HB: Smith - Croad - Brennen
C: Bateman - Mitchell - Lekkas
HF: Barker - Holland - Hodge
FF: Williams - Dixon - Boyle
R: Everitt - Crawford - Vandenberg

INT: Campbell - Lewis - Ries - Clarke

EMG from: Kane, Lonie, Greene, Sewell, Franklin, Roughead, Nixon

What do you think?

Not Bad. Not sure about both Barker & Holland across half forward though! I wouldn't mind being a defender running off the HBF on Johnny B! But I don't really know who else could play there.
With Graham, Piciaone, Barlow leaving gives the likes of Brennan (he got a little taste last year), Boyle and maybe even little Harry Miller (could add some much needed pace if he's up to it) a crack.
I'm hoping that AC makes Greene, Clarke, Dixon etc. grow some balls over preseason. If Dicko finds his best form, he may be a chance to kick 40 odd.
I'm quite happy with the backline, I'd like to Jacobs have an injury free season and play the floating HBF/BP role on the oppositions 2nd/3rd tall forward. He might be able to give us something?
I also think either Joel Smith / Luke Hodge have to regulary rotate through the midfield. AC has said that he will play Hodge off HB next season, but I'm not sure you can have 2 running / set-up play style HBF's. I reckon we have either Smith or Hodge in that role and let the other loose in the guts, with Joel's legs getting another year older I think Hodge may be that man.
My only worry is how do you play Mitchell, Hodge and potentially Lweis in the same midfield? I'm really interested in what everyone out there thinks?
I'm one of those who hopes the Hawks improve next year and maybe a 9-12 finish is achieveable? I don't like finishing on the bottom for the sake of draft picks. It didn't do a lot for Collingwood, when they finished runner-up 2 years in a row it was there more established players, Burns, Buckley etc. that were playing good footy.

Osborne Hay Jacobs
Smith Croad Hodge
Bateman Mitchell Lekkas
Beaumont Boyle Lewis
Williams Barker Dixon
Everitt Crawford Vandenberg

Ext Bench: Holland Brennan Brown Franklin Kane Ladson Lonie Miller Roughhead Ries Thurgood

Darkhorse - Miller or Franklin to be given a run on the wing. We seriously lack pace and AC has said he wants rookies in the seniors even if they cant play in their future positions.

mulhollanddrive said:
Osborne Hay Jacobs
Smith Croad Hodge
Bateman Mitchell Lekkas
Beaumont Boyle Lewis
Williams Barker Dixon

Ext Bench: Holland Brennan Brown Franklin Kane Ladson Lonie Miller Roughhead Ries Thurgood

Darkhorse - Miller or Franklin to be given a run on the wing. We seriously lack pace and AC has said he wants rookies in the seniors even if they cant play in their future positions.
LIKE UR SIDE but
think cambell brown will be in our starting 18
boyle hasnt even started training yet with his leg so u would assume he might be a little bit away. cried last year when he went down, kid has enormous potential imo, just hope he can come back
hodge on the ball, showed last year he can run in the middle

Slick said:
FB: Osbourne - Hay - Jacobs
HF: Barker - Holland - Hodge
FF: Williams - Dixon - Boyle

INT: Campbell - Lewis - Ries - Clarke

EMG from: Kane, Lonie, Greene, Sewell, Franklin, Roughead, Nixon

What do you think?
Very close to spot on. I'd probably swap Clarke for Campbell Brown and would find a spot for Beaumont, probably at the expense of Boyle(at this stage) or one of Barker/Holland. Struggling to find too much else wrong with it though.

Gee how good are we going, we give the starting CHF spot to a bloke who broke his leg and has never played a senior game of footy.

Lucas,Rivers,McPhee,Scarlett,Polak types would be laughing all the way to 3 brownlow votes everytime they play us.

I would prefer to play JB there and have say Franklin or Boyle running around with him so they can at least gain some awareness and experience playing in that sort of position.

Our team on paper is pathetic and would struggle to keep up with the the Port Melbournes or Central Districts of the world, there would only be 2 players in our side that would get a gig at Port Adelaide and that would be Crawford and Everitt the rest would be playing SANFL.

Beaumont Boyle Lewis
Williams Barker Dixon

What a forward line lol, this would be possibly the worst forward line i have ever ever ever seen a Hawthorn team produce, if we struggled kicking goals last year imagine what it will be like this season with that forward line.

Sorry boys but this is depressing me, our side is a rabble and will be laughed at by any opposition who can kick more than 10 goals a game.

cheers

Cheerful as ever hey Tige!

How would a VFL or SANFL side beat an AFL side???? Their is no way known they would beat us. Most of those blokes will never make it as an AFL player, but they will somehow beat an AFL side? I know its a popular thing to say, but it is complete rubbish.

Port A. would love a player like Hay. Mitchell would also make their squad no problems, and perhaps even Williams. Hodge at min. would make their bench as well no problems.

Cheer up tige most of us know its going to be a long year, but to suggest that we are worst then non-AFL sides is just ridiculous.

Our team on paper is pathetic and would struggle to keep up with the the Port Melbournes or Central Districts of the world, there would only be 2 players in our side that would get a gig at Port Adelaide and that would be Crawford and Everitt the rest would be playing SANFL

give me a break .....................

we might be struggling a bit l8ely but

crawford
hodge
hay
croad
smith
mitchell
everitt
bateman
vanderberg
brown

these blokes would all be pushing 4 a game in my opinion.

take any side that wins the premiership with the side that finishes 15 th in that respective year and u will find there wouldnt be 2 many players from the 15th side.

just remember things can change around very quickly

GO HAWKS

feher said:
Cheerful as ever hey Tige!

How would a VFL or SANFL side beat an AFL side???? Their is no way known they would beat us. Most of those blokes will never make it as an AFL player, but they will somehow beat an AFL side? I know its a popular thing to say, but it is complete rubbish.

Port A. would love a player like Hay. Mitchell would also make their squad no problems, and perhaps even Williams. Hodge at min. would make their bench as well no problems.

Cheer up tige most of us know its going to be a long year, but to suggest that we are worst then non-AFL sides is just ridiculous.

Sorry for my negativity but im just a little depressed with our side and what looks like will be our forward line. It kills me to think that 3 years ago we where the most exciting young football side in the AFL and now our players are getting older and the young ones havent developed.

When you look at our forward line there would only be 1 player who would get a gig at anyother top 8 side and that would be Mark Williams the rest would be after thought.

Lukehodge15 you have to remeber that Forster Knight would have played what a no more than 5 games?? and Cochrane since making his way to Port has been a very usefull tagger.

Mitchell would struggle to get a game as would Hodge they already have players of similur stature that would be ahead of them eg Dew,Francou,Peter and Sean B, James etc etc you could go on with another 3 or 4 players. Like i said the only Hawthorn players that would get a game would be Crawford who would be a perfect fit now Carr is gone and Everitt as they have no standout ruckman (primus will be unrealiable) they have everything else covered.

Sorry boys for being so negative im just a little depressed and upset our players havent been able to develop and continue there prgoress like the rest of the AFL.

cheers

I reckon the axe will keep swinging. We must blood the kids. Worrying about where to play Dicko and his ilk is pointless we have proved it in 2003 and 2004.

Show me Thurgood, Brennan, Boyle, Miller. I want to see our future not our poor immediate past.

FB: Osbourne - Hay - Jacobs
HF: Lonie - Roughead - Hodge
FF: Williams - Franklin - Boyle

INT: Kane - Lewis - Ries - Barker

EMG from: Campbell, Sewell, Nixon, Holland

hawkas have some problems and although roughy and franklin r young, i reckon they are built for it, and i cant see holland, barker or dixon playing in 2005, and they should hopefully be gone by 2006..

watcha think?

not keen on throwing 2 17-18 year old kids 2 key position posts in the AFL.

am all 4 blooding youngsters but they have 2 be ready

LukeHodge15 said:

Clarkson intends to throw them in the side early, so get used to it. He said Roughead and Flanklin will spend time on the flanks, whilst Holland and Barker take CHF and FF. I think it is fair to say that we will be bidding farwell to Holland and Barker at the end of 2005, so Roughead and Franklin better be ready.

Jordan Lewis will also be in the side, as Clarkson is of the opinion he has an AFL-Ready body.

Many changes?

Bloody well hope so!

Think we really need to grasp the reality of just how hard it's going to be to become competitive as an AFL side once again. By that I mean really competitive in challenging for premierships. Not just in 'mid-ladder' land of where we've more or less be the last dozen or so years.

We all know the drill by now, lacking class across the board in all area's (excepting probably the hbf!!). Our future is now in Buckenara's hands and the last few drafts of the likes of Ladson, Brown, Hodge etc. None of that it going to come to fruition overnight. This year.. more than likely NEXT year aren't going to be anything other than hopefully seeing solid improvement from the kids on the list and the shunting aside of to many under-performers that's begun already with the delisting of the likes of Picioane, Cox etc.

Blokes like Lonie, Osborne, Greene that have stagnated for the last few years have 05 to show if they're worth keeping or not. Brennan, Miller, Boyle should all be given some game time to get an inkling if they may have what it takes to become senior players. Hope that at least two of the early draft choices show they can give us hope for long term senior careers.

So, changes? Yea, heaps. Not just for 05 either but for 06 as well. Enough change so that when 07 rocks around we'll all be looking forward with true excitment to the coming season rather than the caution/negative outlook that so many of us seem to have for what we expect to see this year.

LukeHodge15 said:

Carey, Tredrea, Riewoldt .... were they ready? No they weren't. In fact they struggled for the first dozen or so games but they learnt the pace of AFL footy by playing it, not getting cheap kicks in the VFL.

If these guys are as good as they are supposed to be then pick them, stand back and watch them develop. Nobody's expecting us to make the finals in 2005 anyway, so we approach 2006 with two key forwards with a full season under their belts.

Becker said:
.... were they ready? No they weren't. In fact they struggled for the first dozen or so games but they learnt the pace of AFL footy by playing it, not getting cheap kicks in the VFL.

If these guys are as good as they are supposed to be then pick them, stand back and watch them develop. Nobody's expecting us to make the finals in 2005 anyway, so we approach 2006 with two key forwards with a full season under their belts.

if u r thinking 2 bottom age kids in 2004 draft can handle the rigors of an afl season then u r in dream land. will be happy if they play 6-8 games later in season.

shakes head at comparison 2 Carey, Tredrea, Riewoldt ..........easy there :rolleyes:

i'm as keen as the next hawks supporter 2 see these kids play straight away, but we have 2 remeber that they r young, bodys still developing and need time 2 adjust 2 the pace of VFL let alone AFL. people holding there breath on franklin and roughhead playing 18-22 games next year r misguided 2 say the least.

LukeHodge, Roughead and Franklin will be holding down positions on the flanks as opposed to Key positions - this stated by the coach himself.

What happens when Holland and Barker go? Do we go with a midget team? No tall players up forward at all?

Clarkson has already said Roughead, Franklin and lewis have the bodies for AFL football, and they will certainly be getting a taste of it. We have no choice. We have lost Graham, Thompson and Barker and Hollandand John Barker are physically gone.

tige19 said:
Gee how good are we going, we give the starting CHF spot to a bloke who broke his leg and has never played a senior game of footy.

Lucas,Rivers,McPhee,Scarlett,Polak types would be laughing all the way to 3 brownlow votes everytime they play us.

I would prefer to play JB there and have say Franklin or Boyle running around with him so they can at least gain some awareness and experience playing in that sort of position.

Our team on paper is pathetic and would struggle to keep up with the the Port Melbournes or Central Districts of the world, there would only be 2 players in our side that would get a gig at Port Adelaide and that would be Crawford and Everitt the rest would be playing SANFL.

Beaumont Boyle Lewis
Williams Barker Dixon

What a forward line lol, this would be possibly the worst forward line i have ever ever ever seen a Hawthorn team produce, if we struggled kicking goals last year imagine what it will be like this season with that forward line.

Sorry boys but this is depressing me, our side is a rabble and will be laughed at by any opposition who can kick more than 10 goals a game.

cheers
Theyre ordinary but if you say they'd struggle against those sides then you're absolutely clueless. Chris Obst is one of Ports top players,the same Chris Obst who could never cement a spot in our side in the 90s when we were not alot stronger than we are now. The guy played state footy this year.Steve Lawrence the same.Chris and James Gowans are two of Centrals topliners who were never any more than fringe players with AFL clubs. I know you think you know a bit about the VFL as you often profess but a few others among us have been around the traps footy wise as well and from my own experience with both state leagues you're so far off the mark with that comment that it's laughable.

mulhollanddrive said:
Osborne Hay Jacobs
Smith Croad Hodge
Bateman Mitchell Lekkas
Beaumont Boyle Lewis
Williams Barker Dixon

A far better effort! No place in the team for Campbell, Holland and Clarke. Would cut bench to Brennan, Thurgood, Brown and hopefully Roughead/Franklin.

andrew coombs said:
Fanatic, why engage him in a pointless argument? The smarties on this and all other boards simply ignore ridiculous statements. Catch up.
Your right Andrew,certain posters do look to get under our guards occasionally don't they and yes i probably got sucked into debating that one ,i get a bit sick of some of the negative vitriol at times. Blind Freddy can see the clubs had better days but i wish certain posters would focus on positives at least occasionally,such as the the potential of our new picks or the restructuring of our footy dept and the long term optimism these things bring,it's not all doom and gloom,as for the heads up, thanks mate.

Hawk Team '05 - Many Changes?