Mega Thread General MFC Discussion IV – Roffey and Pert Gone, Bartlett Case Settled, Board Election Finalised

Meanwhile if Oliver has another season like 2024 we may have to give a pick away with him for someone to take that contract.
I think he'll be fine. No preseason, multiple injuries and a team falling apart around him and he was still serviceable. There may be diminishing returns later in his contract but I have faith he'll rebound next year.

He wasn't serviceable he was garbage. Dropped to HB in a game cause he was so shit. Played like an under 10s midfielder

He’ll certainly improve on last year. Seems much better mentally and physically than he was last year. And agree he has no luck with injuries on top of that. Whether he can get back to his best is another story but he’ll be a decent chance to get close to it.

You make your own luck with injuries being a disgrace in pre season

He wasn't serviceable he was garbage. Dropped to HB in a game cause he was so shit. Played like an under 10s midfielder
He was fine, not up to his usual standard and struggled through injuries later in the year. Regardless I think he'll get back on track, lack of preseason (whether self inflicted or not) heavily impacts a players performance, it's a huge reason Pretty struggled as well.

Id heavily agree to disagree on that, he was horrible. Just grabbed and booted forward or flung it forward. Was worse than his debut season when even though he was handball happy at least he tried to find a teammate. Didn't run, didn't impact the scoreboard and didn't retain possession. His damage per disposal was some of the worst of a good player in the league

With whatever we save in the cap over the next 3 years (90%, 75% and 50%) and it being "heavily backhanded" it will end up being ~ 0 games for somewhere between 2 - 2.4m you'd assume .... well done dickheads.
We don't know how back ended it is. The article read as speculative imo.

Me too. I doubt there would have been so much fuss when he got the contract if it had been expressed as less than 700 a year.

It’s really unfortunate but the long contract thing is the way it’s going to be from now.

Of course, if Mac Andrew has a career ending injury you just know the AFL will tweak the rules to protect GC’s future cap which is frustrating.

The more concerning part is that I’ve heard that Angus isn’t doing too well. I don’t know much, but it could be true. I noticed that he took himself off straight after his speech on the B&F night which isn’t great. Hope he recovers.
I expect that him retiring before the TPP went up has saved us a little.

So he was seemingly over his concussion issues and yet it only took one hit to medically retire him? lol.. you realise how dumb this sounds?

It was a stupid contract right from the very start and we paid the price.

Dumb by the footy club.
It was one of the most violent collisions of the past decade and certainly the worst concussion of his career. I don't think he would be the only player in the comp that would have retired after an incident like that in this day and age.

I personally found him to be extremely painful to watch this year. He could barely move in most games and his kicking was mostly diabolical. His performance against Port later in the year was quite possibly the single worst game by any of our players throughout the entire season.

I wonder if we can front load some of it also. Not sure on the AFL rules around it but I assume as we didn’t get Houston or anyone else of note there’ll be some spare cap space.
I think the implication of the article is that we couldn't. We paid him out the entire amount this year but the cap follows his contract, not what we actually paid. Otherwise we'd just renegotiate the entire thing to be paid off in the first year when we have the biggest discount.

That kinda sux. But I do wonder if we have x amount left in cap space if we could take it off following seasons figure. But I assume AFL have just said it’s gotta go as per the initial contract. Despite us paying him out already.

I would assume so. They might allow us to move the money around on the non discounted years but would be too easy to rort if you could just move it all onto the year you get a 90% discount.

I personally found him to be extremely painful to watch this year. He could barely move in most games and his kicking was mostly diabolical. His performance against Port later in the year was quite possibly the single worst game by any of our players throughout the entire season.

Yep, his efforts this year were awful - in his entire career I've never seen him phone it in like that. Obviously I hope he can turn it around but I'm genuinely unsure if he can/will.

It was one of the most violent collisions of the past decade and certainly the worst concussion of his career. I don't think he would be the only player in the comp that would have retired after an incident like that in this day and age.
Fair bit of hyperbole in this mate. :tearsofjoy:

In what sense? How many more violent incidents can you think of in that time? Maybe Gaff on his brother? Regardless of whether you think Maynard meant it or not it was effectively a shirtfront that knocked him out cold for multiple minutes.

We've also seen a number of players retire off concussion in the past couple of years so I don't think it's an exaggeration that one bad one could end a lot of players careers.

In what sense? How many more violent incidents can you think of in that time? Maybe Gaff on his brother? Regardless of whether you think Maynard meant it or not it was effectively a shirtfront that knocked him out cold for multiple minutes.

We've also seen a number of players retire off concussion in the past couple of years so I don't think it's an exaggeration that one bad one could end a lot of players careers.
They're retiring because of a build up of multiple head knocks over time and so that final knock is all it takes

With Gus it doesn't matter how severe the hit was, whether it was high impact or low impact, the fact is, he was a head knock away from
retiring and imo offering him a ridiculous contract is why we find ourselves in this situation with the payout.

At the time I wanted us to hold our ground with a reasonable offer of 3-4 years max.

Giving him 6 years was simply ludicrous.

They're retiring because of a build up of multiple head knocks over time and so that final knock is all it takes

With Gus it doesn't matter how severe the hit was, whether it was high impact or low impact, the fact is, he was a head knock away from
retiring and imo offering him a ridiculous contract is why we find ourselves in this situation with the payout.

At the time I wanted us to hold our ground with a reasonable offer of 3-4 years max.

Giving him 6 years was simply ludicrous.
Aiden O'Driscoll was forced to retire after his first ever concussion.

Gus had not had a concussion in years and when he initially faced those issues even minor headknocks were leading to concussion. That wasn't happening anymore and it did take an incredibly significant hit to concuss him and end his career.

I didn't love the length of the contract but long term contracts are a part of the game now and there's not many ways to avoid them until those trends change. Knowing now that his salary was an average of about 600k per year makes it one of the more reasonable long-term contracts I've seen.

Clarry was pretty good early until he got the sh*t kicked out of his hand in Adelaide. He wasn’t fully fit, it seems he copped collision injuries.

Reports then said he copped a PCL injury then cracked ribs. No idea when that happened.

Surely he was kept in the team because he’s more likely to stay on the straight and narrow when he’s playing footy. That can’t happen again next year.

I expect him to be much better next year. He owes his teammates, the club and the fans much better. At his best he’ll help us contend.

Petty and Oliver should have been put through a solid block of training for the first 8 weeks of the season. Petty barley did any pre season and only missed the first two games.
We did neither any favours.

Both will need to have a good offseason and at least be okay, because the club seems to be all in on “making finals” so you can pretty much bet they will play experience even if they have a leg chopped off. We have a club that relentlessly makes daft decisions. I’m trying to embrace it. It’s challenging though.

At least I’m not endlessly pestered now to go to shot games on Thursday night and be told to cheer louder though. I’m quite enthused about mid afternoon crouching in the drizzle yelling go dees and hearing my voice bounce back. I’m not joking. This is the game I adopted late and love.

We did neither any favours.

Both will need to have a good offseason and at least be okay, because the club seems to be all in on “making finals” so you can pretty much bet they will play experience even if they have a leg chopped off. We have a club that relentlessly makes daft decisions. I’m trying to embrace it. It’s challenging though.

At least I’m not endlessly pestered now to go to shot games on Thursday night and be told to cheer louder though. I’m quite enthused about mid afternoon crouching in the drizzle yelling go dees and hearing my voice bounce back. I’m not joking. This is the game I adopted late and love.

Definitely, and it was called out pretty early too that it was very desperate so early in the year.

Think it would have done our culture and Olivers form a world of good to have a 6-8 week training block but no we shit ourselves when Gus retired and had to rush him into the team. Petty was in the same boat minus the off field issues.

Definitely, and it was called out pretty early too that it was very desperate so early in the year.

Think it would have done our culture and Olivers form a world of good to have a 6-8 week training block but no we shit ourselves when Gus retired and had to rush him into the team. Petty was in the same boat minus the off field issues.
Agree.

The whole thing gave me the shits. We played an unfit guy who played an okay game, a barely okay game and then was terrible. And apparently injured. Which is groovey that you wanted to protect him from the fallout, but if so why not just not play him?

We played another guy down on form and confidence up the other end of the ground from his proven best role.

I get that with Casey being crap in the seconds, we don’t have great depth. But we could be a bit further ahead if we don’t clutch onto making finals as the goal.

With a bit of luck, some of the egos we have shown the door in the board and the administrators have let us free it up a bit.

Mega Thread General MFC Discussion IV – Roffey and Pert Gone, Bartlett Case Settled, Board Election Finalised