Goulburn Valley FL U/18's - Part 2

unusual to see the euroa v seymour game scrapped at half time due to the weather. ran out to half time and couldnt see half way across the oval with the rain. but lightning was so bad that the game was called off.
half time scores was something like 4 goals to 8 seymours way. pretty physical game. for the conditions pretty good footy. would have been an interesting second half.!!

Went to the United Vs Bears game and the Bears were very poor, I don't know a lot about how many bottom ages they have, but they looked small, with young inexperienced ruckmen.

The Demons to my eye are an average to a reasonable team, and have a fair bit to go to be anywhere near as good as last years team. The opposition last night didn't provide much challenge, so the Ky's, Swans and Echuca will see where they're at.

The Bears lacked a lot of discipline, with too much backchat, and giving away 50m after 50 m penalty. The skill levels were also well short of a good GVFL team standard. They also look too small but it's up to the management to pull it all together and hope fully they can improve and string a few games together, otherwise it may be a long season and a test of character.

Well, well well, what is the excuse from this very ordinary football side this week? Cant mark, run or kick, no system at all, too many players scared of a contest. Apart from AJ Crawford the rest struggle big time. So who were the good players that went unrecognised this week??????

"how useless you think the Bears side is." you said it, not me!!!!!!!!!!

To be honest, none of the Bears boys went unrecognised. The team put in a pathetic effort on the weekend and Crawf is probably the only bloke that goes onto that field week in week out and plays a consistant 4 quarters for a game. However you can surely understand that it's extremely tough being a team with only 3 top age players in the side at the moment. There's still 21 blokes on the field each week still learning about u/18's GVFL footy, 3 games into a season is barely enough time to start judging a team.

the bears acted as if they where far better than they actually where with all the backchat and toughtalk from a few of there players...also..cal thompson must be the most annoyin footballer in the league..he should just concentrate on gettin the footy..in saying that..they do have a good players..but there most of them are young, will be a good side next year

Reckon that Crawford,Sullivan,Turner,Watt,Syer and Gibson are all top age and dont know Shepard at all so that is a minimum of 6 top age players not 3 as you suggest. (understand that Watt did not play on weekend).

Does anyone know when the squads for the inter league game against the O & M will be announced? The game is four weeks away and no one seems to know whats going on. Would have thought if the league is taking these games seriously as they should, squads and team training would be on the go

To GVFL Club Officials and Under/18 Coaches,

This Years rivalry match sponsored by the WorkSafe VCFL will be held at Deakin Reserve, Shepparton on Sunday 24th May 2009.

The match will be between the Ovens & Murray Football League and the Goulburn Valley Football league.

The Goulburn Valley League versus Ovens & Murray League under 18 match will commence at 12 Noon with the Senior game getting under way at 2.00pm. Training runs for the Under 18 squad have been scheduled for Sunday May 3rd, Wednesday May 6th, Wednesday May 13th and Wednesday May 20th Dinner & Jumper Presentation.

The venues for the training runs will be advised early next week. Meanwhile, team manager Trevor Pollard, coach Mario De Santa Ana and their assistants, following this weekend’s football are requesting clubs to nominate under 18 players to form an initial training squad:

Can clubs please nominate players by Tuesday 28th April under the following criteria:
The top six clubs after round 3 to each nominate 5 players
The bottom 6 clubs after round 3 to each nominate 3 players

Please give your under 18 players every chance to represent the GVFL against our keen rivals the Ovens & Murray Football League.

Yours Faithfully
Keith Wellman
GVFL General Manager

To GVFL Club Officials and Under/18 Coaches,

This Years rivalry match sponsored by the WorkSafe VCFL will be held at Deakin Reserve, Shepparton on Sunday 24th May 2009.

The match will be between the Ovens & Murray Football League and the Goulburn Valley Football league.

The Goulburn Valley League versus Ovens & Murray League under 18 match will commence at 12 Noon with the Senior game getting under way at 2.00pm. Training runs for the Under 18 squad have been scheduled for Sunday May 3rd, Wednesday May 6th, Wednesday May 13th and Wednesday May 20th Dinner & Jumper Presentation.

The venues for the training runs will be advised early next week. Meanwhile, team manager Trevor Pollard, coach Mario De Santa Ana and their assistants, following this weekend’s football are requesting clubs to nominate under 18 players to form an initial training squad:

Can clubs please nominate players by Tuesday 28th April under the following criteria:
The top six clubs after round 3 to each nominate 5 players
The bottom 6 clubs after round 3 to each nominate 3 players

Please give your under 18 players every chance to represent the GVFL against our keen rivals the Ovens & Murray Football League.

Yours Faithfully
Keith Wellman
GVFL General Manager

Thanks Mercedes 230 for your prompt reply - much appreciated.

the bears acted as if they where far better than they actually where with all the backchat and toughtalk from a few of there players...also..cal thompson must be the most annoyin footballer in the league..he should just concentrate on gettin the footy..in saying that..they do have a good players..but there most of them are young, will be a good side next year
ohhhhhhhhh mate, you're not wrong...
can't play, but can chirp, thats for sure

Reckon that Crawford,Sullivan,Turner,Watt,Syer and Gibson are all top age and dont know Shepard at all so that is a minimum of 6 top age players not 3 as you suggest. (understand that Watt did not play on weekend).

Sullivan and Gibson are top age and in the team at the moment.
Syer is possibly out with injury.
Watt is out with injury.
Turner isn't top age.
i'm not sure about shepard.
And crawf isn't perminetly in our side due to being in the bushies squad.

Considering this there is only 3 maybe 4 players able to play at the moment.

just wonderin who ppl think will get nominated for interleague from all the clubs who will make the final team
im not sure about other teams but from seymour i think dundon, ure, deed and that little tank in there midfeild. from euroa will be from elliot, varley, gleeson, bell,ivill or morrison. but only allowed 3 players not sue mate. any other clubs?????? who from tat or rochy or mansfield?

im not sure about other teams but from seymour i think dundon, ure, deed and that little tank in there midfeild. From euroa will be from elliot, varley, gleeson, bell,ivill or morrison. But only allowed 3 players not sue mate. Any other clubs?????? Who from tat or rochy or mansfield?

id say you are talking about matt smith. He is a class act, but only being first year he may struggle.

Seymour also have martin, who plays down back and wheeler who could all cut in the squad.

Sullivan and Gibson are top age and in the team at the moment.
Syer is possibly out with injury.
Watt is out with injury.
Turner isn't top age.
i'm not sure about shepard.
And crawf isn't perminetly in our side due to being in the bushies squad.

yeah Turner still has next year to play and Shepard is top age this year
does anyone know what boys from the shepp teams might be playing interleague?

Crawford only. No one else is worthy. However their Coach is the League Assistant Coach so he will push their chances. They can only put up three names however the other two should get the chop first training run!!

do you have something with AJ cos that is all you talk about on hear how good AJ is we no his good

[SIZE=+0]The following players have been selected in the [/SIZE][SIZE=+0]u18 interleague training Squad from which a final squad will be picked to represent the GVFL against the O&M on Sunday May 24th.[/SIZE]
The first training run will be held this SUNDAY 3RD OF MAY AT TATURA AT 10AM.

PlayerClubAdrian CrawfordShepp BearsTaylor YoungShepp BearsTom CosgriffShepp BearsNick DundinSeymourMarcus UreSeymourDavid MartinSeymourLiam ShawUnitedJordan TrevaskisUnitedMatt DuffyUnitedLewis O'SullivanUnitedCallum TowersUnitedCallan FirthBenallaBrook MartinBenallaJosh MellingtonBenallaShaun StevensonMooroopnaNathan BoweMooroopnaDaniel DrydenMooroopnaTom PreeceShepp SwansNathan ReidShepp SwansNathan BarolliShepp SwansJack ThrefalShepp SwansLiam SabriShepp SwansMichael MageeShepp SwansLiam OgdenKyabramAdam LovisonKyabramAndrew CiaverallaKyabramJack YoungKyabramBrad VickKyabramStuart QuinnMansfieldNoah JohnstoneMansfieldBrant Anselmi MansfieldAxel ChildsEchucaBart PhillipsEchucaAyden WaltonEchucaMatthew CostelloEchucaSam McNeillEchucaSam DriscollRochesterScott OakleyRochesterTim LetcherRochesterSam FrawleyRochesterJames Gledhill RochesterDaniel FlynnTaturaDillon JohnstoneTaturaCorey MallonTaturaBrad GleesonEuroaMarcus VarleyEuroaJames IvillEuroa

Crawford only. No one else is worthy. However their Coach is the League Assistant Coach so he will push their chances. They can only put up three names however the other two should get the chop first training run!!

Very low ethics by this poster, stating that the Bears coach will push their chances despite the relative talents of all the players concerned.

Everyone knows that Jason knows footy inside and out and has a history of leadership and ethical behavior. (That's why he got the job, or hadn't you considered that?)

To make that allegations like that, shows you are nothing but a poisionous poster who likes to have a crack at kids and now adults from the Bears.

You are a joke mate, time to leave, you're making this place look ugly.

Very low ethics by this poster, stating that the Bears coach will push their chances despite the relative talents of all the players concerned.

Everyone knows that Jason knows footy inside and out and has a history of leadership and ethical behavior. (That's why he got the job, or hadn't you considered that?)

To make that allegations like that, shows you are nothing but a poisionous poster who likes to have a crack at kids and now adults from the Bears.

You are a joke mate, time to leave, you're making this place look ugly.

Your neighbour has obviously got it in for the Bears.

Dont mind general comment but some comments on both the bigfooty GVFL
blogs have been a little ordinary to say the least. No wonder there is a lack of comment lately on the sites

Well who wants to comment when all the talk is about the worst team in the league! (aka shep bears)