Give Wallace 2 more years

IMO Wallace needs to be no worse than 10-6 and in the 8 by round 16 next year to get a new deal. Anything below that should be seen as a failure and Wallace's tenure should be looked at and brought into question.

For those who think that might be setting the bar too high just remember it is where we should of been in round 16 this year if not for letting 3 games slip that we shouldn't have. With an extra pre season under their belts and a better understanding of what is required to make it as a contender, I really believe this is what should seen as an acceptable return in the 5th year of a rebuild.
i agree with the jist of it but you can`t base the whole decision purely on a win/loss ratio ... there are many intangibles ... way to many to list .

The guy is committed to Richmond. He has said that he doesn't want to coach any club and intends to finish his career with the tigers. He already has life membership with Hawthorn and the Bulldogs. Where so many coaches have failed over the past 30 years, he wants to be the first coach to awake the sleeping giant.

i agree with the jist of it but you can`t base the whole decision purely on a win/loss ratio ... there are many intangibles ... way to many to list .
I'm not basing the whole decision on the W/L record, I'm just cutting to the chase and putting it simply. To put it another way, I have no doubt you would agree, that if we are in a better position with 6 weeks to go next year than we were this year, this year we were 7-8-1 and in 12th spot, Wallace would be deserving of a new deal.

If, however, we were in the same position or worse off then the club should look at the intangibles and see what sort of effect they have had on the season and make their decision accordingly.

Lets get one thing straight - if Wallace is granted an extension he needs to earn it. And if he does has extension next year i will be more than happy as we will be playing finals. There will be no reason for change.
But to give him an extension now based on where we are at is unfounded.
Again I have no probs in him being there longer than next year if results warrant it.
If he doesnt earn it then we should speak to Mark Williams. Last time I looked on the list he has one year on a contract and has previoulsy expressed interest in coaching a big Melbourne club. I have no doubt in my mind he is much better coach than Wallace.
If Williams has another average season he will be given the flick from Port.

Give me the list of people who are uninterested in coaching us? How would you know who is not interested in coaching us when the RFC isnt even looking. And there is no reason why it should be looking as its still has a coach for next year.
The best coach out there may not be coaching a senior club now - he maybe a assistant.

Well mate ... i totally do not agree with you at all on that one ...

who would be queing up for his services ?

Channel 7; Channel 10; Herald Sun; SEN; MMM; 3AW; Foxsports.....

Not everyone wants to be a coach for life like Sheedy.

Channel 7; Channel 10; Herald Sun; SEN; MMM; 3AW; Foxsports.....

Not everyone wants to be a coach for life like Sheedy.
Come on 80 ... Wallace considers himself a "career coach"

I have absolutely no doubt he will want to continue ... he would desperately want to see this one through ... its human bloody nature . Think of the relationships he would have built up with the kids and the ground work he had laid

This statement of his ..."its a two way st." .... he is bluffing with a pair of threes .

and i ask this ... how many coaches historically have said ...."Thats enough , i resign .. this is too hard and i`m heading back to the media" .. because i genuinely cannot think of one .

in any case he has a huge opportunity ... if we can get over the line this week against the crows and then we jag the last two then we will almost certainly play finals and lets face it ... Brisbane ... the Aints .... Collingwood ... Adelaide .. depending where we finish up , very good chance of a win ... then if we end up playing whoever gets pantsed by Geelong the week before ... that could also be a good chance for a win ...

Should plough get that far ....:)rolleyes:) then i reckon there will an extension put forward to him over summer anyhow ... pie in the sky stuff i know , but my point is its all there in front of him ... he just has to grab it ;)

Come on 80 ... Wallace considers himself a "career coach"

I have absolutely no doubt he will want to continue ... he would desperately want to see this one through ... its human bloody nature . Think of the relationships he would have built up with the kids and the ground work he had laid

This statement of his ..."its a two way st." .... he is bluffing with a pair of threes .

and i ask this ... how many coaches historically have said ...."Thats enough , i resign .. this is too hard and i`m heading back to the media" .. because i genuinely cannot think of one .

in any case he has a huge opportunity ... if we can get over the line this week against the crows and then we jag the last two then we will almost certainly play finals and lets face it ... Brisbane ... the Aints .... Collingwood ... Adelaide .. depending where we finish up , very good chance of a win ... then if we end up playing whoever gets pantsed by Geelong the week before ... that could also be a good chance for a win ...

Should plough get that far ....:)rolleyes:) then i reckon there will an extension put forward to him over summer anyhow ... pie in the sky stuff i know , but my point is its all there in front of him ... he just has to grab it ;)

He wouldnt be the first bloke to quit because he hates his boss.

Just reckon life is going to get much more difficult for him (post Miller), and his ego may not like the greater accountability thats coming his way.....

If I'm wrong, I'll buy you a beer.

Lets get one thing straight - if Wallace is granted an extension he needs to earn it. And if he does has extension next year i will be more than happy as we will be playing finals. There will be no reason for change.
Again I have no probs in him being there longer than next year if results warrant it.
If he doesnt earn it then we should speak to Mark Williams. Last time I looked on the list he has one year on a contract and has previoulsy expressed interest in coaching a big Melbourne club. I have no doubt in my mind he is much better coach than Wallace.

Give me the list of people who are uninterested in coaching us? How would you know who is not interested in coaching us when the RFC isnt even looking. And there is no reason why it should be looking as its still has a coach for next year.
The best coach out there may not be coaching a senior club now - he maybe a assistant.

Nice post 'Lids' :thumbsu:

Just reckon life is going to get much more difficult for him (post Miller), and his ego may not like the greater accountability thats coming his way.....

I`ll but you a beer anyway ...:thumbsu:

Just an interesting "chew of the fat" as always 80 .... always a pleasure

It will just be interesting to see how it plays out

And do it at the end of this season.

Anyone who disagrees must name who they think will be a better coach than Wallace.

In fact, it was Wallace himself who said he should be judged at the end of his contract in '09, and that he wouldnt expect the club to give him an early extension.

IMO if we play finals next year, give him an extension then - but no sooner.

I can give you a list longer than John Holmes's c.ock of the potential quality coaches who have snubbed us bc we are a bunch of amateurs trying to make it in a professional industry.

Sheedy, Thompson, Blight, Roos, Voss, Buckley just off the top of my head have all been asked to join the coaching panel in some capacity and all have rejected us.

Not much would have changed especially with how the Miller affair was handled last week.

Great post IDGAF.
For mine, I'd wait until around round 8 next year. No need to jump the gun and do it now. Wait and see where we are at after 8 rounds next year and it will give us a huge insight into our future.

Totally agree. If TW has the team performing well and heading to the finals next season I would be more than happy to extend him mid-year to make him and the club look good.

sorry 1980, I gotta disagree on this.

If wallet leaves beacuse he cant handle the fact that he is now going to be held accountable for the performance of the team, a team that has his fingerprints all over it for 4 years, then well he should go now.

Wallet is about Wallet,always has been.

His number one objective ATM is to get the team into the finals. Fantastic.

Next year he has been guaranteed a job till the end of the year.fantastic.

The only reason wallet will jump ship is if he feels that success in not around the corner, if thats the case, thanks for coming, don't let the door slam on your way out.

wallet was given a 5 yr contract on big big money

his performance has been good, and to be honest he has put alot of great things in place, so that the next 5 years, will no doubt be much more succesful than the past 5 years, he has been paid handsomely and been given unprecedented support.

Wallets ego wont let him quit, he knows we are his last and only chance for a premiership, as far as marketability in the media goes, Danny Frawley has a better win/loss record, so lets not panic here, wallet is a politician, his undermining of march was all political.

Can also say that wallet wasnt as supportive behind the scenes of Miller as you would imagine, Millers job was recruitment and his is developement and playing style, wallet has been quietly undermining miller as he felt like he(miller) didnt live upto his side of the deal.

Wallet is the most canniving and political animal in the AFL, luckily for him he also a damn good football coach

IMHO wallets job has been done, not overly concerned if he stays or goes. Don't want him sacked, but wont slit my wrists if he walks either, he has form remember.

If wallet leaves beacuse he cant handle the fact that he is now going to be held accountable for the performance of the team, a team that has his fingerprints all over it for 4 years, then well he should go now.

The only reason wallet will jump ship is if he feels that success in not around the corner, if thats the case, thanks for coming, don't let the door slam on your way out.

his performance has been good, and to be honest he has put alot of great things in place, so that the next 5 years, will no doubt be much more succesful than the past 5 years, he has been paid handsomely and been given unprecedented support.

Wallets ego wont let him quit, he knows we are his last and only chance for a premiership, as far as marketability in the media goes, Danny Frawley has a better win/loss record, so lets not panic here, wallet is a politician, his undermining of march was all political.

Can also say that wallet wasnt as supportive behind the scenes of Miller as you would imagine, Millers job was recruitment and his is developement and playing style, wallet has been quietly undermining miller as he felt like he(miller) didnt live upto his side of the deal.

Wallet is the most canniving and political animal in the AFL, luckily for him he also a damn good football coach

IMHO wallets job has been done, not overly concerned if he stays or goes. Don't want him sacked, but wont slit my wrists if he walks either, he has form remember.
This may be the best post yet on Wallace.

he doesnt get a contract extension
too many times we over commit when we do not need to
if wallace wants to leave then his heart isnt in the richmond footy club
im pretty sure by the half way mark next year we will know where we are at and then can handle it
geez we would look good if we signed him for 2 more years and were down the bottom again next year only for him to tell us all about his 2018 plan
plenty of coaches could be looking for new jobs next season
worsfold, williams, malthouse, geez even roos or matthews might have a change of heart and want to coach elsewhere when they have said they wouldnt

Agree with all this blaise

Just making the point that there's a lot of Mal Brown wannabes at our club, and if they start their usual king making activities (see Northey 1995), then it will get to a point that the club is constantly distracted and uncoachable.

The way to head this off is to extend Wallace's contract now.

The whole Tony Free review/ Miller sacking just came out of nowhere. There's obviously a lot of underhanded stuff that takes place at the rfc we dont know about. You cant expect Wallace to be 100% focused on coaching if someone really did speak to Hardwick about coming across....

Greg Tivendale to be selected from, uh I think we should wait until next year to sign him up. I strongly believe that whoever our next coach is, the board will have much more control even with the selection of players, like has happended at other clubs. Things like Tivendale, Hyde if still on the list they will not get a game.

I just cant understand the selection. He shouldnt even be on the emergency.
The only other club this would happen at would be Freo.
Any other club in our situation this crap would not tolerated!
What has changed since Tivendales last two apperances in the seniors. The game has not got slower? his decision making suddenly got better? his skills now are elite? has he got a right foot?
Soft option

Greg Tivendale to be selected from, uh I think we should wait until next year to sign him up. I strongly believe that whoever our next coach is, the board will have much more control even with the selection of players, like has happended at other clubs. Things like Tivendale, Hyde if still on the list they will not get a game.

I just cant understand the selection. He shouldnt even be on the emergency.
The only other club this would happen at would be Freo.
Any other club in our situation this crap would not tolerated!
What has changed since Tivendales last two apperances in the seniors. The game has not got slower? his decision making suddenly got better? his skills now are elite? has he got a right foot?
Soft option

His file should have been stamped ..."never to play again" after the Adelaide debacle

It is quite vexing

Agree with all this blaise

The whole Tony Free review/ Miller sacking just came out of nowhere.QUOTE]

the move to sack miller has been in the works for over a year. Hardly out of the blue.

And as for approaching hardwick, I think it is prudent that they approach everybody, and have plan B ready to go.

Wallace is guaranteed a job till the end of next year. If he wants an extension he needs to perform.

Continued progress in the development of players like Tambling, Riewolt, Edwards, jackson Polo Pattison Cotchin Rance ect will determine the likelihood of a contract extension. He has to earn it.

The days of an unaccountable football department at the RFC, when the director of football was his own boss, are thankfully a thing of the past

I'd only give him more time once he completes his current plan, and sets the vision for the next few years

With what we've seen this year, I'm sure it'll be pretty exciting stuff.

Tigers are now really starting to deliver on the solid foundations TW implemented with his revolutionary vision.
A great outcome that was destined for reality once followed and properly absorbed.

Well done to TW and his team for successfully executing their brilliant plan, helping to ensure the on field future success of the RFC :thumbsu:

Give Wallace 2 more years