Autopsy Hawks vs Buddy Boy and the COLA kids

Havent had time to post. Awesome Game.

Some things to add-

We are lucky to have depth players available to the quality of Simpkin. The guy does the basics very well, and would get a regular game at most clubs. Tackles VERY well and had 2 or so ripping tackles.

Hodge was awesome - Some Mitchell-eske Handballs.

Stratton's best game in a while.

Lewish - Awesome. Puopolo - Awesome. Roughhead - Awesome. Bruest - Awesome.

Go Hawks.

I love how upset Swannies supporters are with the Malceski tackle on Hill in the goalsquare.

"If you tackle someone around the legs and they come to a complete stop it's holding the ball".

No, that's rugby league you're thinking of, this is actually a different sport, perhaps learn the rules before jumping on the bandwagon. :D

Why do people give a frak what the media say?

Our teams greatest weakness has and always has been when we are talked up.

We almost always win when we are underdogs, please let it stay that way ... Let the media do their job and be stupid and we can go back to back. Geeez there are some muppets in here. Clarko would be loving us being talked down.

Well I tend to agree with Grizzlym. I've tried to be fair in my own mind with Franklin. But its very hard when he's high fiving and hugging Sydney players like he's their long term comrade. He was developed at Hawthorn, his football bloodline is Hawthorn, his heart is now it seems NOT Hawthorn. Staying the night at his friends house that has nothing to do with football.

Loyalty of course is always lost in business when money is involved, the money involved with Franklin was a disgrace, it took hold of loyalty and ripped its throat out.

Take into account two other Hawks at Sydney, Kennedy and McGlyn I love those two and still do , I respect them both, they left to continue their careers
in Footy because they didn't fit at the time, but they were elite footballers , Sydney took them in the correct spirit of the sport, and they have had a huge benefit from them both. Ask any Hawk supporter about those two and their tenacity and the pedigree of one of them. We will love them forever .
Unfortunately I found myself really trying not to , but, ultimately succumbed to getting very very angry and finding a nasty distaste in my mouth watching treachery succeed, with a once hero showing how little he cares for Hawthorn any more ... for money.

What kind of statement to make in our sport where team mates and the ultimate goal usually mean more than massive riches , which Franklin would have had anyway if he had stayed at Hawthorn. I won't keep knocking Sydney , they are a great side , I'm not sure I respect the way they go about poaching but that's business not football. The other more hurtful thing for me is the fact that Franklin probably knew before or just after the 2012 GF where he would be in 2014. Even a little knowledge may have been running around the club with some players , what did they think, I'd say some if they knew would be upset, some would disregard it for maybe not going to happen . Others maybe all never knew at all.

We the members sure didn't know, or could believe it. And another AFL bad move , (EXPANSION ) team GWS would have been pretty shocked too.

I often wonder how much money in other areas of Sydney FC /(SMFC) is floating around and the investment put into that club that has made the AFL allow the piracy we've seen to the detriment of other clubs. To keep Sydney winning,SMFC was a risk, going to Sydney , but it nearly failed, and then the AFL stepped in, They won two flags without millions spent on Tippet and Franklin.

Hawthorn are a very powerful club, we have not suffered by the Franklin treachery , but look at StKilda, Crows without Tippet, remember Barry Hall and Tony Lockett, I think Sydney through John Longmire were actually hunting down Koshitski too a few years back.

All clubs hunt and buy. Only Sydney has done it on a scale that is terrifying. Free agency will kill the lower clubs , and in the long run will leave a decimated AFL and people watching another league , that's where I reckon it could go. A split competition.

You see Hawks and Swans the other night , how in gods name would Footscray or yes, at the moment Collingwood or Melbourne or StKilda... down the track even Fremantle because if they don't pull off the ultrimate prize in the next two years they are gone .

So yes when I see someone who had the world at his feet get over ridden by dollar signs , it makes me wonder about sport.

If Franklin is instumental in a premiership for Sydney at the MCG against his own club , then hatred would actually raise its head , if it hasn't already.

For people who want to still worship Franklin , at Hawthorn, do so for his talent, but remember he's a mercenary of the lowest order , in the history of Aussie football. I suspect led along a path for dollars , which he was guaranteed at Hawthorn anyway, not as much but life long.

Will he fulfil his 9 year commitment, Sydney don't care with all that money and game playing in the off season , they get one flag out of him its still in overall terms unfair for every other club. If he gets injured out of the game its a monumental waste of money which ever way you look at it.

So, to synopsize, he left for more money - and you don't like it? He left for Sydney and you hate that?
Certainly not new to cricket. Players trade states for dollars and opportunity all the time and have for ever and a day.
Basketball is the same.
Footy has always been this way, whether it was leaving country football for state leagues that paid better, or state leagues for the VFL because it paid better, or switched clubs because it paid better and there were better opportunities.
I'm banking on our club to be able to use the exact same system to bring in players for the next 100 years and I'm pretty sure if they play well they'll become instant Hawk supporter heroes.
Buddy loves Sydney, loves the lifestyle and money, so he went.
For heck sake, get over it.

I love how upset Swannies supporters are with the Malceski tackle on Hill in the goalsquare.

"If you tackle someone around the legs and they come to a complete stop it's holding the ball".

No, that's rugby league you're thinking of, this is actually a different sport, perhaps learn the rules before jumping on the bandwagon. :D

News just in, the umpire in question has been fired due to a tackle around the legs not being a holding the ball to the Sydney, sorry AFL $wans. And he was the same umpire who did not pay Goodes a mark when he thought he took it. The AFL have a directive to ALL umpires that if Goodes flaps about and carries on like a flog and wants a free kick, there will be no doubting that it is a free kick to him.

I feel sorry for this umpire who used common sense.

So, to synopsize, he left for more money - and you don't like it? He left for Sydney and you hate that?
Certainly not new to cricket. Players trade states for dollars and opportunity all the time and have for ever and a day.
Basketball is the same.
Footy has always been this way, whether it was leaving country football for state leagues that paid better, or state leagues for the VFL because it paid better, or switched clubs because it paid better and there were better opportunities.
I'm banking on our club to be able to use the exact same system to bring in players for the next 100 years and I'm pretty sure if they play well they'll become instant Hawk supporter heroes.
You miss the point mate. But I can't explain a feeling to you. If you see it like that fine. But the $9 million was brutal and wrong and if we want to end up like the EPL or worse the unbelievable giant payments for American basketball players then we will get, exactly what you seem to like. A sport that no longer has teams in it that are recognised by their own all mercenaries. I consider myself Hawthorn for all my life , I love loyalty and Sydneys piracy was over the top.
That's the point brother. Just so you know.
That's what I feel, you may not give a stuff about Franklin , I do , he's a great footballer, that is all he is. To me. His Hawk has left the building.

Basketball is the same.

Ye right, sorry is that you Jacinta???

News just in, the umpire in question has been fired due to a tackle around the legs not being a holding the ball to the Sydney, sorry AFL $wans. And he was the same umpire who did not pay Goodes a mark when he thought he took it. The AFL have a directive to ALL umpires that if Goodes flaps about and carries on like a flog and wants a free kick, there will be no doubting that it is a free kick to him.

I feel sorry for this umpire who used common sense.
One comment , Goodes lost the ball and knocked it away with the outside of his elbow , watch closely. In slow mo who can tell , but you can see it and it was on the other side of his arm. NO MARK. But we have to look after wonder boy say the AFL .we do NOT!!

Just a couple more thoughts:

1. That comeback in the 3rd quarter was one of the best I've seen. You could see that the whole team just said "okay, let's just break this game open" and just went for it. That coast to coast goal from Suckling to Birch to Breust was brilliant, better than sex!

2. Burgoyne: how good was he in the second half. In the 3rd quarter, he was everywhere in the forward line, tackling, smothering, fighting for the ball, causing pressure and turnovers. No silk there, just super hard at the contest. And in the last as well, got his reward with the intercept and goal.

What a man!

According to Garry Lyon.
And according to Terry Wallace, the Hawks are better placed and have more upside than the Swans.

Opinion pieces, that's all..
IMO, I THINK WE ARE BETTER PLACED..:p

Agreed. We are being too precious thinking the whole footy world has to agree with our views.

2. Burgoyne: how good was he in the second half. In the 3rd quarter, he was everywhere in the forward line, tackling, smothering, fighting for the ball, causing pressure and turnovers. No silk there, just super hard at the contest. And in the last as well, got his reward with the intercept and goal.

What a man!

This. The bloke has ice for blood. Silk, but also capable of being a cast-iron battering ram when needed.

Barrett said more upside for Hawks

Gary Lyon falls into the trap that amateur mouthpieces do; fails to attribute any of the $tains midfield's poor performances to the pressure applied to them by their opposite numbers i.e. we didn't let them run amok. If Sydney played on the MCG with no midfield opponents, they'd win every game.

He's right about shutting down Suckling. But we've got Birch and others, plus Mitch/Hodge/Burgers to distribute the ball off half back if a defensive tag is applied to Suckling.

In other words, Lyon said if you don't bother shutting down the Swans midfield, and let the Swans shut down every one of your half backs, and the umpires let your defenders scrag and maul the Hawthorn forwards until their bruised and bleeding, you've got upside.

Hey Garr-rry, you want upside? Stick this fist upside your backside: that oughtta shut you up, you cheerleading campaigner.

Gary Lyon falls into the trap that amateur mouthpieces do; fails to attribute any of the $tains midfield's poor performances to the pressure applied to them by their opposite numbers i.e. we didn't let them run amok. If Sydney played on the MCG with no midfield opponents, they'd win every game.

He's right about shutting down Suckling. But we've got Birch and others, plus Mitch/Hodge/Burgers to distribute the ball off half back if a defensive tag is applied to Suckling.

In other words, Lyon said if you don't bother shutting down the Swans midfield, and let the Swans shut down every one of your half backs, and the umpires let your defenders scrag and maul the Hawthorn forwards until their bruised and bleeding, you've got upside.

Hey Garr-rry, you want upside? Stick this fist upside your backside: that oughtta shut you up, you cheerleading campaigner.
The game was not played on the Swans terms and their midfiders struggled as a consequence. They want congestion and we created space.

The Twitter tripe was merely to highlight the extent to which he is invested in his external guise.....Symbolic of Pure Narcissism!....Take from that what you will!

But he didn't go to GWS....He went to Sydney & went to their door not 2 weeks after losing a Grand Final to them. He also got himself suspended against them knowing full well he was going to play them the following week & also play there the following season!!!!.....Not only THAT, but his actions ensured that the HFC was not adequately compensated for all they had done for him.....Fully wilful deceit my friend! So much for your point on that score brother.

When a bloke is the principle target of almost 40% of a teams inside 50 entries & proceeds to convert at a rate of 40%, then I'd call that morale sapping...More especially so if it occurs on such a regular basis as has become custom with him & in a big final where it comes home to roost big time by costing his team a final & a Premiership!

Perhaps it is you who need to get a grip on the facts before coming the Raw Prawn dear bungholes_premiers
hahahha talk about an ego-maniac I think we have found the boards own right here! The facts, u want facts ?? The facts are he kicked 500 goals at the club, dragged us over the line on MANY occasions, his teammates LOVED him and he brought MANY of his teammates into the game as well as taking 3 defenders on MANY occasions ..

oh and despite stabbing his teammates in the back, who dearly love him, they continue to talk fondly of him in the media, players and coaches alike have a number of times mentioned they would love to have buddy still around - oh yeh, thats the bad morale speaking there :confused:

those are the facts my dictionary-loving friend

What was interesting was that despite our so called concerns with their tall forwards, it was the Swans that started with 7 back to congest our forwardline allowing us to keep the traditional 6 back and still allow Gibbo as the loose man (perhaps a little too loose at times mind....).

Just reading the 3 things I have learnt about the swans hawks game on the Syd board so in the spirit of things thought i might give it a shot.

p58bm.jpg
Just had a quick look. There's some world class sooking going on over there. Good for a laugh.

Did anyone notice that we handballed through their defensive structure in the first quarter and it worked really well until we had to deliver into forward 50 where we got sloppy.

Then later in the game we kicked around their zone, or in that 3rd quarter burst we chipped through their zone in the corridor with a huge kick forward to a small (think suckling to Birchall to Breust, Lewis to Puppolo).

1. That comeback in the 3rd quarter was one of the best I've seen. You could see that the whole team just said "okay, let's just break this game open" and just went for it. That coast to coast goal from Suckling to Birch to Breust was brilliant, better than sex!

What a man!
Great comments. So nice & refreshing to see a post that doesn't involve:

1. Buddy
2. Swans getting some sort of arm-chair ride from the AFL
3. A conspiracy theory
4. Fictitious quoting from Sydney supporters

Notice there are some Shoey knockers are having a go at him for not rebounding enough. The statistics show that few goals are being scored against him by his direct oponent, so they these posters are not happy with that, they want him to be the number 1 rebounder as well . It is quite difficult to play on the 1st or 2nd forward and also be a rebounder.

Autopsy Hawks vs Buddy Boy and the COLA kids