News Grigg requests trade to Richmond

ARE YOU SERIOUS? Thursfield more value than Grigg? Lets get Houli for pick 46 and trade Thursfield to West Coast for a 3rd rounder and perhaps the verbal contract that they will leave Grigg alone.

dont under estimate thursfields worth,good defenders are at a premium & there are a few clubs that are in need.
freo,westcoast,hawks,carlton,sydney & 2nd round runs to pick 45 !

thursfield will get us a 2nd rounder so no need to trade him for either houli or grigg.

i would love to go into the draft with 6.27.30.36 and thursty's 20-35 pick
5 picks under 40 ........................fantastic

Not this year mate.. Use it in 2012... Bumper crop in that draft undiluted as well or potentially used to trade a top-up player as we push for finals.. Much better than 27 which is closer to 33 in a regular draft

And now on the Herald Sun website they reckon the Blues want a 2nd round pick and/or player swap from us for Grigg.

Pretty sure both the Bombers and Essendon are having some pretty good shit. Only problem is we only have the one number 2 PSD pick we can use on two possibles.

....Trade a player to West Coast for pick 1 in the PSD and tell both Carlton and Essendon to go to a pub and buy each other a consolation drink? :D

You made me actually laugh out loud, brilliant :thumbsu:

Or we could trade someone to WC for their pick 1 at the psd, and **** both those teams over :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::D:D:D

Grigg will do more in your midfield than Cousins did, and for a longer time.

thanks for that. Even better that we get him for free in the PSD.

And now on the Herald Sun website they reckon the Blues want a 2nd round pick and/or player swap from us for Grigg.

Pretty sure both the Bombers and Essendon are having some pretty good shit. Only problem is we only have the one number 2 PSD pick we can use on two possibles.

....Trade a player to West Coast for pick 1 in the PSD and tell both Carlton and Essendon to go to a pub and buy each other a consolation drink? :D

i thought they were the same team?

what makes you believe grigg is worth more than pick 40 in this draft.

what has he achieved so far, 1st round pick in the system for 4-5 years that has bad awareness & bad kicking also 1 sided

out of contract & your own club doesnt value his services to give him an increase & also rates an injury prone slow ex-melb player ahead of him

late 3rd or 4th round pick

So much agro to people who post on others' boards isn't there? :D

Look, let's agree to disagree. I simply make the point that I've watched a lot of footy over a long period and I've never watched this much of a player and then been wrong later. He is a natural ball winner, is a nice size, competent ball user, good hands, is not hard at it but not timid, good runner between lines, link player. Would play 1s at any club in AFL next year and will do so for years to come.

That's my opinion. What makes me think it? Well I've watched him play a truckload of VFL games in his early days and I always watch him closely as I believe he has talent. I honestly believe you guys should be excited about picking him up and I personally wouldn't risk losing him by trying to ridiculously under pay for him in trade terms if I was at the Tigers.

You disagree, as do many on here apparently. Cool. I'll be back some time next year and ask you what you think then. In the meantime, good luck. I like the Tiges, don't share the vitriol between the clubs that many do and I hope you do well.

Cheers.

I'd like to get Grigg in the PSD for nothing. Carlton had no problems aquiring Nick Stevens this way so what's good for the goose and all that.
And if we must get Houli then he can come at a small cost via a direct trade.

You're recreating history. Stevens ended up in the pre-season draft because the Pies and Port stuffed around with it until the last minute when it all fell through. The Blues had nothing to do with it. Stevens was then available because the Bulldogs had already committed to Rawlings. So we picked him. Wasn't a contrived outcome at all.

Carlton doesn't have a history of applying ridiculous trades. We gave up 3, 20 and Josh Kennedy (who was a pick 4) for Judd and a late pick in return. For some time many thought West Coast got the better of the deal although as it turns out Masten is struggling and Notte has turned out to be a headcase while our late pick we got in return seems to be turning into a competent BP (Armfield). We may be in front now but who knows where Kennedy and Masten will end up. We gave up pick 11 for Brock McLean for God's sake. And we gave up pick 24 plus other later picks for Robbie Warnock.

All these players wanted out of their clubs and two of them (Judd and Warnock) had nominated the Blues as their preferred destinations. I think the Blues are unfairly maligned for their trading practices in recent years and I think the evidence is in that they generally don't try and 'bend over' other clubs.

Grigg would be a good fit for you guys. Been a slow developer, very light early on and struggled with injury but is suited to a more attacking role in the center which he has had limited oppertunity with Carlton.

I'm dissapointed to lose him but he wants to go. Probably didn't like to do tings the hard way and earn his spot as we left him in the 2nds for the first half of the season for what ever reason. Probably to work on things such as disposal and other aspects of the game. Was good when he got settled before getting injured just before finals.

I'm not sure what you guys will get for him. If he goes into the PSD I would imagine WCE would snap him up as he's a good fit for them too.

What do you recon you will give us for Grigg?

Grigg would be a good fit for you guys. Been a slow developer, very light early on and struggled with injury but is suited to a more attacking role in the center which he has had limited oppertunity with Carlton.

I'm dissapointed to lose him but he wants to go. Probably didn't like to do tings the hard way and earn his spot as we left him in the 2nds for the first half of the season for what ever reason. Probably to work on things such as disposal and other aspects of the game. Was good when he got settled before getting injured just before finals.

I'm not sure what you guys will get for him. If he goes into the PSD I would imagine WCE would snap him up as he's a good fit for them too.

What do you recon you will give us for Grigg?

Third rounder has been offered, and also a player swap (Thursfield ?) has been mentioned. Not including pick.

Carlton has said that they don't want a pick, but a player

Alex McDonald said that Richmond and Carlton are dealing very well with each other and a deal will be done within the next 24-48 hours...

This tells me that a player is agreed on, and this player will go through medicals at Carlton...

A very reliable poster on our board said that we are looking into Collins or Morton... but I personally wouldn't rule out Thursfield

Alex McDonald said that Richmond and Carlton are dealing very well with each other and a deal will be done within the next 24-48 hours...

This tells me that a player is agreed on, and this player will go through medicals at Carlton...

A very reliable poster on our board said that we are looking into Collins or Morton... but I personally wouldn't rule out Thursfield

With what we are building with the midfield, Morton and Collins wouldn't make sense. You need a defensive KP, Will fits the need more for you guys.

The issue I see with Thursfield is that he will not be an answer to our problem... We have Jamo, Bower and Thronton... all three are undersized... was dropped because there was no point of him playing with 3 undersized defenders... then we have 2 more kpp defenders in the magoos who are also undersized... adding Thursfield would be a waste for us, and I have a feeling the team sees it the same way...

Please don't shoot me down, but I want to ask about your players... im not saying they will be traded... but Alex Rance... what kind of player... is he essential to Richmond... do you think he could possibly be offered?

The issue I see with Thursfield is that he will not be an answer to our problem... We have Jamo, Bower and Thronton... all three are undersized... was dropped because there was no point of him playing with 3 undersized defenders... then we have 2 more kpp defenders in the magoos who are also undersized... adding Thursfield would be a waste for us, and I have a feeling the team sees it the same way...

Please don't shoot me down, but I want to ask about your players... im not saying they will be traded... but Alex Rance... what kind of player... is he essential to Richmond... do you think he could possibly be offered?

Depending on what you read or believe, but Rance's name has been mentioned. So it is plausible that he could be discussed. Very hard at it. Divided opinions on the board with him. Some question his kicking ability and decision making, but he's very young, so it's nothing that couldn't be addressed. Personally, i'd rather Will go before Rance.

Would give you Rance for Grigg if it meant the Morton and Collins rumours were not true.

Rance is an average footballer imo. He is KP size but is a poor mark and poor spoil. Aka he cannot play FB or CHB but he doesn't have the skills or decision making to play HBF or BP. So in short he is a limited player who imo only has decent value at the moment due to his draft value. Very hard at it though.

I have it on more than 'good authority' that neither Morton nor Collins will be involved in a deal for Grigg. Yes, I understand that a lot of people come here talking a lot of crap. So if I am taken seriously is up to individual posters.

Honestly guys, why would we trade Morton who clearly has re established himself as a winger as per Hardwick's request and Collins who is another young player being developed?

Carlton supporters are getting desperate and are coming to the realization that they may lose him for nothing in the PSD

I'm sure you are looking into Andy and Mitch, but there's ZERO hope that you'll get them. Which, incidentaly, I know you guys will realise.