Give Wallace 2 more years

toppstar

Jul 28, 2008
This is clearly going to be the unpopular view here on this board but i honestly could not give a damn atm.

The list isn't as bad as what it is being made out to be. The list is by no means fantastic, and recruiting under wallace hasn't been anywhere near as good as it could have been.

At the end of last year most thought we were starting on the right direction and i'm not convinced that a few bad losses this season has changed that.

Too many people are judging the current team on the past 30 years when none of it has any real relevance to how the team is performing today.

IMO the club should come out this week and sign wallace up for 2 more years, take the pressure off, let him do his thing and allow him to make decisions without the scrutiny. He can start playing younger players who haven't already had a go, and when you put those in with some of the younger players we have atm that are playing that may be enough to generate a decent team in a couple years.

Terry's made mistakes and if given the opportunity can learn from them because after all i believe he is a good coach.

I had this same idea at lunch.

I don't mind it.

Not appropriate to reappoint him now, obviously, but some comments from March to the effect that Terry is a road we have chosen and we must (dare I say it) stick fat and we are leaning towards giving Terry the opportunity to realise his vision, esp that he now has a properly resourced footy dept, this is not the Tigers of old etc might just fly.

That also might remind the playing group that the coach could well have a bearing on their careers, we're all in this which could arrest the building focus on the coach... and improve focus on the footy.

Valid, and required, post. A lot here have changed to bullish to incredibly bearish in 4 weeks.... perhaps with justification, but sacking all and sundry does sound a little drastic, when at this point we don't really NEED to be

This is clearly going to be the unpopular view here on this board but i honestly could not give a damn atm.

The list isn't as bad as what it is being made out to be. The list is by no means fantastic, and recruiting under wallace hasn't been anywhere near as good as it could have been.

At the end of last year most thought we were starting on the right direction and i'm not convinced that a few bad losses this season has changed that.

Too many people are judging the current team on the past 30 years when none of it has any real relevance to how the team is performing today.

IMO the club should come out this week and sign wallace up for 2 more years, take the pressure off, let him do his thing and allow him to make decisions without the scrutiny. He can start playing younger players who haven't already had a go, and when you put those in with some of the younger players we have atm that are playing that may be enough to generate a decent team in a couple years.

Terry's made mistakes and if given the opportunity can learn from them because after all i believe he is a good coach.

It's hard to see what he is capable of as in almost 5 years we are still looking very ordinary, not sure Terry is the person we need. However we do need another clean out, and I think that is also due for most of the coaching staff and board.

Start Fresh.

Huh? WTF are we talking about the same Wallace who started with a club down the bottom of the ladder in 2003 with hawthorn and the wester bulldogs?

How hard s it to play finals?

Very brave.

Respect.

I too had a chat with a mate about the situation confronting Richmond atm. We too floated and discussed the idea about re-signing Terry for another two seasons, simply because sacking another coach would be diabolical. It basically means, a new coach, a new direction, a fresh start and more importantly, a rebuild.

Now, many Tigers supporters may think that a rebuild is not necessarily needed but it would be unfair on the new coach coming in, not to be given the same opportunities as other senior coaches, past and present, to stamp his own mark on the team and club and steer the ship.

However, this is where the problem is. It sounds like a united front, rallying behind Terry and giving him another 2 years, yet, he asked for 5 years to rebuild the team and then guaranteed finals and sustained success beyond/during that time. No finals have eventuated under Wallace's reign and the outlook for 2009 doesn't look any different. Question is, he has had 5 years to deliver, hasn't, is paid handsomely at about 500K a year, when is enough, enough?

Remember, Daniher was sacked after leading Melbourne into 7 or so finals appearances in 10 years. Wallace has 0 in 5. That puts things into a little perspective.

It doesn't really, because the first 3 years he was purely trying to rebuild the list, and sacrificed the chance of a finals birth because of that. It's really only last season and this season we've had the chance to make finals. Last year we didn't, granted, and this year is only 4 rounds in. So effectively that's 0/1, with this year pending.

He has to go.
We have given Frawley 5 years and now Wallace 5 years. It's fair and reasonable to expect something in return by now. This bullshit about Richmond sacking coaches is not relevant now as our last two coaches have had plenty of time to get things right.

It doesn't really, because the first 3 years he was purely trying to rebuild the list, and sacrificed the chance of a finals birth because of that. It's really only last season and this season we've had the chance to make finals. Last year we didn't, granted, and this year is only 4 rounds in. So effectively that's 0/1, with this year pending.

I'm still undecided as to what the "correct" decision for Richmond to do is.

However, what I do know, is you cannot effectively eliminate Terry's first 3 years and say he is effectively 0/1, this year pending.

5 years is a long time in football and he must be judged on what he has delivered in his entire time. Sure, he "rebuilt" the list but it doesn't mean you "sacrifice" the chance of finals footy because of it. It just makes the job a little more difficult.

Wallace is a smart guy. Him fired up would be scary.

He is innovative and he now has a well stocked footy dept (although not necessarily the right personnel).

He is coaching Miller's picks and while, yes, the buck stops with him if we sack him then we do our team more harm than good.

Too many people here reckon that by appointing any tossbag prepared to be pathetic for a couple of years we will necessarily get top picks and therefore do well. History tells us that ain't right.

I was at the game yesterday and it was terrible, but we have been pulling the trigger for a generation, and if we give Wallace another 2 years, or alluded that we might, then that might just work.

I think it's certainly an idea that should be considered at least as much as going after someone like Buckley etc etc etc.

Geez I love bigfooty....

we have been pulling the trigger for a generation, and if we give Wallace another 2 years, or alluded that we might, then that might just work.

reappointing him would be a risk, but so would taking a new untried coach. if we were to keep him i would at least expect a review of the people behind him, particularly those involved in body development and skills training.

Interesting, brave thread.

I'm open to the idea of coming out and saying look, get of Terry's back.. we're giving him 2 more years regardless of how this season turns out and that is final.

The odds of that happening are extremely slight, but I like your thinking toppstar. Bit like saying to a player after having a shocker, you dont deserve to play next week but we'll select you anyway and if you're good enough you'll make up for last week.

A coach however is different to a player and that makes it hard to go down that path unless the alternative isn't much better (ie: no good potential coaches putting up their hand). The other problem is that if TW has lost the players, giving him 2 more years alone wont bring them back. Good to see a different view on things though. :)

no. had 5 years and the list is looking worse than it did 5 years ago. too many old players not doing enough and too many skinny kids taht dont look like putting on weight. his game plan is not good enough for the modern game, and he wont change it.

yeah the recruiting department have chosen SOME bad players, but isnt wallace the coach and shouldnt he be saying to them something like "we need a ruckman or we need a 6'5 key forward, find me them." then sit with the recruiting managers with videos of who they've found and then say yay or nay" if he doesnt, then he needs to, if he has, then he aint much better at spotting young talent, coz surely there was an 18 year old that is potentially better than hislop available at pick 58(or whatever it was). and really, how many skinny semi quick half fowards do we need. i think 4 is enough. collingwood had loen davis as their main one and persisted with him and look how he is. same with craig mcrae as bris. could name one from each team in last 6odd years. edwards or nahas or jon or tambo should be left there for the next 18 games and learn how to play the position, thats when improvement comes. same with FF, leave cleve or schulz of post or vickery there for the rest of the season, dont tinker, just play them and they'll either improve of not.

a couple of games in, a couple out, never helps anyone.

wow i think i went way off topic there.

short answer - no

Should have signed a 2yr extension at the end of last year and let the club get on with business, rather than aim for finals with a coach in the last year of his contract, as if the Cousins media attention wasn't enough to deal with.

Wallace was and still is the best coach we are capable of attracting.

LMAO@ all the people baying for Malthouse or Matthews - Wallace is in front of both head to head, with worse sides.

After what I witnessed yesterday my immeditae reaction was I wanted Wallace's head on a plate. My reasoning was related to what has happened to basically the same or marginally improved team that we have post 2008 and where the **** has that all gone! The only logical explanations are coaching and player confidence. After a year as No 2 in contested football we have won or held our own in 5 quarters out a possible 16 and despite all the rhetoric about developing a new look forward line we refuse to persist with a different model and at the first sign if crap send Richo back to FF and throw away the structure that we were developing. No wonder Schulz, Riewoldt and Morton arent firing, its back to kick it to Richo all over again! I would love to know what instructions the players are under. Some of the idiotic handball just has to be gameplan stuff, an imbecile couldnt invent people running through the middle with a chance to kick deep into our forward line, only to stop, prop and handball 2 metres to someone in more shit than the early settlers.

OK enough rant. Anyway, today, I am torn between Wallaces head on a plate and comparing where we are at with Wallace to Geelong and Bomber Thompson a few years ago. Either way, despite half the crap I've read here, I am a paid up member and will be till the lid is on the box, I have already flown to one game, have pre-paid my next two and will no doubt get to more. Why, because I love this bloody club is why despite feeling that low yesterday I could have parachuted out of a snake's arse and free falled. Yeah its painful at times but how could any of you imagine yourselves barracking for someone else or boycotting the club is bloodywell beyond me. Go Tiges with or without Wallace!

i hear terry is after jock Mchales coaching record and not a premiership ha ha ha

for every year we have done well in wallaces time(two 9th finishes in 06, 08), he has gone for recycled players (polak, kingsley 06, thomson, hislop 08). which means hes thought we were ahead of where we really are. its what frawley did, which ended up costing us. since wallace has decided that topping up lists with recycled players (aforemention players plus, mcmahon, collard, humm, cuz{though he could be the exception}, cartledge, simmonds{though has been servicable while here}, mark graham, trent knobel, and morton{could be anything}) has cost us at least 12 young players that could have been developed. sure they were brought in to be senior statesmen around a developing side, but essentially most turned out to be bad choices.

cartledge, simmonds and knobel cost us a young ruckman that would be 23-24 now. kniglsey and graham, are a key back and key forward that we missed. and the others are small midfielders/forwards/backs that should have been developed.

a rebuilding team dosnt take 12 recylced players in 4 drafts and say they are building a team from scratch. he has, along with the recruitment team, IMO not performed what he promised. tehrefore should be held responsible and let go this year.

bring in someone who will ACTUALLY develop youth and only get in QUALITY or promising players for draft picks, not borderline players.

If and only if the players are right behind him and play for him!! otherwise youd be ****en joking..:eek::confused: the real put off with wallace is that right in the middle of his tenure you got a spoon..07 to compliment 04..i wonder if Richmond had originally only offered wallace a 3 year contract whether hed still be there today??:eek::confused::thumbsu::thumbsdown::(

if he gets rid of that gameplan or the players get it right, then i'm happy if we give another year. but we must start beating some better sides and the ones we are better than or on par with.

At this point in time, Terry may be the best person to coach us for the next 2 years. He built the list and knows the players back to front. It's up to him to make the right decisions now and drop certain players and bring in certain young players from Coburg. He knows what gameplan works for us eg. last year. I'd rather keep him at least until midseason and see what changes he has made and see how the team are performing once he has the right 22 out on the field

Should have signed a 2yr extension at the end of last year and let the club get on with business, rather than aim for finals with a coach in the last year of his contract, as if the Cousins media attention wasn't enough to deal with.

Wallace was and still is the best coach we are capable of attracting.

LMAO@ all the people baying for Malthouse or Matthews - Wallace is in front of both head to head, with worse sides.

I agree that the added pressure of aiming and making finals for a coach in his last year of a contract is very intense, yet if you listened to Malthouse on SEN on Saturday morning, he basically said, every game there is pressure and you need to be able to stand up and deliver when the pressure is on. Some coaches, simply aren't good enough when the heat is on.

Wallace may have been the best coach available at the time, yet if he is still the best coach Richmond can attract I'd be very worried.

Lastly, it matters little if Wallace is in front of both Matthews and Malthouse on a head-to-head record. Matthews is the greatest coach in the modern era, 4 premierships next to his name and achieved the famous treble and just fell short of the quad. Malthouse is a dual premiership coach and has achieved more finals appearances than Richmond in the last 20+ years. Both are icons of the game.

Whoever started this thread has got to be kidding, right??

Is it an April Fools joke....

Wallace is better than Malthouse and Mathews....

Give him a contract extension.....

WTF!!!!!

Have we all lost the plot.......he should be man enough to get the eff out of the club asap....

He knows he has been finally found out as a sh!t coach and is already plannig to rejoin the media next season, so he should p!ss off or we should show him the door.....NOW!!!!

Give Wallace 2 more years