Has Malthouse Been A Failure?

Loved hearing the Malthouse converts talking about him being able to get the best out of the players he had at his disposal. Has he done the same with the Blues this year...you know...got the best out of them?

Now Monkey, I admire your ability to tread a fine line between a serious knowledgeable poster and a Bay 13 flog. Just when I think I have you picked as the former, you come in with a gem and become the latter.

David King, the best special comments guy in the business, has just written a sensational article almost exactly on point with this thread - that is the realisation that MM has proven to be an abject failure in his first season at Carlton.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ca...rites-david-king/story-fndv8f7j-1226694482220

Some of my favourite quotes:

"If the NAB Cup next year was an under-24 competition they'd be embarrassed. Consider Collingwood's under-24s which includes Beams, Sidebottom and Elliott while Richmond has Cotchin, Rance and Martin and Essendon boasts Heppell, Daniher and Zaharakis."

"In the past Carlton has bought its way out of these binds. Not now.
Accept and perfect the draft and what stage your list is at, or suffer the long-term pain that comes with denial."

I think the latter quote would resonate particularly with most who have watched Carlton the last decade and a bit. This is a club that has completely failed to keep up with the modern demands of the game and is instead stuck in some mid 1980's dream world where the quick fix still works.

The only thing I dislike about the article is the use of the word "pruning" in order to describe change required in Carlton's list. The list needs much more than that, it needs to be doused in weed killer, set on fire and then have concrete poured all over it before it's have any chance of competing with the best.

Anyway that's only a small gripe for what's a sensational piece of journalism.
Agree. Very good piece from Kingy and pretty much on the money.

It's the consensus that most of us naysayers in this thread have promoted. None of us have said Mick can't coach, it's just that he's simply the wrong man at the wrong time for Carlton.

They are in all sorts.

It's the consensus that most of us naysayers in this thread have promoted. None of us have said Mick can't coach, it's just that he's simply the wrong man at the wrong time for Carlton.

He's one of the all-time great coaches; his record speaks for itself. But with that comes strong beliefs and strong actions. If players can't or won't play as he wants, they'll be gone. Or Mick will.

Loved hearing the Malthouse converts talking about him being able to get the best out of the players he had at his disposal. Has he done the same with the Blues this year...you know...got the best out of them?.

I should dig up my post earlier this thread about players who have gone backwards this season under Malthouse. I expect the list may have got a little longer since I made that post.

Except that Carlton supporters would have laughed in our faces if anyone had of said that Sydney's list was in better shape than Carlton's at the time Longmire took over. Unfortunately the differences between the clubs in the time since is a pretty strong illustration of the difference between a well run club and one that is pooly run.

I think a lot of people overrated our list, myself included.

Hopefully Mick will change the way things are run at least in the footy department. Having said that I wish Ratts had stayed on and worked with Mick, but realistically that was never going to happen.

Except that Carlton supporters would have laughed in our faces if anyone had of said that Sydney's list was in better shape than Carlton's at the time Longmire took over. Unfortunately the differences between the clubs in the time since is a pretty strong illustration of the difference between a well run club and one that is pooly run.
I'm not sure if this is a typo?

David King, the best special comments guy in the business, snip

datalaughing_gif_by_redpassion-d68sw3o.gif

By 2012 I think he found the solution and a balance to his issue with ruckmen. Basically he revolutionised rucks by creating the "Leigh Brown" role that everyone is now so desperate to have.

Not sure about that. Past two premiers have had two genuine rucks.

If this year is considered a failure for carlton, wait until 2014-15 when they will be rooted to the bottom 5. It is a list going nowhere fast, and there is a strong argument they are the list in the competition that is furtherest from a flag looking ahead to 2014 and beyond. Their lack of youngish talent coming thru is actually quite startling

Delete all 61 pages of this thread, and leave the following words after this sentence.

Yes.

Looks like some serious pain coming when they start the kull. The quality young guys are thin on the ground. Nearly all lists are ahead of thiers in terms of talent coming through. In fact I struggle to think of one. Maybe on par with Saints.

Definitely worse than the Saints.

This has probably already been stated but don't think Malthouse is a big hit with the team. My guess is that the players have been hit with a massive culture shock going from a likeable new age type like Ratten to a hard nut from the 70's like Mick. People talk about Malthouse culling the list but I bet there are a few blokes that will be putting their hand up as well - I don't think Yarran is the only one. Just putting it out there.

I think carlton have tried again to take a short term buy yourself approach. a failure this year, will be interesting to see how they go next year. lol Eddie wanting 600k

I've been saying this for some time. Carlton still haven't completely dragged themselves out of the 1980s mentality of buying the best players in the land to win a flag.

When they opted to recruit Judd, I thought it was a bit silly because they really needed to rebuild. Judd was a quick fix where they needed to be more patient. Get Judd, throw in a few No.1 draft picks, and there's your flag. When that didn't work, get Malthouse, and there's your flag.

It doesn't work any more. To gain success you need to put in years of building, selecting the right draft picks to suit your needs, win a few games to get yourself into the finals, and THEN recruit the star player you need to take you a step closer to the flag.

would not surprise me to see malthouse get in a punch up with a player or two before seasons end the way he glares at, and confronts his players with threatening body language, mitch robinson, betts, scotland and waite quickly come to mind, gibbs, simmo and murph would just run away...