Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

Sitting just one game behind the Bulldogs off 7th who are one game and 5% in front.

Home games coming up against the Bulldogs (7th), Essendon (8th) and Gold Coast (10th). Yet to play Adelaide and Fremantle as well.

brb visiting the Geelong board

tenor.gif

I wanted this done last week because at the time it was only suspected that he had hurt it what but tonight that was a very very poor look and I won’t be surprised if he gets fined

why is he playing? You’re 100% when you cross that line. Like I said. Last week you know he’s hurt so I’d understand a bit of compassion. But if he or the swans have had the option of sitting out but didn’t take it then I’m assuming his hand is 100%.

With the impending shit news to come in Victoria, the results so far this round have been a welcome temporary antidote

I wish flying Ryan played for us. He’s electric, while looking completely unfazed in every single moment.
When he was playing for Subi, a mate & I would have a joke about whether his team or my team would draft Ryan.
That arseh*le of a mate barracks for WCE.:mad:

Geelong are very disciplined and probably have the most mature leadership group in the comp. In a year where both are more important than ever before, they are right in it, despite several sides being more talented
This is their last crack at it , have 5-6 guys ( maybe even more ) about to hit the cliff . The media just dont really talk about it .

They are very well coached , Scott's a tool but a very good coach . No doubt . They are in almost every game.

For all of Nic Nats detractors he’s the only ruckman I think who’s tap work is actually useful.
For sure , he is so good at getting it into space and advantage .
Last week he had about 10 possesions but would have been the most influential player on the ground.

I never really get the criticism he cops tbh

This is their last crack at it , have 5-6 guys ( maybe even more ) about to hit the cliff . The media just dont really talk about it .

They are very well coached , Scott's a tool but a very good coach . No doubt . They are in almost every game.

it’s a vey simple game plan, players can slot into it and perform straight away

They continue to recruit well. Better than the Hawks in the last 4 seasons(???)

Do they?
They had Dangerfield and ablett fall into their lap. The AFL wasn't going to let them fall through.

Every other trade they've had has been as meh as ours.

On the smoker, please do share
Its been a little trial and error, and working out what i end up liking to eat...

1 - i bought pre-seasoned, vacuum sealed, Gyros lamb from IGA... I've tried my best to season greek style, but never got it right..
2 - I use a Weber Smoky Mountain, and fill the water bowl.
3 - I use the lump charcoal ( not briquettes ) "HeatBeads" from Bunnings - the one in the big black bag.. i dont use any smoking chips at all.
4 - Pre-heated to around 110c
5 - Because the lamb is basically a butterfly cut, its a pretty quick cook.. I put the lamb on a foil tray, and cook for "around" 2 hours, until the outside is starting to look like its cooked or darkened.. The danger for me has been stopping this seal too early, so i end up letting this part go a bit longer than most..
6 - I then wrap in foil for another two hours, give or take, using a temperature spike and get the temp up to about 85 or 90... ( edit - 90 will sometimes result in overcooked - just play with it to work out what you like... Wifey doesnt like rare meat )

In the case of lamb i usually err on the side of higher temps because of the fat content... A little lower for beef, and usually a slightly lower temp, longer cook of course.. I had a leg of lamb literally fall off the bone without cutting it was so tender - but i didnt have a decent seasoning..

Anyway, I have only been at this for about 8 months so i'm no guru...

Danger wanted to go there/home . Huge leg up for them.
He probably wins them 3-4 games a year .
Take that away and they are a just in or just out of the 8 side.
Unique home ground advantage too helps a bit during the home and away season

Its been a little trial and error, and working out what i end up liking to eat...

1 - i bought pre-seasoned, vacuum sealed, Gyros lamb from IGA... I've tried my best to season greek style, but never got it right..
2 - I use a Weber Smoky Mountain, and fill the water bowl.
3 - I use the lump charcoal ( not briquettes ) "HeatBeads" from Bunnings - the one in the big black bag.. i dont use any smoking chips at all.
4 - Pre-heated to around 110c
5 - Because the lamb is basically a butterfly cut, its a pretty quick cook.. I put the lamb on a foil tray, and cook for "around" 2 hours, until the outside is starting to look like its cooked or darkened.. The danger for me has been stopping this seal too early, so i end up letting this part go a bit longer than most..
6 - I then wrap in foil for another two hours, give or take, using a temperature spike and get the temp up to about 85 or 90... ( edit - 90 will sometimes result in overcooked - just play with it to work out what you like... Wifey doesnt like rare meat )

In the case of lamb i usually err on the side of higher temps because of the fat content... A little lower for beef, and usually a slightly lower temp, longer cook of course.. I had a leg of lamb literally fall off the bone without cutting it was so tender - but i didnt have a decent seasoning..

Anyway, I have only been at this for about 8 months so i'm no guru...
Sounds like you've got it pretty much nailed , try smoking chips though . Well worth it

Here’s a shot of the Essendon midfield...

images
Looks like two of these have been enjoying their isolation time. One quite appropriately named.
Love how Clarko is deemed to be “sooking up” when questioning how the game is being umpired by the bellends in the media. And here is one of their own blatantly inferring that they’re cheating against his team.
If anyone needs a please explain surely it’s this Slob, “suspect umpires” is a whole lot more incendiary than calling out a couple of decisions in my opinion.
He should have put an "I" at the start of his post. But we know that Slobbo has a poor grasp of the English language.
What J2S said. Think he means "I suspect" rather than "Suspect Umpires". Not that it makes his comment any more intelligent. That McGrath htb was BS, but the one shortly after against Hipwood was even worse. Frawley copped a terrible one a few weeks ago. They've really ****ed up the HTB rule this year.

Maybe. Obviously that mature leadership group is getting long in the tooth. I still reckon they have a couple years while Dangerfield is at his peak.

They have shown a very good ability to draft brilliantly (especially gun mature agers) and they have a strong draft hand this year after the Kelly deal (who was one of those amazing picks). They would be a logical destination for someone like Brad Crouch as a free agent. I hate them but they are annoyingly good at staying relevant. Up the their eyes in it this year with the maturity of the group. Their best shot in quite a few years I reckon

Looks like two of these have been enjoying their isolation time. One quite appropriately named.

What J2S said. Think he means "I suspect" rather than "Suspect Umpires". Not that it makes his comment any more intelligent. That McGrath htb was BS, but the one shortly after against Hipwood was even worse. Frawley copped a terrible one a few weeks ago. They've really f’ed up the HTB rule this year.

There have just been so many terrible HTB decisions. That McGrath one was possibly the worst I've ever seen (which is something I'm saying weekly now), it completely changed how "diving on it" is interpreted. They may as well turn the game into soccer.