List Mgmt. Hawk's List Management for 2025

Usually do one of these before the trade period but was caught-up with other stuff this year so here is my post-trade period update! This is what I have at the moment. As you can see, firstly the list is STACKED in terms of talent (which we already knew) but is also pretty close to being completely full as it is. If what I have is correct, then we have 36 primary list, 4 Cat A and 1 Cat B locked in for next year which leaves us with limited options in terms of drafting next month and SSP/MSD in 2025.

If I had to guess, I'd say we are likely to delist-then-rookie one or both of Gunston and/or Breust for flexibility. Regardless, we can only intake a max of 2 players to primary/Cat A list at the moment plus the option of another Cat B player if we want (which I suspect we will re-sign Bennetts with).

As usual, if you spot any mistakes then please let me know :)

Hawks List 2025 (pre-drafts).png

Basically finished the list management discussion for 2025.

With Gunston and Breust finishing up, it’s going to be a lot easier making list space next year than it was this year.

Interesting that Worpel hasn’t signed on, regardless of the rumours about an extension. The longer that goes the longer it gives clubs a chance to get in his ear, offering all kinds of deals.. in and out of the cap.

May have been a different story if we were wallowing in the bottom four, but what use do we have for pick 19? :D

The discussion around CJ is interesting, I believe it could go either way.
My biggest criticism is around his skill and his football awareness. He gets caught a lot, and his decision making a times is very questionable. In saying that I do believe that he can turn that around.
I think at this stage he is borderline 22, but happy to be proven wrong this season. I really hope it can go to that next level.

I also share this thought round guys like Ward and hopefully a fit Lewis

Harry Morrison scored a 2 year extension, but it doesn't make him a best 22 lock either.

Jiath is a high-upside, freak athlete type of footballer with unknown potential. Still. That doesn't make him an automatic starter every week anymore though. I feel as though our finals series was proof of that.
Morrison got 2 years on the back of his last month of footy.

Jiath wasn’t 100% fit during finals, and they didn’t want to take the risk on him breaking down in a final.

They’re two separate things.

Some interesting discussion re Lewis and CJ being walk up starters in our best 22 which got me thinking who’s actually in that group if fit. Not using the word depth …… will have two groups ‘walk up starters’ and ‘fighting for a spot’ so I will have a crack in no particular order:

Walk up starters:

Mitch Lewis, Newk, Impey, Worps, Siss, Frost, Amon, Nash, Day, Moore, Scrim, Dimma, Mass, Meek, Weds, Croc, Ginni, Wiz, Dear, Barrass, Battle.

Some reasons:

Frost - one of our best most consistent backs in 24 even when we were 0-5
Mass - one of the best wingman in the AFL through out the year
Dear - so influential when he came in from a forward structure perspective and did it as a kid he is our future, great defensively, needs the continuity and a great combo with Mitch

So that’s 21 already and I reckon Finn, Frenchie and Ward will announce themselves to come into this group. Some may scratch their heads re Finn but his consistency will shine through and one of the hardest workers on the track improving in areas that now make him a good link up player, kicking has significantly improved, strong endurance beast, can snag a goal, let’s not forget still probably one of the best taggers in the comp (coach has this up his sleeve) has versatility now. Frenchie and Ward speaks for itself couple of high end draft picks that have shown glimpses but now with preseasons/conditioning/professional approach behind them …… are on the cusp of becoming quality AFL players.

Fighting for a spot:

Finn
Ward
Frenchie
Gunners (realistically tough to walk up every week will need managing)
Bruest (same as Gunners)
CJ (this time last year would have CJ as walk up starter but a lot has changed with others coming in and with gradual improvement …. has to work to win his spot back)
Harry
Reeves
Ramma
Chol
Serong
Butler
Blanck

Hey opinions are like bums everyone’s got one so please take it easy 😂. But one thing for sure our list is in an amazing place!

The discussion around CJ is interesting, I believe it could go either way.
My biggest criticism is around his skill and his football awareness. He gets caught a lot, and his decision making a times is very questionable. In saying that I do believe that he can turn that around.
I think at this stage he is borderline 22, but happy to be proven wrong this season. I really hope it can go to that next level.

I also share this thought round guys like Ward and hopefully a fit Lewis

CJ, Lewis, and Ward.
I like them all, but we could move them all on in the next trade period without feeling the loss.
Ward is the one I'd most like to keep.

Lewis and CJ fit for 20+ games is a fantasy at this point.
I wish it was not the case.
We'd have won the premiership last season.

A pretty good list matey.

But... I do think that Cholly is also a walk up start each week also.
Had a really good year didn’t he 37 goals, defensive pressure for a big man excellent, provides a chop out in ruck and his field kicking/set shot at goals first class. Interesting to see whether we can play all of Lewis/Chol/Dear in the same team as don’t want to eat into the small forward group we have which is a real weapon for us. But we don’t have to worry about it for a while with Lewis’s recovery

CJ, Lewis, and Ward.
I like them all, but we could move them all on in the next trade period without feeling the loss.

Sorry mate

Delusional

We have zero AFL standard power forwards currently on our list if we lost Lewis

Goes without saying that if anyone such as Chol, Ginnivan, Jiath, MacKenzie etc don't perform that we have several potential replacements there to put pressure on them. But Sam understands CJ is a serious talent that could take us to another level if he plays to potential on the wing, and worth investing time and patience with. The opposition would also definitely sigh with relief if he doesn't play. The club understands the risk with Jiath and Lewis and their bodies, but we're managing them and doing everything we can for them to come back and be important players for us in this premiership window, as the upside is clearly there. Hopeful both can play a big part in 2025.

Some interesting discussion re Lewis and CJ being walk up starters in our best 22 which got me thinking who’s actually in that group if fit. Not using the word depth …… will have two groups ‘walk up starters’ and ‘fighting for a spot’ so I will have a crack in no particular order:

Walk up starters:

Mitch Lewis, Newk, Impey, Worps, Siss, Frost, Amon, Nash, Day, Moore, Scrim, Dimma, Mass, Meek, Weds, Croc, Ginni, Wiz, Dear, Barrass, Battle.

Some reasons:

Dear - so influential when he came in from a forward structure perspective and did it as a kid he is our future, great defensively, needs the continuity and a great combo with Mitch

So that’s 21 already and I reckon Finn, Frenchie and Ward will announce themselves to come into this group. Some may scratch their heads re Finn but his consistency will shine through and one of the hardest workers on the track improving in areas that now make him a good link up player, kicking has significantly improved, strong endurance beast, can snag a goal, let’s not forget still probably one of the best taggers in the comp (coach has this up his sleeve) has versatility now. Frenchie and Ward speaks for itself couple of high end draft picks that have shown glimpses but now with preseasons/conditioning/professional approach behind them …… are on the cusp of becoming quality AFL players.

Fighting for a spot:

Finn
Ward
Frenchie
Bruest (same as Gunners)
CJ (this time last year would have CJ as walk up starter but a lot has changed with others coming in and with gradual improvement …. has to work to win his spot back)
Harry
Reeves
Ramma
Chol
Serong
Butler
Blanck

Hey opinions are like bums everyone’s got one so please take it easy 😂. But one thing for sure our list is in an amazing place!
100% agree matey. Only to think it wasn't that long ago we had the worst list in the AFL, we were tanking for picks and were not going to win a game ALL year. So I give it a D+ :rolleyes:

CJ, Lewis, and Ward.

Who are you getting to replace Lewis?

Walk up starters:

Some reasons:

Fighting for a spot:

Finn
Ward
Frenchie
Bruest (same as Gunners)
Harry
Reeves
Ramma
Chol
Serong
Butler
Blanck

Good list, only one I'd query is Chol not being a walk up start but apart from that very good effort.

You can’t rely on Lewis or CJ, so they are depth at this stage
Hopefully this changes
Those two are the opposite of depth.

Depth players are those not in the best 25 - 28 who only get a game in an injury crisis. They are usually dependable, injury free types with a low ceiling. That is neither Lewis or CJ.

Walk up starters:

Some reasons:

Fighting for a spot:

Finn
Ward
Frenchie
Bruest (same as Gunners)
Harry
Reeves
Ramma
Chol
Serong
Butler
Blanck

Good effort except Chol and Frenchie are also walk-up starts. Chol is essential because he helps supports Meek in the ruck.
The problem then is naming the sub.

Good effort except Chol and Frenchie are also walk-up starts. Chol is essential because he helps supports Meek in the ruck.
The problem then is naming the sub.
Since day 1 always been a massive fan of Frenchie. Will be a A grader! This was a post from a training report when I first saw him Dec 22:

“Last thing is the player that most caught my eye. It was Cam Mackenzie. This kid is class. Solid overhead, moves well, good size and his kicking is elite. Always seemed to pick good options and then pin point his kicks to advantage. Forwards will be licking their lips. Glad we got this one.”

Sorry mate

Delusional

We have zero AFL standard power forwards currently on our list if we lost Lewis
We lose Lewis quite often as it is.
No doubt about his potential, but it's 7-8 seasons now...
"Fresh start" on the cards if we see Dear develop further, Scaife show some promise, and Sicily/Battle push forward.

Still doesn't change the fact we have zero AFL proven key power forwards on our list, which dear wont be

Fresh start isn't on the cards, not at all

Scaife has played zero AFL games, can't be counting on him replacing Lewis just yet

Where is Max Ramsden in that discussion? He’s developing but at some point he needs to find a spot and start playing. This year he needs to play at least a third of a season in my view and then half a season minimum in 2026. Or do we just go get Oscar Allen or Ben King or Ollie Lord?

Scaife has shown no more than Jeka and Callow had at the same point. He's a project player at best.

Sicily as a forward - eh - the flexibility is nice, but he's an All Australian defender and Sam has all but ruled out him making a permanent move forward.

Still doesn't change the fact we have zero AFL proven key power forwards on our list, which dear wont be

Fresh start isn't on the cards, not at all

Scaife has played zero AFL games, can't be counting on him replacing Lewis just yet
The importance of KPFs may be exaggerated. Sydney was by far the heaviest scoring team in 2024 and their regular KPFs were Amartey, McLean and McDonald, none of whom averaged 2 goals a game.

List Mgmt. Hawk's List Management for 2025