Autopsy Hawks lose another close one to dees

It is a shame Titch got injured because we would definitely be 6-1 (which wouldn’t have meant much with a softish draw) in a season without a dominant team AND I wouldn’t have to read the garbage from our own pathetic supporters about us being a bottom 4 side.

For me the answer isn't about stealing random wins. Its about rebuilding the team with quality personnel that make us real contenders. Part of that is giving them the chance to prove themselves and in the process some will not be what we hoped. We have brought in some talent at a price (trading away valuable draft picks) which is a tactic that Clarkson clearly favours over relying purely on the draft but in order for this to work you need in tandem to be developing talent from within in and for good players to emerge from the rookie draft and deeper in the national draft. In the glory years we managed to turn speculative picks like Bruest Poppy Stratton Sewell Guerra Suckling Osbourne Young Bateman into very good players that contributed to premierships. We haven't had the same success yet post 3-peat but hopefully it will come. I certainly don't think that Clarkson and co are sitting on their hands hoping it will magically happen.

Unlike many others, I’m actually looking forward to the next 5 or 6 weeks.
I would much rather watch them play a top 4 side than a bottom 4 team. The one criticism I have with the Hawks is they rarely switch on or stay on for games they’re expected to win. Expect some ripper games and maybe unexpected wins before the bye.
Ditto

Yes Titch got injured but we can't rely on one player to make a difference. This just exposes that our depth is not that good.
Even if we had Titch playing our forward line is dysfunctional and not clicking as it used to be.
This is why I’m taking the positives out of a shitty situation (Tom being hurt). His injury has forcefully made us fast track our depth whereas without his injury we more than likely would never had of blooded a lot of our youth. I now envision Clarko giving some others their debut in the next couple of weeks. I’m not just talking about giving it for the sake of it but definitely to the ones that have earned it with Jones at the front of the cue.

Our current list is closer to bottom 4 than top 4 but like others have said IF we can get certain players through free agency or trade things can quickly change.

We won't be charging back up the ladder with the youth we have.

Fair call..

Name the youth who you think will be good AFL players? Guys under 23.

I’d say -

Scrimshaw
Hardwick
Worpel
Lewis
Cousins (Shiels type long term)

I think those 5 are the only locks for mine who will be long term contributors, I then have another bunch who are toss of the coin.

Morrison
Moore
Jones

Those 3 have shown enough, I really like Jones and hope he plays. The rest of our youth I am not super keen on, but I would like to see more of Kosi and Walker.

If you think the last two weeks have been mid table performances then you are sorely mistaken. If we play that footy for the remainder of the season then we will be bottom four and right to question our top-up strategy.

And the injury excuse is null and void yesterday. Only really Frawley missing from our best 22.
Missing our best mid and our best key defender.
Tom still counts as an out. Birch has been missing so long that he's a hard one to count.

Cousins suspended when we are light on for mids isnt great and Scrimshaw needing to be managed hurt us.

We don't have the depth to easily cover

Really it’s just another throw like all the others that don’t get paid. There are multiple instances like this in every game every week.
No it's not, most of them at least move both hands. He just threw it one handed.

Really it’s just another throw like all the others that don’t get paid. There are multiple instances like this in every game every week.

Seriously, my SANFL team played the Adelaide Crows Reserves team on Friday night, and they threw the ball around like LeBron James all night. Stuff "save the dribble", I think we need #savethehandball. It's a dying art.

By the way, is anyone else as concerned as I am that a team we struggled to beat last week were belted by North Melbourne today? We should be belting the Carltons of this world, not scraping in by 5 points.

Fair call..

Name the youth who you think will be good AFL players? Guys under 23.

I’d say -

Scrimshaw
Hardwick
Worpel
Lewis
Cousins (Shiels type long term)

I think those 5 are the only locks for mine who will be long term contributors, I then have another bunch who are toss of the coin.

Morrison
Moore
Jones

Those 3 have shown enough, I really like Jones and hope he plays. The rest of our youth I am not super keen on, but I would like to see more of Kosi and Walker.
I have no doubts about Hardwick, Worpel & Scrimshaw the rest you listed could go either way.

Look I'm gonna have to agree here re Stratts. It's coming across as too casual while we're losing. Wouldn't be a problem if we were winning. But we're not.

In his defence, he gave the club a warning. Said he'd be himself and not change a thing about his personality. He's stuck true to this, to be fair. And we knew he would.

I agree also. the footage of him dancing and carrying on while gunston and a few others walk past with their game face on is a terrible look for our footy club. we made a rare poor decision making him captain. his form suggests he shouldn't even be in the 22 atm. look at the way McEvoy battles his heart out week after week, that's leadership... there should be our captain. some strange decisions and things happening down there... we have lost our aura, becoming a run of the mill side...we play boring slow football.. we r vanilla

No it's not, most of them at least move both hands. He just threw it one handed.
I don’t agree with it not getting paid as a free kick, it infuriates me that it gets missed. But I’ve seen multiple one hand scoop/flicks not get paid across the course of a game in similar ground ball situations to that one. It just didn’t shock me that it wasn’t paid.

I agree also. the footage of him dancing and carrying on while gunston and a few others walk past with their game face on is a terrible look for our footy club. we made a rare poor decision making him captain. his form suggests he shouldn't even be in the 22 atm. look at the way McEvoy battles his heart out week after week, that's leadership... there should be our captain. some strange decisions and things happening down there... we have lost our aura, becoming a run of the mill side...we play boring slow football.. we r vanilla
Yes! Say that again.

Let's not become a group of supporters that make excuses for our players, especially senior leaders. This 'carrying niggles' line has popped up in recent weeks and it really irks me. Every team has players carrying niggles. It is not an excuse. If their niggles stop them from sticking tackles, running hard and hitting simple targets then they should not be selected.
Some are carrying niggles,
Some make errors under pressure,
some are declining.

I don’t agree with it not getting paid as a free kick, it infuriates me that it gets missed. But I’ve seen multiple one hand scoop/flicks not get paid across the course of a game in similar ground ball situations to that one. It just didn’t shock me that it wasn’t paid.
That wasn't scoop/flick though it was a throw; a chuck; a muralidharan.

I totally agree with you. Just seems it gets let go constantly for the sake of no stoppage. Or perhaps that particular action has been cleared by the authorities that be. Much like muralis’ dubious action.

It's Hawthorn doubt this will even be mentioned in most media circles!

Does Champion Data keep stats on the number of wins denied a team due to poor umpiring? On world record pace this season. Its easy to say the umpiring didn’t make a difference but hypothetically how would we be looking if Round 2 was umpired like Round 3, the St Kilda umpire umpiring like it was a Bulldog player falling over and Saturday’s umpire picking up the throw ?

The AFL are dodging a not-so-hypothetical bullet here.

Missing our best mid and our best key defender.
Tom still counts as an out. Birch has been missing so long that he's a hard one to count.

Cousins suspended when we are light on for mids isnt great and Scrimshaw needing to be managed hurt us.

We don't have the depth to easily cover

Scrimshaw being managed was bloody farcical, deadset.. so important for our structures and has become so reliable with his intercept marking, dumbfounding decision.

We should also keep in mind that Geelong's last flag was 4 years earlier than our own. That should put them 4 years ahead of us on their build towards their next flag. They've messed up a few picks and trades along the way, so they probably are not a full 4 years ahead, maybe more like 2. At the end of last year after they dropped out in the elim final , people were saying they had wasted several years trying to stay out of the bottom 6, and they should just go the full rebuild. In fact they've said that about Geelong nearly every year since 2011. Here we are, only the next season , and they are looking good after they've pulled off a couple of decent trades over the pre-season and some kids who have done an apprenticeship in the VFL for them over the last 2-3 years are starting to step up.

I reckon we could do a similar thing if the club holds their nerve, and ignores the external noise about 'time for a full rebuild' that we are seeing echoed in a lot of posts in this thread. Geelong did, and it has worked out for them, and I reckon we have more talent in our core under 29 group than they had 2 years ago.
Agree

They did have the luxury of Danger wanting to join them though and I’m certain they knew Junior was heading back too.
Two more then handy players coming in allowing them to bolster depth with quality and take risks drafting/trade wise.

We need cool heads right now because things can swing quickly season to season with FA and trade .

Autopsy Hawks lose another close one to dees