Get Fev: yes or no?

Ok folks, this poll has been rendered moot, with Tony Kelly announcing at this evening's B&F that we won't be getting Fev. Keep voting if you want, but I wouldn't bother. :)

Thanks to TBD for the news.

b) Hendo is a forward, not a back, we take Fevola, he's gone.

At this stage I think that is more a matter of opinion than anything else.

Wasn't Henderson rated as being one of the best defenders in the draft in which he was taken?

I'd have to say that I have been far more impressed with Henderson's games in defense than attack from what I have seen so far.

Wasn't Henderson rated as being one of the best defenders in the draft in which he was taken?

I'd have to say that I have been far more impressed with Henderson's games in defense than attack from what I have seen so far.

No, he played CHF. That's his best position when he grew up.

Mate, my question in that previous post was somewhat rhetorical. I think you'll find that Henderson WAS indeed rated by talent scouts, as one of, if not the best options for a defender in the draft in which he was taken.

I can't remember who it was who gave the rating (Kevin Sheehan, perhaps?), but I have also seen this view referred to on here by other posters, so I am sure someone will know.

Mate, my question in that previous post was somewhat rhetorical. I think you'll find that Henderson WAS indeed rated by talent scouts, as one of, if not the best options for a defender in the draft in which he was taken.

I can't remember who it was who gave the rating (Kevin Sheehan, perhaps?), but I have also seen this view referred to on here by other posters, so I am sure someone will know.

While Henderson said his preferred position is centre half-forward both McConnell and Hocking believe he is an attractive option at centre half-back.

The above from 2 of Lachlan's coaches at AIS and Geelong Falcons respectively - refer post 2 from his Roster Watch thread.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=398156

FFS this is getting ridiculous. So, send the message to a young, tight-knit, disciplined group that bullshit will be tolerated if you're a star. Throw loads of money at the part of the ground we have identified as our greatest strength and one we know we have young lads of immense talent waiting in the wings for a crack at but will hamstring because of a selfish urge to go with some crappy star power theory over developing a group together we've been telling we believe in the ability of. Send the message that the club will quite happily tell you one thing then go ahead and completely change tak for 1 person. Not that it'd undermine group cohesion etc. Yeah sounds like an awesome idea... Think about more than 2 years of stupid backflip goals. We have talls.. we need SMALL CRUMBING goal kickers to send our attack to the next level. We need to throw more power and skill into the middle and we need to throw more drive into the back line. "Fevalenko" offers NONE of that, absolutely NONE of it.

I actually agree with all of that re the players we need, and others have posted similarly. However, if we got Fev "cheap" then we're still OK to chase those other types of players, too. That's kind of my point. I would not trade Fev for someone (future) like Henderson, but I'd have him at the Lions if we got him for nothing and they paid half his wage. Of course I think we should TRY to get him for that. Then, we can still chase mids etc with the bargaining power of picks etc.

As to the attitude thing, Fev would have to be "brought into line" by the leadership group etc. He is not a cancerous personality, he's just a toxic drunk. It could actually be a good lesson for younger players, imposing disciplines on Fev, showing them that shit is not tolerated. We don't punish Fev for his indiscretions at Carlsmeg, that's not our business, but we certainly impose regulations to prevent it happening at Brisbane.

Yeah, there's a quote from The Draft where the Hawthorn recruiting guys rate Henderson the second best defender in that year's draft, after Rance.

If Bradshaw stays and plays for the Lions next year, then I will never, ever post on Bigfooty again if he doesn't retire at the end of next year.
Bye, don't forget to close the door behind you SB. Bradshaw stays as announced this morning in The Australian. No interest in Fabulous Fev. as announced at last night's B&F. Now if we can just put an end to the Staker to Lions Dalziell to Eagles crap, the planets will realign once again. I can live with wasting a third round draft pick on Raines to play in the QAFL.

I actually agree with all of that re the players we need, and others have posted similarly. However, if we got Fev "cheap" then we're still OK to chase those other types of players, too. That's kind of my point. I would not trade Fev for someone (future) like Henderson, but I'd have him at the Lions if we got him for nothing and they paid half his wage. Of course I think we should TRY to get him for that. Then, we can still chase mids etc with the bargaining power of picks etc.

As to the attitude thing, Fev would have to be "brought into line" by the leadership group etc. He is not a cancerous personality, he's just a toxic drunk. It could actually be a good lesson for younger players, imposing disciplines on Fev, showing them that shit is not tolerated. We don't punish Fev for his indiscretions at Carlsmeg, that's not our business, but we certainly impose regulations to prevent it happening at Brisbane.
Duritz, I don't think anyone is arguing that Fev will not be a good player or that he will not make us better. The contention is at what cost to the fabric of the organization and the dynamics of the playing group? As HM has stated the damage to the organization's dynamic can be irreparable.

Bye, don't forget to close the door behind you SB. Bradshaw stays as announced this morning in The Australian.QAFL.

Err...I think you might have to wait 12 months on that one...

The positive is that Jono Brown might be the one bloke is the league that could pull Fev's head in when he gets out of line.....literally.

I don't really buy this philosophy, to be honest.

Brown comes across as a piss-loving larrikin just as much as Fevola, with the exception that Brown doesn't seem to get so loose that he gets in trouble. Personally, I don't think that Fevola has done anything "that" bad anyway. It is not as if he has had serious sexual allegations made against him or jumped in a car and driven around whilst drunk. Nor has he been mixed up in criminal behaviour and despite him putting some leprechaun in a head-lock (and who hasn't done that!), it's not as if he has a history of punching on either.

His misdemeanors are more about hurting the "image of the club" than anything else.

The thing that would change Fevola would be the prospect of success on the big-stage. If he was in a team that was playing deep into September, he'd have no troubles (unless of course he lost his shit in the off-season).

Akermanis is a good case in point. When he has played in a team that has been a genuine chance of winning a flag, he himself curtailed his own behaviour to fall within the line (if only just). When the team was without a chance of making finals, he got bored.

I reckon Fevola is just the same. He's not a bad bloke and he hasn't got himself mixed up in anything criminal or in the wrong crowd, unlike the WCE boys (at least as far as I know). His muck-up at the Brownlow was fairly minor stuff compared to what "it could have been". Playing in a team capable of winning a flag will keep him occupied enough to keep out of that sort of mischief in the future.

The irony about all of this is that Carlton are now starting to make the finals. With some astute drafting and trading, they could be half a shot over the next few years.

His muck-up at the Brownlow was fairly minor stuff compared to what "it could have been". Playing in a team capable of winning a flag will keep him occupied enough to keep out of that sort of mischief in the future.

Stocka, as has been alluded to quite often over the past week. What Fevola did was far more serious than what was reported. I think we all know that.

I was talking to a very prominent Hawks premiership player of the 80's on Friday night.

He was at the Brownlow too & was very scathing, very critical of Fevola's antics. I can tell you there were some serious allegations made there.

I think that Fevola is probably lucky that he didn't get locked up to be honest.

I can understand why Carlton turned their back on him...Despite this I still thought he'd be ok for us.

I know it has been stated that we don't want him but if I was the club I would offer him a two year deal at $500K and offer Carlton a third round pick and that is all. If they seriously want to get rid of him, and there are no other potential suitors we may be able to get him. But thats only if Carlton want to get rid of him and nobody offers anything else.

Stocka, as has been alluded to quite often over the past week. What Fevola did was far more serious than what was reported. I think we all know that.

I was talking to a very prominent Hawks premiership player of the 80's on Friday night.

He was at the Brownlow too & was very scathing, very critical of Fevola's antics. I can tell you there were some serious allegations made there.

I think that Fevola is probably lucky that he didn't get locked up to be honest.

I can understand why Carlton turned their back on him...Despite this I still thought he'd be ok for us.

For what little it's worth, I also think that the whole Fev-Brownlow beatup has been a wee bit OTT.

Point 1- Carlton's Captain, Visy's Mr. Green-Wash, was there that night, we all saw him on TV. Let me put this scenario- having seen Fev in full flight [again, we all saw this to be the case] Captain, assuming a captaincy=leadership role, reaches for mobile phone, rings security/club heavy/whoever and advises get this idiot out of here before he makes a total fool of himself and the club

Point 2- Carlton Captain, seeing Eddie or other Ch9 persons were there, and knowing Eddie is Fev's counsellor/adviser whatever, might have asked Eddie or associate to require Fev to desist from Ch9 activities

My prediction- no way will this bloke leave Carlton. Even less likely he'll end up in Brissie.

No, I don't agree. I don't think we do all know that.

Unless people were there or were actually involved, and unless people are commenting on publicly reported facts, then what people think they know is based largely on innuendo and here-say. People filling in the gaps with their imaginations and coming up with the worst possible scenario. Fevola has acted like an idiot in the past and had some minor incidents against his name (which are fairly mild compared to other things that have happened over the years). Therefore it makes it easy for people's imaginations to run wild and conjure up worst-case scenario ideas.

Fevola has become the whipping boy for "loutish drunken behaviour" in a time when street violence, alcohol problems (and drug problems) are in the media's crosshairs. I'd almost go as far as to suggest that Fevola cultural heritage and bogan demeanor make him a prime target for the media who want to pick on targets that their audience will easily identify as "the perpetrator" based on their own stereotypical prejudices. The fact that Fevola does act like an idiot when he gets on the piss doesn't help, but let's not over-react based on a what has been a media beat-up.

If Fevola had committed anything criminal on the night, then it would have been highly likely that he would have been arrested and charged. As he was not, then one can make a fair assumption that he was doing little more than acting like an idiot and bringing some degree of disrepute upon himself and his club.

Who?

Such as?

Has anyone actually made a complaint to the police about any of these incidents?

If there were people around who say that "there was worse that happened" and that they saw it, then why aren't they doing something about it via the criminal justice system?

Locked up on what basis? The trial by jury innuendo, filling-the-gaps, kangaroo court of BigFooty?

Sure, you can get locked up for being drunk and disorderly, but that is hardly worthy of the venom and innuendo that is being directed towards Fevola.

As I said, if Fevola had actually done anything serious, such as seriously assulted someone, driven a car whilst under the influence, been part of a serious criminal activity with known criminals, or had made some sort of serious sexual assault then I am sure there would be information reported on the nature of the incident as well as some sort of judicial/criminal process being followed.

Now, if something comes out in the up-coming weeks, months or years, then fair enough. But until that time, as far as I am concerned, a lot of the reporting and discussion on the topic is a beat-up.

Carlton may still end up keeping Fevola.

Due to their previous contractual arrangement with Fevola, as well as their public stance on his behaviour, they were pretty much hamstrung into having to take the action that they have in the last week. Had they not done anything, then they would simply have looked dishonest and/or weak.

However, they still hold the cards, if they want to play them right, to keep Fevola if they really want him.

Its clear that Fev's antics at the Brownlow have not been fully revealed.

I don't think he did anything criminal, but there are suspicions that he did something that utterly burned his bridges with the Carlton playing group.

Anyway, my issue with Fev coming to Brisbane isn't behaviorial, it's that it doesn't improve our side to a degree that justifies the cost, and may set us back long term in a big way.

No to Fev.

I don't think he did anything criminal, but there are suspicions that he did something that utterly burned his bridges with the Carlton playing group.

It was probably the Judd pressure-point debacle. Mind you, I think 15 clubs in the league and their supporters would have enjoyed that one. ;)

Get Fev: yes or no?