No Oppo Supporters General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome**

Ethical investors always crack me up. "I want to invest in something that doesn't use exploitative work conditions" while they type away on their iPhone. "I want NO exposure to gambling stocks...but I am not selling down my Woolworths shares". "I want to invest in something with NO fossil fuel exposure" after they drive away from the meeting in their car from the 70s. Nothing like soothing your middle class guilt with an ethical investment portfolio.
There is lots of money to be made dealing heroin, I hope the HFC brainstrust is already around this.

There is always someone who comes up with ridiculous suggestions. This sort of comment does not contribute to the discussion.

Pokies are legal, heroin isn't. Simple answer. Plenty of legal vices that have social consequences that I am sure you indulge in.

If you are so anti-pokies that you are making this kind of Godwin-like comment - then I hope you don't shop at Woolies or any of their subsidiaries.

Ethical investors always crack me up. "I want to invest in something that doesn't use exploitative work conditions" while they type away on their iPhone. "I want NO exposure to gambling stocks...but I am not selling down my Woolworths shares". "I want to invest in something with NO fossil fuel exposure" after they drive away from the meeting in their car from the 70s. Nothing like soothing your middle class guilt with an ethical investment portfolio.

My brother-in-law is a teacher, strongly against fossil fuels.
I regularly point out to him that for 27 years, he's driven his car 15 kms to and from school, and he's never had a passenger.

He does reply that he works really, really long hours, though.

*Davo23 ducks to avoid rocks thrown by teachers.

you and your ethics, smh

I also drink, therefore support the alcohol industry and all of the negatives it brings to society. Want me to cry myself to sleep over that? I don't play poker machines - I don't gamble except for a tiny flutter on Melbourne Cup day. I am not an enthusiast for the gambling industry. However, it is legal and therefore I haven't got an issue with the club having it as part of their portfolio.

I am sure you own numerous items that are the result of low-cost supply chains and exploited workers. Do you sit down on a daily basis and tell yourself how unethical and terrible you are? I didn't think so.

I regularly point out to him that for 27 years, he's driven his car 15 kms to and from school, and he's never had a passenger.

Look if you want to invest ethically then bully for you. The examples I just quoted were actually encounters I have had (mainly second hand) from my time in the finance industry. I find that almost anyone I encounter that gets on their soapbox about ethical investing is engaged in something that completely undermines how pious they are. I mean we are all hypocrites - but at least I can admit that I am one.

Soapbox!!! All I said was that there are people out there making money off ethical investments. Sometimes you only have to make small changes to start making a difference. I also said it was a decision that I have to make so as to soothe that middle class guilt I carry around - you can do as you please.

Nah, Heroin is in decline, we need to get with Ice and the new synthetics.

We need Swank. 10 times more addictive than marijuana. To human misery!

77326.jpg

Soapbox!!! All I said was that there are people out there making money off ethical investments. Sometimes you only have to make small changes to start making a difference. I also said it was a decision that I have to make so as to soothe that middle class guilt I carry around - you can do as you please.

Wasn't saying you were on your soapbox - apologies if I alluded that. I meant people who are chest-beaters about investing ethically that I have come across.

I notice that Geelong are making an attempt to reduce its reliance on pokie machines. There profit over the last couple of years have gone from 4mil to 1mil and they hope to phase them out altogether.

Does anyone know if the same iniative is happening at the Hawks
They just spent 2 mil refurbishing and renovating one of their clubs (my mate is manager there) so the loss of profit is down, but revenue is steady

The figures quoted were just their pokie revenue nothing else - at least that's how I read it

Should he be using electricity? Could be coal fired!

Pokies are legal, heroin isn't. Simple answer. Plenty of legal vices that have social consequences that I am sure you indulge in.

If you are so anti-pokies that you are making this kind of Godwin-like comment - then I hope you don't shop at Woolies or any of their subsidiaries.
Had to google that, but I learnt something. Thank you.

Plenty of ethical investment funnds and they clearly articulate their values and investment philosophy. Australian ethical super has out performed most other funds over the past five years and has a rapidly growing funds under management and membership base.

Everyone is a hypocrite so don't be too hard on him ;)

I'm studying teaching, but I agree, there is plenty of people (including teachers) that whinge about political topics, while doing what they advocate against

Plenty of ethical investment funnds and they clearly articulate their values and investment philosophy. Australian ethical super has out performed most other funds over the past five years and has a rapidly growing funds under management and membership base.

At the extortionate fees they charge - I'd be hoping for decent performance.

I was going to wait till the new year before firing another shot at the afl but here we go again. Banning the third man up in ruck play
is surely one of the more stupid decisions they have made. Why should the rucks be protected ?, if they took a run and jump at the ball
instead of wrestling and holding each other, there would be no third man up. As it is they are sitting ducks under the ball and it makes
plenty of sense for a third man to contest to a team's advantage. How about when the ball is kicked to chf, only the chf and chb are allowed
to compete for the mark or only the fullback can kick out after a behind -this is similar and how stupid does it sound?
So next year we play 4 ruck men - McEvoy, Fitzy, Roughie and Hodgey or will there be a new rule stating only 2 ruck men can play?
We should have expected it, an afl decision against a successful Hawthorn initiative.

I was going to wait till the new year before firing another shot at the afl but here we go again. Banning the third man up in ruck play
is surely one of the more stupid decisions they have made. Why should the rucks be protected ?, if they took a run and jump at the ball
instead of wrestling and holding each other, there would be no third man up. As it is they are sitting ducks under the ball and it makes
plenty of sense for a third man to contest to a team's advantage. How about when the ball is kicked to chf, only the chf and chb are allowed
to compete for the mark or only the fullback can kick out after a behind -this is similar and how stupid does it sound?
So next year we play 4 ruck men - McEvoy, Fitzy, Roughie and Hodgey or will there be a new rule stating only 2 ruck men can play?
We should have expected it, an afl decision against a successful Hawthorn initiative.
On a positive note, there is another rule change that stops Duckwood getting frees.