Hall offered 2 Weeks (1 week with a guilty plea)

Re: Hall offered 2 Weeks

Gaspar might not appeal- if Matera is fit, maybe the Coasters will leave Gaspar out anyway. Besides, they might bring Lynch back.

RedLegs#5 said:
appeal....court....he'll play

He doesn't need to appeal yet does he? Simply take the case to the tribunal and argue his case. He's certain to argue that it was on a lead, and therefore not really a behind the play incident.

But whether he can argue the reckless count down to negligent I'm not sure.

Chances are the tribunal will reduce the sentence from 2 weeks to 1. But as he hasn't taken the guilty plea, he won't get any further deduction, and should miss 1. Then we will get the appeal and court appearance as you say!

Hard to see how the tribunal could reduce it from 2 weeks down to zero.

If it is deemed in play will he still get a week, cos it wud be 5 activation points wudnt it??

Bombers_Forever said:
Gaspar might not appeal- if Matera is fit, maybe the Coasters will leave Gaspar out anyway. Besides, they might bring Lynch back.

Lynch deserves to play.

But this is about Hall anyway.

jmerino said:
No actual video footage,where the arm hits the body though.I can't see that one passing the tribunal or appeals or court.A bit of a biggy that one.

What do you think McGuire is going to say
"I took a dive" - no way

Every year a player is rubbed out of the grand final. This is too much of a common theme. There needs to be a rule where said player can be offered a one match ban or he can carry it over the next season and the suspension is doubled.

But denying players a right to play in the biggest day in their life is just pathetic.

I expect the announcement soon from the AFL about the new re brading of "National Netball League".

Come on swans take the tribunals sorry arses to court.

fusion said:
He doesn't need to appeal yet does he? Simply take the case to the tribunal and argue his case. He's certain to argue that it was on a lead, and therefore not really a behind the play incident.

But whether he can argue the reckless count down to negligent I'm not sure.

Chances are the tribunal will reduce the sentence from 2 weeks to 1. But as he hasn't taken the guilty plea, he won't get any further deduction, and should miss 1. Then we will get the appeal and court appearance as you say!

Hard to see how the tribunal could reduce it from 2 weeks down to zero.
This is the thing. If you remember Hunter v Williams (in Tassie earlier this year - punch in the jatz crackers), he appealed the case but pleaded guilty to the lesser charge and ended up playing the following week. So basically he pleaded innocent (ie, contested it), but then pleaded guilty.

Just for the record - the definition of "in play" and "behind play":

An incident will be regarded as in play if it is in proximity to the ball or the next passage of play.

Maybe, just maybe, the Swans can get it defined as "in play" because Hall was making a lead. Seems to me everything else about the charge is iron-clad.

"But denying players a right to play in the biggest day in their life is just pathetic."

So your saying it's anything goes in a Prelim? Your a goose, mate.

Finals footy is all about bigger stakes. The rewards can be bigger and the punishements can be bigger too. Bazza and Gasper shouldn't have belted blokes.

94_Eagles said:
Lynch deserves to play.

But this is about Hall anyway.

I guess my issue is if Matera and Lynch play, two have to go out and Gaspar being one of the outs would avoid a selection headache.

Diego said:
Every year a player is rubbed out of the grand final. This is too much of a common theme. There needs to be a rule where said player can be offered a one match ban or he can carry it over the next season and the suspension is doubled.

But denying players a right to play in the biggest day in their life is just pathetic.

I expect the announcement soon from the AFL about the new re brading of "National Netball League".

Why should stupid ppl be helped like that? They know the rules yet go out there and punch someone in the gut in the PRELIM final for crying out loud, use some common sense Barry!

Swans would lose the court case too.

BrownDog2 said:
for what it's worth (which is nothing) l think Hall will play this week.

The match review planel look tough and have done their job.

Tribunal will get the points down enough for him to play, everyone is happy.

AFL will say its great that the system works and that we don't need to go to court.

I concur.

Diego said:

Agreed within limits, some level you have to be rubbed out, eg king hit to the head from behind for example.

I think Hall will get off.

He will contest the "behind the play" grading and then plead guilty to a lesser charge of 5 activation points.

The fact that the conduct wasn't graded as intentional is a massive let-off for Hall.

I reckon he will get off with a reprimand.

tayls said:
Hall has been offered 1 week, says so on the AFL website

Only if he takes the offer, if he doesnt take the 1 week and then he risks having the matter upheld and still gets two weeks or they reduce part of the panels assessment and gets 1 week or nothing. Either way, not a good buildup for Sydney....interesting to see what WCE do, they may just accept the Gaspar penatly and move on!

Arrowman...

If the swans can get the charge down to "in play" as against "behind the play" does this mean Hall can play? I agree that everything else looks iron clad.

fusion said:
No. If you take it to the tribunal, pleading guilty to a lesser charge, then you still get discount for pleading guilty, if you are successful.

Hall is currently on 2 matches, reduced to 1 with a guilty plea. If he can successfully get a lesser charge, it will be one week reduced to less than one with a guilty plea.

Hall offered 2 Weeks (1 week with a guilty plea)