Haha..Well done Will Slade, expose Brereton for the idiot that he is

knuckles

Oct 17, 2002
Asia Pacific
People complain about Caro, but Derm is the worst by far. He Juuuuuuuuuuuuuust is an absolute cretin and one of the worst journos/ commentators EVER.he is Juuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuust an idiot. Juuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuust so.

Slade slays Brereton
11:39:15 AM Fri 30 May, 2003
Matt Burgan
afl.com.au
Geelong youngster Will Slade has hit back at comments made by Hawthorn great and now media commentator Dermott Brereton, after the five-time premiership player questioned his integrity after an incident that left Slade with concussion in round four.

The 19-year-old disregarded Brereton’s remarks, which were made in a column in The Age on 26 April, after Slade was on the receiving end of a clash with Melbourne’s Adem Yze.

Yze was subsequently cleared for engaging in rough play at the AFL Tribunal, but Brereton’s comments did not sit well with Slade, who spoke exclusively to afl.com.au.

“I didn’t really take much notice of it, because I knew it wasn’t true,” Slade said.

“You know what Dermott’s like, he reckons he’s the authority of everything, so it didn’t really bother me.

“He confirmed, in my mind, that he’s an idiot.”

Slade, who has played eight AFL games – including four this season - was playing his first match of the year when the incident occurred. Brereton’s column was published a week after the incident and his comments included:

“Whatever the severity of the knock, it was not a swing from the cheap seats and the lights were not turned out. Everybody who was in the vicinity immediately thought that young Slade had gone down too easily and was trying to milk a free kick, such was the assumed flimsy nature of the contact,” Brereton wrote.

“Slade might well have been very crook at the time, but what stumps me about the incident that everyone did see is, when Slade was trying to walk off with trainer assistance but could not so he went back to ground, why did he have enough awareness to sit upright and move himself onto the stretcher?

“As rare as it is, Slade is not alone in being remembered as someone who placed himself on a stretcher.

“Hopefully Will Slade's actions that led to him being carried off on a stretcher last weekend will be proven warranted. You would hate to go through an entire career heckled by your peers, week in, week out.”

Good on the young bloke.

I think Brereton thinks just because he had a huge amount of courage in the 89 grand final, he has the right to have a go at a young kid who didn't get up after a behind the play incident.

Will Slade is a good young kid for us and has the right attitude.

Hopefully Dermott Brereton enjoyed seeing his beloved Hawks bounce off the Geelong players last week like little puppets, basically brushed aside at the contests. :D

Originally posted by Becker
Sorry, I have forgotten ... how many premiership teams has Will Slade played in?

Sorry, I have forgotten ... does playing in a premiership automatically make you a brilliant football mind? Seems it hasn't worked for Capuano et al.

And being a good player doesn't make you a brilliant commentator either... Paul Couch, Steven Silvagni and Craig Bradley were all great players, but are borderline ******ed when it comes to commentating (however, they are streets ahead of Sam Lane)

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
“He confirmed, in my mind, that he’s an idiot.”

Will Slade - you are a champion

:D :D :D :D :D

Pardon my ignorance, but who the hell is Will Slade.

Disrespectful young whipper snapper no doubt.:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Catman
Relevance to the story? None.

You di.khead Becker.

I don't appreciate being called that, especially by someone as mentally deficient as yourself.

The relevance is ... and I am typing slowly because I know you can't read fast .... is that Will Slade is still a kid with much to learn. To call an ex-player with the experience of Brereton an idiot shows me he's a self opinionated little twirp with little desire to learn the game, and therefore his future is limited ... just like your brain capacity.

Originally posted by noodle
and when was the last time dermott was out there playing.

He's been out of the game around the same time as John Worsfold ... does he know nothing as well? Leigh Matthews hasn't played since 1985, does he know nothing?

Sheedy, Malthouse, Pagan .... all useless because they've been out the game so long?

Do we all need to be 19 and have just started our playing careers to know more about the game than anyone else?

In ten years time we will still remember all the names above, but we will strugle to recall Will Slade.

I don't appreciate being called that, especially by someone as mentally deficient as yourself.

The relevance is ... and I am typing slowly because I know you can't read fast .... is that Will Slade is still a kid with much to learn. To call an ex-player with the experience of Brereton an idiot shows me he's a self opinionated little twirp with little desire to learn the game, and therefore his future is limited ... just like your brain capacity.

My point was Brereton stating that Slade was milking the whole incident, when it was clear he wasn't. What right does he have to label a kid playing his 5th game like this? His comments were unfounded and just blatantly wrong.

His comments were bordering on slander. He's lucky they didn't proceed with any legal action.

He had every right to criticise Brereton for questioning his reputation. It's a terrible indictment for a kid only 19 who is starting what will, hopefully, be a long and successful career.

Originally posted by milo
Pardon my ignorance, but who the hell is Will Slade.

Disrespectful young whipper snapper no doubt.:rolleyes:

Disrespect???

Disrespect is a pathetic idiot like Dwermott, accusing Will Slade of pretending to be concussed, when he clearly was

that is disrepect my friend

Originally posted by Tyler Durden
And the number of premiership players on your current list is..... ?

HaHa!

At no point in time did I suggest my team had a number of premiership players. At no point in time did I try and make this a 'your team vs my team' thread. At no point in time was this thread supposed to be about how many premiership sides young Will Slade has played in.

It still amuses me so much that every time someone comments on BigFooty, another person will use that person's team's lack of premierships as a logical argument. Gee wizz, I'd almost be inclined to sink to your levels Tyler and say "What you say is what you are".

Get over it clown.:rolleyes:

lets stick to the the topic please

- that Dermott Brereton is a ****ing pathetic human being

- knows a lot less about football than he should considering he played for 15 years

- wrote one of the worst articles ever regarding Will Slade playing dead

- and has been put back in his place by a 19 year old big time

Disrespect???

Disrespect is a pathetic idiot like Dwermott, accusing Will Slade of pretending to be concussed, when he clearly was

that is disrepect my friend

You very rarely seem to make sense, why is that????

lets stick to the the topic please

- that Dermott Brereton is a ****ing pathetic human being

- knows a lot less about football than he should considering he played for 15 years

- wrote one of the worst articles ever regarding Will Slade playing dead

- and has been put back in his place by a 19 year old big time

And has been groomed for a media career since his early 20s, yet still looks, and sounds, like he is on work experience.

Let's stick to the facts please. The fact is that Brereton was wrong, and that Will Slade is right. Age and experience are no substitute for intelligence and integrity, two things Will Slade has a lot of and Dermott Brereton has none of. You sound like a lot of the people on the V/Line train to Melbourne who reckon anyone under 30 should be seen and not heard, and preferably not seen either. Just because Slade is young doesn't make him wrong, in fact the way he dealt with Dermott Brereton's libellous act of idiocy just points out how much more deserving he is of the right to express an opinion.

To basically call a young player a sook (especially after the seven other games Slade has played proves that he is anything but) shows me that Brereton is a self obsessed loudmouth with little desire to respect anyone who wasn't around in the eighties, and therefore his future as a football "expert" is limited, just like your arguing talents.

Haha..Well done Will Slade, expose Brereton for the idiot that he is