KermitJagger
Professional Thread Derailer
- May 17, 2017
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
This is interesting. Two sides to it, first is that it may finally release the chokehold that JB, Bristle and the old boys club have over footy broadcasting - an objectively good thing. Second is that we may be robbed of the type of lineup we had at stages this year with Matt Hill, Jack Riewoldt and Jordan Lewis - an objectively bad thing.
I'm not sure if I like it. I hope they can balance it with quality. God love Eddie Betts, he's a great bloke, I've had the chance to chat to him, and he came to my school with one of those footy outreach programs... but he is not a natural broadcaster. I know that few of the Indigenous guys are.
We'll wait and see.
Silk is great, Abby could probably be used more if anything. I never minded Daisy Pearce.So the likes of Shaun Burgoyne, Abby Holmes, etc, aren't good enough?
This is interesting. Two sides to it, first is that it may finally release the chokehold that JB, Bristle and the old boys club have over footy broadcasting - an objectively good thing. Second is that we may be robbed of the type of lineup we had at stages this year with Matt Hill, Jack Riewoldt and Jordan Lewis - an objectively bad thing.
I'm not sure if I like it. I hope they can balance it with quality. God love Eddie Betts, he's a great bloke, I've had the chance to chat to him, and he came to my school with one of those footy outreach programs... but he is not a natural broadcaster. I know that few of the Indigenous guys are.
We'll wait and see.
Silk is great, Abby could probably be used more if anything. I never minded Daisy Pearce.
If anything I'm grateful it'll break up calling units like Dermott, Healy and Derwayne Russell but sad that it might break up better calling units who are all white and male.
Not the end of the world though.
Ruby SchleicherNever a fan of these sorts of 'quotas', entirely for the reason you've stated. We're now more likely to miss out on having the best commentators call games together because of it.
Also, it isn't like this isn't already happening.
Silk, Eddie, Abbey etc.
I may also be in the minority but I LOVE the AFLW player (whose name escapes me) that is on Bounce and does the boundary riding sometimes. The real bogan sounding one.
Gilbert is a good man and played more footy than me. I listened!It's fine if everyone's voluntarily doing it, not getting head hunted and talked into it, but I remember when 7 were using Gilbert McAdam for a while it felt like this every time he was on screen.
View attachment 2065273
We'll wait and see.
She's greatRuby Schleicher
What I meant was that he never seemed like he was comfortable with doing it, they just used him for it because he was indigenous and already on a panel show. Loved him on the Marngrook.Gilbert is a good man and played more footy than me. I listened!
It's fine if everyone's voluntarily doing it, not getting head hunted and talked into it, but I remember when 7 were using Gilbert McAdam for a while it felt like this every time he was on screen.
View attachment 2065273
Different expectations and different audiences.I felt for him as he was good value on Marngrook but was deer in the headlights on 7.
but with a basketball background.After listening to all the stuff the Pendlebury does to keep his body in the shape it is, I get the feeling he followers the Cristiano Ronaldo diet and exercise routine.
IMO Quotas are needed to break quotas.Never a fan of these sorts of 'quotas', entirely for the reason you've stated. We're now more likely to miss out on having the best commentators call games together because of it.
Also, it isn't like this isn't already happening.
Silk, Eddie, Abbey etc.
I may also be in the minority but I LOVE the AFLW player (whose name escapes me) that is on Bounce and does the boundary riding sometimes. The real bogan sounding one.
So what results do we want this week?
Obvs Us to win,
Melbourne, Crows.. (umm pies?) Swans and Freo?
Just a special for this week only mate - it’s to commemorate the opening of their new facilities.When did the Dogs become known as Footscray again?