No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 7

The AFL is such an embarrassment of an organisation, the "powerhouse" clubs are actually better run...

How do you have legitimate basketcases like St.Kilda runnimg around? Or have the audacity to blatantly rip that $8M off big clubs whilst simultaneously handing it straight to your paper framchises like GCS and GWS which in any other business would have been declared a bust and exited?

How about the balls to constantly talk of equality, then reduce the core funding to 'some' teams because they're big enough to look after themselves, whilst also keeping in an arbitrary tax that stops them from leveraging any of said size?

Couldn't even make this shit up. Would verge on restraint of trade if everyone wasn't playing in the AFLs made-up world.

On the Cyril thing, it seems pretty clear that post was around the Hawks not playing in Darwin during his career - which I can understand would be frustrating. However I’m not sure the club coukd do much about that - Demetriou had his bonuses tied to crowds over a season, so moving a big club to a small stadium was always a hard sell, even before you factor in they hated us for the Tassie deal.

I’m no Jeff apologist, but he had actively been trying to get blockbusters in Tas for example with no support from the AFL.
So hopefully it gets resolved because I’d hate to see Cyril not be part of the club going forward

The AFL is unreal, it legit rewards clubs that are mismanaged over and over again, really is a joke of a competition.
The only advantage being financial is giving the club the ability to have a voice rather than be compliant at every request.

and then theres a mothers day Sunday afternoon fixture against the Giants as a thanks for your input

The AFL is unreal, it legit rewards clubs that are mismanaged over and over again, really is a joke of a competition.

Personally don't mind it - every club goes through periods of mismanagement so the way things work with equalisation you don't see clubs just resigned to the scrapheap because you may have the odd executive team here or there who mess things up for a few years which creates a financial crater for an elongated period of time. It's not great for us right now - but who knows when the next rainy day might be.

We used to be that mismanaged club back in the Oakley days - and we all saw what the outcomes of mismanagement was back then. I never again want to see that kind of time in Australian sport where history and tradition just gets pissed on because of short-term commercial reasons. It was bad enough in the AFL - but growing up around the ARL/NRL it was just gut wrenching. I didn't support any of the clubs that were forced to merge, or worse that were left to just wither and die - but I miss watching them and feel deeply for their supporters. We were lucky to have a passionate campaign to fire up members to rebuke Oakley's way of doing things and fight to keep our identity. As uneven as we find it now - who knows where the hell we could be in 15-20 years and we might then be utterly glad we assisted with the equalisation of others because it might be us getting a hand in the future.

Personally don't mind it - every club goes through periods of mismanagement so the way things work with equalisation you don't see clubs just resigned to the scrapheap because you may have the odd executive team here or there who mess things up for a few years which creates a financial crater for an elongated period of time. It's not great for us right now - but who knows when the next rainy day might be.

We used to be that mismanaged club back in the Oakley days - and we all saw what the outcomes of mismanagement was back then. I never again want to see that kind of time in Australian sport where history and tradition just gets pissed on because of short-term commercial reasons. It was bad enough in the AFL - but growing up around the ARL/NRL it was just gut wrenching. I didn't support any of the clubs that were forced to merge, or worse that were left to just wither and die - but I miss watching them and feel deeply for their supporters. We were lucky to have a passionate campaign to fire up members to rebuke Oakley's way of doing things and fight to keep our identity. As uneven as we find it now - who knows where the hell we could be in 15-20 years and we might then be utterly glad we assisted with the equalisation of others because it might be us getting a hand in the future.
Though if we weren't having to support perpetually unprofitable clubs now we could be utilising those funds to solidify our financial independence further so that we could weather that potential storm ourselves in the future. I wouldn't want to rely on the chance that clubs that are financially weak now, or have only recently become profitable (some only due to recent on field success and/or the support of financially healthy clubs) still being in the position to lend the same support in 15-20 years time.

It's certainly not equal. But you can understand why. They want to reduce the sh_t clubs dependence on hand-outs, so they give them cost free handouts to offset their ineptness. I have no doubt that the Blues are breaking the cap, yet the AFL is turning a blind eye as they want a more successful Carlton.

Club that hasn’t made finals since 2013 is breaching the salary cap. Sounds legit.

Though if we weren't having to support perpetually unprofitable clubs now we could be utilising those funds to solidify our financial independence further so that we could weather that potential storm ourselves in the future. I wouldn't want to rely on the chance that clubs that are financially weak now, or have only recently become profitable (some only due to recent on field success and/or the support of financially healthy clubs) still being in the position to lend the same support in 15-20 years time.

We are doing both though. We are banking profits as well as paying equalisation levies - like any profitable club. I much prefer the way the competition operates now versus how it did in the 80s and 90s with the perpetual news of clubs being broke and on the verge of collapse or mergers.

The AFL will also kick in funding for Dingley, so the $2M shortfall this year will likely be made up for and then some. It’s swings and roundabouts. I’m content in underwriting the competition as a whole. As it stands there are teams paying a lot more than we do also who get the same smaller amount back - West Coast being a prime example.

I may have missed this but is Collingwood going to keep DeGoey on the list this year?

Would look that way. His case was adjourned until next month and they’re sticking by him at present.

I’d guess we won’t know until after the court proceedings are finished. Collingwood themselves most likely still don’t know.

According to the Pies board; some punter fell over and De Goey tripped over him - big misunderstanding, storm in a teacup, nothing to see here etc...

Even if he’s innocent of the charges - getting on the turps that hard with his mate when he was meant to be overseas training for the upcoming season isn’t a great look. Club has to get him on a short leash. At this rate he could be the next Cousins and piss his talent away or he could be the next Dusty and give up the dickish behaviour and focus on his footy. Issue being that Collingwood seems like a place utterly bereft of leadership.

De Goey is such a moron.

Instead of partying he should have been watching tape of Dusty and Petracca, and finding out exactly what both did to transform their games from talented flaky players to out and out superstars.

He could become the next Petracca or Dusty level game breaking mid/forward, or just be another Stringer - occasionally great, but ultimately never lived up to the potential.

De Goey is such a moron.

Instead of partying he should have been watching tape of Dusty and Petracca, and finding out exactly what both did to transform their games from talented flaky players to out and out superstars.

He could become the next Petracca or Dusty level game breaking mid/forward, or just be another Stringer - occasionally great, but ultimately never lived up to the potential.
On face value, it looks like he orchestrated a trip to the USA So he could go and party. Says a lot about him.

According to the Pies board; some punter fell over and De Goey tripped over him - big misunderstanding, storm in a teacup, nothing to see here etc...
Exactly. If you watch the footage backwards you can clearly see DeGoey actively pulling his fist away from the guys head. De Goeys mate too is seen trying to remove broken glass from the area and is obviously a jigsaw master as he puts the bottle back together in an instant. (Disclaimer: I have no knowledge of footage and suggestion of any 'watching' is for comedic purpose only.)

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not defending JDG as he's a massive ****wit, but one night out doesn't indicate he's gone to the US to party. I'm sure the trip was indeed to train hard and he's allowed to have a night out to blow off steam. He could well be watching tapes of Dusty/Petracca during the day/week. He's just not smart enough to realise that in that night out you shouldn't be getting shitfaced and grope/bash people.

Not defending JDG as he's a massive *******, but one night out doesn't indicate he's gone to the US to party. I'm sure the trip was indeed to train hard and he's allowed to have a night out to blow off steam. He could well be watching tapes of Dusty/Petracca during the day/week. He's just not smart enough to realise that in that night out you shouldn't be getting shitfaced and grope/bash people.
Quite possible but the damming part is putting up vision of yourself acting like a flog which really comes home to roost when you are charged by the local constabulary.