News Hawthorn in the media 2023

Please don’t bring Barrett’s sliding doors rubbish here. That’s not the Hawthorn footy club in the media.

That’s a desperate article, trying to get clicks every week.

Sam McClure isn't much of an interviewer but Sammy as always is a hell of an answerer.

He's probably the slickest media performer out of any coach I've seen in a long while. He plays the tough questions with a completely straight bat!

It sounded like he was going to duck the Tom Mitchell question too and then basically took it head on and pretty much admitted that it was him likely giving the feedback (not directly). Didn't throw other coaches under the bus just took it on.

Also - only just realised in listening to Tom Mitchell's excerpt in there that it was pretty bloody shit of him to implicate 3 blokes still at the club as though they were all agreeing with him that he was unfairly targeted.

It sounded like he was going to duck the Tom Mitchell question too and then basically took it head on and pretty much admitted that it was him likely giving the feedback (not directly). Didn't throw other coaches under the bus just took it on.

Also - only just realised in listening to Tom Mitchell's excerpt in there that it was pretty bloody s**t of him to implicate 3 blokes still at the club as though they were all agreeing with him that he was unfairly targeted.
Don't think he admitted anything, but it was interesting that he asked Day, Moore and Finn and none could remember the meeting.

Also - only just realised in listening to Tom Mitchell's excerpt in there that it was pretty bloody s**t of him to implicate 3 blokes still at the club as though they were all agreeing with him that he was unfairly targeted.

Yeah I liked that he just took the brunt. Had some fairly solid rebuttals. There’s no point being a dishonest media performer anyway these days, majority of people see straight through the bs

I think the Tom Mitchell thing is a little bit of a main character syndrome. Tom Mitchell remembers it all about him every clip but he may have been 1 of many called out some of them or simply been one of the players mentioned in a clip about another making an error, but it's easy to start feeling like all the focus is on you.

Especially if you've been the best player the last few years and now you are the one coping criticism.

Similar with the players still at Hawthorn, they wouldn't have much emotional attachment to a meeting at Tom so they may remember it as "oh, they showed the clip where I laid a good tackle" or "we reviewed the game against x where we were getting smashed in the clearances because we weren't structures up properly" So there may have been a few more mentions of Tom than normal and his Teammates may have consoled him and shared that it was too many.

I think that Sam did the right thing to check with the other players on that. As if it is true that there was a meeting where only 1 player was called out over and over again even if they are valid criticisms is bullying. I'm glad that it seems like it didn't happen that way.

Knowing Tom Mitchell he probably thought they were on his side. Sam played the question perfectly, pretty much said Tom needs to grow up and accept criticism without being passive aggressive.

Don't think he admitted anything, but it was interesting that he asked Day, Moore and Finn and none could remember the meeting.

Wasn't to suggest that he openly admitted it but he basically answered it from his perspective, that he gives feedback certain ways etc. He didn't hide behind 'look that was a line meeting so I can't talk to that'. I got the impression from the way he talked that he was the coach in question despite Tom saying it was a line meeting.

Tom shouldn't have been handballing at feet if he didn't want to get told off

I enjoyed how his story goes 'oh sure there was this one clip that was fair enough' - yeah, Tom, I watched you play in 2022 and I could almost guarantee the other 4 clips were just as warranted to point out that you weren't doing the right bloody thing. The amount of times I watched opposition players just saunter past him as he had turned it over and was jogging to catch the oppo player drove me mad at games. Can only imagine how much it was pissing off the coaches.

Hawks won’t rush to lock down Sam Mitchell, out of contract in 2025​

It’s exciting times at the Hawks with a young list on the rise, but the club is in no rush to lock down rising coach Sam Mitchell, who has been praised for his gamestyle and development.

I enjoyed how his story goes 'oh sure there was this one clip that was fair enough' - yeah, Tom, I watched you play in 2022 and I could almost guarantee the other 4 clips were just as warranted to point out that you weren't doing the right bloody thing. The amount of times I watched opposition players just saunter past him as he had turned it over and was jogging to catch the oppo player drove me mad at games. Can only imagine how much it was pissing off the coaches.
This was my take too, strange for Tom to draw attention to it, as it is highlighting criticism that was obvious to many of his own weaknesses. Plus the three involved are all young players with a bright future and keen to win, to state that was when he decided to leave, showed IMHO that there was/is a bit of flog about him. As different from sucking it up and moving on. Water and bridges!

Hawks won’t rush to lock down Sam Mitchell, out of contract in 2025​

It’s exciting times at the Hawks with a young list on the rise, but the club is in no rush to lock down rising coach Sam Mitchell, who has been praised for his gamestyle and development.
Yeah nah.

That contract will just about be wrapped up, just needs a number.