Hawks out to avenge in 2010

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawks-out-to-avenge-in-2010-20100302-pejo.html

wbAFLschoenmakers-420x0.jpg
Hawthorn's promising backman Ryan Schoenmakers will be a major factor in shaping his team's fortunes in 2010

Champion Hawk midfielder Luke Hodge doesn't mind fighting against the odds.

Among the 10 highest finishers in the 2008 best and fairest count, half-forward Michael Osborne missed the most games in 2009 - five, through a hamstring problem.
Some star Hawks played hurt last year, but 13 defeats for the season and only two victories over eventual finalists, clearly showed Hawthorn's rivals closed the gap.

Clarkson admits aside from injuries, other plans went awry.

Clarkson hopes to use Hodge more in the forward half of the ground, even though he won his 2008 Norm Smith Medal from half-back.
"He's a goal-kicking midfielder who regularly kicks one or two goals a game and that's a great weapon to have in your club and we want to try to utilise that a little bit more," the coach says.

Add the big-marking Roughead, emerging star Rioli and support in Osborne, Jordan Lewis and Campbell Brown and the Hawks boast an enviable depth of talent in attack, even though Williams was traded to Essendon.
The recruitment of Josh Gibson from North Melbourne and Gilham's recovery from knee troubles will add steel to the defence, although Croad retired in the off-season through constant foot problems.

Then there is the signing of Shaun Burgoyne, a skilful utility who brings class and suggests Hawthorn's off-season recruiting was based around climbing to the top quickly.

"The way the game's going flexibility is really important, particularly if they're elite players like Hodge, Mitchell and Burgoyne," Clarkson says.
"That's going to be so valuable for us in 2010 and beyond."
HAWTHORN
Coach: Alastair Clarkson
Captain: Sam Mitchell
Last five years: 14-11-6-1-9
Premierships: 10 (1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988-89, 1991, 2008)
Star five: Lance Franklin, Luke Hodge, Cyril Rioli, Sam Mitchell, Jarryd Roughead
One to watch: Shaun Burgoyne. The ex-Port Adelaide utility requested a trade to the Hawks, who will be thrilled with his skill and experience. Burgoyne spent most of 2009 sidelined by a knee problem, but the likes of Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead will relish the pinpoint passing headed their way.
Ins: Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide), Taylor Duryea (Murray U18), Josh Gibson (North Melbourne), Sam Grimley (Northern U18), Rhan Hooper (Brisbane Lions), Ben Stratton (East Perth), Matt Suckling (rookie elevation), Jordan Williams (Bendigo U18).
Outs: Tim Boyle (retired), Robert Campbell (retired), Trent Croad (retired), Stuart Dew (retired), Josh Kennedy (Sydney), Ben McGlynn (Sydney), Mitch Thorp (delisted), Mark Williams (Essendon).
Best line-up:
B: Campbell Brown, Stephen Gilham, Brent Guerra
HB: Grant Birchall, Josh Gibson, Luke Hodge
C: Chance Bateman, Brad Sewell, Clinton Young
HF: Michael Osborne, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
F: Xavier Ellis, Lance Franklin, Jordan Lewis
R: Simon Taylor, Shaun Burgoyne, Sam Mitchell
I: Ryan Schoenmakers, Rick Ladson, Brent Renouf, Thomas Murphy

Best line-up:
B: Campbell Brown, Stephen Gilham, Brent Guerra
HB: Grant Birchall, Josh Gibson, Luke Hodge
C: Chance Bateman, Brad Sewell, Clinton Young
HF: Michael Osborne, Jarryd Roughead, Cyril Rioli
F: Xavier Ellis, Lance Franklin, Jordan Lewis
R: Simon Taylor, Shaun Burgoyne, Sam Mitchell
I: Ryan Schoenmakers, Rick Ladson, Brent Renouf, Thomas Murphy

I suspect many Hawk fans would have Shiels ahead of Murphy ;)

That said it's not so much the best 22 that gives me hope it's more the names left out

Dowler
Shiels
Hooper
Tuck
Whitecross
Bailey.

Whilst the list lacks experience there's a fair level of depth (and talent) going forward

After reading the other thread which spoke of Young being ready for round 1 and Ossie, Tuck, Hooper and Burgouyne n Cyril on the mend, I cant wait to be at the G for Round 1. Let the Avenging begin!

Obviously the team on the park for round 1 will be somewhat different to the one from the age article. Could be some pleasant suprises for some of our new blokes to get a crack at the big time straight up.

I'd have Shiels ahead of Murphy who is ahead of Gibson!

Murphy's preseason form is better than Gibson's and given they are both 3rd tall defenders, I know who I'd choose for Rd 1 right now.

Gibson needs to improve on last week big time or start the season with Box Hill. That was rubbish last week! No excuses! He was outplayed by Stratton even.

I'd have Shiels ahead of Murphy who is ahead of Gibson!

Murphy's preseason form is better than Gibson's and given they are both 3rd tall defenders, I know who I'd choose for Rd 1 right now.

Gibson needs to improve on last week big time or start the season with Box Hill. That was rubbish last week! No excuses! He was outplayed by Stratton even.

Mate do you have any idea where these players are at in relation to their pre-seasons, Gibson has had an interrupted training block and is stepping up his training and is no doubt behind most others, and this showed against the dogs, he will be a solid player for us. No excuses how about its NAB CUP FFS the team is preparing for round 1 not this shit comp

Gibson played like a millionaire though; his chasing efforts were poor and the amount of times he got caught ball watching was ridiculous. His body language is pretty ordinary too he comes across is a FIGJAM.

Hawks out to avenge in 2010.... Best preseason ever..... Everybody fit and firing....40 players to choose from.....

******...... ******..... ******....

Am I the only one who thinks our preseason is going to hell?

Possible Round 1 absentees as follows.

Buddy, Bateman, Burgs, Cyril, Young?, Ossie? Dowler? Lewis? Whitecross etc.

Hardly a dream start. Possibly 7 p'ship players missing plus others in next rung missing Round 1.

Any other p'ship contenders starting the year like that? Don't think so.

Hawks out to avenge in 2010.... Best preseason ever..... Everybody fit and firing....40 players to choose from.....

Hardly a dream start. Possibly 7 p'ship players missing plus others in next rung missing Round 1.

You do realise that it's only 4pts up for grabs in Round 1, not the premiership?

The sky is not falling.

Go have a lie down.

Are you blaming Buddy and Changa being out for round one on the coaching staff's pre season???

Did you not expect Young, Whitecross and Burg's to take time after their end of season/late season surgeries?? Can you explain to me how you would have hastened Young and Whitey's hip rehab??

Im guessing a couple of rolled ankles (Lewy and Dowler) are also Andy R's fault as well??

I was in Berri 12 months ago. Brent Renouf was the only premiership Hawk to play... in case you didnt know we played players from the Boxies ressies to make up the #'s. You want a "pre season from hell"... 08/09 was the "pre season from hell".

Im very hopeful you are one of very few that thinks our pre season is going to hell. I am also pretty confident you know S.F.A about elite CONTACT sport.

I don't know about going to hell, but the lack of match practice/fitness of some of our players is a big concern for mine.

I'm talking about blokes like Renouf, Rioli, Bateman, Gillham, Osborne, Burgoyne and Young.

I don't think there's any doubt that if the entire squad was fit and firing for 22 games we'd be a genuine chance for another flag, but my concern is that Clarkson's gameplan (more so than other clubs' gameplans) actually requires our best 22 to be available to function properly.

I've also said before that lack of experience is our achillies heel, particularly among the youngsters we will be forced to field when we get injuries.
I have high hopes for this season (top 4 is possible) but IMO our real chance at another flag will come next year or the year after, or even the year after that.

I hope we get a majority of our best 22 out on the park for NAB 4. This 22 need at least 1 game to gel together before the real season begins.

We still have a few injury concerns though. If Rioli comes back round 1
i will be relieved, if not i will start to crap myself!!!!!!!!!

No, I don't. But I didn't stock up on tinned food and ammunition in anticipation of the Y2K bug bringing civilisation to its knees either.

There's an excellent sequence of posts in the later part of the Burgoyne thread, starts with Time Machine's Post, that are worth reading re our pre-season.

Ps, go easy on the *****

Are you blaming Buddy and Changa being out for round one on the coaching staff's pre season???

Did you not expect Young, Whitecross and Burg's to take time after their end of season/late season surgeries?? Can you explain to me how you would have hastened Young and Whitey's hip rehab??

Im guessing a couple of rolled ankles (Lewy and Dowler) are also Andy R's fault as well??

I was in Berri 12 months ago. Brent Renouf was the only premiership Hawk to play... in case you didnt know we played players from the Boxies ressies to make up the #'s. You want a "pre season from hell"... 08/09 was the "pre season from hell".

Im very hopeful you are one of very few that thinks our pre season is going to hell. I am also pretty confident you know S.F.A about elite CONTACT sport.

What the hell would make you say that?

I'm sorry but I just don't see any other contender going into Round 1 with the concerns we have. Again.

I know some are unavoidable but to say we are fit and firing going into the season just isn't true.

Lose 3 of the first 4 and this place is gonna get ugly real quick. Some of those bagging my post will be leading the charge.

And it's possible that Sewell, Mitchell, Brown and Roughead could go down between now and then too :rolleyes:. I agree we may not be full strength for rd 1 but a little optimism wouldn’t go astray.

Buddy, suspended, back for rd 2
Bateman, suspended, back for rd 2
Burgoyne, back rd 2
Cyril possible rd 1 return maybe rd 2
Young, possible rd 1 return maybe rd 2
Ossie, don't know, whats going on with him?
Dowler, should be right for rd 1 to replace Buddy
Lewis, should be right for rd 1
Whitecross, not in best 22

So from that lot, only Burgoyne and Cyril has had a pre season injury that may affect rd 1 start, 2 of those have suspensions from 09, Lewis and Dowler will be fine and Young has ongoing problems but is looking good from club reports for a rd 1-3 start.

B Guerra Gilham Brown
HB Ladson Gibson Schoenmakers
C Ellis Lewis Birchall
HF Moss Roughead Hodge
F Morton Dowler Hooper
R Taylor Mitchell Sewell

INT Renouf Murphy Savage Muston

Looks ok considering we're supposed to be riddled with injuries. Throw, Buddy, Bateman, Cyril and maybe Young in for rd 2 against the Cats and things look a whole lot better.

I know some are unavoidable but to say we are fit and firing going into the season just isn't true.

So, please enlighten us as to which were the unavoidable ones , and which were the avoidable ones?

Please enlighten me and tell which other contender has got the quality missing for Round 1 that we have. Not including Buddy and Bateman.

Fisherhawk, I like your bright outlook about injured players but if you think players like Burger, Cyril, Young and Ossie are all gonna be fit and at the top of their game for the Cats R.2 and Dogs R.3, you are dreaming.

My original post was purely pointing out that the media spin that HFC are putting up during this pre season is the same as last year. Talking up players who were ready to play and never came up.

I'm sorry but i just dont believe a word said by the Hawks in the media anymore.

Gibson played like a millionaire though; his chasing efforts were poor and the amount of times he got caught ball watching was ridiculous. His body language is pretty ordinary too he comes across is a FIGJAM.
basing your opinions on a Nappy cup game is bloody ridiculous as stated in other posts Gibbo has had a delayed start to his pre-season Buddy Vision.:rolleyes:

Please enlighten me and tell which other contender has got the quality missing for Round 1 that we have. Not including Buddy and Bateman.

Fisherhawk, I like your bright outlook about injured players but if you think players like Burger, Cyril, Young and Ossie are all gonna be fit and at the top of their game for the Cats R.2 and Dogs R.3, you are dreaming.

My original post was purely pointing out that the media spin that HFC are putting up during this pre season is the same as last year. Talking up players who were ready to play and never came up.

I'm sorry but i just dont believe a word said by the Hawks in the media anymore.

That's not true. ALL we heard about last season was injuries, and how underdone we were. This year ALL the reports are very different.

Last year we had 22 players training on occasion; last year we had to have Box Hill players to play a NAB challenge game against Adelaide; last year there were many players having post season surgery, last year, whole pre-seasons were ruined rather than what we're seeing this year, which is the usual spot niggles; last year we had 5 weeks less preparation due to finals and post-flag duties.

You are letting a few inevitable injury niggles (that always occur when footballers play football) take on a much larger spectre than they should.

Yes, there will be a few players playing with less than full fitness in Round 1. This is the same for ALL teams who have done a fair-dinkum pre-season, despite what you mistakenly believe

Ask Adelaide about their injuries.

No Eldorado. I think it's best that we panic now. No time like the present, eh?

The general rule is, if you hear about a hamstring strain to a player, the first thing you do is make a list of everyone you heard mentioned on an injury/rehab list for the past four weeks. Then throw in any name with a question mark against it. That's your list of players the fitness staff have let down. To give it a bit more credence throw in the names of the players who are suspended.

Try to avoid comparing it to the previous pre-season, and don't take any notice of any other club's injury list.

And remember that any player listed to return in round 1 can be added to the list of players unavailable for round 1. Stands to reason, because we can't trust the club. They're playing games with our minds.

You should know the drill by now. You've been around long enough.

What the hell would make you say that?

I'm sorry but I just don't see any other contender going into Round 1 with the concerns we have. Again.

Lose 3 of the first 4 and this place is gonna get ugly real quick. Some of those bagging my post will be leading the charge.

I say that mainly because I dont believe from your statements you understand that when an elite athlete trains at 80-90% of their max capacities... injuries are inevitable.
I say it because in your first comment you blame the injury staff for Changa and Franky.
I say it because you blame the rehab staff for Lewis and Dowler rolling ankles.
I say it because you clearly dont understand the time needed to build up from surgeries (Young and Whitey).
I say it because the majority of blokes that have had significant knee injuries and have spent massive amounts of time rehabbing the major muscles groups surrounding the knee and the VMO(inside of the knee) do have the tendancy to twang a hammy in their return. And a TWANG is all it is.... barely able to be classified as a tear.(Burg's)
I'll grant you Ossie and Cyril were issues sustained through their pre seasons.
BUT... im yet to see the round one team named... so I dont understand your pathetic hysteria.

I am often privy to the rehab of some clubs... and if you think we are alone you are kidding.

I also believe from what I read and see that our blokes have had a terrific pre season(only have to look at Schoey, Hodgey, Lewis and Morton).

Adelaide have Burton, Otten, Poprlyzia, Morna, Vince, Maric, Martin, Sellar...

Carlton have Murphy down with OP and Fisher

Brissie lost Charman....

Geelong lost Corey... Ottens has had issues....

It happens. I could go on and on....

There wasnt spin last year.... (except possibly for Croad). I clearly remember Crawf warning the members we were about to embark on the year from hell.

If you dont trust the club... I dont see you as much of a supporter....

Tell me I'm dreaming, but didnt we hear all last year of how Croad was nearly ready to go, Gilham was named every week for 10 weeks and never played, Young's not far away blah blah blah.

It was all rubbish.

So when they say Burger will be ready for Round 1, along with Cyril, Young and Ossie, Dowler and now Lewis, sorry I just don't believe them.

We wont see Young before Round 6. Hasn't played a game since Anzac Day last year. Needs 5 games in the twos to get any sort of touch.
Cyril. Who knows.
Burger. Not much different to Young.
Dowler. Hasn't played a pre season match.
Ossie. Hasn't played a match.
Lewis. Played twice and was awful twice. Way out of touch needs game time. Ain't gonna happen.

Throw in Ladson, Ellis, Guerra and Bateman who will all be underdone (Ladson and Ellis' form has been woeful, yet to see Bateman!).

So call me Captain Doom but thats how it is.

As I repeated before, show me another "rated" club with these issues going into the season.

So when they say Burger will be ready for Round 1, along with Cyril, Young and Ossie, Dowler and now Lewis, sorry I just don't believe them.

I can assure you that the 'official' report of Burgoyne's injury is not spin.

So call me Captain Doom but thats how it is.

As I repeated before, show me another "rated" club with these issues going into the season.

No worries Captain Doom.

Do you want an itemised list of every club?

Go look it up yourself.

I know what you wwant. You want everything to be the super-bestest, and the super Hawks win every year, and never have any injuries, and have a squad of magic trainers who can solve everything.

I'd like that, too, actually.

Unlike you, I seem to be aware of this little thing called 'reality'

All clubs have injuries, all clubs wished they didn't, all clubs do everything they do to avoid them. They happen anyway.

What do you actually want? For Hawthorn to come out and say "We're gawn, we're ****ed" so you'll feel better in your pessimism?

I don't know what you actually want to see happen. i t sounds to me like you're just lashing out blindly because reality can't be super-perfect the way you want it.

he walks pain free but was warned if it breaks again it may never be the same and he may be in pain for the rest of his life ! quality of life for all is important mate ! he was heading in the right direction ! he had to try all he could to see if he could return ! he had got to the step before full blown afl training maybe he felt sometime that was like a warning to tread carefully so to speak , he spoke to all experts on whether it was safe to go that one more step in regards to games
where he had to stop from full pace to zero pace in a heart beat , pivot on the spot etc etc etc

trust the club ! like Joelie said
If you dont trust the club... I dont see you as much of a supporter....
i believe all Joelie has said
Changa from what he has told me is coming along fine Twister said 2 weeks
twisted ankles can be done walking down the street i know i did it same week Beau did his !
he is doing well too

Hawks out to avenge in 2010