Goulburn Valley FL 2021

Just reading through recent posts and I think some may be forgetting most recently a Kyabram side that surley would have matched it with many of the great sides from past era's and even the best sides other leagues had to offer?

Your talking AFL/VFL quality players and basically suggesting that the GVL is 'unattractive' and 'doesn't compare'?

How do you think Pettifer, Newman, Smith, Mangan, Reeves, Sam Sheldon, Tom Sheldon, ( Assistant Coach Ken Sheldon), Smith, Reeves, Williams, Weardon, Tom and Nick Holman, Morgan, Morris, Sherman go?

The list goes on and on, just some of the names that have represented Kyabram over the last few years.

Just reading through recent posts and I think some may be forgetting most recently a Kyabram side that surley would have matched it with many of the great sides from past era's and even the best sides other leagues had to offer?

Your talking AFL/VFL quality players and basically suggesting that the GVL is 'unattractive' and 'doesn't compare'?

How do you think Pettifer, Newman, Smith, Mangan, Reeves, Sam Sheldon, Tom Sheldon, ( Assistant Coach Ken Sheldon), Smith, Reeves, Williams, Weardon, Tom and Nick Holman, Morgan, Morris, Sherman go?

The list goes on and on, just some of the names that have represented Kyabram over the last few years.
Yep agree. And the best bit about that group is most were local Kyabram juniors or from surrounding district areas. A couple from Echuca, Smith from Benalla and only Sherman as a Melbourne import. I rated Billy Burston from Port Melbourne pretty highly also. They have deservedly been a champion group for a number of years.

Don’t think anyone has doubted Ky’s dominance over the last few years or the quality of players they have had.
The initial topic was regarding bonafide AFL players choosing to play country and GVL after finishing their AFL careers .

I think most just want to see footy back played and are happy to wear that not all sides will be at full strength .

Without melb players for how ever long will make everything a lot more interesting. May make the comp a lot more closer. Unreal that’s it’s back tho!!

I think most just want to see footy back played and are happy to wear that not all sides will be at full strength .
I disagree. Committees put massive hours into fundraising, recruiting etc ... One or two games without Melbourne recruits means a team misses the final six when otherwise they would have qualified?

Like I said Roar the integrity of the competition is based around equity. If the GV changes its regulations about eligibility mid-season ruling out eligible players does it then say to a Nathan Marrone:
'yes you got 4 weeks suspension but Covid has made it about 6 weeks and you still aren't eligible to play as you have not served 4 games suspension based upon pre-Covid circumstances? So now you can play!'

I disagree. Committees put massive hours into fundraising, recruiting etc ... One or two games without Melbourne recruits means a team misses the final six when otherwise they would have qualified?

Like I said Roar the integrity of the competition is based around equity. If the GV changes its regulations about eligibility mid-season ruling out eligible players does it then say to a Nathan Marrone:
'yes you got 4 weeks suspension but Covid has made it about 6 weeks and you still aren't eligible to play as you have not served 4 games suspension based upon pre-Covid circumstances?'
I can see how a Club would be disappointed if they have key players in Melbourne but it's not bigger than a whole Club not playing. Out of all the hard luck Covid Stories related to Footy I don't think Nathan Marrone is one sounds like he could of got 6 anyway.

Fair play mate as plenty on here will disagree with you. I referenced Marrone as a case in point with regards Covid and current regulations and the lack of equity.

Based upon your comment, you have not seen the incident. Google GVTV Vimio and have a look at the incidents. Reckon you might reconsider your aforementioned comments about 6 weeks. You might also think 4 weeks was a tad stiff.

Fair play mate as plenty on here will disagree with you. I referenced Marrone as a case in point with regards Covid and current regulations and the lack of equity.

Based upon your comment, you have not seen the incident. Google GVTV Vimio and have a look at the incidents. Reckon you might reconsider your aforementioned comments about 6 weeks. You might also think 4 weeks was a tad stiff.
I think Post made reference he was lucky not to go on another incident in the same match.

Have a look yourself rather than relying upon heresay. They occur within 30 seconds of each other in the 2nd quarter. You have suggested 6 weeks ... weird given you have not seen either and he was not reported on the day.

What stage of the game is it? I thought he was reported for another incident but escaped suspension.

'yes you got 4 weeks suspension but Covid has made it about 6 weeks and you still aren't eligible to play as you have not served 4 games suspension based upon pre-Covid circumstances? So now you can play!'
Clubs are bigger than the senior side .
If waiting till the perfect scenario the league may not get the season completed and that will be a disaster for all .
Two pre seasons without a premier won’t bode well for the future .
If the premiership comes with an * so be it .
Aside from the footy club , there is a multitude of others within the community that are positively impacted by footy/ netball being played both $$’s and more importantly mentally .
It’s appearing more likely that COVID will be with us for a while and we need to find ways to deal with it as best we can .

Clubs are bigger than the senior side .
If waiting till the perfect scenario the league may not get the season completed and that will be a disaster for all .
Two pre seasons without a premier won’t bode well for the future .
If the premiership comes with an * so be it .
Aside from the footy club , there is a multitude of others within the community that are positively impacted by footy/ netball being played both $$’s and more importantly mentally .
It’s appearing more likely that COVID will be with us for a while and we need to find ways to deal with it as best we can .

If simply playing footy is so important than why not play this round for no points. The integrity of the competition is now completely ruined. A side like like euroa who are a small town would heavily rely on getting guys out of Melbourne to remain competitive in the GV. They have recruited very well and now risk losing a game to Mansfield due to no Melbourne boys and possibly costing them 3rd spot and possibly a chance at a premiership. How is that fair?
How many reserves games will be forfeited this week? Again ruining the legitimacy of that competition. So much time and money is invested in clubs trying to win and compete at this level, this will imo turn a lot of people off putting in all of the voluntary efforts that they do.
Speaking of suspensions, young Tom Burnett from ky copped a terrible 4 week ban on the 15th of May, he misses his 4th match this week. By the time he plays next week he will have not played for 14 weeks, that’s after missing the his first year out of 3rds last year.

If simply playing footy is so important than why not play this round for no points. The integrity of the competition is now completely ruined. A side like like euroa who are a small town would heavily rely on getting guys out of Melbourne to remain competitive in the GV. They have recruited very well and now risk losing a game to Mansfield due to no Melbourne boys and possibly costing them 3rd spot and possibly a chance at a premiership. How is that fair?
How many reserves games will be forfeited this week? Again ruining the legitimacy of that competition. So much time and money is invested in clubs trying to win and compete at this level, this will imo turn a lot of people off putting in all of the voluntary efforts that they do.
Speaking of suspensions, young Tom Burnett from ky copped a terrible 4 week ban on the 15th of May, he misses his 4th match this week. By the time he plays next week he will have not played for 14 weeks, that’s after missing the his first year out of 3rds last year.
Do sides throw in the towel when they have injuries ? It 's an unfortunate shit situation for all , but if you wish to wait until Melbourne blokes are available you might be waiting another 2-3 weeks which further increases your 2nd point about weeks since football and I'd say ends the season.

With that in mind I'd have thought there were two options.

1. Go as soon as possible without Melbourne people.
2. Pull the pin on the season.

And also Josh wild
His 8 weeks will now run into next season
Pending appeal that might not happen due to covid

Do sides throw in the towel when they have injuries ? It 's an unfortunate sh*t situation for all , but if you wish to wait until Melbourne blokes are available you might be waiting another 2-3 weeks which further increases your 2nd point about weeks since football and I'd say ends the season.

With that in mind I'd have thought there were two options.

1. Go as soon as possible without Melbourne people.
2. Pull the pin on the season.

Injuries have been a part of sport for as long as it has existed. Being told that half your team cant play because of where they live has never happened in my memory. Im not 100% sure of the answer and Im not against playing but what I am saying is the legitimacy of the season and results is now completely compromised.
What happens if the Melbourne lockdown continues and we get into finals and reserves sides have to forfeit??

Injuries have been a part of sport for as long as it has existed. Being told that half your team cant play because of where they live has never happened in my memory. Im not 100% sure of the answer and Im not against playing but what I am saying is the legitimacy of the season and results is now completely compromised.
What happens if the Melbourne lockdown continues and we get into finals and reserves sides have to forfeit??
Valid point about injuries but Football hasn't to deal with Covid for as long as it has existed & you need to move with the times. I think we are a reasonable chance of getting these guys back in a fortnight but if not what would be wrong about the local bloke who got to play in a flag because a couple of players from Melbourne couldn't play being part of the Clubs history? There is also glory attached to Winning against the odds. Also important to remember there isn't a Club in the GV without Melbourne based players.

Goulburn Valley FL 2021