No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

The live Squiggle seems to show that this year has been very sub-par. Most premiers have finished well up toward the top, right hand corner. This year they're nowhere near it...

View attachment 1789475
How dare anyone question a list manager that has been at the club since... 1998. He never had any contribution in building the great team of 2000, and has presided mostly over a list which has failed to make or impact finals for the better part of 2 decades. If questions aren't being asked of the bloke then Essendon should just fold as a footy club.

‘Dodoro, you should be fired long ago, you know nothing
‘On the contrary, I know everything

Tim Watson would have loaded Garry's gun.
He is subdued on radio but you get the sense he is ropeable with how the year finished.

Tim Watson when asked by Lyons said that it doesn’t make sense that when they got a new coach, new CEO etc that they didn’t do a total clean out
He said while he likes Dodoro it was time to go

He's a great player but having him in an AA side would be a slap in the face to every wing who was great but never got an AA selection. He isn't a shadow on peak Isaac Smith and Smith never made it close to an AA selection.
Fair enough. In that context, I have to concede it's a bit rich.

How dare anyone question a list manager that has been at the club since... 1998. He never had any contribution in building the great team of 2000, and has presided mostly over a list which has failed to make or impact finals for the better part of 2 decades. If questions aren't being asked of the bloke then Essendon should just fold as a footy club.
You forgot to say please 😂

It’s so funny how shit they are run, long may it continue

Best looking team for some time.

I’d have
Harris Andrews > Tom Stewart
Libba > Merrett

Stewart making the AA team every year reminds me heaps of how in the NFL offensive linemen with any name recognition make the All-Pro team no matter how they actually play

Just got to get your foot in the door one year and selectors put him in the team by default
Yep absolutely.
If I had Stewart and Sicily in the same side Stewart would def be the lockdown and Sicily the floating attacking CHB

Josh Daicos is incorrect.

I'm just glad Greene was given the captaincy and we were spared another speech from the Bont.

Putt Putt Golf GIF by ABC Network

Hodge and Mitchell have 3 AA each. Tom Stewart has 5. Let that sink in. Also the Josh Daicos selection is horseshit. That said, I gave up on the AA concept after the 91 team was announced.

Hodge Mitchell Burgoyne have had enough great seasons to have 4-5 each at minimum. Even Lewis and Gibbo with two each.
Don't get me started at Issac smith either.
Absolute utter cow dump !!!

Mitchell did it for years but was only recognised as all Australian towards the end, and even then reckon he was picked on the bench a couple of times.

I can live with daicos - wing is a specialist and real position. At least they’ve picked wingmen this year, not blokes that could play there.

Isaac was one of the best two wingers for years, so should have 4-5 selections too. Instead more mids were picked.

Jordan Dawson has had a better season than Josh Daicos

Mitchell did it for years but was only recognised as all Australian towards the end, and even then reckon he was picked on the bench a couple of times.

I can live with daicos - wing is a specialist and real position. At least they’ve picked wingmen this year, not blokes that could play there.

Isaac was one of the best two wingers for years, so should have 4-5 selections too. Instead more mids were picked.

On year the selectors got heat for not picking Sammy. KB I think said we like goal kicking mids. Next year selected a mid with even less goals

At least they now put small fwd and defenders in.

That is quite extraordinary. Especially Mitchell who played at such a consistent level every year. Hodge at least often saved his best for finals which doesn't count for AA. Cameron Ling continues to pick his mates.

Pleased for Sicily that he got due recognition this year. It should be his third. Last year was such a disgrace, he was ever better last year than this.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news