News Goodbye Shane Mumford

Re: Mumford wants to be a Swan

Sorry mate but it looks like we are getting pick 28 from Sydney for Mumford, can't believe it, we are so soft, it's a joke. Why do we still have Blake ?. He has had 3 years to show us something, yet nothing, he still can't kick a ******* footy. I'm over Geelong and their money issues, it's getting so annoying, i hear Wojo is leaving to, well if that's true that's another disgracful decision. I love the cats and all but why are they so dumb????? getting rid of mumford has got to be one of the worst things ever, he is 23 and would easily have been the replacement for Ottens, but now we are stuck with Blake and West for the next decade, absolutly pathetic, what are they gonna do next, trade Ablett to the GC for picks 1,2 and 3.

What did you expect? Seriously. There is a thing called a salary cap - we have All-Australian players coming out of our arses. We cannot offer players what they are going to be offered by other clubs. Deal with it. Blake played a great Grand Final, and was at the helm when our clearance work improved ten-fold and when we played our best football of the year, - in the finals.

But i understand your blind rage - its not as if we have had any success to placate ourselves is it...

blake + djerkurra for 2nd round
with only west/simpson to compete with hopefully he would stay :), but geelong seem to be fine with moving on players when its in the players best interest, or if they request to.

Sounds like we are going to play hard ball with the Swans.

Cats upset with Mumford move
THE Geelong administration is believed to be very upset with Shane Mumford's request for a trade to Sydney.

The Cats, who plucked Mumford from Bunyip and put several years into developing the raw ruckman, are believed to feel let down by his decision to follow the money to Sydney. Mumford played 18 games for the Cats this season while still being officially rookie listed.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/geelongs-shane-mumford-agrees-to-million-dollar-deal/story-e6frf9jf-1225784337156

Sounds like we are going to play hard ball with the Swans.

Cats upset with Mumford move
THE Geelong administration is believed to be very upset with Shane Mumford's request for a trade to Sydney.

The Cats, who plucked Mumford from Bunyip and put several years into developing the raw ruckman, are believed to feel let down by his decision to follow the money to Sydney. Mumford played 18 games for the Cats this season while still being officially rookie listed.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...lion-dollar-deal/story-e6frf9jf-1225784337156

I hope so its about time we make a stand and get some value back in when trading out quality

Sorry mate but it looks like we are getting pick 28 from Sydney for Mumford, can't believe it, we are so soft, it's a joke. Why do we still have Blake ?. He has had 3 years to show us something, yet nothing, he still can't kick a ******* footy. I'm over Geelong and their money issues, it's getting so annoying, i hear Wojo is leaving to, well if that's true that's another disgracful decision. I love the cats and all but why are they so dumb????? getting rid of mumford has got to be one of the worst things ever, he is 23 and would easily have been the replacement for Ottens, but now we are stuck with Blake and West for the next decade, absolutly pathetic, what are they gonna do next, trade Ablett to the GC for picks 1,2 and 3.

You obviously never heard of a Salary Cap. :rolleyes:

Mummy was offered a contact which was around 150k a year. Slightly over 150k considering the report that Sydneys offer was nearly double ours. We could never offer Mumford what Sydney were considering how close we are to our cap. What we tried to offer him was success, which has worked for most players up until now.

We have done an awesome job holding on the players we have considering our brilliance since 2007. I give the Geelong Administration two thumbs up :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Side note this means that odds are we will finally get to see a Mumford vs Blake ruck battle at Afl level. Totally irrelevant to the current topic but something i will look forward to.

I think the club has a right to be pissed off with Mummy. It was Geelong who gave him his break and put time and effort into him. Mumford has done a "Show me da money" move. Good luck to him but good riddance too. Mumford has no loyalty to the club let him go.

Tad harsh.

Hmmm..I have an oppurtunity to earn 300% of my current Salary over 4 years.

Nah, I'll reject that. :rolleyes:
spot on, but hopefully guarenteed game time and a spot on the actual list (not the rookie list) might tempt him to stay at the club where his been for the past 2-3 years.

On a side note who's Mumfords' player manager? As a rookie-listed player, does he even have one? I think player managers come into their own at trade time, getting right into their players' earholes and putting those dollar signs in their eyes even more than normal - after all its their quid as well.

Nah man, come on this goes beyond loyalty. Barring injury, he basically won't get a game with us for a couple of years, and earn less than half of what he is being offered up there. The kid is a rookie - nobody could turn down that deal.

Hmmm..I have an oppurtunity to earn 300% of my current Salary over 4 years.

Nah, I'll reject that. :rolleyes:
From what i read if he had of stayed he would have been promoted from the rookie list and been on 200k a year. So Sydney were offering him 50% more than Geelong were. So Sydney didn't offer him 300% of what he would be getting next year.

Congratulations Shane, you now have an opportunity to go and become a cashed up bogan, that is if you aren't one already.

It's great to see that he values what the Geelong Football Club have done for him. Without them he'd still be 130kg, never tasted a vegie, and running around at Bunyip.

Offer of a lifetime, indeed.

Loyalty. The GFC hierarchy have every right to be pi$$ed off. Even better players at the club are on less. Instead of earning that amount with continued development he's taken the easy way out.

Adios "mummy".

From what i read if he had of stayed he would have been promoted from the rookie list and been on 200k a year. So Sydney were offering him 50% more than Geelong were. So Sydney didn't offer him 300% of what he would be getting next year.

Hence why I said current salary. But we'll just ignore that part of my posts. :D

On a side note who's Mumfords' player manager? As a rookie-listed player, does he even have one? I think player managers come into their own at trade time, getting right into their players' earholes and putting those dollar signs in their eyes even more than normal - after all its their quid as well.

Isn't his manager Mccon the same as Blake and West.:eek:
Just a slight conflict of interest there

Lets hope Maxy shows him what it's like to play against Geelong next year.

Congratulations Shane, you now have an opportunity to go and become a cashed up bogan, that is if you aren't one already.

It's great to see that he values what the Geelong Football Club have done for him. Without them he'd still be 130kg, never tasted a vegie, and running around at Bunyip.

Loyalty. The GFC hierarchy have every right to be pi$$ed off. Even better players at the club are on less. Instead of earning that amount with continued development he's taken the easy way out.

Adios "mummy".

Do you apply the same loyalty test to the GFC, given that they may have to show a two-time premiership player in Wojcinski the door for exactly the same reason, monetary considerations ?

Loyalty is a garbage concept.

Unless Ottens retires or Blake leaves, Mumford is going to be playing mostly VFL for the Cats next year on half what he could get by going to the Swans.

It's not as if he is 17 years old and has all the time in the world to make is $$.

I hope he stays, but good luck to him if he goes.

Completely agree – see link. If he’s more interested in money than playing for us then piss him off.

Adios "mummy".

Mumford owes Geelong nothing.

He was on the Rookie list and getting paid peanuts.

If they thought he was that great, why not elevate him/or give him a 2 year deal at the end of 2008 after he played some games.

Do you apply the same loyalty test to the GFC, given that they may have to show a two-time premiership player in Wojcinski the door for exactly the same reason, monetary considerations ?

Loyalty is a garbage concept.

Unless Ottens retires or Blake leaves, Mumford is going to be playing mostly VFL for the Cats next year on half what he could get by going to the Swans.

It's not as if he is 17 years old and has all the time in the world to make is $$.

I hope he stays, but good luck to him if he goes.

It has been reported this afternoon that Geelong informed Mumford yesterday that they thought he would overtake Blake next year. Lack of opportunity has nothing to do with his decision.

The reason I am upset, and why I imagine the club is upset, is because Mumford is a unique story. He wasn't some cliched footy bogan that came through the TAC Cup. He was an overweight yet talented guy running around in a bush league who by his own admission had never even considered playing AFL. We spend time and money on his development and rewarded him with more than 15 games this year playing in the best side in the country. We had enough faith in him to play him as our sole ruck for a month.

I understand the money is tempting and I won't hold it against him, but I can certainly understand why Bomber, Balmey etc would see it as a slap in a face. As would a few of our players who have much higher profiles than Mumford but are playing at Geelong for well under market rate for two reasons; a) loyalty and b) success.

Adios "mummy".

Exactly - it's what makes the GFC the GFC. The kid's taken the $$$ and run, and will play games of footy. Can't blame him too much. He'll get a kick, maybe kick a goal or two. Take some marks. He'll also get a taste of Sydney life, payin' the taxes and rent, hangin' out with mates. Come September, when he's sittin' in Bali with what's left of the year's dough wondering whether to go the double-scotch and coke or third greased chicken, there will be a TV on somewhere, as the Cats roll in to another finals series. I'm guessing the double-scotch, straight.

It has been reported this afternoon that Geelong informed Mumford yesterday that they thought he would overtake Blake next year. Lack of opportunity has nothing to do with his decision.

The reason I am upset, and why I imagine the club is upset, is because Mumford is a unique story. He wasn't some cliched footy bogan that came through the TAC Cup. He was an overweight yet talented guy running around in a bush league who by his own admission had never even considered playing AFL. We spend time and money on his development and rewarded him with more than 15 games this year playing in the best side in the country. We had enough faith in him to play him as our sole ruck for a month.

I understand the money is tempting and I won't hold it against him, but I can certainly understand why Bomber, Balmey etc would see it as a slap in a face. As would a few of our players who have much higher profiles than Mumford but are playing at Geelong for well under market rate for two reasons; a) loyalty and b) success.

If he is going to get game time ahead of Blake, then barring another Ottens stint on the sidelines, you have to wonder whether it is worth having Blake running around in the VFL on his $$.

While the GFC have given him the opportunity, it is Mumford that had done the work, played well, lost the weight, etc, all the while being paid peanuts on the rookie list.

As I said earlier, loyalty is garbage unless it is a two way street. Wojcinski could easily tell the GFC to jam it for not offering him his true value, by giving others less.

GFC is making very necessary financial decisions at the moment too. Let's not begrudge Mumford his chance to get his share of the $$ on offer. He will be 22 next year.

Loyalty is a peculiar thing in footy. I have no trouble with a majority of players wanting to move, but Mumford is a different case. Take Judd for example: He wanted to move back home to Melbourne. I see no problem with that (although admittedly I didn't particularly like the way he went about it). West Coast took him and he repaid them with about 5 years of brilliant footy.

Mumford now, was handpicked and nurtured by the Cats from an obscure bush league. If not for West Coast, Judd still would have been a brilliant player at another club, and West Coast got plenty in return from Judd as a player. Without Geelong, Mumford would be nowhere. He'd still be powwing down his 85 sausages in Bunyip or wherever it was. So I don't think it's wrong for Geelong to expect some loyalty from him.

I also find it a poor decision on his behalf to move for 300k a year, when he's going to be on 200k a year at the Cats. That is 150k Vs 100k a year after tax. Sydney is a much higher priced lifestyle. That 50k extra a year isn't going to end up near that amount.

And lastly, for those who say the move is about opportunity. Well he was third ruckman this year and played 18 games. There is all evidence to suggest he can overtake Blake as number 2 next year. There is a fair chance Ottens will go down again too.

I honestly can't see him playing under 30 games over the next two seasons. And after that Ottens will probably be gone or close, so if he hasn't already overtaken Blake (which I think will happen next year) then he should definitely be getting named every game from that point on.

As would a few of our players who have much higher profiles than Mumford but are playing at Geelong for well under market rate for two reasons; a) loyalty and b) success.

Much easier to play under market value when you make big dollars to start with. accepting $50,000 less a year is easier to swallow if you make say $500,000/yr then if you were making $100,000/yr.

News Goodbye Shane Mumford