Speculation Harley Reid [OOC 2026]

If he did leave why the **** would he want to go to Geelong anyway?

Haven't you heard, if there is one club who know how to rort the AFL, it's Geelong.
We can get Harley for a couple of first rounders (maybe throw in a Humphries) and then there's all that real estate where players can pick and choose for a mere fraction of what's it's actually worth.

'Good faith' = Spill the beans on a footy forum.

Nah' apparently Alex Witherden got in first, when he was delisted, he said Harley's a sure thing to remain where he is ;)

The Harley Reid offer that West Coast turned down from Melbourne revisited
It is fitting that West Coast could have had likely the best offer ever for Reid, and knocked it back.
The Demons came hard last trade period for the first pick, putting pick six, 11, 42 and their 2024 first-rounder on the table.
That offer got even better as Melbourne slid into the sinkhole that was 2024, with the future first now sitting at No.5 on next month’s draft board.
Draft night bids meant Melbourne’s 2023 picks slid down to six and 13, but if you add those two in with 42 and pick five, the draft points total sits at 5129.
That is the equivalent of picks one and four, with No.1 worth 3000 points.

Draft points dont mean anything obviously, but it ended up as a pretty good offer, if only we knew the Dees would have pick 5 this year.
I suppose that's the paradox West Coast had to wrestle with, would the Dees still have slid down the ladder if they had Reid in their midfield? Would West Coast have had a better year with the 3 players they selected instead of Reid?

Yeah even 1 more win and its pick 8, 2 more wins and its between 9-11.

Still a good offer but a lot worse than having pick 5 in there lol. To be fair its a very even draft, the difference between pick 5 and 9 lets call it isnt that much compared to the usual year.

Why would he contemplate a move to Melbourne?
They have been in free fall for a couple of years and by the time Reid is on the market, Gawn and May will be gone and the likes of Petracca, Oliver and Viney will no longer be in their prime.
That was last year?

Makes sense.
Melbourne will be out of the equation. Essendon, Collingwood & Geelong the three clubs in the box seat.

Well, West Coast are in the box seat mate, considering he's reportedly happy at the club and has 2 of his best mates there.

Makes sense.
Melbourne will be out of the equation. Essendon, Collingwood & Geelong the three clubs in the box seat.

I would think that if Melbourne are moving out the likes of Oliver and Petracca but replacing them, using that draft value, with Harley Reid would represent a solid move for them.

If Melbourne did move out all their picks previously for Reid I expect they would have been far more willing to deal on their senior mids and they'd have access to this draft and next again anyway.

Yeah even 1 more win and its pick 8, 2 more wins and its between 9-11.

Still a good offer but a lot worse than having pick 5 in there lol. To be fair its a very even draft, the difference between pick 5 and 9 lets call it isnt that much compared to the usual year.
If Petracca wasn't injured Melbourne probably win 3 more games, if Petracca wasn't injured, Brayshaw doesnt retire they might have win a flag, we will never know. Probably finish ahead of Hawthorn, I think 6th or 7th.

If Essendon doesn’t trade Melbournes future first on draft night and they finish bottom 5 next year, I also think Essendon is definitely finishing bottom 4 next year too. Sam Draper goes to Adelaide and we get first band compensation.
I think Essendon can get Harley Reid and west coast would be persuaded to trade him with that draft capital Essendon would have. Espically with so many top wa prospects in next years draft and Chad Warner, Kossie Picket very gettable players.

Obviously lots to play out, but the main thing would be to convince Harley Reid we’re the club for him. If Geelong, Hawthorn, Collingwood were in for him I’d be 100% sure he’d want to leave west coast for them but Essendon would really have to show big ambitions to lure him. I also actually think he’s happy at west coast too, so to potentially leave a rebuilding club to join another rebuilding club could be tricky.

I personally would trade two top 5 picks for him, and I think that’s probably about his price, given the context of the top end wa prospects and Kossie and Chad on the market. Essendon also would have the cap space too facilitate this deal too, with Redman, Parish, Mckay, Gresham, Langford, Ridley, Merrett frond ended Contract extensions would be below what we’ve paid for them the last couple years. Add in the retirements/delistings of Shiel, Stringer, Heppell, Kelly, Goldstein, potentially Laverde, and we’d have the biggest warchest of cap space.

If everything plays out like the above, which I think is not unrealistic, Essendon should definelty trade for Harley, he’d have a transformative impact on our club, he’s a once in a generation talent, his ceiling is Dusty Martin, and Essendon have not had an A list talent since Hird, could argue Watson, but I defo would trade for Reid but I think I’m in the minority as Essendon fans probably would take that draft hand over trading for Harley. Either way, if Harley stays at west coast I think that’s huge for them and shows they’re not impacted by the go home factor.

If Essendon doesn’t trade Melbournes future first on draft night and they finish bottom 5 next year, I also think Essendon is definitely finishing bottom 4 next year too. Sam Draper goes to Adelaide and we get first band compensation.
I think Essendon can get Harley Reid and west coast would be persuaded to trade him with that draft capital Essendon would have. Espically with so many top wa prospects in next years draft and Chad Warner, Kossie Picket very gettable players.

Obviously lots to play out, but the main thing would be to convince Harley Reid we’re the club for him. If Geelong, Hawthorn, Collingwood were in for him I’d be 100% sure he’d want to leave west coast for them but Essendon would really have to show big ambitions to lure him. I also actually think he’s happy at west coast too, so to potentially leave a rebuilding club to join another rebuilding club could be tricky.

I personally would trade two top 5 picks for him, and I think that’s probably about his price, given the context of the top end wa prospects and Kossie and Chad on the market. Essendon also would have the cap space too facilitate this deal too, with Redman, Parish, Mckay, Gresham, Langford, Ridley, Merrett frond ended Contract extensions would be below what we’ve paid for them the last couple years. Add in the retirements/delistings of Shiel, Stringer, Heppell, Kelly, Goldstein, potentially Laverde, and we’d have the biggest warchest of cap space.

If everything plays out like the above, which I think is not unrealistic, Essendon should definelty trade for Harley, he’d have a transformative impact on our club, he’s a once in a generation talent, his ceiling is Dusty Martin, and Essendon have not had an A list talent since Hird, could argue Watson, but I defo would trade for Reid but I think I’m in the minority as Essendon fans probably would take that draft hand over trading for Harley. Either way, if Harley stays at west coast I think that’s huge for them and shows they’re not impacted by the go home factor.
Sam Draper for first round compo?

Lol, what? Bloke's lucky to be getting a game.

It's an interesting situation...

Given WC knocked back 3 first rounders for pick 1, before they knew what sort of product Harley is, I would argue they would not entertain 2x top 5 picks while he is still contracted. If he was OOC and wanted to go home and WC were up against the wall then surely they would take it.

2025 draft already looking to be the most compromised in recent years due to NGA/FS so value of picks is decreased.

2026 draft may be compromised due to Tasmanian concessions of "quaranting" players in the VFL.

Harley, Chad and potentially Kozzie are all primed to cash in on WC's mega war chest of cash

Speculation Harley Reid [OOC 2026]