Preview Grand Final Preview: Collingwood vs West Coast [DaVe86 Ultimate Preview #512]

May 27, 2008
Wherever I May Roam
Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.th...est-coast-live-the-dream-20180922-p505d1.html

Grand final preview: Collingwood and West Coast live the dream

By Jon Pierik
22 September 2018 — 6:57pm

In numbers

Well, well, who would have thought this? Having finished 13th last season and survived a major club review, with coach Nathan Buckley barely hanging on to his job, Collingwood had been expected to rebound – but not to the extent they are eying their 16th premiership. This has been stunning.

Where players had conceded they were a defensive mess last season, the Pies have emerged with not only a more-than-capable back six but have adopted Richmond’s blueprint and mastered the pressure game, riding this into the grand final. Scott Pendlebury and Steele Sidebottom had wondered whether they would ever get back to the final Saturday of September but, seven years after their last appearance, they are living the dream.

So, too, are the West Coast Eagles, fresh from enjoying two home finals, the second a thumping victory over Melbourne. The Eagles had been expected to take a step back this season, the culmination of a four-year run under Adam Simpson, featuring the losing grand final of 2015, prompting a rethink and concession the playing list needed tinkering with. Eight players were handed a debut. Perhaps they should have that thought every season, for this side – even without the suspended Andrew Gaff – finished second and is primed to deliver the club’s fourth flag.

HISTORY LESSON

This will be the first time the two clubs have met in a grand final, having clashed seven times previously through September, including a fortnight ago when the Eagles won for the second time this season. On that evening, they prevailed by 16 points in a qualifying final in Perth, having enjoyed a 35-point win at the MCG in round 17.

In the qualifying final, the Pies had led by 10 points at the final change, ensuring they head into this rematch with confidence.

That they held the deep Eagles’ forward line to a modest 12 goals was also a positive. Where Josh Kennedy and Jack Darling had combined for six goals in round 17, they were held to a more manageable four come September.

Steele Sidebottom, the player of the finals to date, Tom Phillips and Taylor Adams found plenty of the ball in Perth, while Adam Treloar is far different proposition now than then, for he had just returned from serious hamstring injuries to each leg. Jordan De Goey had four goals in round 17 (the Pies had only three goal kickers) but managed only two in the final. Cox was goalless.

X-FACTOR

For Collingwood, it surely has to be Mason Cox, the true American Pie.

He was goalless and held to only five disposals by the Eagles a fortnight ago, and failed to have much of an impact against Greater Western Sydney a week later, with 11 touches while again being goalless, sparking debate as to whether he should retain his spot.

He was a match winner against the Tigers on Friday night with three goals and a career-high 11 marks, eight of which were contested. It did not matter whether Alex Rance or David Astbury were on him, his leading and sticky hands were almost unstoppable.

The defenders had been told to play him from in front but that was easier said than done. The Pies will need him to hit the scoreboard against the Eagles, easing the focus on De Goey.

If Kennedy and Darling do deliver, the Eagles will still need more avenues to goal. Veteran half-forward Mark LeCras, in perhaps his last game, can be that man. He was influential through the middle against the Demons, has more than 30 goals for the season, and is reliable either from a set shot or when opportunity arises.

TACTICS

As Tigers coach Damien Hardwick said, the Magpies are playing momentum footy, and that can be almost impossible to stop at this time of the year.

What they have shown is an ability to adjust. Having too often handballed and struggled to deal with the Tigers’ pressure through the home-and-away campaign, they opted to kick more on Friday night. And the results were telling. They ran in waves, tackled ferociously, had Brodie Grundy dominate in the ruck and help to win clearances and were able to create a ‘‘channel’’ for Cox to lead into.

With a one-two punch in Cox and De Goey, the Pies were able to kick long, deep balls inside attacking 50, knowing there would at least be a contest.

Expect that style to be on show against the Eagles. They also made Rance accountable, and will look to do the same with Eagles’ intercept king Jeremy McGovern.

The Eagles will look to give Darling and Kennedy space while, as a team, replicating the pressure exerted on the Demons. They may be the worst ground-ball team in the league but they destroyed the Demons in this area. Tagger Mark Hutchings could get the job on Sidebottom.

PREDICTION

Tough call. Can the Eagles handle the pressure better than they did against the Hawks in 2015? Twelve players from that side took on the Demons. The Magpies have the belief, a game plan that stands up and match winners.

Collingwood by 11 points

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/grand-final-preview-collingwood-and-west-coast-live-the-dream-20180922-p505d1.html

If we win it won’t be close.

If they win, it will be.

But I’d be shocked if they win. Much like losing to Richmond twice, we get to learn from those losses and apply it when it matters.

The fact that in both cases it took abnormal circumstances to get over us, it bodes well.

We've got so many "stories" in this game
  • Tyson Goldsack knee injury thought his career was over in March now into a Grand Final
  • Chris Mayne after copping a barrage of crap (and the club too) plays his heart out all year to earn and keep his spot
  • Brody Mihocek as a mature age out of the VFL
  • Jordan De Goey with his career at the crossroads pre-season kicks 45 goals and is arguably one of the best impact players in the league
  • Mason Cox the big American most thought would never make it and has one of the best performances of his life
  • Josh Thomas was one who's career was just about done, 2 year drug ban driving an Uber in GC, kicks 30 odd goals and an important part of our forward line
  • Levi Greenwood for digging deep and forcing his way back into the side in the twilight of his career
  • Travis Varcoe for everything he and his family have been through over the past month
  • Adam Treloar who most thought season over back in June
  • Jaidyn Stephenson (a little different here).. a 19 year old NAB rising star winner with 30+ goals having played all 26 games for the season

And don't forget Nathan Buckley who was on the brink of being sacked 12 months ago.

It'll be a super effort if we can lift the cup on Saturday.

We've got so many "stories" in this game
  • Tyson Goldsack knee injury thought his career was over in March now into a Grand Final
  • Chris Mayne after copping a barrage of crap (and the club too) plays his heart out all year to earn and keep his spot
  • Brody Mihocek as a mature age out of the VFL
  • Jordan De Goey with his career at the crossroads pre-season kicks 45 goals and is arguably one of the best impact players in the league
  • Mason Cox the big American most thought would never make it and has one of the best performances of his life
  • Josh Thomas was one who's career was just about done, 2 year drug ban driving an Uber in GC, kicks 30 odd goals and an important part of our forward line
  • Levi Greenwood for digging deep and forcing his way back into the side in the twilight of his career
  • Travis Varcoe for everything he and his family have been through over the past month
  • Adam Treloar who most thought season over back in June
  • Jaidyn Stephenson (a little different here).. a 19 year old NAB rising star winner with 30+ goals having played all 26 games for the season

And don't forget Nathan Buckley who was on the brink of being sacked 12 months ago.

It'll be a super effort if we can lift the cup on Saturday.

Add to Jaidyn the heart condition that had him overlooked.

I'm looking to offload a gorilla on a multi-bet for the weekend.

Brodie is paying good money for the Brownlow, and we look in good shape to go all the way.

$20 sounds like a reasonable loss to take on the hip pocket on the Brownlow, but maybe take the Pies at 1-39 points as well? I was thinking a third variable too, but that might be a bet on who wins the Norm Smith?

I have never bet before, so perhaps someone who is well seasoned in the art, could help me out.

Cheers!

Phillips said he was rapt Buckley was finally getting some success as a coach.

“Bucks is such a great clubman. He’s a champion of the game. And you know what, now he’s becoming a champion coach. So we’re so happy for him, he’s so happy for us, and we’re all in together. The players and the coaches are one. The staff, the whole club. You see how everyone embraces and gets around each other. It’s a great time to be at the Collingwood football club.”
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/phillips-says-pies-want-grand-final-s-fight-20180923-p505iz.html

However Treloar wanted neutrals to become a part of the black and white army, if only for a week.
“I hope so. I think being a fellow Victorian, whenever Victorian teams played when I was a youngster, I always went for them. I hope so. It wouldn’t really matter, because I know the 80, 90, 100,000 fans that we’ve got is enough,” Treloar said.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...a-to-get-behind-the-pies-20180923-p505i8.html

Mark Maclure played alongside renowned finals performer Wayne ‘‘The Dominator’’’ Johnston and the great Bruce Doull in a treble of Carlton flags. But he has not seen a better finals player than Steele Sidebottom.

‘‘I think he’s as good as anyone I’ve seen going around,’’ said Maclure of Sidebottom’s finals prowess.
Sidebottom’s September places him in the company of past finals greats such as Luke Hodge, Johnston, Robert DiPierdomenico, Brent Crosswell and Kevin Bartlett; this is not to say that he’s close to the equal of Bartlett, an official AFL Legend, or Hodge, who is destined one day to join KB in AFL-sanctioned legendhood.
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/steele-resolve-the-september-specialist-20180922-p505fw.html

Good preview. Glad we are playing you guys as you’ve been the team I’ve respected most this year. Your backs have held up super well without a proper KDP, you have so many 190cm types that just do the job in the air and on the ground really impressively. I reckon it’s a genuine coin flip who wins but if I had to guess it’s probably you guys. The unearned home ground advantage is a big factor even if we beat you at the G last time. That aside I reckon the difference will be no gaff, sidebottom will have a field day and our equivalent won’t be around to match your run.

COLLINGWOOD ruckman Brodie Grundy has revealed how Travis Varcoe sent a stirring pre-game message to his teammates that helped inspire the Magpies to reach their first Grand Final in seven years.

Varcoe’s ability to play an important role for his team throughout the finals series, despite grieving the loss of his sister Maggie, has been one of the many driving forces for the Magpies in the finals.

His sister, 27, died in late August, after suffering a head injury in a football match in Adelaide, but he has been a contributor in the club’s three finals.

“(Travis) got around the group before the game, and sent us all a bit of a message,” Grundy told the Sunday Herald Sun after the Magpies’ 39-point preliminary final win over Richmond.

“He just said that, despite what happens, he is just so proud of the group and thankful for the support he has had.

“He has been incredible. He is a quiet sort of fellow and when he speaks, you take that on board.
“He said he was just super proud of the group, and said he has the belief that if we play our way … (we can achieve).”

An emotional Taylor Adams told K-Rock that Varcoe’s influence in the face of the adversity was immeasurable.

“It’s been a huge six weeks for him,” Adams said.

“It speaks volumes of a bloke to be able to get through that tough time and give so much of himself to us boys. We’re really appreciative of that.”

“We got around him as much as possible and it came back in spades. The way that he played over the last month … it’s enormous.”

Varcoe will play his 205th game in his fourth Grand Final next week, chasing his third premiership medal, which will mean more so given what his family has endured over the past month.

“He’s a two-time premiership player and I said to him earlier in the year, ‘if you come to another club and win a third premiership, then you go down as one of the best indigenous players ever’,” Adams said.

“He’s been huge since coming to the club. He’s been really underrated.”
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...l/news-story/9d42c51cbf481ce23a4886e5a4d6a7e0

I'm happy thinking we just win

by

8 goals :)

If we win it won’t be close.

If they win, it will be.

But I’d be shocked if they win. Much like losing to Richmond twice, we get to learn from those losses and apply it when it matters.

The fact that in both cases it took abnormal circumstances to get over us, it bodes well.

I was pretty confident until that Melbourne game, clearly WCE are peaking at the right time of year as well. It could go down as one of the best GF's in the last few years, although my heart really hopes we just belt them out of the park.

I think, much like against Richmond, if we can exploit their midfield we'll be fine. Bring anything like the pressure, intensity and ball use that we did on Friday and the Eagles have absolutely no chance, I don't care how many Kennedy's they want to stack their forward line with.

I was pretty confident until that Melbourne game, clearly WCE are peaking at the right time of year as well. It could go down as one of the best GF's in the last few years, although my heart really hopes we just belt them out of the park.

I think, much like against Richmond, if we can exploit their midfield we'll be fine. Bring anything like the pressure, intensity and ball use that we did on Friday and the Eagles have absolutely no chance, I don't care how many Kennedy's they want to stack their forward line with.
Look the effort of the Melbourne players was absolutely pathetic - as a team they should all hang their heads in pure shame. Can't take any form lines from that game because at no stage did the Dees even approach being competitive.

If we bring what we brought against the Tigers the Westies are gone - and from their replies in the main board their supporters know it - even if they won't admit it.

Peaking at the right time?

They lost to melbourne, beat Brisbane, struggled to get over us and then beat a garbage Melbourne.

Not to mention, Eagle’s Optus form is incredibly deceptive. They’re a different side over there.

In the heat of a Collingwood filled MCG kitchen, it’ll be a different story.

If Collingwood win it will be close..If Eagles win it will be a belting. Eagles are battle hardened and primed. We have a fwd line that scores no matter if we lose the midfield battle. We also have a well oiled defence who intercept almost everything. Good luck Pies. You wont flog us like you did a Dusty less(Injured) Richmond who lack a centre half fwd. Hence them recruiting Tom Lynch.

And you won't get an armchair ride like those weak sooks from Melbourne gave you either.

We too are battle hardened and primed and good luck too you too.

If Collingwood win it will be close..If Eagles win it will be a belting. Eagles are battle hardened and primed

Totally explains the massive 16 point (goal after the siren) win over at Optus a few weeks back.

Peaking at the right time?

They lost to melbourne, beat Brisbane, struggled to get over us and then beat a garbage Melbourne.

Not to mention, Eagle’s Optus form is incredibly deceptive. They’re a different side over there.

In the heat of a Collingwood filled MCG kitchen, it’ll be a different story.

Going 2-0 in finals I'd say is peaking at the right time. But hope you're right - FWIW we have a track record of losing every 50/50 game I'm confident of winning dating back to sometime in 2014, so it's probably a good thing I'm a bit hesitant.

Look the effort of the Melbourne players was absolutely pathetic - as a team they should all hang their heads in pure shame. Can't take any form lines from that game because at no stage did the Dees even approach being competitive.

If we bring what we brought against the Tigers the Westies are gone - and from their replies in the main board their supporters know it - even if they won't admit it.

Agree completely on the second point, as I said if we play like we did against the Tiger's they'll have no chance. Just have to actually go out there and do it first...

Going 2-0 in finals I'd say is peaking at the right time. But hope you're right - FWIW we have a track record of losing every 50/50 game I'm confident of winning dating back to sometime in 2014, so it's probably a good thing I'm a bit hesitant.

The beauty of losing your first final and then making the GF against that same opponent, is that you get to learn from the loss rather than thinking you’re better than you are.

We’d know.

If only it were so simple Saintly. I’m hopeful rather than confident.

Watched too many grand finals since the mid 70’s to understand the pain of the huge emotional investment this time of year.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Amen to that.

May as well see the best hope for the best...
And the boys come through....

Remembering 1990 my first sensation at the win was relief.
Relief all the heartache was over.

Totally explains the massive 16 point (goal after the siren) win over at Optus a few weeks back.

How many times did JK not clunk those marking attempts. Imagine if he did.. hmm food for thought..Hes blown the cobwebs out now.

Just remember we used to be just JK, JD and Lecras..Now we have Cripps, Rioli, Ryan and Venables to add to the firepower.

De Goey will need to kick a big bag for Pies to win this. Cox wont do the same to us.

How many times did JK not clunk those marking attempts. Imagine if he did.. hmm food for thought..Hes blown the cobwebs out now.

So have Treloar, Howe and Goldsack.

Just saying.

If we play like we did against Richmond, we will not be beaten. It's a big if though