Goulburn Valley FL 2021

Injuries have been a part of sport for as long as it has existed. Being told that half your team cant play because of where they live has never happened in my memory. Im not 100% sure of the answer and Im not against playing but what I am saying is the legitimacy of the season and results is now completely compromised.
What happens if the Melbourne lockdown continues and we get into finals and reserves sides have to forfeit??
As I mentioned in previous post I suspect the other option was to pull the pin on the season .

It’s been said above that the Senior Footy Premiership could be tainted or doesn’t mean as much because it wasn’t full strength.

To me there’s two options.

Suck it up and play so that most clubs can have 4 football sides and 5 netball sides back out playing.

Or if it’s too hard for the Elite men of the Comp to play. Abandon the A grade footy.
And play the rest. Most clubs should be able to fill sides, enjoy some sport and let the players that have done the hard work get some reward.

Might be against the grain but getting a little fed up with the talk only about one Competition in a big Comp.

Geez. I know Heathcote Clubs already saying. Hey come play with us next year.
Our league trying to play as often as we can

Hank I have on very good authority, that a former hawk, playing for a beachside resort town, has already changed his license to get around it, interesting times

Would be an absolute disaster for not only country footy, but regional victoria if a club used this loophole and that player bought Covid to the area, with a $5000 fine for the individual involved to boot.

Is Rochy going to find 10 guys in the middle of winter to fill in this week, surely there'd be 10+ senior and reserves guys coming from Melbourne to play in both games. It's going to hit eurora, Seymour, Rochy the hardest, especially when Rochy have no 3rds. Silver maybe required to fill in.

Maybe this week should be a lightening premiership to decide who gets 5th and 6th in all footy and netball, where all sides 5th and below rock up and play shorter games, ready for finals the week after. Although you'd think Melbourne guys are no sure thing the next week

It’s been said above that the Senior Footy Premiership could be tainted or doesn’t mean as much because it wasn’t full strength.

To me there’s two options.

Suck it up and play so that most clubs can have 4 football sides and 5 netball sides back out playing.

Or if it’s too hard for the Elite men of the Comp to play. Abandon the A grade footy.
And play the rest. Most clubs should be able to fill sides, enjoy some sport and let the players that have done the hard work get some reward.

Might be against the grain but getting a little fed up with the talk only about one Competition in a big Comp.

Geez. I know Heathcote Clubs already saying. Hey come play with us next year.
Our league trying to play as often as we can

Is Rochy going to find 10 guys in the middle of winter to fill in this week, surely there'd be 10+ senior and reserves guys coming from Melbourne to play in both games. It's going to hit eurora, Seymour, Rochy the hardest, especially when Rochy have no 3rds. Silver maybe required to fill in.

Maybe this week should be a lightening premiership to decide who gets 5th and 6th in all footy and netball, where all sides 5th and below rock up and play shorter games, ready for finals the week after. Although you'd think Melbourne guys are no sure thing the next week

With the news this morning that lockdown in Melbourne COULD be extended for at least an additional week, at what point is the competition too compromised to continue? Its fair to say there is Netball, reserves and Under 18's that don't have this issue BUT the senior football competition does. If spectators cannot attend ask the rest of the club if they want to continue? Half the fun is playing in front of people and discussing who played well, what needs to improve and how well the team played. A a community its about seeing people in a social situation as a group following their town/ players and the thankless task of being committee members getting it done at home games. IMO spectators are required to be at games for the season to continue.
Is there any discussion about shutting it down, as it appears everyone is hell bent on completing a season?
If the lockdown for Melbourne was extended I think the senior GVFL competition is done. Trying to get finals and a premier out of a highly compromised competition, and maybe with limited spectators(or none at all) is not worth the challenge IMO.

With the news this morning that lockdown in Melbourne COULD be extended for at least an additional week, at what point is the competition too compromised to continue? Its fair to say there is Netball, reserves and Under 18's that don't have this issue BUT the senior football competition does. If spectators cannot attend ask the rest of the club if they want to continue? Half the fun is playing in front of people and discussing who played well, what needs to improve and how well the team played. A a community its about seeing people in a social situation as a group following their town/ players and the thankless task of being committee members getting it done at home games. IMO spectators are required to be at games for the season to continue.
Is there any discussion about shutting it down, as it appears everyone is hell bent on completing a season?
If the lockdown for Melbourne was extended I think the senior GVFL competition is done. Trying to get finals and a premier out of a highly compromised competition, and maybe with limited spectators(or none at all) is not worth the challenge IMO.

I agree with you mate, this one week of no Melbourne players has already compromised the competition IMO, if it goes any longer than the rest of the season is really just glorified practice matches. Ive heard a lot of people mention that its not just about seniors and I completely agree, but this isn't only affecting the senior sides. The reserves and thirds numbers are being decimated trying to fill the senior teams. If anyone is going to be forfeited it will be the reserves game so they are arguably the most affected. Im not completely sold on the argument that everybody just wants to play either, I have spoken to a lot of different mates from the Gv and surrounding leagues and the vast majority of them are completely over the season and couldn't care less about the remainder of it. Its a sad state of affairs but the stopping and starting and the uncertainty of everything that lays ahead has drained the motivation of a lot of players, coaches and officials. No crowds and no numbers will only strain this motivation more on those same people.
Covid has really done a number on footy and I have fears that it will impact numbers across the sport in the years to come.

Great post! the yo-yo affect on players and officials is significant. Going into 'Lockdown' is difficult enough but I actually find coming out of it a challenge as well. Not sure how others feel? Even writing this is now 'hard work'. Unfortunately, we can't even become excited about 2022 as there doesn't appear to be any real progress being made. Football without crowds is like 'dancing with your sister'. Not sure how others see it but tbh, I've lost interest in the AFL as well.

I agree with you mate, this one week of no Melbourne players has already compromised the competition IMO, if it goes any longer than the rest of the season is really just glorified practice matches. Ive heard a lot of people mention that its not just about seniors and I completely agree, but this isn't only affecting the senior sides. The reserves and thirds numbers are being decimated trying to fill the senior teams. If anyone is going to be forfeited it will be the reserves game so they are arguably the most affected. Im not completely sold on the argument that everybody just wants to play either, I have spoken to a lot of different mates from the Gv and surrounding leagues and the vast majority of them are completely over the season and couldn't care less about the remainder of it. Its a sad state of affairs but the stopping and starting and the uncertainty of everything that lays ahead has drained the motivation of a lot of players, coaches and officials. No crowds and no numbers will only strain this motivation more on those same people.
Covid has really done a number on footy and I have fears that it will impact numbers across the sport in the years to come.
Great post
It affects all grades
Not only teams in trying to play finals
But the ones with a decent chance of premiership success this year
Next year might be too late

Yep country footy can't have crowds but Eddie still thinks he can get a crowd at the g. He has no idea about the fabric of AFL through all levels, all he has on is his AFL Collingwood/fox footy glasses on. The AFL should be doing more to help get regional crowds and get grass roots healthy again, ship off the AFL to wa, Sa and Tassie and focus on getting crowds to local footy. He wants to bring it forward a week and ruin country footy grand finals

Great post! the yo-yo affect on players and officials is significant. Going into 'Lockdown' is difficult enough but I actually find coming out of it a challenge as well. Not sure how others feel? Even writing this is now 'hard work'. Unfortunately, we can't even become excited about 2022 as there doesn't appear to be any real progress being made. Football without crowds is like 'dancing with your sister'. Not sure how others see it but tbh, I've lost interest in the AFL as well.

Yep country footy can't have crowds but Eddie still thinks he can get a crowd at the g. He has no idea about the fabric of AFL through all levels, all he has on is his AFL Collingwood/fox footy glasses on. The AFL should be doing more to help get regional crowds and get grass roots healthy again, ship off the AFL to wa, Sa and Tassie and focus on getting crowds to local footy. He wants to bring it forward a week and ruin country footy grand finals
If I was a Collingwood supporter I’d want this season over ASAP and there ain’t many bigger Collingwood supporters than Eddie .

I think it might depend on where leagues are at with their season which I’ve mentioned before . Getting sides up who have no hope of making finals for 2-3 last games is going to be a very tough gig . Likewise for those playing finals the start of finals looks a lot further away than it should . It’ll be a grind for a couple of weeks but hopefully things improve with crowds and Melbourne based players are back in next 1-2 weeks .
Canning the season would be diabolical for clubs going forward . Two pre seasons , a year of no footy, another with 8-10 games and no premierships would be hard to come back from .

So based upon sides released today can we see how many senior players are missing from specific sides due to the Melbourne Covid embargo? Numerous sides not listed as of this moment but Rochy appear to be missing Jordan and Lachie Harper, Logan Austin and Chris Jansen.

Echuca, Euroa, Seymour and Mansfield also hit hard? Ringo would know more, but I’m guessing Echuca have at least 7-8 senior players living in Melbourne?

Hey Silver,

May just need to compare lists to last time they played.....

Open 2 separate pages of Sporting Pulse?

It's a tough situation for all across every country league.

Some would be hit even harder than ours. Violet Town for example has 24 listed players that are metro based across both Seniors & Magoos.

Slightly off point but, isn't it bizarre that NSW based sides can have crowds!

Complete and utter shit show!

Gee thats a tough kick to the guts for Rochy. Top 4 players just about. I will try gather some information out of the Seymour huddle but I'm sure they'll have a fair few changes like Echuca & Ky.

Hey Silver,

May just need to compare lists to last time they played.....

Open 2 separate pages of Sporting Pulse?

It's a tough situation for all across every country league.

Some would be hit even harder than ours. Violet Town for example has 24 listed players that are metro based across both Seniors & Magoos.

Slightly off point but, isn't it bizarre that NSW based sides can have crowds!

Complete and utter sh*t show!
Rushworth forfeited both senior and reserves claiming to only have 7 to choose from for both sides.

Gee thats a tough kick to the guts for Rochy. Top 4 players just about. I will try gather some information out of the Seymour huddle but I'm sure they'll have a fair few changes like Echuca & Ky.

Ky will be missing Morgan, keogh, smith, Coulstock, pettifer, crowe, pertzel and a couple out of the twos on top of Mattingley, Mangan, childs and the twos coach who all out injured for the season. Surely they are going to struggle to field two sides.

Goulburn Valley FL 2021