Grant Thomas - Hall has no Case to Answer for.

Seems that most people are viewing Thompson's push on Hall as an isolated incident.
The fact is that Thompson was into him before the game started. Even the most reasonable player would crack after putting up with that for an hour.
That's what J. Brown was complaining about...

So, you Norf boys, your standing in a pub, someone comes up and starts hassling you the same way.
No doubt you'd just cop it, without giving any back - right?

Don't give me any of that "but this was on the ground " stuff. Leigh Matthews was charged under Civil law for belting Bruns, after all.

Have you guys noticed it's pretty much Norf vs the World on this issue?

Anyway the real reason Barry Hall lost his shit, was because as per his past, when he can't get a kick he reverts to becoming a thug. The niggling was just an excuse for him to go troppo. If he had kicked 5 goals and was playing well all he would have done was get up and remonstrate with Thompson, but because he was getting pantsed he decided to do what he knows best and that is resort to violence.

Haha.

Hall had dropped 4 or 5 simple marks under little or no pressure, marks he would normally take. These marks were dropped not because Thompson is a good defender, but only due to the fact that Hall was having an off day, but hey don't let the facts get in the way of your 'pantsing' story.

Daniel Jackson doesn't make as good a story as Hall. This serriously is becoming a fairytale of epic proportions. He was kneed and mugged by 3 guys, comon Rocket surely you don't even believe the dribble you have been sooking about for the last few days?

Facts.....

Barry Hall was bumped while doing up his shoelace. After receiving the bump he proceeded to put Scott Thompson in a headlock , at which time two other North players stepped in to try and get Hall off Thompson. No kneeing, no mugging, but the facts don't support the fairytale.

Anyway the real reason Barry Hall lost his shit, was because as per his past, when he can't get a kick he reverts to becoming a thug. The niggling was just an excuse for him to go troppo. If he had kicked 5 goals and was playing well all he would have done was get up and remonstrate with Thompson, but because he was getting pantsed he decided to do what he knows best and that is resort to violence.

But in AFL fairyland we all think that a small bump is worse than putting a guy in a sleeper hold:rolleyes:

FFS people Hall is a ticking time bomb with a past of extreme violence, not some poor innocent victim.

If Hall gets away scott free, I hope the next player to get niggled decks a bloke and takes the tribunal to task. Because letting a player get away with going troppo because he was niggled is setting a dangerous precedent.

Youve been watching too much WWE........gutless act by the roos

EDIT....

EDIT...

FFS people Hall is a ticking time bomb with a past of extreme violence, not some poor innocent victim.

You are right, Barry is, and always has been a ticking time bomb! I'm pretty sure Barry is going to cop it even worse the closer we get to finals now that his tiny personality crack has again been exposed.

But it is ok for your coach to come out during the week pre game and question the unity of our football club??? How's the view from your glass house???

Long Bow champ!

The difference is that he never accused anyone, unlike Rocket who accused us of taking cheap shots. He made a comment on his personal experience, very different circumstances.

Even more laughable when it was pointed out that two of your players received cuts from a head clash, not from an opposition "cheap shot" as he liked to call it.

Ok, i don't think he should get suspended either.

If Thompson had gone to sleep it may have been a different issue though!

Even then the precedent is with Sumich and Danny Southern.

Have you guys noticed it's pretty much Norf vs the World on this issue?

Yes , but its been North vs the World since we started and to be honest we want it that way , we couldnt give a f*** if you hate us , do it ... but dont think we will lose sleep at night because it wont happen

You are right, Barry is, and always has been a ticking time bomb! I'm pretty sure Barry is going to cop it even worse the closer we get to finals now that his tiny personality crack has again been exposed.

As they say let the fun begin! I find it hard to believe that Scott Thompson is the only defender in the AFL that will be niggle Barry from now on.

Haha.

Hall had dropped 4 or 5 simple marks under little or no pressure, marks he would normally take. These marks were dropped not because Thompson is a good defender, but only due to the fact that Hall was having an off day, but hey don't let the facts get in the way of your 'pantsing' story.

Good to see you were so impressed by his performance to half time:thumbsu:

Not sure of the exact stat, but I would say if he had more than 3 touches that would be kind to him. But hey that's no pantsing is it?

And you just proved my point. Barry was having a shit day so he resorts to what he knows best "thuggery".

thompson did nothing wrong, hall is an idiot and should get 4 weeks minimum

Hall did nothing wrong, he'd had enough of the cheap shots and let Thompson know, why should Thompson be aloud to continually take cheap shots, no-one puts up with it, it's just that Hall is better at letting him know it was not on.

Hall should recieve a fine for the headlock at most but because of the stupid changes at the AFL sooking about intentional head contact he will probably get weeks :thumbsdown:

The whole situation has been blown wildly out of proportion in my opinion, a bit of on field banter led to a scuffle, thats it, i've seen far worse and it saddens me that AFL has become so soft. Yeah Thompson is an annoying prick and he knows he runs the risk of being decked, and would probably deserve it even though he "operates within the rules".

Truth is the umpires messed up and should of paid a free to Hall, it would of nipped the issue in the bud before it could escalate to where it did.

On another count, I find the comment: "What would you do if someone came up behind you in a bar and continually nudged you". Regardless of what someone would do its the football field not out on the street. Thats like saying to a boxer "You should have your opponent charged with assault because he punched you in the face, you would if someone did it in a bar."

In Short: Huge overeaction, both players could of acted with higher "integrity" so to speak and most importantly the Umpiring fraternity is a shambles and need to stop the preferential treatment.

Hall did nothing wrong, he'd had enough of the cheap shots and let Thompson know, why should Thompson be aloud to continually take cheap shots, no-one puts up with it, it's just that Hall is better at letting him know it was not on.

I agree, it would be ridiculous if Hall gets suspended for that incident.

Defenders can't constantly niggle and annoy opposition players like Thompson does and expect there to be no retaliation. He was lucky Hall just put him in a headlock and didn't knock him into next week, like he did with Staker.

Long Bow champ!

The difference is that he never accused anyone, unlike Rocket who accused us of taking cheap shots. He made a comment on his personal experience, very different circumstances.

Even more laughable when it was pointed out that two of your players received cuts from a head clash, not from an opposition "cheap shot" as he liked to call it.

Actually mate he accused Aker of causing disharmony within the playing group. Our players were obviously offended by it and duly smacked your asses. I guess Scotty got it wrong eh???

I'll back Rocket in too...After all he has the best view in the house and has blokes beside him who are constantly watching behind the play. It is obvious that your coach tried to take a 'this means war' mentality into this game given how piss weak Norf were against Coll and St.K...It backfired badly and from what I've read and listened to on this issue I would say that 80% of the football community are saying that what Norf did on the weekend was not in the spirit of the game.

No doubt you guys will come out all fire and brimstone when we meet you later in the year and the result will be worse.

There is a lesson in this for all you North twats. If Brad Scott, Scott Thompson and the NMFC wish to start fight with bullies then they had better be prepared to back it up or face the consequences. Rocket, Baz and the WBFC took up the fight and won with ridiculous ease and came out of it all with class and dignity. Game Over bitches...

Difference would be precedence. In the past headlocks have gotten fines where as head butts (as soft as the Jackson one was) have been given weeks.

Also the fact that Thompson was elbowing Hall all game and knocking him overwhile he is doing up his boot.

Getting in someone's face != a game worth of elbows to the back

I d hate to see Hall be suspended because the umpires failed to pull Thompson up on it. Fine them both and then say that what happened was unacceptable and will not be allowed in the future (and actually stop players that do it).

Hall should recieve a fine for the headlock at most but because of the stupid changes at the AFL sooking about intentional head contact he will probably get weeks :thumbsdown:

The whole situation has been blown wildly out of proportion in my opinion, a bit of on field banter led to a scuffle, thats it, i've seen far worse and it saddens me that AFL has become so soft. Yeah Thompson is an annoying prick and he knows he runs the risk of being decked, and would probably deserve it even though he "operates within the rules".

Truth is the umpires messed up and should of paid a free to Hall, it would of nipped the issue in the bud before it could escalate to where it did.

On another count, I find the comment: "What would you do if someone came up behind you in a bar and continually nudged you". Regardless of what someone would do its the football field not out on the street. Thats like saying to a boxer "You should have your opponent charged with assault because he punched you in the face, you would if someone did it in a bar."

In Short: Huge overeaction, both players could of acted with higher "integrity" so to speak and most importantly the Umpiring fraternity is a shambles and need to stop the preferential treatment.

No argument from me on this.

Luke Darcy: " If you provoke someone with anger issues you are taking your life into your own hands'. Maybe on dark Melbourne street corner not on an AFL footbal field!!!

This is why Barry Hall will struggle in the AFL, he has anger issues, not aggression issues. The AFL rules do not allow blokes like Hall to play AFL football and that is the way the AFL wants it. What other current AFL players have anger issues and walk the finest of lines like Hall?

There was only one player playing within the rules and that is Thompson, this is possibly and indictment on the AFL because Thompson is legally allowed to do what he did and that is why he did it!

Intimidation by the pluggers and Halls of days gone by are gone because they would (and will) be suspended every return game. The rules now protect the nigglers and the ball players......it is fairly clinical and the AFL has done this so that Mums will let their boys play football rather than soccer, basketball, etc.

How long do you reckon plugger would last in todays game with a Thompson playing on him?

It's all blown out of proportion and footy aint what it used to be!!

Grant Thomas will back Hall every time because he knows no better and does't like the AFL.

If the three umpires at the Essendon game were controlling the Bulldogs vs Roos game instead, there would have been plenty of 50 frees given which would have stopped all the sniping by the Roos. Does sound funny tho' "Roos Sniping"

Bingo.

Thompson was doing what Thompson does most games. In the recent Hawks game, he was doing his usual push and shove, and anytime Franklin pushed back, Thompson would thrash his head back violently, like he'd been hit by a car! He's just an annoying bloke, and his whole style of play is based on making his opponent lose it, lose concentration, and put him off his game.

But it seems to be tolerated, and if its mostly niggling, then so be it.

Now, Hall DID snap. But he didn't snap by jumping to his feet and striking Thompson. He was quite cunning actually. Just as Thompson had given it to him all game using quasi-legal measures, so did Hall. He put him in a headlock, which is only really punishable by fine. It wasn't a sleeper hold, which someone alledged earlier. It was a simple headlock, and it was extremely effective.

There really should be no case to answer...albeit a fine for Hall. And I think both sides should take that.

North shouldn't be acting indignant, when they went out of their way to stalk him as he left the field...again, hoping for the "big snap" that would put him out of the game for the rest of the match, or nullify his influence.

I agree, it would be ridiculous if Hall gets suspended for that incident.

Defenders can't constantly niggle and annoy opposition players like Thompson does and expect there to be no retaliation. He was lucky Hall just put him in a headlock and didn't knock him into next week, like he did with Staker.

And Staker deserved it, too, right?

Look, it's not what happens to you, it's how you deal with it. Scott Thompson does this in every single game he plays, and a few times the opposition have reacted in a way that has got them reported. But most just put up with it and try to win the game.

Barry Hall should call Thomson as a defence witness.
He should be asked what was he trying to achieve.
Answer is to get under Bazza's skin and make him snap.
Congulations on a job well done now shut up and take it like a man or stop behaving like a prat.

Bazza to get off.

The only case Hall has to answer is the wrestling charge. Pity some of the North 'hardmen' couldnt put their head over the ball and stop their team being smashed. Instead of trying to be wannabe tough guys.

Grant Thomas - Hall has no Case to Answer for.