Hawthorn’s 2019 Trade/FA - Targets/Incoming players discussion only

I hope this is true, but it's pretty damn specific and ticks every Hawthorn fantasy box.

But that being said, I knew of a major trade at another club last year maybe only halfway into the season when a relative spilled the beans and then asked me to be quiet about it. So it's possible, I guess.

Source re coniglio is an interstate media personality not a bottom feeding afl journo regarding hawk player movements is a club insider!!
Writing has been on the wall all year re coniglio think about it very carefully my friend

Source re coniglio is an interstate media personality not a bottom feeding afl journo regarding hawk player movements is a club insider!!
Writing has been on the wall all year re coniglio think about it very carefully my friend

I've got no idea who is on TV; I hardly watch it outside of the football. But I reckon you've given enough of a hint that some couch potatoes here can make a good guess.

It’s Andrew Jarman.
Makes sense. His brother was a premiership Hawk

Oh.....that’s right. Said source is not a bottom feeder journo.
Andrew Jarman is a big bottom feeder

I’m going with a premiership hawk that has been in a good paddock since he retired......perhaps wore the number 8

Aaaaaannnndddd here comes Gil.

Did Dill come out and make any such assertions re: Tom Lynch leaving GC last year.

I find it amusing that it is ok for the CEO of the AFL to interfere with player movements, but if a draftee came out and said he only wanted to go to Club X (deliberate pun), then that is draft tampering.

Pink Floyd?

Alright guys, let the Carlton fans get all excited an what not however I will let you in on a few things and this is coming from a good source, related to a media personality not in Victoria will not be giving away their name.

There will be a fair few changes this season at our club. Rough is the first of three retirements this off season. Two players will be put up for trade in the belief to strengthen our points in terms of second and third round pics in case young Finn Maginness is bid on earlier.
We have on our radar some role players from interstate clubs who are at this stage, looking quite likely.
In terms of Steve Coniglio, we all need to settle down it has been done for months now, he will be at the Hawthorn Footy Club in 2019. Patton was done at the end of last season and will also be a hawk.

Tom Mitchell’s contract extension, Jaegar o mearas extension and the signing on of some young players were all consequences of a deal having being made with Coniglio.
Will be a heavily front ended 5 year deal to begin with, the ‘awakening’ of Carlton becoming a serious threat to our pursuit according to the Victorian media is an attempt to get their fans up and about with an impending coaching appointment which will be David Teague and a side that is obviously improving and to somewhat awaken a ‘sleeping giant’.

Stephen Coniglio to Hawthorn on a 5 year deal is done, I repeat it is a done deal and has been for a fair while now and this is coming from a reputable interstate source and a close source at that. There is no race playing out here to his signature let no one fool any of you.
Are you Conor Nash?

This is possibly the biggest load of s**t I’ve ever read on here. There are so many holes in this story/theory that a two year old see through it.

If an ex-player actually said this to you, then they are clearly disillusioned by some experience they had with Clarko in the past. They probably tried to poke their way back into the club to no avail and took offence to Clarko telling them to get f***ed when he was trying to fix our culture.
Could it be Spida Everitt? The sort of bloke who would say this sort of stuff because Clarko bruised his ego by punting him from the club because of his poor influence on the young kids. Wouldn't surprise me.

Just had a look at the blues board and it’s like an alternative universe over there. Many of them 100% convinced. And all because a few guys who’s track records include “take Shiel at Carlton to the bank” and “lethlean to be announced as our ceo”, have had the same memo to drum up some hype. Fun times ahead

If you're saying Vlahos, clearly we all knew that. And how good is his contact?
I’m going to try and put it in point form for everyone here to understand.

-After 2014 back to back the club expected us to drop off ever so slightly mainly due to an aging engine room with not many youngsters coming through the ranks.

-We identified Jaegar o Meara and Stephen Coniglio as junior teammates playing representative footy as mainstays of our future midfield. Tom Mitchell was not in the picture at this point in time.

-Contact initiated by HFC to both players and management for potential future moves.Both players express interest in playing together again one day. Both very fond and impressed by Clarko.

-O Meara done.

- Coniglio initiates contact with HFC late last season, shows interest in potentially joining.

- HFC believed premiership window wide open at end of last season hence pursuit of Shiel which was abandoned due to too much of an asking price by GWS.

-Ongoing talks with Coniglio early this season, multiple meetings and contact with HFC and coniglio/management.

- Carlton chime in with big offer, understandably was considered by Coniglio early doors as money talks. Carlton try to lure Clarko as they are perfectly AWARE that this is a big reason in selection of Hawks.

- A few months ago, coniglio confirms intention to nominate HFC at end of season. HFC announce resignings, modifying contracts slightly to enable smooth integration of coniglio contractually.

-HFC publically completely shut up shop and refuse to discuss Coniglio in any way.

I can understand the doubt with what I am saying as I don’t post very often. Again my source is a low profile interstate media personality who has serious links with Swan Districts from WA and I also have an insider at HFC. No names will be given as I respect these people too much.
Take it as you will

-After 2014 back to back the club expected us to drop off ever so slightly mainly due to an aging engine room with not many youngsters coming through the ranks.

-We identified Jaegar o Meara and Stephen Coniglio as junior teammates playing representative footy as mainstays of our future midfield. Tom Mitchell was not in the picture at this point in time.

-Contact initiated by HFC to both players and management for potential future moves.Both players express interest in playing together again one day. Both very fond and impressed by Clarko.

-O Meara done.

- Coniglio initiates contact with HFC late last season, shows interest in potentially joining.

- HFC believed premiership window wide open at end of last season hence pursuit of Shiel which was abandoned due to too much of an asking price by GWS.

-Ongoing talks with Coniglio early this season, multiple meetings and contact with HFC and coniglio/management.

- Carlton chime in with big offer, understandably was considered by Coniglio early doors as money talks. Carlton try to lure Clarko as they are perfectly AWARE that this is a big reason in selection of Hawks.

- A few months ago, coniglio confirms intention to nominate HFC at end of season. HFC announce resignings, modifying contracts slightly to enable smooth integration of coniglio contractually.

-HFC publically completely shut up shop and refuse to discuss Coniglio in any way.

I can understand the doubt with what I am saying as I don’t post very often. Again my source is a low profile interstate media personality who has serious links with Swan Districts from WA and I also have an insider at HFC. No names will be given as I respect these people too much.
Take it as you will
That is incredibly detailed. Thanks for sharing.

-O Meara done.

Take it as you will
Sounds good, but we wait, and wait...

Just had a look at the blues board and it’s like an alternative universe over there. Many of them 100% convinced. And all because a few guys who’s track records include “take Shiel at Carlton to the bank” and “lethlean to be announced as our ceo”, have had the same memo to drum up some hype. Fun times ahead
I think it's hilarious that not only the fans think it's happening a few of the players do as well. I can imagine Cogs having a chuckle at how misguided so many people are. Like Nash88 I'm pretty confident it's done. It's the Tom Lynch situation all over again except we have come out the winners this time.

-O Meara done.

Take it as you will

Ha! 3... 2... 1... Carlton supporter meltdown initiated. Classic post.

LOL it's laughable a CEO of the league can come out and comment about player movement in this manner without any accountability, are you the league CEO or the GWS CEO Gil ?
If Cogs goes to Carlton, I support Gil entirely.

Best 22 for 2020:

FB: Blake Hardwick, James Frawley, Ben Stratton
HB: Scrim, James Sicily, Jarman Impey
C: Cogs*, James Worpel, Tom Scully
HF: Chad Wingard, Patton*, Jack Gunston
FF: Luke Breust, Mitch Lewis, Paul Puopolo
R: Ben McEvoy, Titch, Jaeger O’Meara
IC: Smith, Ricky Henderson, Shiels, TOB

Rough retired, Pops and Birch possible retirements, unsure about Burger.

Too soon?

-O Meara done.

Take it as you will
Mate I hope you're right. The HFC shutting up shop part I can relate to. I've had no mail for weeks now.

Is Vlahos connected to the Perth media contact you mentioned?

-O Meara done.

Take it as you will

Didn’t we try to get JOM before GC and trading into the first pick in the mini draft.