2nds Gold Coast Reserves: Title Defense 2024

Just tuned in and am pleasantly surprised to see we're up by 44 points in the second quarter! The commentator just said Big Mac has been impressed in the backline and on cue he takes a contested marked in the D50. Have we finally got the key defender depth we so desperately need?!?!

Funny to hear the commentator singing the praises of Broadbeach/PBC and their ability to produce high quality junior. Even went as far as to say Broadbeach is like Queensland's version of the Calder Cannons haha.
Many of the kids he referred to are actually from Burleigh. They only move to Broadbeach /PBC when they turn 17 because Burleigh doesn't have a Colts team.

You love to see it! This likely means Brando is only a week or two away from returning to our senior team and that essentially gets us to full strength minus Flanders. I guess you could argue Budarick is also best 22 right now but Macpherson is playing well enough to keep Buddahs out of the team IMO. I feel like these next 3-4 weeks against St Kilda (Marvel), Fremantle (Norwood), North (Heritage) and Richmond (Marvel) are really important for us to establish ourselves as genuine top 8 contenders by beating the likes of these four teams who are probably going to contend with us for the most part. We want to win at least two of those games.

On topic - Brando is a great inclusion for our VFL team that's already firing. It's always easier to transition back into footy when the teammates around you are playing well. Sandy got belted by Southport to the tune of 86 points just two week ago so I'm expecting us to also do a job on them come Sunday morning.

VFL team not doing much better. No Moyle in the ruck for the seconds is just as bad as no Witts in the ruck for the firsts.

The skills are so poor in this team as well.

The old text book suns style play around with it across the ground before bombing it long and turn it over.
Maybe that’s why they done so much running over the pre season so when they turn the ball over so regularly they can run back to defence

Haven't seen the game but seems Crab is having a game! As is constable and to a lesser extent farrar, Davies, mclaughlin, uwland.

Sorry to intrude - was trying to find a stream of the game but no luck. Fantasy related question. How did Ellis go and did he get through okay on return from injury? Apologies if there’s another thread.

Tuned in for the last quarter and was good to see chol step up when needed. I know we are finding it tough to be positive today but we have a ripper in uwland, love the way he goes for his marks and he is very tough. Chol, uwland, Davies,Ellis, farrar, Graham, constable, sharp, lemmens all giving the selectors something to think about

Very poor first quarter. Credit to players for lifting and coming back.

Chol looked better, competed, nice 2 goals in the final quarter sealing the game.

Uwland - got to like him, is tough, good kick.

Ellis survived half of the game.

Graham had a decent game.

Burgess struggled early in the ruck but then lifted and got better of Campbell which is pretty amazing considering body size.

I liked Sharp too, run into good spots, kept width.

My best
forward - McLaughlin
midfielder - Blakely
defender - Graham

I watched this game

The cupboards pretty bare after a senior drubbing

Mabs is too good for VFL.

Only other AFL performances i saw were Uwland and Sandy Brock.

We might be giving Hawks some competition for The Harley Reid Cup

i reckon?

Its Only been 13 years.

2nds Gold Coast Reserves: Title Defense 2024