Preview Grand Final Preview: Collingwood vs West Coast [DaVe86 Ultimate Preview #512]

I absolutely LOVE the “We’re 12-0 when Kennedy and Darling play” narrative and how people cling to it.

I love it as much as “GWS are 7-0 when Green plays” and who could forget such films as “Richmond have won 22 In a row at the G”?

All classic.

i cant concentrate on anything. all i can think about is footy. and i really cant tell what way this match will go, im picturing so many scenarios. does anyone else feel like they will lose their marbles by the time the match finally starts?
so far nature documentaries about bears is the only thing that helps.
I’m a nervous wreck already...

I absolutely LOVE the “We’re 12-0 when Kennedy and Darling play” narrative and how people cling to it.

I love it as much as “GWS are 7-0 when Green plays” and who could forget such films as “Richmond have won 22
In a row at the G”?

All classic.
My favourite was Wallace spouting on SEN that we hadn’t beaten the Tigers in a final in 81 years.

Tigers have got to make the finals in the first place if we want to beat them. They’ve played what like maybe 5 or 6 finals series’ in 30 years?

My only fear for this week is I hope the players haven't played their Gf already against Richmond.

If we play with that same intensity we did against Richmond, we simply win.

However that can be tough to do 2 weeks running.

CARN PIES.

Good preview. Glad we are playing you guys as you’ve been the team I’ve respected most this year. Your backs have held up super well without a proper KDP, you have so many 190cm types that just do the job in the air and on the ground really impressively. I reckon it’s a genuine coin flip who wins but if I had to guess it’s probably you guys. The unearned home ground advantage is a big factor even if we beat you at the G last time. That aside I reckon the difference will be no gaff, sidebottom will have a field day and our equivalent won’t be around to match your run.

Pulling out the excuses already? You boys have had a great season and why would you not think you can go all the way?
Have been to some home eagles games and have no respect for your supporters but a lot for your footy team. Gaff or no Gaff, will be a cracker of a game (very over rated by the way and shouldn’t be mentioned alongside Sidebottom).
Hope to hear you lot boooing and making excuses for the next 12 months, Pies by 4 goals.

How many times did JK not clunk those marking attempts. Imagine if he did.. hmm food for thought..Hes blown the cobwebs out now.

Just remember we used to be just JK, JD and Lecras..Now we have Cripps, Rioli, Ryan and Venables to add to the firepower.

De Goey will need to kick a big bag for Pies to win this. Cox wont do the same to us.
Maybe we just call the game off.

:D

Congrats on making the GF.

Grundy was my MOTM, Cox looked amazing doing what he did an he tore us a newy but Grundy got your game going early. He allowed your midfield to attack from the start and it set the momentum. He's my tip for the Norm Smith.

Congrats on making the GF.

Grundy was my MOTM, Cox looked amazing doing what he did an he tore us a newy but Grundy got your game going early. He allowed your midfield to attack from the start and it set the momentum. He's my tip for the Norm Smith.
No love for Sidebottom?

I wanted us to try trade for him 2 years ago when half your base had jumped off him as inconstent. Best both sides midfielder in the game. Still he had 35 uncontested possessions and as brilliant as they were alot of that stems from your side winning the ball and him being able to move into dangerous positions. He was the incredible cream on the Grundy cake.

The reason he has so much uncontested footy is his elite running.

You are right that he is the best duel sided mid in the AFL.

I love Grundy but it was very close for bog in the prelim.

I have starting calling Grundy, Sidey and Pendles the holy trilogy. Not that you may care...

Not so long ago
I can still remember how
The pies used to make us smile
You had Eddie ever ready to do his dance
And all it was
Was just a fake romance
And they never had even Buckley's chance
No they never had even Buckley's chance

So it'll be
Bye, bye to the American Pie
Kicked a few against the Tigers
But the Tigers were dry
The Eagle boys won't be so kind
You got McGovern in front of you
And Barass behind
There'll be no chance of taking the footy this time
No chance of taking the footy this time

So Bye bye O American Pie
You ain't seen Ryan
Flyin so high
No Shephard or Nic
Will be needed this time
We even had to leave Gaff behind
Yes we had to leave Gaff behind

Bye bye American Pie

You got Shuey and Yeo
Out running Trelor
JK and Darling ruling the skies
And Willie standing nearby
Singin' this'll be the day that I die
If the Eagles don't beat the Pies
If the Eagles dont beat the Pies...

Not so long ago
I can still remember how
And all it was
Was just a fake romance

So it'll be
But the Tigers were dry
And Barass behind

You ain't seen Ryan
Flyin so high
No Shephard or Nic
Will be needed this time

Bye bye American Pie

You got Shuey and Yeo
Out running Trelor
Pretty good effort. Prob best for our banter thread.

the Pies have emerged with not only a more-than-capable back six but have adopted Richmond’s blueprint and mastered the pressure game, riding this into the grand final.
It's not a bad preview by Pierik but he has to be another know-nothing to suggest that. Honestly, that theory is so easy to disprove it isn't even funny. The two game styles are as different as chalk and cheese with the possible exception of pressure which has been the hallmark of Collingwood for years. Have a look at the stats on Footywire here and in particular the stats for disposals, clearances, kick to handball ratio, disposals per score, bounces and a few others and it is absolutely clear that there are massive differences in the two teams game styles. Pierik has to be one of the sheep journos who look to MvAvaney for insight! :rolleyes:

Not so long ago
I can still remember how
And all it was
Was just a fake romance

So it'll be
But the Tigers were dry
And Barass behind

You ain't seen Ryan
Flyin so high
No Shephard or Nic
Will be needed this time

Bye bye American Pie

You got Shuey and Yeo
Out running Trelor
dba.gif

If West Coast were playing Richmond in the GF this weekend they would get run over and smashed. Forget their 47 point win in Perth back in May. The favour would be well and truly returned by the Tigers.
It will be no different against us on Saturday.
In their win over us at the G in July, we were without Treloar, Goldsack, Cox and Aish. In the first final we had these players and even after conceding the first 3 goals, led on the scoreboard for 60% of the game and should’ve put them away. In any event, they prevailed in a very close game and after kicking 7 goals to 3/4 time, they kicked 5 in a poor last quarter by us.
This Saturday, Treloar and Goldsack have 3 games of footy under their belts, we are playing on our patch, with our supporters screaming at 10 decibels louder than theirs at Optus and we’ve just demolished the best team in the last two seasons. A rusty Howe in the first final cancels out their rusty Kennedy. Both players are back in form and one cancels out the other.
We win easily in the dry with our relentless, suffocating pressure and run or win by more if it’s slippery with no marking and all ground ball. Out of Richmond, Dees or Eagles in the GF, give me Eagles any day. Eagles supporters will most likely say the same about us but that’s because they look at the two wins and dismiss the circumstances.
Pies by 44. Sweet 16.

I've witnessed so many Grand Final heartaches that I am already preparing myself for another.
This year though is a bit different.
As much as losing the big one will disappoint the joy of beating those arrogant Richmond flogs is so sweet that I will cope.
Nothing can describe how much pleasure Friday nights game gave me.
No matter what happens on the weekend it is happy days for me.

I've witnessed so many Grand Final heartaches that I am already preparing myself for another.
This year though is a bit different.
As much as losing the big one will disappoint the joy of beating those arrogant Richmond flogs is so sweet that I will cope.
Nothing can describe how much pleasure Friday nights game gave me.
No matter what happens on the weekend it is happy days for me.

Lol I actually said th same thing after Friday night. I was content. I had witnessed us smash Richmond in a final. After finishing 13th last year, Friday night was fine by me.