Guy Richards

Finally some sense. I work in Haematology Research and I can tell you that Simmonds is nowhere near out of the woods. He will have been on warfarin for 6 months from the time of the clot (when did it happen again?). Then depending on blood results as to whether there is a factor in his blood which contributed to this, he could be on warfarin for the rest of his life. Now if this was to happen, he would almost certainly have to retire - playing footy would be too great a risk for an internal bleed. Even if he stops the warfarin after 6 months he will be way behind with his fitness for next season....

It's a strange condition to get, unless he had a risk factor like a fracture or long plane flight etc. Thought they usually only take warfarin for 3 to 6 months for the first time. Those genetic conditions are pretty rare, and he'd know by now if he had one I'd guess. He should be fine. :)

Haematology Research: Is that a centre to look after a burst heamorroids? :D

Need a bit of a check up H...

Ps. Ironic, l gave you a ring only 2 hours ago, but no one home.

Don't know much about haemorroids but I can have a look anyway;) Now on the dark side mate, recruiting guinea pigs for trial drugs for big unethical drug companies - more slings than a Hong Kong jockey.

It's a strange condition to get, unless he had a risk factor like a fracture or long plane flight etc. Thought they usually only take warfarin for 3 to 6 months for the first time. Those genetic conditions are pretty rare, and he'd know by now if he had one I'd guess. He should be fine. :)

Like most of your posts on this board, you have very little idea on what you are talking about.

The incidence of DVT and pulmonary embolism in the community is 1.9 per 1000 annually, and of these 48% are spontaneous, i.e. no preceding risk factor. Up to 37% have an underlying pro-thrombotic state, and screening for these is limited as anticoagulation interferes with some of the tests, so a complete screen can only be performed when Warfarin has ceased. Some (particularly the most common, Factor V Leidin deficiency) can be done easily but postive tests do not necessarily mean a requirement for life long anticoagulation. The need for warfarin depends on the overall risk, severity of the original event, risk of recurrence and the presence of an unreversible risk factor. Requiring warfarin is an absolute contra-indication for playing AFL football. The minimum period of treatment with warfarin for pulmonary embolism is 6 months. There is an unacceptably high risk of recurrent embolism if treatment is only for 3 months.

Basically (on statistics) there is a better than 65% chance Troy Simmonds will be able to stop warfarin in February. Assuming the pulmonary embolism is a complication of his fractured ankle, which is most likely, the likelihood is even higher.

All of which means that there are no guarantees he will be an effective player in 2008. If the Tigers make the decision to pick up Richards, who appears the only mature ruckman available, this will mean bad news regarding Simmonds' playing future. If they pass on Richards, then they must be confident about Simmonds making a full return to health, albeit with a limited pre-season.

RECORDS! is correct. Usually the first attack of pulmonary embolism is treated for 6 months unless the patient is found to have the following:

Factor V Leiden mutation causing resistance to activated protein C is the most common risk factor. Factor V Leiden mutation is present in up to 5% of the normal population and is the most common cause of familial thromboembolism.
Primary or acquired deficiencies in protein C, protein S, and antithrombin III are other risk factors. The deficiency of these natural anticoagulants is responsible for 10% of venous thrombosis in younger people

If Simmonds had any of the above, one hopes he would have been told and placed on long term warfarin therapy. That also means retirement. The fact he hasn't retired either means he doesn't have any of the above (most likely) or hasn't been tested (I hope that is not the case!).

He had the attack in August, so that means he can stop the warfarin and commence full contact training in February. He can still run, swim and do weights (to a point) to keep fit.

Like most of your posts on this board, you have very little idea on what you are talking about.

The incidence of DVT and pulmonary embolism in the community is 1.9 per 1000 annually, and of these 48% are spontaneous, i.e. no preceding risk factor. Up to 37% have an underlying pro-thrombotic state, and screening for these is limited as anticoagulation interferes with some of the tests, so a complete screen can only be performed when Warfarin has ceased. Some (particularly the most common, Factor V Leidin deficiency) can be done easily but postive tests do not necessarily mean a requirement for life long anticoagulation. The need for warfarin depends on the overall risk, severity of the original event, risk of recurrence and the presence of an unreversible risk factor. Requiring warfarin is an absolute contra-indication for playing AFL football. The minimum period of treatment with warfarin for pulmonary embolism is 6 months. There is an unacceptably high risk of recurrent embolism if treatment is only for 3 months.

Basically (on statistics) there is a better than 65% chance Troy Simmonds will be able to stop warfarin in February. Assuming the pulmonary embolism is a complication of his fractured ankle, which is most likely, the likelihood is even higher.

All of which means that there are no guarantees he will be an effective player in 2008. If the Tigers make the decision to pick up Richards, who appears the only mature ruckman available, this will mean bad news regarding Simmonds' playing future. If they pass on Richards, then they must be confident about Simmonds making a full return to health, albeit with a limited pre-season.

lol. Sounds like a cut and paste job on information you don't really understand. I can tell you the practise is 3 to 6 months, depending on the circumstance. I can also tell you that genetic risk factors are very infrequent, and only a few of them require lifelong warfarn, and they are not always looked for. Let me know if I can educate you further. :)

RECORDS! is correct. Usually the first attack of pulmonary embolism is treated for 6 months unless the patient is found to have the following:

Factor V Leiden mutation causing resistance to activated protein C is the most common risk factor. Factor V Leiden mutation is present in up to 5% of the normal population and is the most common cause of familial thromboembolism.
Primary or acquired deficiencies in protein C, protein S, and antithrombin III are other risk factors. The deficiency of these natural anticoagulants is responsible for 10% of venous thrombosis in younger people

If Simmonds had any of the above, one hopes he would have been told and placed on long term warfarin therapy....

They don't all require lifelong wafarin. Depends on the type of mutation, depends on how bad it was, depends on how many times it has happened, depends on the family history, depends on the other risk factors. etc etc. I really enjoy educating Richmond supporters. :)

Please list the players that have won a premiership that have been taken in the PSD over the last 7 years. I can name 2 Craig Bolton(Swans) and Josh Mahoney(Port). If we are looking at recruiting players capable of winning premierships in the PSD then we are looking in the wrong spot.

The National draft is where we should be looking and picking players that are going to take us to the next Richmond premiership not the PSD.

Without outright supporting any move to get Richards, who I'm very dubious about, I do believe that our really major advantage as far as holding Pick 1 in the PSD has now ceased to exist.

No.1 Pick in the PSD is generally far more useful as a possible bargaining tool during draft week than the player ultimately chosen there. Whether or not we were able to use it's power at the trade table three weeks ago we'll never be sure - none of us were privy to the negotiations. Maybe Mitch Morton was attained at 35 as a consequence of the PSD threat? Doubtful that McMahon was.

At this stage, I'd be waiting until we see what type of players we get in the National Draft, and then who we can shake out of the tree in the weeks hence, before I reach any conclusive decision on who to select at No.1.

Can't provide any solid evidence but I heard Richards is under medication for an ongoing heart issue and this played a large factor in his delisting.

lol. Sounds like a cut and paste job on information you don't really understand. I can tell you the practise is 3 to 6 months, depending on the circumstance. I can also tell you that genetic risk factors are very infrequent, and only a few of them require lifelong warfarn, and they are not always looked for. Let me know if I can educate you further. :)

And you got your medical degree where exactly? - the same school as Jayant Patel, no doubt. You can probably do heart surgery as well - Carlton need you to transplant some heart into the whole club.

You are walking proof of the adage: Never argue with morons. They bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

And you got your medical degree where exactly? - the same school as Jayant Patel, no doubt. You can probably do heart surgery as well - Carlton need you to transplant some heart into the whole club.

You are walking proof of the adage: Never argue with morons. They bring you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

lol. You need to read your textbooks again. You should know this stuff if that's your profession. I'm just a humble layperson who seems to know a lot more about the subject than you. Go on, test me. :)

Without outright supporting any move to get Richards, who I'm very dubious about, I do believe that our really major advantage as far as holding Pick 1 in the PSD has now ceased to exist.

No.1 Pick in the PSD is generally far more useful as a possible bargaining tool during draft week than the player ultimately chosen there. Whether or not we were able to use it's power at the trade table three weeks ago we'll never be sure - none of us were privy to the negotiations. Maybe Mitch Morton was attained at 35 as a consequence of the PSD threat? Doubtful that McMahon was.

At this stage, I'd be waiting until we see what type of players we get in the National Draft, and then who we can shake out of the tree in the weeks hence, before I reach any conclusive decision on who to select at No.1.
As of right here and now Richards is the best player in the PSD that suits our needs. Seeing as though he is apparently nominating for the ND as well we might miss out on him. Only player that is left that I believe is yet to sign a new deal and I would love to see at Richmond is Rutten and the odds on him leaving the Crows are about the same as me riding a Melbourne Cup winner (at 192cm & 110+kg you work it out:D). So as much as I don't really like the idea of getting Richards, he is the best option available to us and will provide the most benefit if we did pick him up.

i reckon a big no on guy richards - i really don't care if he is the best ruckman available.If we needed a ruckman so badly, we should have traded for a decent one, or atleast a potentially decent one in the trade period, especially since they seemed to be going "cheap" - Meesen, King, Moran all went at a "good price".
Richards is only a back up 2-3 year player at best. i would rather we toiled for another season with patto, simmo and gus.

2007 exposed our lack of rucking depth - but surely we couldn't have a worse year again with ruckman injured - and we all saw the benefits of patto being "forced" to play ruck for 4 qtrs for the majority of the season - and how he responded and improved ten fold by seasons end. if simmo gets injured - then do the same next year with gus, and if he is good enough to be promoted (as he was) then he will respond accordingly.

we should try and rookie list another ruckman (possibly a mature age one if their is one good enough around) and keep him in reserve. then, if simmo or patto get injured - promote him, and see how he goes - as we all know how good richards is by now - and he ain't much chop IMO.

I don't buy we should take the best available ruckmen in the PSD - you never get a good ruckman in the PSD, trade or develop one is the only worthwhile way to "make" a ruckman.

lets end this plethora of shithouse ruckman being taken in the PSD at pick 1

Marsh, Knobel, McClaren, Ackland - we're are they all now? i bet the same place richards will be in 2 years:rolleyes:

Thank you. I was going to try and explain to the moron, but I couldn't be bothered. Glad you were.:thumbsu:

They don't all require lifelong wafarin. Depends on the type of mutation, depends on how bad it was, depends on how many times it has happened, depends on the family history, depends on the other risk factors. etc etc. I really enjoy educating Richmond supporters. :)

Why quote me? I said long term therapy not life long you fool! Can't you read!

"Depends how bad it was?" This guy nearly had a fatal PE. How bad do you want it to be? We are talking about Troy Simmonds, not just anyone! In his case, with any of the genetic mutations, he would not be on it for only 3 months.

I LOVE EDUCATING CARLTON FOOLS!:)

im mates with guy richards and i secretly dont want him at richmond
had his chance at collingwood
should return to coldstream and play basketball

yep :)

Im sure he could be handy somewhere but not at richmond
when the ranges recruited him weight was always gonna be his problem
he has baulked up significantly but probably not enough imo

Guy Richards