News Goodbye Shane Mumford

Re: Mumford wants to be a Swan

You don't offer a 4 year contract to a ruckman unless he will be your #1.
Anything worse than what they paid for Seaby (pick 22) is now unnacceptable. The Swans created this situation, it is now our job to exploit it.

If you paint yourself into a corner you do.

Lets say the shoe was on the other foot and Geelong had to give up 17 to get mummy. I'd be livid.

Pick 14 would be daylight robbery at its finest

I reckon the cats would have to give wojo too for that pick

You know, I doubt they even know what Mumford looks like. Maybe we could send Dawson and they wouldn't even realise.

I say we send them Paul Chambers again, they won't remember what he looks like.

If Mummy goes to Sydney (which looks like happening) then I think Geelong need to get North involved and perhaps some sort of three way deal that will see;

Sydney get: Mumford + Wojac + 33 + 41
Sydney lose: pick 6 and/or player + pick 28

Geelong get: Jesse Smith + pick 28
Geelong lose: Mumford + Wojac + pick 33

North get: player and/or pick 6
North lose: Jesse Smith + pick 41

You don't offer a 4 year contract to a ruckman unless he will be your #1.

Anything worse than what they paid for Seaby (pick 22) is now unnacceptable. The Swans created this situation, it is now our job to exploit it.

Correct me if I'm wrong here, but cant we just now let him go to the PSD and pick him up for nothing? I know Richmond and Melbourne have money to spend too, but surley they cant/wont match that offer.

If Mummy goes to Sydney (which looks like happening) then I think Geelong need to get North involved and perhaps some sort of three way deal that will see;

Sydney get: Mumford + Wojac + 33 + 41
Sydney lose: pick 6 and/or player + pick 28

Geelong get: Jesse Smith + pick 28
Geelong lose: Mumford + Wojac + pick 33

North get: player and/or pick 6
North lose: Jesse Smith + pick 41

sorry mate pick 6 never been on the table

looks to be a done deal but not sure what we are getting is what the HS is reporting

BREAKING NEWS: SHANE Mumford has told the Cats he wants to be traded to Sydney after getting a deal of a lifetime from the Swans.

The Swans added an extra year to their earlier offer to Mumford, increasing it to more than $1 million across four years.

Geelong is now haggling with the Swans over what they will get in return for the rookie listed ruckman from Bunyip.

The Cats say that since Mumford will be the Swans No.1 ruckman, they want compensation comensurate to that position.

Sydney coach Paul Roos confirmed this morning that Mumford would sign with the Swans.

"It was really important for us to get another ruckman," Roos said on radio today.

The Swans agreed last night to send ruckman Darren Jolly to the Magpies for two draft picks.

looks to be a done deal but not sure what we are getting is what the HS is reporting

BREAKING NEWS: SHANE Mumford has told the Cats he wants to be traded to Sydney after getting a deal of a lifetime from the Swans.

The Swans added an extra year to their earlier offer to Mumford, increasing it to more than $1 million across four years.

Geelong is now haggling with the Swans over what they will get in return for the rookie listed ruckman from Bunyip.

The Cats say that since Mumford will be the Swans No.1 ruckman, they want compensation comensurate to that position.

Sydney coach Paul Roos confirmed this morning that Mumford would sign with the Swans.

"It was really important for us to get another ruckman," Roos said on radio today.

The Swans agreed last night to send ruckman Darren Jolly to the Magpies for two draft picks.

Try again...Seaby no.1, Mumford no.2. Let the games begin.

How dare we win premierships and then uncover such talent. I sure wish we had a much larger salary cap, draft concessions and then offer absurd amounts of cash to steal great players at other teams. :thumbsu:

you forgot one...

how dare we re-sign Selwood and Ablett over the summer putting a further dent the the Crap Coasts attempts to establish a football team. At least they will have 10mil to blow on no necked rugby players

So you are going to pay >$1mil to a guy that will play second fiddle to MARK SEABY? Have fun with that.

Seaby is on a similar deal in terms of $. To be honest, I can't see why but he's paid to ruck...as no.1 now!

You won't get what you want re 1st round and Mumford will go into the PSD (of which, no other club will be able to meet his financial demand now that deal has been extended).

you are a little inaccurate there mate. Mumford (had he stayed at Geelong) would have been elevated off the rookie list and therefore would have been able to command around $200,000 a year due to his potential. This is why the club had said if he stayed Wojak goes and if he leaves wojak stays. Because the Club would not be able to pay both Wojak & Mumford the salary they deserved.

Now Mumford has gone that does make it easier to keep Wojak, but don't be surprised if he still gets traded. Particularly in deals around Smith or Drum

Yeah, thats true.

But even factoring in Mummys new deal, it doesn't relieve the cap too much. My understanding is that the GEE offer was a little more than half SYD's. So, about 550-600 k over three years. That's a little bit of breathing space, but not too much.

Fact is GEE now have the second most experienced (or oldest) list in the comp. It is also a very decorated list, with 15 AA's, 24 premiership players, 2 Brownlow medalists, 2 Norm Smith medalists, half a dozen Carji Greeves medalists and so on. In other words, it has a lot of players who can ask very good money. A list that will take a lot of money to adequately pay while staying within the cap.

Obviously we are lucky that the players have taken a 20 percent cut across the board to stay together. But we will need to free up more room than just Mumford's 600k over three years, especially with the Ablett and Selwood contracts to come. I think this is why Wojo really has to go, sadly. Unless he wants to play for peanuts.

Seaby is on a similar deal in terms of $. To be honest, I can't see why but he's paid to ruck...as no.1 now!

You won't get what you want re 1st round and Mumford will go into the PSD (of which, no other club will be able to meet his financial demand now that deal has been extended).
So you are looking about about $600k gone per year on an average ruck duo? Seems a bit OTT.

I don't expect a first rounder, I expect a 2nd rounder. That is fair value for a big that we developed into an AFL player from absolutely nowhere near that level.

Well Melbourne were 1 of the clubs that showed interest so i wouldn't underestimate how badly they may want him and i am sure could take him if he goes into the PSD would be a really big risk for Sydney.

Yep, Mummy accepted terms. In reality, why wouldn't he. Cash plus the option of becoming the number one ruck with guaranteed match time. Not going to get that at Geelong whilst we have Otto and Blake.

Good luck to him.

I think that means we maybe able to keep Wojak and pick up Drum. I would like to see JWS play too, but I doubt the Roos will come to an agreement on terms with us.

So you are looking about about $600k gone per year on an average ruck duo? Seems a bit OTT.

I don't expect a first rounder, I expect a 2nd rounder. That is fair value for a big that we developed into an AFL player from absolutely nowhere near that level.

I totally agree with you with regard to salary...way ott. Mumford will develop into a great ruckman once he improves his tapwork, his around the ground play is excellent with a bit of speed for a big man.

I think Sydney and Geelong will play fair at the table.

I totally agree with you with regard to salary...way ott. Mumford will develop into a great ruckman once he improves his tapwork, his around the ground play is excellent with a bit of speed for a big man.

I think Sydney and Geelong will play fair at the table.
No doubt his upside is infinitely better than Seabys.

I'd like to think so too, I think Roos understands that nobody wants to lose a player for nothing, which is why I think it will be your second rounder. I would have been more confident of this is you had been able to get the Pies 2nd rounder in the Jolly deal however.

Yeah, thats true.

But even factoring in Mummys new deal, it doesn't relieve the cap too much. My understanding is that the GEE offer was a little more than half SYD's. So, about 550-600 k over three years. That's a little bit of breathing space, but not too much.

Fact is GEE now have the second most experienced (or oldest) list in the comp. It is also a very decorated list, with 15 AA's, 24 premiership players, 2 Brownlow medalists, 2 Norm Smith medalists, half a dozen Carji Greeves medalists and so on. In other words, it has a lot of players who can ask very good money. A list that will take a lot of money to adequately pay while staying within the cap.

Obviously we are lucky that the players have taken a 20 percent cut across the board to stay together. But we will need to free up more room than just Mumford's 600k over three years, especially with the Ablett and Selwood contracts to come. I think this is why Wojo really has to go, sadly. Unless he wants to play for peanuts.

Maybe I am naive, but I think we will be OK.

As far as I am aware our two highest paid players are Scarlett and Ottens, both of whom are into their last two or three years.

I also imagine Mooney would be on a decent wage and he may only hang around for another year.

Ablett and Selwood are in line for massive payrises but other key players such as Corey, Ling and even Chapman are pushing 30 (or will be next season) so probably only have one more deal to sign for the remainder of their careers.

Just listening to SEN, some guy (forget he's name) came on and was saying apparently the cats are filthy at the swans for stealing mumford like this as they believed he would over take Blake next year and was the replacement for Ottens when he retires. They said after the first offer of 900k for 3 years Bomber and Neil Balme actually talked mummy around but then the swannies added and extra year and that was too good to refuse. Look forward to the 100 point plus destruction of the swans next year :) haha

They're mainly pissed because they gave him a chance on the rookie list as a fat kid without a future in footy. Now he's showing his potential and Sydney are gonna most likely take him off us for virtually nothing.

Personally i'd let him go into the draft and hope Melbourne picks him up.

News Goodbye Shane Mumford