Good Friday v Carlton, "Lock it in"

Tim Watson just announced on Talking Footy ( 7mate) that the Good Friday game, will be between us and the WB. I'm disappointed if this is true.
Exactly. We ain't playing this game to raise cash to assist the doped up junkies that frequent the Western General Hospital. :stern look

Tim Watson just announced on Talking Footy ( 7mate) that the Good Friday game, will be between us and the WB. I'm disappointed if this is true.

Eh, I'm disappointed because it's more likely to be taken away from us if the crowds aren't great, but if we get 35k to a Dogs game, that's better than a Sunday twilight game getting 20k, and we also keep our big (40k+) Friday night clash v Carlton later in the season.

Slightly disappointing, but there's positives from it.

I was one of nearly 70,000 people who went to North v. the Dogs in 1998. There are plenty of people who will come given the occasion. It's a falicy these clubs can't draw huge crowds on big occasions.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Me too. That was once, 16 years ago, playing for top spot.

North v Carlton can be an event game. North v Dogs has a big sign on it asking for other clubs to take over.

I don't like to say it because the Dogs are also community-focused (not as good as us in that area), but playing Carlton would be better for us, the RCH, the AFL and the broadcasters. They are unscrupulous pricks but that's part of the point - they tried to own North, so there is rivalry. We are the RCH neighbours, we are the third and fourth oldest clubs in the competition, we had our last GFs together. It's not just that more of their supporters come, but more of ours do and more neutrals do because it matters more. No brainer.

On SEN this morning Tim Watson was spruiking again for NM to play WB on Good Friday. Apparently, based upon
'equalisation', now NM can't play Carlton on Good Friday. We got off our own arses did something with the idea of playing on Good Friday and now the AFL are now likely to interfere and give the game to WB rather than Carlton. Well does that mean that Essendon and Collingwood no longer participates in ANZAC day or Melbourne and Collingwood relinquish the Queens Birthday game. Apart from a game in 1998, there is no build up to playing the WB, f-ck off AFL t-ssers. Why don't St Kilda and WB show some initiative and play a game in NZ on Good Friday or the WB can play as Footscray and have a VFL game at VUT Oval. Well done Peter Gordon, must have got Andy' s personal mobile number on the AFL 'equalisation' trip.

Very odd about the bulldogs getting a sniff in on the good Friday game considering JB declared on the footy show on Thursday night that north and carlton had been having talks on the good Friday game for a long time. Mentioned how it made sense for these 2 clubs to be part of the action due to the fact that both had their bases within the vicinity of the Royal Childrens Hospital.
Not sure where Timmy is getting his info from?

Nothing against Footscray, but not sure Gordon coming in at the 11th hour would/should earn them a Good Friday fixture when Carlton have done then next amount of work we have into getting it over the line.

Suspect Timmy is thinking ask=receive=done deal. Needs to lay off some of the gear inside Uncle Dank's candy bag.

Am I the only one that doesn't mind that the Dogs might get the game over Carlton? I like seeing the battler clubs getting a leg-up on the big clubs. Couldn't give two shits about crowd numbers, TV rights, money, connection to hospital, all that shit. They get shunned to Sunday twilight games just like we do, and deserve some exposure on a big stage. It's good for equalisation, and good for both clubs. I hope they get the game.

Yeah but the second only 30,000 people rock up the Blues will call it a joke and demand to play Richmond on Good Friday and that'll be that.

Am I the only one that doesn't mind that the Dogs might get the game over Carlton? I like seeing the battler clubs getting a leg-up on the big clubs. Couldn't give two shits about crowd numbers, TV rights, money, connection to hospital, all that shit. They get shunned to Sunday twilight games just like we do, and deserve some exposure on a big stage. It's good for equalisation, and good for both clubs. I hope they get the game.
While I appreciate the noble sentiment, I think in this case the more relevant consideration is rewarding those clubs that have lobbied longest and hardest for this over the years. I'd be pretty miffed if I was Carlton who has collaborated with us to keep this idea on the table, year in year out, and to have jointly developed a particular focus and theme (RCH) and to then miss out to the Bulldogs who, like a few other clubs, have said "me too!"

At the end of the day, equalisation will take this game into account if it amounts to 'disequal' exposure etc. and, if anything, we'll suffer for it, and the Dogs gain.

While I appreciate the noble sentiment, I think in this case the more relevant consideration is rewarding those clubs that have lobbied longest and hardest for this over the years. I'd be pretty miffed if I was Carlton who has collaborated with us to keep this idea on the table, year in year out, and to have jointly developed a particular focus and theme (RCH) and to then miss out to the Bulldogs who, like a few other clubs, have said "me too!"

At the end of the day, equalisation will take this game into account if it amounts to 'disequal' exposure etc. and, if anything, we'll suffer for it, and the Dogs gain.
Yes. Can't stand Carlton but they could easily have gone to the Hawks and that would have been North out of it.

The most relevant consideration for me is the sustainability of the event. North v Dogs just wouldn't have it.

It's probably just a shot from the AFL across Carlton's bows.

I thought maybe because they announced it out of turn. Organisations tend to like to control their communication about changes like this.

Of course, the AFL being what they are, it's just as likely they set Carlton up to drip feed the announcement to test the waters without any commitment.

Maybe they are floating it as an equalisation idea to bring Carlton or someone else into line on other measures they would prefer.

I do find it interesting that the Dogs have come up in discussions for the first time, a few days after Carlton leaked the "done deal". I was also interested to hear the story softened somewhat today, I think by Timmay, to be that it would happen and was down to three clubs, when yesterday he was so adamant it was North and the Dogs.

Good Friday v Carlton, "Lock it in"