, it could all be water under the bridge, there could still be issues within the club or between the club and former staff or players, that is nothing new in footy.

It's good to have that out there, thats what you want the press to do, it's what political journalists should be doing.

It doesn't have to be negative for the club long term either, it can bring things to light that are not known in the right circles and allow conversations to be had and behaviour to be changed

We are coming into another off season, one where more players could be pushed out the door, it's a relevant question to ask, and a timely reminder for those involved

Gee you guys are one tough crowd, Clarko spoke beautifully.
He rarely ums, he's very articulate and erudite.

He's very intelligent and diplomatic about every topic, and he did discuss a lot of things.

And while you're watching that video, keep an eye on Caro's face: she had a "I'm going to gut this guy with a knife" look. Clarko would be pleased to get out alive!

I thought it was a boring show. So much potential there and they ask gossip column questions about Mitch and Lewis that are a year behind the times. The list turnover with retiring legends and lots of youngsters. The changing game. The move to Dingley. The first female CEO. The Hawthorn coaching academy.

Sometimes I think that the journalist types spend so much time talking about stuff that it all become gossip column fodder to them. It's only half a step above New Day. If that.

I thought it was a boring show. So much potential there and they ask gossip column questions about Mitch and Lewis that are a year behind the times. The list turnover with retiring legends and lots of youngsters. The changing game. The move to Dingley. The first female CEO. The Hawthorn coaching academy.

Sometimes I think that the journalist types spend so much time talking about stuff that it all become gossip column fodder to them. It's only half a step above New Day. If that.
maybe they had been give a list of topics not to talk about like our CEO or Dingley, or maybe they looked at what questions Clarko had been asked in other interviews recently and decided that was all that was left for them to get the scoop on

Great list of topics Oz. All of those I would love to hear more about, from someone like Clarko. Unfortunately there must be more ratings in muck raking.

of course there is more rating in muck racking, just look at how news is reported on, especially by commercial print and tv

Valid points - however the hosts had to make it interesting to the entire viewing audience not just Hawk fans. I can guarantee you that the fans of the other 17 clubs couldn't give the slightest toss about Dingley or our CEO. Hearing about the Mitchell and Lewis things would be far juicier for the neutrals.

Perhaps. Let me give it a go.

"A $50m move to Dingley. Special facilities. Fan interaction. In terms of the game, what did you learn on your overseas trips and how did that influence what you're building at Dingley? Do you think it will have an impact on how football is trained in Australia? How does the training regimen and professionalism of AFL compare to other professional leagues? Strengths, opportunities, etc?"

"Tracey Gaudry, the AFL's first female CEO. She's represented Australia in the cycling at both the Olympics and Commonwealth Games, and then was a professional cycler and administrator after her amateur career. What does she bring to Hawthorn from her previous professional sporting experience? Drugs in cycling has been a significant issue for decades and the AFL has had it's own issues recently. Does she bring a perspective on that topic to Hawthorn and the league? What else can the AFL learn from people like her that have cross-sport professional experience?"

I reckon those could work.

I'm not trying to be a smartass or single out any specific journalist. I just think they spend so much time talking to each other over the water cooler than they lose perspective on what is really interesting to people. I think they tend to get to self-centered and lose focused on their customer needs.

Before a player or a coach goes on Footy Classified or On the Couch they are given a list of topics that the journos will ask, then that guest gets to pick it apart and give the questions a tick or a cross, so I don't think clarko was ever going to get into details about our trading strategy coming up.

"A $50m move to Dingley. Special facilities. Fan interaction. In terms of the game, what did you learn on your overseas trips and how did that influence what you're building at Dingley? Do you think it will have an impact on how football is trained in Australia? How does the training regimen and professionalism of AFL compare to other professional leagues? Strengths, opportunities, etc?"

"Tracey Gaudry, the AFL's first female CEO. She's represented Australia in the cycling at both the Olympics and Commonwealth Games, and then was a professional cycler and administrator after her amateur career. What does she bring to Hawthorn from her previous professional sporting experience? Drugs in cycling has been a significant issue for decades and the AFL has had it's own issues recently. Does she bring a perspective on that topic to Hawthorn and the league? What else can the AFL learn from people like her that have cross-sport professional experience?"

I reckon those could work.

I'm not trying to be a smartass or single out any specific journalist. I just think they spend so much time talking to each other over the water cooler than they lose perspective on what is really interesting to people. I think they tend to get to self-centered and lose focused on their customer needs.

I know you aren't being a smartarse - I'm not trying to be one either. I just know if they brought Alan Richardson on and started asking him about St Kilda's new facilities then I would be looking at my phone pretty quickly.

Gaudry would have been a slightly better topic - again though you'd have to be a footy nerd or a Hawthorn fan to take a really keen interest. Much as it would be nice if it weren't true - people like salacious gossip so that's exactly what the show runners are going to deliver.

That said it would be great if HFC could maybe do an interview with Clarko or Gaudry where they delve into some of these topics in the off-season.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Frost

Theres a place for Caro and thats in the gossip column. Shes a gossip columnist. She will be seen as journo when she only reports the facts and her articles don't have the words 'allegedly, rumblings, whispers, apparently, speculation' etc etc I swear, I can tell its a Caro article without her signature. The sooner she retires the better. Emma Quayle, Samantha Lane hell even Daisy Pearce are so much better. #rantover