Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

I can't be the only one who thinks Dustin Martin is in danger of becoming overrated.

Take away his 2017 season which is looking like one out of the box and he's a very, very good player but a rung below the likes of Sam Mitchell who never garnered anywhere near the same praise despite being instrumental in four Premierships. That Martin was BOG in neither of his Norm Smith winning GF's tells a story, if he wasn't covered in tatts with a ratbag father the media narrative around him would be far more subdued.

Great one-on-one player but his overall output frequently doesn't measure up to his superstar media status. I would draw a comparison with Rioli there, but Cyril at least was spectacular in ways no other AFL player has been. Take out Dusty's stiff-arm and his game is effective but fairly vanilla.
The guy's talented but not the great the media spin.
I would of liked to have seen him tagged a bit more. He doesn't seem to respond well to the extra attention.
Give me the likes of Pendlebury over Martin any day.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The guy's talented but not the great the media spin.
I would of liked to have seen him tagged a bit more. He doesn't seem to respond well to the extra attention.
Give me the likes of Pendlebury over Martin any day.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app
He's got the intimidation factor. Players are actually scared of him. He rips us a new one every time we play them, to be fair.

Dustin is a gun - end of story.

If you have a problem with a commentator's comments as being over the top, the issue you have is with the commentator, not the player.

That said, Dustin doesn't give a flying **** what anyone outside the club thinks.

Hi all, apologies if this isn't the right forum to be posting this question, but what video content would you love to see the club put out? More post-game interviews with players/coaches? More get to know the players type videos? More funny/joke stuff/light-hearted stuff with the players? Any other ideas about what videos from the club you'd love to watch?

Or if there's a better place to pose this question, please point me in the right direction. Cheers.

I feel bad for Dusty, in the same way I felt bad for Cyril. He's now copping heat (not from you A Cut Above but the footy public in general) as being "overrated" through no fault of his own outside of being a genuinely great player with numerous eye-catching features to his game. He doesn't vote for himself in the Brownlow, Norm Smith, or any other BoG medal he receives.

If there's any shade that needs to be thrown over this then it's squarely at those who are voting for him when he is clearly not the BoG in a given game. They're phoning it in because they're incapable or unwilling to watch the game with a critical eye.
Good points, except ‘shade thrown over this’.. I thought I was reading a Light fluff piece about the kardashians on news.com.au for a second

It's their job though - I remember Gary Lyon saying that he was commentating some Sunday arvo snorefest that was over by quarter time, he and his team were that bored by three quarter time they were hanging shit on the game, talking about golf, basketball and what was for dinner.

Called into Kerry Packer's office the next day he was told you do not damage or criticise the product under any circumstances, and you find an angle, any angle to try and make it entertaining.

Failure to do so would see your contract torn up.

So I feel for Hodgey & Roo - it's not as if they don't know it's horseshit, they just have to make it smell nice.

Crazy. The viewers can also obviously tell if it's a rubbish borefest, and I don't think anyone appreciates the fake hype these commentators try to bring to the game. I'd prefer to listen to them take the piss than have them be forced to treat us like idiots.

Dusty ain't overrated. The thing that separates him from the other current great players of his age group - Danger and Fyfe - is his ridiculous kicking ability. Plus I feel that he's just a smarter player than almost everyone in the competition and doesn't rely as heavily on freak athleticism as those other two.

Yeah it took him a few more years to work it all out, but his game will last longer than most IMO.

No one is going to have pride in a jumper that’s not theirs - “All Stars” ffs

some things never change - Vics against everyone else is such a dumb concept
I was barracking for the All Stars, and I'm Victorian born and have never left the state. 😂

CBF reading back through the thread but I don't recall anyone actually saying he's overrated, just everyone agreeing that he isn't. And maybe a few suggesting he wasn't BoG, which I don't think he was.
A poster said he’s in danger of becoming over-rated & if you took out his stiff-arm he’d be effective but very vanilla.

It’s one persons opinion

Clearly not many agree, in fact I don’t think anyone has at this stage.

Yes, but I mean living, not travel.
Well mate you should head over here for a stint.
Great little town full of paranoid ****ers who think Victorians hate them , when in reality most Vico’s couldn’t give a fat rats arse about us ;)
Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love the place but **** me they are paranoid